What it takes.., ..to be a diamond/platinum player?

tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 03:01 AM

35 posts

That guy already 900 games? Omg....
And I thought 1000 games is going to take months to accomplish...
tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 03:40 AM

35 posts

Yea but haha.
If you think about it.

Not sure if this is realistic, but just calculating it on average. tongue.gif
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Let's say minus sleep time and eating time, hope he sleeps 8 hours a day and maybe take 2 hours of breaks just to eat, sleep, go toilet and what not. tongue.gif
He has 14hours a day, which is 840mins per day.

Let's say a game averages to 20mins. So he can play 840/20 = 42 games per day. Then 900/42 is around 21.5 days. It's almost a month haha. Basically he just plays non-stop since it came out. I guess that explains why he is so stressed and scolds people just for getting cheesed. tongue.gif He certainly needs a break.

Of course, this does not count the fact that he could be sharing account with a friend so the play time could be more than 14 hours a day. tongue.gif

tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 04:54 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Sep 1 2010, 04:00 AM)
wan a screenshot of him ? LOL

btw , a talented player should be diamond +70% winning rate and above. ( at least 200 matches in total )
Haha would love to see it if you can spare the time. biggrin.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 01:28 PM

35 posts

Haha the poor bronze players. tongue.gif
But if suddenly appear one that is good, then pity the diamond player cause when lose that time, will lose a lot of points...

Seldom happen I hope.
Highest I've met so far as Bronze was Platinum.
tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 03:25 PM

35 posts

Hahahaha. Thanks for the screenshot Nandeska.
Plus the comments some more. Now I understand why must be a screenshot. tongue.gif

Something is certainly wrong with the system.
He is suppose to be played in placement matches once he reaches rank #1 in the division. Then the placement would set him in a different league and probably half his points.

Either that or did this on purpose. tongue.gif
He just kept losing 5 games to put himself back in Bronze then play some more and then when he sees that he is getting matched with diamond, platinum and gold players again, he purposely lose 5 times again so he keeps staying in the bronze league. tongue.gif

Not sure if I got the system right...

tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 03:50 PM

35 posts

It is good but there's a flaw that you can exploit.
I still find it to be the best system there is for RTS games.

Like C&C Red Alert 2 as an example.
When it first came out, you feel like you wanna vomit blood trying to play online. The matchmake system never works, so we ed up making custom games and wait for people to join or join people's custom games. To make things worst, there's no meter at that time to show what are the other people's latency so you'll have to pray hard that the game won't lag.

Gave up trying after my 5th game basically.
Think there was patches for it but I already went back to playing wow...
tatyinw
post Sep 1 2010, 07:40 PM

35 posts

Interesting. My friend and I did the 2v2 and we won 5-0.
Ended up in Gold League only. tongue.gif

Maybe we only got at most a Gold league player during our matchups.
For my 1v1 I got a 3-2 I think and I ended up in Bronze haha.
Probably lost to a Bronze player in one of the games. That time still didn't know how to check profile at the score screen.

Now have to slowly climb up the ladder.
tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 02:21 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 1 2010, 11:24 PM)
lol me n my fren 3-2 and got to plat =p
Sigh right? Haha.
Have to climb up the ladder also.

Just my luck. Always have to do it the hard way.
tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 02:26 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 2 2010, 10:12 AM)
rally ur troops to a save spot, get some mass then go in FTW...
some even rally their marines right under my VR...
i really sleep.gif"
Yea. That sounds like me last time.
Later when I watch back replay I was like doh.gif
What the hell was I doing...
tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 03:20 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 02:34 PM)
whine to your opponent: u r lucky when I was lag in the fight..^$^&**^(*) U!!!!
then rage quit..
XD
LOL. I didn't know that I was doing that until I saw the replay. tongue.gif
Not even sure what I was doing at that time.
Probably I was trying to whack his base while defending against his void rays.

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 2 2010, 02:46 PM)
well largely depends on ur opponents...
my new 3s team went gold after 4-1 cause i dc the last game at the start and my frens decided its hopeless to even try and left  rclxub.gif
Yea. We probably did only get gold league players.
Aww. Quite a waste. Sometimes they might be lax and up getting pwned. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 2 2010, 03:09 PM)
u know, u can always buy a guide book and read from there...

after that, just practice your method and try to be fast with ur fingers...
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 2 2010, 03:12 PM)
dun really need guidebook when u got teamliquid and liquidpedia
Yea. They are the best resource to read from compared to the guide book.
The guide book is more of a collectible for me. tongue.gif
Something nice to have on the shelf. Haha.

tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 03:27 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 03:20 PM)
And TFK more to have higher APM lollolololol
TFK during the game is it?
Don't want la. I don't wanna get the keyboard and mouse sticky. tongue.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 04:38 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 03:30 PM)
lol rclxm9.gif
once u can do that..multitasking..ur apm will boost to 300-400 like those koreans
I think they can probably tfk, drink coffee, watch tv and cook instant noodles at the same time... tongue.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 2 2010, 04:54 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 04:49 PM)
are u sure they are human?
Haha just a figure of speech. tongue.gif
But when I think about it, it is possible.
Just the instant noodle part might be a bit difficult to accomplish unless you have the stove next to your PC.
tatyinw
post Sep 4 2010, 01:12 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Sep 3 2010, 10:13 PM)
i got his match record and replay -,-"
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 4 2010, 01:07 AM)
lol i jz check my fren's match history and its not u LOL...
its knightelf
Haha.

Nandeska, you're misunderstanding.
hazairi and evofantasy's friend is 2 different person.
tatyinw
post Sep 4 2010, 01:43 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Sep 4 2010, 01:23 AM)
ya la, im talkimg about hazairi and he is talking about other person !!
Haha yea. Somehow a little mixup there. laugh.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 4 2010, 11:39 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 4 2010, 06:07 AM)
F U! kutuk me summore!  cry.gif
Haha don't la like that. It's just a game. smile.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 29 2010, 03:16 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 29 2010, 10:02 AM)
Guys, just wanna announce that today I reached my 100th wins for 1v1 rclxms.gif  (The signature system haven't update yet the score).
Most of the wins are cheese wins. If I play macro (2 or 3 expansions) 80% i will lose the match.
Haha gratz.
Don't need to be so frank on being a cheeser. laugh.gif
It is still a win nevertheless.
tatyinw
post Oct 1 2010, 02:54 PM

35 posts

Check their match history.
They probably lost a lot of games until the internal matcher thinks that they are even match with a bronze.
tatyinw
post Oct 1 2010, 03:42 PM

35 posts

Ah that's not what I meant. tongue.gif
You see their match history to see if the previous few games they were on a loss streak or not. The loss streak is the one that usually puts them down to fight with bronze players and still call it an even match. smile.gif

Added on October 1, 2010, 3:57 pmIt is because it happened to me before.
Playing too many custom games and later go back to 1v1, people have upgraded their skills.
Had quite a bad loss streak of 10 games one shot.
After that, I met bronze or silver players for the match up and they were called even match. tongue.gif
I was expecting them to be gold.

This post has been edited by tatyinw: Oct 1 2010, 03:57 PM
tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 12:23 PM

35 posts

Just reached high enough to start meeting zerg players that go for roaches.
Having a hard time now. tongue.gif

That 5-6 roaches poking at the front of my base when I only have like 3-4 stalkers is quite tough to handle...

0.0272sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:02 PM