iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V3 Thread, Discussion-Antenna, Facetime etc

slickz
post Sep 27 2010, 01:44 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:40 AM)
regarding death grip y some of us got the prob while some dun hav?
can we request to change our handset? haha
definately not. At US they had the same problem, but the number of real issues were greatly exaggerated. Seriously, do you actually notice any performance drop or affecting any calls?
userONIX
post Sep 27 2010, 01:45 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:40 AM)
regarding death grip y some of us got the prob while some dun hav?
can we request to change our handset? haha
I think the death grip only happen at poor coverage area. like at my house, maxis coverage quite poor. when I do death grip, signal drop especially when I on 3g. It will drop till 3g icon change to edge icon. then signal stay ok. When I go somewhere where the maxis coverage is strong. Whenever I do death grip, the signal will never go down.
yujin86
post Sep 27 2010, 01:48 AM

1,736 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 27 2010, 01:44 AM)
definately not. At US they had the same problem, but the number of real issues were greatly exaggerated. Seriously, do you actually notice any performance drop or affecting any calls?
yes~
cos when i hold it signal bar drops frm 3 to 1... den call failed... but surfing is ok...

QUOTE(userONIX @ Sep 27 2010, 01:45 AM)
I think the death grip only happen at poor coverage area. like at my house, maxis coverage quite poor. when I do death grip, signal drop especially when I on 3g. It will drop till 3g icon change to edge icon. then signal stay ok. When I go somewhere where the maxis coverage is strong. Whenever I do death grip, the signal will never go down.
but my area using 3gs is full bar...
on iphone 4 normal is 3-4 bars only. when i hold drop to 2 n den 1 =.=
userONIX
post Sep 27 2010, 07:22 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:49 AM)
but my area using 3gs is full bar...
on iphone 4 normal is 3-4 bars only. when i hold drop to 2 n den 1 =.=
same telco number? I can't compare the bars because in my house, everyone use celcom. =.=
benny888
post Sep 27 2010, 08:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Seems few users buying the local sets is complaining about death grip and drop calls issues. Just hope Malaysia did not not get the short end of the stick recieving the early batches of production with these problems!

No one really knows how Apple distribute their sets. To many Americans , Malaysia is unknown country !! I was in USA few times for business, most time I got this awkward look from them when I said I am from Malaysia - most think is in Africa!! OMG !

All the early users in this forum had declared there was never such issue with their sets which was bought overseas. Infact I tested one unit in June at the meetup, didn't observe such issues at all at KLCC

There is a way to check production month of the set but I cannot remember it. Any member here knows, please advise

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 27 2010, 08:34 AM
sanosizo
post Sep 27 2010, 09:21 AM

4,553 posts

i couldnt agree more on that mr benny smile.gif

but if you say thailand or singapore then they know. just say that malaysia is between those 2 countries and they will say 'aaahh' hehe

ip4 takes a bit longer to charge becos its having a bigger battery
deepan84
post Sep 27 2010, 10:15 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Sep 27 2010, 09:51 AM)
Stupid question here, new to iphone
Can i use iphone 4 as broadband modem (i.e sharing the broadband) for my notebook?
I already have mobile broadband now, if i get iphone with data package, i have damn lots of bill to pay >.>
u can tether ur iphone. sumthin like using ur iphone data on ur laptop.

Added on September 27, 2010, 10:19 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 27 2010, 08:32 AM)
Seems few users buying the local sets is complaining about death grip and drop calls issues. Just hope Malaysia did not not get the short end of the stick recieving the early batches of production with these problems!

No one really knows how Apple distribute their sets. To many Americans , Malaysia is unknown country !! I was in USA few times for business, most time I got this awkward look from them when I said I am from Malaysia - most think is in Africa!! OMG !

All the early users in this forum had declared there was never such issue with their sets which was bought overseas. Infact I tested one unit in June at the meetup, didn't observe such issues at all at KLCC
There is a way to check production month of the set but I cannot remember it. Any member here knows, please advise
yes u can check ur production week. referin to ur serial number..

aabccdddeef
aa = Factory and Machine ID
b = Year
cc = Production Week
ddd = Unique Identifier
ee = Color (A4=black)
f = size (S=16GB, T=32GB)

This post has been edited by deepan84: Sep 27 2010, 10:19 AM
dhui
post Sep 27 2010, 10:41 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

Guys, I wish to get Iphone 4.

But before that, can current IP4 users confirm me with the reception issue if it is not using the bumper??
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 10:56 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Sep 27 2010, 10:38 AM)
THANKS...once i plug in my iphone 4 to itunes,it will pop up message ask me to download & install IOS 4.1...can i do it this way?
yes you can

QUOTE(dhui @ Sep 27 2010, 10:41 AM)
Guys, I wish to get Iphone 4.

