Mileage Allowance, How to calculate mileage allowance?

TSericyuu
post Aug 31 2010, 11:45 AM, updated 16y ago

Anyone of you can guide me on how to calculate the car mileage allowance? What are the considerations should I put in? petrol, maintenance and??
Do you have the standard format? I want to justify it with my boss because my current mileage claim is only RM0.30/km, very hard to survive sad.gif
Thrust
post Aug 31 2010, 11:46 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

30sen/km is way to low. You can't cover the cost of your car maintenance with that claim.
darkages
post Aug 31 2010, 11:47 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

30 cents? For motorbike is it?
I have to agree that the mileage allowance is kinda low.
1 way you could justify is to use your company's competitor rate.
TSericyuu
post Aug 31 2010, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 31 2010, 11:46 AM)
30sen/km is way to low. You can't cover the cost of your car maintenance with that claim.
My boss asked me to provide the details calulation to him, why I need more than RM0.30/km sad.gif
Can anyone of you help to justify on it? Thanks.

Added on August 31, 2010, 11:58 am
QUOTE(darkages @ Aug 31 2010, 11:47 AM)
30 cents? For motorbike is it?
I have to agree that the mileage allowance is kinda low.
1 way you could justify is to use your company's competitor rate.
They don't want to benchmark the market price, but want me to provide the details calculation cry.gif

This post has been edited by ericyuu: Aug 31 2010, 11:58 AM
gunh
post Aug 31 2010, 01:28 PM

459 posts

let me try on this math as it sounds kinda simple for me... Take Proton car for eg...

car petrol consumption = avg RM60 for 300km distance, per km = 0.2 cents /km (u may also use your car fuel consumption againts current fuel price)

car maintenance = avg RM250 for every 5000km, per km = 0.05 cents / km

tires = avg RM 1200 for every 40000km, per km = 0.03cents / km

car insurance & roadtax = RM1500 for every year (asumming 1yr travel 20000km), per km = 0.075 cents / km

car depreciation = avg RM6000 per annum (assuming 1 yr travel 20000km), per km = 0.3 cents / km (looks may not be strong points, but u can defend that your own car resale value will be lower due to higher mileages)

so if total up all the above it will work out to something like ~ RM 0.655 cents per KM travel...

Every things can be justify.... just we need to think a way and logicable....

Hope this help...

TSericyuu
post Aug 31 2010, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(gunh @ Aug 31 2010, 01:28 PM)
let me try on this math as it sounds kinda simple for me...  Take Proton car for eg...

car petrol consumption = avg RM60 for 300km distance, per km = 0.2 cents /km (u may also use your car fuel consumption againts current fuel price)

car insurance & roadtax = RM1500 for every year (asumming 1yr travel 20000km), per km = 0.075 cents / km

car depreciation = avg RM6000 per annum (assuming 1 yr travel 20000km), per km = 0.3 cents / km (looks may not be strong points, but u can defend that your own car resale value will be lower due to higher mileages)

so if total up all the above it will work out to something like ~ RM 0.655 cents per KM travel...

Every things can be justify.... just we need to think a way and logicable....

Hope this help...
That's look good:) thanks so much for your value information notworthy.gif
wiriamu
post Aug 31 2010, 06:43 PM

wow good example there thumbup.gif
seantang
post Aug 31 2010, 08:48 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Aug 31 2010, 01:28 PM)
let me try on this math as it sounds kinda simple for me...  Take Proton car for eg...

so if total up all the above it will work out to something like ~ RM 0.655 cents per KM travel..

Sounds more like a car allowance in lieu of a company car benefit/perk, rather than a mileage allowance to pay for petrol and toll.

dynames07
post Aug 31 2010, 09:28 PM

272 posts

i've worked for two different companies up until now and both of the company use the same rate which is 60cents/km for traveling by car. the distance is measured using google map. key-in where you start and where yo ens your journey and the google map will tell you how many km you have traveled
gunh
post Aug 31 2010, 09:33 PM

459 posts

actually is to work out the cost incurred when u travel... but bear in mind, company car benifit is what u enjoy everyday as long as u r working for the company whereas mileage claim is only eligible when u travel on case to case basis on company matters...

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 31 2010, 08:48 PM)
Sounds more like a car allowance in lieu of a company car benefit/perk, rather than a mileage allowance to pay for petrol and toll.
seantang
post Aug 31 2010, 10:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Aug 31 2010, 09:33 PM)
actually is to work out the cost incurred when u travel...  but bear in mind, company car benifit is what u enjoy everyday as long as u r working for the company whereas mileage claim is only eligible when u travel on case to case basis on company matters...

If it is to simply reimburse the cost of travelling, then the maximum claim is logically the equivalent taxi fare.

Stuff like depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road tax is not cost of travelling. It's cost of owning a car. Stuff like depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road - you incur anyway even if you don't use your car for work.

If you then argue that you would not incur as much depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road tax IF you weren't driving for business - then back to my first sentence... take a taxi.

