iPhone Club v12 - iPhone related news & Questions, FAQ/Q&A Thread

sicklad77
post Sep 15 2010, 11:45 AM

532 posts

to all pls help icon_question.gif

im using iphone 4 (4.0.1) and my facetime can work on 3g network, but i was wondering is there an app exist out there that would let me use my facetime as a 3g video call to other mobile phones other than iphones such as nokia, sony ericccson etc??
if it does exist, can you pls advice me what is that app.

i've tried searching thru other apps, skype won't do video chat on my iphone and could only make calls.

in other way also is it possible to use facetime as a webcam to connect thru laptops video chatting such as we see from msn, yahoo and skype.
is like im using my iphone 4, and the other party is using webcam on their laptops.

im sorry if this is a noob question.
im still learning notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 15 2010, 01:08 PM
sicklad77
post Sep 15 2010, 04:11 PM

532 posts

I Jb already, really it can't work?
Hmmm went to google and looking for a solution and at last I still have to wait.
Was really hoping that day when they release the IOS 4.1 they could make this possible.

My first impression was that since apple has a front facing camera I thought an app for video calling to other phones might be possible.
The limit to only FaceTime over Wi-fi have been solved and currently can be use on 3G network.
But i didn't know it can't connect to other phones.
I tried it but at last it just showed me that FaceTime is not available.
That's why I wonder if anybody had discovered an app to make iPhone 4 video calling to other phones available.

So others out there who might know anything, pls do shed some light smile.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 15 2010, 04:17 PM
sicklad77
post Sep 15 2010, 07:47 PM

532 posts

virus??
hmmm all i know is that the only virus iphone ever had is called the ikee virus.

correct me if im wrong =]
sicklad77
post Sep 15 2010, 11:30 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mr11 @ Sep 15 2010, 11:13 PM)
iphone got virus ?  blink.gif
yes bro, its from australia and its called the IKEE virus.

http://www.redmondpie.com/protect-iphone-3...attack-9140090/

saw it on a thread long time ago.
not really sure if it's still infecting iphones.

as what i've found out thru research last time that this the only iphone virus/worm found.
correct me if im wrong smile.gif

*thanks mods for moving this to the appropriate thread smile.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 16 2010, 12:08 AM
sicklad77
post Sep 16 2010, 11:51 AM

532 posts

hmmm thats weird, i just got vwallpaper and it works perfectly fine.
im on 4.01 as well.
usually to me if any new app i just install fails or crashes my phone will restart and would go into safe mode automatically.
and if it go hang/freezes i'll just do a hard restart it manually and it would still go into safe mode after that.
i would just delete the recent app and everything would be ok smile.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 16 2010, 11:54 AM
sicklad77
post Sep 17 2010, 01:58 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(blink_soulz @ Sep 16 2010, 11:42 AM)
can someone help me..im using iphone 4 with os 4.0.1...i installed the software called vWallpaper..when i use dat appliction, the screen freeze..then i tried to reboot my phone..but the prob still occur..now i cant even use my phone coz everytime i start my phone, the application will run by itself n the screen start to freeze again..i cant restore to factory setting coz it will update the software to os 4.1 which is not yet supported by jailbreak..anyone hav a solution????
bro the same thing happen with my cousin ip4 just now.
fw 4.01, just dl vwallpaper and same thing happen.
so what i did was a hard reboot by holding down home+lock button.
went into safe mode and i removed the vwallpaper app and restart.
everything was ok then biggrin.gif

Added on September 17, 2010, 2:04 am
QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Sep 15 2010, 04:11 PM)
I Jb already, really it can't work?
Hmmm went to google and looking for a solution and at last I still have to wait.
Was really hoping that day when they release the IOS 4.1 they could make this possible.

My first impression was that since apple has a front facing camera I thought an app for video calling to other phones might be possible.
The limit to only FaceTime over Wi-fi have been solved and currently can be use on 3G network.
But i didn't know it can't connect to other phones.
I tried it but at last it just showed me that FaceTime is not available.
That's why I wonder if anybody had discovered an app to make iPhone 4 video calling to other phones available.