But before that, can current IP4 users confirm me with the reception issue if it is not using the bumper??
If you use Bumper or any case no reception issue at all.

If you're on a 2G network in layman terms. you turn OFF your 3G and turn ON the cellular data you're already on 2G network No Death Grip issue's

If your on an EDGE network, meaning you turn OFF your 3G and turn ON the cellular data 1 bar drop can be seen

If your on an 3G network, meaning you turn ON your 3G and turn ON the cellular data 2-3 bar drop can be seen

based on the above make your own computation's depending on the coverage area you're in. for example you're in a poor coverage area on a 3G network you put the phone in a Death Grip yes of course you'll end up with a NO SERVICE

Shah's
post Sep 27 2010, 11:15 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:15 AM)
u can tether ur iphone. sumthin like using ur iphone data on ur laptop.

Added on September 27, 2010, 10:19 am

yes u can check ur production week. referin to ur serial number..

aabccdddeef
aa = Factory and Machine ID
b = Year
cc = Production Week
ddd = Unique Identifier
ee = Color (A4=black)
f = size (S=16GB, T=32GB)
cc = Production Week
So mine (buying from the Gardens Maxis on Friday 24th) is 36 weeks.

around 2nd week in August, am I right guys??
kalisair
post Sep 27 2010, 11:36 AM

51 posts

Have anybody tried using facetime yet? How's the image and audio quality on our 1Mbps streamyx line? And how's it on other line eg. Wimax?

ronramka
post Sep 27 2010, 11:47 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(kalisair @ Sep 27 2010, 11:36 AM)

Have anybody tried using facetime yet? How's the image and audio quality on our 1Mbps streamyx line? And how's it on other line eg. Wimax?

using my 1mbps line, crystalclear...facetime using 3G (using My3G) also crystal clear smile.gif
cscheat
post Sep 27 2010, 11:50 AM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Sep 27 2010, 10:39 AM)
Hey guys, I was just testing the usage on my iphone 4. At about 1/3 brightness with all PUSH, Location info turned off etc , but using wifi to download apps from app store.

Notice that battery life drops at about 1% every 5 mins. Is that normal ? I read online that there are units with "dud" batteries and was just wondering mine is having problems.

Thanks for any info..

p/s : I can't stop staring at the screen.. it is beautiful hehe..
Dont forget to set your home screen wallpaper to a Darker one smile.gif

QUOTE(ronramka @ Sep 27 2010, 10:50 AM)
yiep.. but if u just use it for light surfing, not too hot..

but still i just use it when i'm travelling
i agree

QUOTE(ronramka @ Sep 27 2010, 11:47 AM)
using my 1mbps line, crystalclear...facetime using 3G (using My3G) also crystal clear smile.gif
Anyone tried FACETIME over Edge ???
tnsai
post Sep 27 2010, 11:53 AM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Sep 27 2010, 11:50 AM)
Eh.. why?

So any info on the battery life ?

Rgds

Joey-kun
post Sep 27 2010, 11:56 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Sep 27 2010, 11:50 AM)
i agree
Anyone tried FACETIME over Edge ???
i thought facetime only works via wifi
clayclws
post Sep 27 2010, 01:50 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Sep 27 2010, 11:37 AM)
I am thinking to take IP4, and I don't wish to use any casing or bumper.

Anyone can tell me some feedbacks on the signal/reception issue??
Reception issue is still there. It is physical design defect. Won't be able to solve with software. Better to use casing since the glass edge needs protection as well. Glass also would be scratched somehow. Accidents do happen.
nimrod323
post Sep 27 2010, 01:53 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Sep 27 2010, 01:50 PM)
Reception issue is still there. It is physical design defect. Won't be able to solve with software. Better to use casing since the glass edge needs protection as well. Glass also would be scratched somehow. Accidents do happen.
mine exhibits no such issue, is there a credible source that you could reference which point out its a physical design defect? if it is we would have to return every single iPhone 4s out there, read the explanation that has already been given in the iPhone 4 and iOS thread, this is not the place to discuss it, posts reported.
ljmljm
post Sep 27 2010, 03:06 PM

111 posts

how to check whether new iphone have yellow spot or not?
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 03:10 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ljmljm @ Sep 27 2010, 03:06 PM)
how to check whether new iphone have yellow spot or not?
thats odd i typed your same question in Google i got my answer.

ljmljm
post Sep 27 2010, 03:17 PM

111 posts

@triple02 thanks,i read all iphone2g/3g/3gs/4 purchase guide..what should i really check when i got my iphone??

43 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:42 AM