Nokia N900 V5 (More than 130 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

hahn87
post Sep 4 2010, 12:39 PM

820 posts

i got my n900 yesterday!! let me in the list please.

question. i got a slide in pouch for the phone. when i slide my phone in i notice the screen active and deactive itself? any idea on this?

also the camera slider doesn't seem to launch the camera after you leave it alone for sometime. it unlock the screen instead. holding the camera button wont work i have to go into menu to open it? again any fix for this?
hahn87
post Sep 4 2010, 02:44 PM

820 posts

mine come with the latest firmware.

now slowly getting used to it.
hahn87
post Sep 5 2010, 12:51 AM

820 posts

the day my friend pass the phone to me i was like YAY!!! then i put in my simcard and press power... it doesn't power on T_T. but then lucky it use the same battery as my 5800. LOL now i time to time over use the n900 i swap from my 5800 xD
hahn87
post Sep 5 2010, 03:37 AM

820 posts

the flash light comes one to act as a AF assist. because the place ur phone try to focus is dark there for it come out when you try to auto focus.

standard behavior for digital camera.

your only way for the flash not to come on is on landscape mode, night mode or sport mode
hahn87
post Sep 5 2010, 06:49 PM

820 posts

one dumb question... how do we type % on the hardware keyboard.... it's not there... i have to use the on screen keyboard to do so.
hahn87
post Sep 17 2010, 10:37 AM

820 posts

wuahh u guys post really fast i can't keep up at all.

btw. question. doesn't seems to able to find the option to skype video call. i can't find place to download and update my skype on phone also.
so meaning that it is pretty much updated right. but there is no video call option in contact. only regular skype call and skype IM.

anybody know away around this?

oh regarding Fcam i using it as well but never have LED and backlighting issue. the only thing that cause my phone to lose it's keyboard backlighting and the notification LED is mozilla firefox. removing it solves everything. it was just the 2nd day of having my phone shock me to death tot anything wrong my keyboard no light i charge or get sms no indication light. =.=
hahn87
post Sep 17 2010, 10:48 AM

820 posts

and also i see a lot of your screenshot on the status area got a webcam icon? what app is that?
hahn87
post Sep 17 2010, 10:00 PM

820 posts

talk about n8. i will be getting one to use side by side with n900 tho.
n900 mainly for video. n8 mainly for audio and camera.
so like now i still holding on to my 5800 because of better audio and equalizer settings..

and also n8 for GPS navigation. unless they update the ovi maps for n900 lor.

n900 to me nicer to chat on. nicer to type on. and faster way to upload things to social media like youtube or facebook. and the intergrated IM beats anything out there in my opinion.
hahn87
post Sep 18 2010, 01:19 PM

820 posts

XFX pendrive? LOL

regarding camera software.
Fcam suppose to give you manual adjustment. u can't use it to compare to HDR. because what HDR do is take the proper exposed photo + overexpose photo + underexpose photo and layer them into one.

that's why u can get properly exposed foreground and background on HDR.

Dominus is focusing the logo. but the cam too near and the focal distant not short enuf that's why not sharp.
hahn87
post Sep 19 2010, 04:25 AM

820 posts

Dominus91

ISO settings my friend.. turn the ISO down.....
ur photo too much noise because of ISO.

HDR is not use to take object photo. it is mean to be used to take photo of place like have bright background and dark foreground due to high shutter speed. but you still want the foreground to be light up then u use HDR. because it's combining 3 or more photo to form layer.

lets say u are taking a photo of a person standing infront of a window in a room and outside is bright. naturally if you take the photo without flash the camera metering will fool it to turn up the shutter speed to make the window look properly exposed. and the person will become dark due to the fast shutter. HDR takes on fast shutter, normal shutter and slow shutter(to make the subject brighter) and then layer them together to form a properly exposed subject and also background.

but still in Fcam even with HDR please tune down the ISO.

Fcam doesn't take better photo by default. it give you the option for more manual adjustment.

hope this gives you some rough idea.

Added on September 19, 2010, 4:33 am@fas29
1.22 also xD
2.10 is like showing the camera got face detection feature?

This post has been edited by hahn87: Sep 19 2010, 04:33 AM

0.0433sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:18 PM