So others out there who might know anything, pls do shed some light  smile.gif
dear friends, i just found a way to make 3g video call towards other platforms from iphone to others such as HTC, nokia and etc.
its an app called "FRING" and apparently some users was successful due to its recent update which makes video calling possible.
even got a video the fella using iphone 4 as well to connect to other platforms.
gonna do a test tomorrow as im going to sleep now.
will update again tomorrow if everything goes well.
just sharing the news, tried it out if you want.

wish me luck though =)

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 17 2010, 02:12 AM
sicklad77
post Sep 17 2010, 02:09 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(mohdanwar @ Sep 17 2010, 02:05 AM)
when i uninstall sbsetting.still the same i cant receive mms.

if im not mistaken, iphone can receive mms if camera icon show beside message when we type, but my ip still not appear that icon.

this happen after i turn off edge data with sbsetting.

please help!
bro is your celullar data=ON?
when its OFF i can't receive nor send mms.
but when i set it to ON, mms was again possible.
and got your carrier settings set yet?

correct me if i'm wrong smile.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 17 2010, 02:11 AM
sicklad77
post Sep 17 2010, 09:51 AM

532 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

glad to hear about it bro.
it works for me too just now.
test it on my friend, nokia and sony for a test run.
smoothly it works.
finally i found it.
so to all, video calling is made possible now.
find an app that can let facetime to be used on 3g network(optional) brows.gif
then just download fring from appstore itunes.

have fun thumbup.gif
sicklad77
post Sep 17 2010, 10:48 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(galaxy96 @ Sep 17 2010, 10:36 AM)
Hi , if I got a question , If I bought iphone 4 from USA , can it be used with our local telco? Thanks
yes bro it does smile.gif
but pls for future reference do google it or read up on previous threads.
read up here for more info http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/871684
dont la everytime always kena spoonfed smile.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 17 2010, 10:48 AM
sicklad77
post Sep 19 2010, 05:15 PM

532 posts

bro i dont know its true or it has anything to do with it but before i update my carrier settings in my room i can only get 1 bar and if im lucky only 2 bars with my iphone 4.
its close to none also if i put it waaay at the corner of the room.
after update now i could receive like 3 bars already in my room rclxms.gif

is this due to the update or what?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 19 2010, 05:20 PM
sicklad77
post Sep 19 2010, 05:24 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(johnny doe @ Sep 19 2010, 05:18 PM)
i just installed the update on my phone, 10 minutes ago.. still have 5 bars.. dont think its an issue.. are u in a crappy coverage area? try to make a call or sumthing..

i remember apple talking about this earlier.. saying that the new units didnt actually show a realistic representation of the network coverage.. (this was when the death grip became popular).. maybe it is ... maybe it aint..

my phone seems to be working the same as before.. no changes with the network strength..
bro as i was saying, in my room have very as you say "crappy coverage".
but out side the house i would get full strength as soon i step out of the house.

im just reporting that after i update my carrier settings, i could get at least 3 bars now in my room.

sicklad77
post Sep 19 2010, 05:33 PM

532 posts

never had any drop calls if that what you are referring to that is before and after the update.
just wanna share what happen, and if it is found useless or anything then just ignore.
as i said im just wondering whether it has anything to do with the update ok.

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Sep 19 2010, 05:34 PM
sicklad77
post Oct 16 2010, 10:57 AM

532 posts

dont flame me or anything but i just updated my fw to 4.1 yesterday.
when i made a call before i sleep(in a dark room) the infared for the proximity sensor light was more transparent than ever before.
i could see the red light now more than before i updated it.

google it and it wasn't an issue really.
but i just wanna know does any of you also have where the red light on the proximity sensor more visible than last time after the update? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sicklad77: Oct 16 2010, 10:57 AM
sicklad77
post Oct 28 2010, 11:00 PM

532 posts

friends check online store apple countries like singapore & us etc, the option and picture for the white iphone 4 is not there anymore.
i guess the rumours might be true that they won't released the iphone 4 white version sad.gif
dont believe me then check it out yourself at apple online store.

variable sources:
http://www.iphonedownloadblog.com/2010/10/...ne-4-cancelled/

0.0227sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:15 AM