56 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Intel Core i7 LGA1366 & X58 Overclocking V2, Discussion, Benchmarks, Stabilty, Guides

mengsuan
post Oct 21 2010, 01:21 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Eek. 3.6GHz is just 2C higher. Stock cooler or ...?

C0, HT on, 3.6GHz, 1.176V:

Your screenshot makes me think that my heatsink is running abnormally. Mine is D0, HT off, 3.36GHz, 1.05V.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 21 2010, 01:24 PM
cheesycake
post Oct 22 2010, 09:07 AM

302 posts

I'm currently using Kingston HyperX 6Gb 2000mhz but not overclocking my pc till I get my watercooling.

Feel like tightening the ram timings but dont know which values I should adjust and what values I should adjust them to.
mengsuan
post Oct 22 2010, 01:30 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Goes up to 89C at 3.6GHz@1.10V (BIOS) without HT. sad.gif

The core temperatures look quite imbalanced. First I thought was bad mounting but I already pushed it very well in.

Added on October 22, 2010, 1:49 pmTried 3.6GHz HT on. Very disappointed with the temperature when compared to cstkl1's rig. My uncore speed is already lower than his but yet so much hotter.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 22 2010, 06:32 PM
gengstapo
post Oct 22 2010, 05:58 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 22 2010, 01:30 PM)

Goes up to 89C at 3.6V@1.10V (BIOS) without HT. sad.gif

The core temperatures look quite imbalanced. First I thought was bad mounting but I already pushed it very well in.

already lower than his but yet so much hotter.

Are you on stock HSF??
mengsuan
post Oct 22 2010, 06:31 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Yes. Stock HSF
TSowikh84
post Oct 22 2010, 07:08 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Some of the reasons why u got different temps:
Diff proc diff exothermic
Environment (aircond/none)
Casing airflow
Extra active cooling (table fan)
Thermal compd (TIM)
voltages, VTT, etc...

Solution:
Get an aftermarket cooler and clock at least 4Ghz
gengstapo
post Oct 22 2010, 10:12 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 22 2010, 06:31 PM)
Yes. Stock HSF
Hahaa, no wonder laa. But your temp. & mine are about the same tongue.gif
But me on higher clock & voltage with 3rd party air cooling.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
mengsuan
post Oct 22 2010, 10:43 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I'll reseat the heatsink and clean the fans tomorrow. The noise is echoing my house.
TSowikh84
post Oct 23 2010, 03:26 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

slightly bumping up the QPI PLL & IOH/ICH I/O volts

i7 920 D0 @ 4.5Ghz HT OFF
EVGA Classfied E760 Bios 73
Corsair DomGT 2kC7 @ 2150Mhz 8-8-8-20-1T, RTL 60/62/64, vdimm 1.61v

This post has been edited by owikh84: Oct 23 2010, 03:48 PM
TSowikh84
post Oct 23 2010, 06:14 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Understanding EVGA X58 Classified Voltages

CPU VTT: Stock VTT voltage defaults to 1.17V or so. The scale runs in 10mv steps, allowing you to add or subtract from the base value. VTT voltage drives the integrated memory controller and the QPI link bus. This voltage will need to be increased as you increase memory frequency and increase BCLK (QPI frequency). Remember to keep this voltage within 0.5V of VDIMM to prevent damage to the integrated memory controller.

CPU PLL VCore: 1.8V base; we found no benefits to increasing this voltage for overclocking. Clean power to PLL circuits is essential for ensuring that external influences over the accuracy of clock signals is minimized. It seems EVGA have done a good job with regards to all PLL voltage rails on the Classified. In terms of overclocking headroom and PLL's, clean power always trumps more voltage, thus there's no need to tinker with these voltages to any great extent on this board, apart from perhaps QPI PLL. Even then, you'll probaby find the level of voltage required for maximum BCLK potential is far below what some other boards need to get the same clocks...

IOH PLL VCore: Input/Output Hub Phase Locked Loop voltage. The default voltage is 1.8V. For the most part this voltage can be left at stock unless chasing maximum QPI frequencies for benchmarking. For 24/7 use we recommend you stick with a maximum of 1.89V. Processors/IOHs needing more than 1.89V to remain stable are best run at a lower BCLK and higher CPU multiplier to bring them back into their comfort zone.

QPI PLL VCore: Quick Path Interconnect Phase Locked Loop voltage. For 24/7 overclocking this voltage can be left at stock in most instances. Again, if you need to use more it's probably wise to pull back a little on QPI frequency to a speed that requires no more than 1.2V. For benchmarking, we used 1.45V to reach 239 BCLK for a CPU-Z shot.

IOH VCore: Input/Output Hub voltage uses a 1.10V base. Stock values usually suffice for 24/7 overclocking even when using multiple graphics cards; we had no problems in reaching a stable 200 BCLK X20 for 4GHz CPU speed. For more extreme QPI frequencies this voltage will need to be increased. For 3D benchmarking past 220 BCLK we used 1.45V. We needed 1.50V to reach 239 BCLK. Values over 1.50V failed to POST or locked up in the OS; use only as much voltage as you need.