For people who need to drive for work... then a car is a tool of trade. Companies should provide all the tools their employees need to ply their trade. So in that case, the company either gives them a company car, or provide the kind of allowance you've described so that they can buy a car for work.
Singh_Kalan
post Aug 31 2010, 10:47 PM

2,033 posts

Actually 30cent per km is more than enough to cover your petrol and maintenance. Its just the car depreciation that most employer reluctant to share it. By right, they should at least bear 1/2 of the depreciation cost.
seantang
post Aug 31 2010, 11:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 31 2010, 10:47 PM)
Its just the car depreciation that most employer reluctant to share it.  By right, they should at least bear 1/2 of the depreciation cost.
Is 1/2 your mileage purely business and work related?

gunh
post Sep 1 2010, 11:13 AM

459 posts

let's put things right back...

mileage claims is only for work related matters... so it has to be business and work related. Travelling from home to office is should not be entitle for mileage claim. (at least most of the company practise that)... Hence the above calculation is logical... the more u travel for company relater matters, then car depreciation, car wear and tear will come to issue... But on how company deal with it is another issue... a lot of company limit 0.60 cents per km for mileage claim for 1st 500km and then 0.40 (lower) per km for subsequent... there should be a basis for them to evaluate...
number79
post Sep 1 2010, 11:36 AM

69 posts

dun forget include toll and parking ya.

also tell your boss TNB's give rm0.90 for car and rm0.35 for motorcycle. just for ur boss reference (not including meal, toll, parking, etc..)
hohohooo...
gunh
post Sep 1 2010, 11:45 AM

459 posts

normally toll & parking are seperate claim with bill right??? so in this case should not include under car mileage claims...
TommyTan
post Sep 1 2010, 11:46 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(number79 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:36 AM)
dun forget include toll and parking ya.

also tell your boss TNB's give rm0.90 for car and rm0.35 for motorcycle. just for ur boss reference (not including meal, toll, parking, etc..)
hohohooo...
I doubt very much TS's company is the same level as TnB.

Added on September 1, 2010, 11:49 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 31 2010, 10:41 PM)
If it is to simply reimburse the cost of travelling, then the maximum claim is logically the equivalent taxi fare.

Stuff like depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road tax is not cost of travelling. It's cost of owning a car. Stuff like depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road - you incur anyway even if you don't use your car for work.

If you then argue that you would not incur as much depreciation, insurance, maintenance and road tax IF you weren't driving for business - then back to my first sentence... take a taxi.

For people who need to drive for work... then a car is a tool of trade. Companies should provide all the tools their employees need to ply their trade. So in that case, the company either gives them a company car, or provide the kind of allowance you've described so that they can buy a car for work.
Yes, mileage claim is not for covering every other fringe cost associated with the travel. Thats why its call mileage claim. If you find the rate too low to your liking, there are other firms like TnB who are generous enough to offer Rm0.90/km.

This post has been edited by TommyTan: Sep 1 2010, 11:49 AM
leongal
post Sep 1 2010, 11:50 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i think mileage claim is only on the distance,

the other tolls and parking is on reimbursement basis and should be separate from mileage claim
gunh
post Sep 1 2010, 11:53 AM

459 posts

true... an avg mileage claim would be somewhere 0.50 cents per km...
TommyTan
post Sep 1 2010, 11:54 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

or you can always drive a diesel car.

Added on September 1, 2010, 11:57 amusually , company with less people claiming will have better rates.

Travel-heavy company with many mobile salespeople will tend to have lower KM rate.

And if you are a non-regular traveller in such place, its naturale to feel "unfair".

This post has been edited by TommyTan: Sep 1 2010, 11:57 AM
undentifiedKC
post Sep 1 2010, 12:02 PM

413 posts

hmm... my previous company pay RM0.50/KM, i think average should around RM0.50-0.70, juz my 2cents.
koreali
post Sep 2 2010, 02:46 PM

66 posts

my ex-firm pay rm0.70/km, included toll and parking, but must count start from office to client place.
orangefish
post Sep 6 2010, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(ericyuu @ Aug 31 2010, 11:45 AM)
Anyone of you can guide me on how to calculate the car mileage allowance? What are the considerations should I put in? petrol, maintenance and??
Do you have the standard format? I want to justify it with my boss because my current mileage claim is only RM0.30/km, very hard to survive  sad.gif
damn, u got 30cents, i only got 25cents!!!! mad.gif
eugene jk
post Sep 6 2010, 05:30 PM

1,479 posts

Work in 3 companies before...

1st company, RM0.70/km (and that was 2006)
2nd company (Cina pek company) - RM500 permonth constant (include everything)
3rd company, RM0.85/km (current)

undentifiedKC
post Sep 6 2010, 07:11 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(koreali @ Sep 2 2010, 02:46 PM)
my ex-firm pay rm0.70/km, included toll and parking, but must count start from office to client place.
lol, mine is RM0.50, parking n toll is other count~
smuxsmux
post Sep 7 2010, 01:13 AM

162 posts

Chinaman boss spotted.
IamNOT
post Nov 4 2013, 02:00 PM

283 posts

I have to bump this old topic.
How about the price now?
My company only RM0.50
gunh
post Nov 4 2013, 04:07 PM

459 posts

seems too low.

QUOTE(IamNOT @ Nov 4 2013, 02:00 PM)
I have to bump this old topic.
How about the price now?
My company only RM0.50
IamNOT
post Nov 7 2013, 10:03 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Nov 4 2013, 04:07 PM)
seems too low.
Agree... How much average?
Mackiddo
post Nov 7 2013, 11:01 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

80cents/km sounds logical
alanelf
post Nov 24 2013, 02:37 PM

The Geek
640 posts

If the company monthly give RM300 for maintenance and full claims toll & petrol is it worth it?
OhNooy
post Nov 25 2013, 09:40 AM

1,133 posts

My ex company paid RM0.75/km. Parking and toll claim separately.
HeReLiSm
post Nov 25 2013, 01:38 PM

488 posts

Mine RM0.60/km for outstation, excluding tolls and parking.

For maintenance, RM300/months fixed.

0.0271sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:45 AM