IOH/ICH I/O Voltage: IOH to Intel Southbridge termination voltage. We left this voltage at stock and did not see any overclocking improvements from increasing it on this board. Base value is 1.50V.

ICH VCore: 1.05V base voltage; again this voltage can be left at default.

NF200 Voltage: 1.2V stock. We left this voltage at stock for all overclocking.

VTT PWM Frequency: Changes the switching frequency of the VTT voltage line. Higher switching frequencies can help facilitate lower output ripple, and reduce overshoot while providing a higher frequency power bandwidth to the CPU. Setting a higher frequency with this BIOS option may improve overclocking headroom somewhat depending on the current drawn. For overclocking past 220 BCLK we generally used 490KHz; for speeds below this a 250KHz switching frequency worked fine for us and also reduces the heat output from the PWM FETs.

CPU PWM Frequency: CPU PWM (VCore supply) switching frequency. Stock is 800KHz, which is more than sufficient for 99% of overclocking. For subzero benchmarking you may wish to increase the switching frequency to see if it helps stability during heavy 8-thread CPU loads. The side effect in doing so is increased heat from the power FETs, although the temperature increase is quite small due to the use of a 10-phase power delivery circuit, especially as the FETs are indirectly cooled via the CPU power plane when the processor temperature is well into the negative region.

CPU Impedance: Sets the level of signal compensation for the QPI bus to the CPU. Higher QPI frequencies often demand a higher signal current, which means that compensation levels have to be changed in order to counter any signal line reflections caused by PCB traces and input impedance mismatches. The options available for this function are AUTO and Less. On the Classified, we found that QPI frequencies approaching 4GHz can benefit from a reduction in setting Less, even more so if the CPU frequency is well above 4.5GHz. Leave at AUTO for most 24/7 overclocking at BCLKs under 200MHz. For subzero cooling at high system speeds, set this value to Less to see if it helps with overclocking headroom.

QPI Compensation: Sets the level of signal compensation for the QPI bus to the IOH. There are three options for this function, those being AUTO, Less, and More. We found that IOH compensation is far more sensitive to changes in compensation values than the CPU. A setting of Less for high BCLKs and QPI frequencies almost always brings about additional system stability during benchmarking (at least in our experience). For all other purposes, this value can be left to AUTO.
mengsuan
post Oct 24 2010, 03:54 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

My computer had total freeze without BSOD. Returning to stock voltage and clock will still give random freeze. I deteriorated the processor/motherboard? It can still pass Linx and Folding@home as long as possible until random freeze occur again.

No BSOD=No logs. No idea what caused instability.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Oct 24 2010, 03:55 PM
TSowikh84
post Oct 24 2010, 04:05 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

One of my HDDs in drive D kong, frozen the windows. No BSOD.
Check ur CPU socket for bulu.
kripkorn
post Oct 26 2010, 02:17 AM

512 posts

what i should do when intel burn test passed succesfully but when run linX. it show error calculation.

Increase vCore or QPI
cstkl1
post Oct 26 2010, 03:26 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 24 2010, 03:54 PM)
My computer had total freeze without BSOD. Returning to stock voltage and clock will still give random freeze. I deteriorated the processor/motherboard? It can still pass Linx and Folding@home as long as possible until random freeze occur again.

No BSOD=No logs. No idea what caused instability.
theres a issue with one of the updates on windows 7 with HPEt timing
i am also looking into these

also troubleshoot by replacing the Linx linpack files from intel.

QUOTE(kripkorn @ Oct 26 2010, 02:17 AM)
what i should do when intel burn test passed succesfully but when run linX. it show error calculation.

Increase vCore or QPI
ibt has the latest linkpack while Linx hasnt been updated quite sometime
also read the above reply post to mengsuan
huzzLEE_82
post Oct 26 2010, 09:48 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

sorry all sifu here me as noob in OC..
my northbridge/IOH temp is 78c with 5870CF..is it acceptable?

cheesycake
post Oct 26 2010, 10:07 PM

302 posts

What do you guys think about my water cooling set up?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1615410
TSowikh84
post Oct 26 2010, 11:16 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Oct 26 2010, 09:48 PM)
ur IOH=1.35v is too high for 200x19. Only play with IOH if BCLK > 200.
Most of the time just let it auto.

QUOTE(cheesycake @ Oct 26 2010, 10:07 PM)
What do you guys think about my water cooling set up?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1615410
Pls use the existing WC thread laugh.gif
huzzLEE_82
post Oct 27 2010, 12:16 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

@owikh..thanx now put IOH to auto...
my temp goes down to 65c now..
isk still not within 50s...or just put ais ketul dalam sana...

TSowikh84
post Oct 27 2010, 06:05 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:16 AM)
@owikh..thanx now put IOH to auto...
my temp goes down to 65c now..
isk still not within 50s...or just put ais ketul dalam sana...
use the provided active NB fan block or reapply TIM+reseat the block. nod.gif
lichyetan
post Oct 27 2010, 10:33 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Oct 26 2010, 09:48 PM)
For R3E, if you take out the stock heatsink, you will see yellow piece of lousy thermal paste, which are causing high temps, you can try to reapply the thermal paste on the stock heatsink, you will see improvements for sure.

56 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:58 AM