Philosophy What happens after death?

k0k0puff
post Sep 1 2010, 09:56 PM

69 posts

That is just a thought, I am open to many theories of life after death, but it is hard to determine which one is the "right one", there are no reliable source to this subject matter. Everyone who have been there is unable to say anything about it.
Just live it, and see what happens when the time comes
Goldmund
post Sep 16 2010, 05:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(k0k0puff @ Sep 1 2010, 02:00 PM)
I do prefer the idea of reincarnation, everything comes in a circle. But human population is increasing, so where is the new numbers come from? There is still much to be discovered.
Its true human population is increasing, but do you realize animal population is decreasing and many species even extinct? Does this answer your question on reincarnation?
syadlan
post Sep 18 2010, 11:48 PM

Can try put the HD cctv camera with mic and Digital Thermometers in the Grave.. and start studying the movement
or sound

SUSslimey
post Sep 19 2010, 12:01 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Goldmund @ Sep 16 2010, 05:12 PM)
Its true human population is increasing, but do you realize animal population is decreasing and many species even extinct? Does this answer your question on reincarnation?
oh so reincarnation also works on the population of amoeba, bacteria, viruses, prions? what about their population?

oh and population on other planets affect population on earth?

do you see the problem while making reincarnation theory work?
3dassets
post Sep 19 2010, 01:16 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

If we are not supposed to know then we will not have the answer until we die, I think you are curious because you wonder about our purpose in this life. Hey, we came with nothing and goes the same is the natural course and everything we do in this lifetime is either significant enough to remain useful or in vein.

Maybe some one did came back and tell us there is heaven and others escape from hell to haunt some of us.
SpikeMarlene
post Sep 19 2010, 10:42 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 19 2010, 01:16 AM)
If we are not supposed to know then we will not have the answer until we die, I think you are curious because you wonder about our purpose in this life. Hey, we came with nothing and goes the same is the natural course and everything we do in this lifetime is either significant enough to remain useful or in vein.

Maybe some one did came back and tell us there is heaven and others escape from hell to haunt some of us.
None of the eye witness accounts of what happened is reliable. On top of that most of the eye witness accounts differ from one another in significant ways which seems to be intimately related to what they believed and experienced in their lives. If heaven or hell is real, then it is only true to within that small sphere of believers' faith.
TerRK
post Sep 19 2010, 10:47 AM

21 posts

After that the world I'd non your bussiness

SpikeMarlene
post Sep 19 2010, 10:50 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(TerRK @ Sep 19 2010, 10:47 AM)
After that the world I'd non your bussiness
If it is so, it will be none of yours either, would it?
brutalsoul
post Oct 6 2010, 01:39 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

whr will we go afterlife? another place?or re carnation? if another place, then that place should be very crowded since many ppl already dead...if re carnation, -->still a big question mark
flore
post Oct 8 2010, 08:44 PM

41 posts

Should something happen after death?
annariana
post Oct 9 2010, 03:52 PM

197 posts

TS,

threads concerning religion or so will seriously cause circular debates. lets direct this thread in listing down the probabilities of what will happen after death, rather than asking.

different beliefs dawns different facts of what will happen after death. listing it down according to beliefs and imaginations will explain better, rather than having people of diff beliefs quarrel whether they're right or wrong all the time.
LightningFist
post Oct 10 2010, 12:41 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Sincerely disappointed with the first 2 posts here, which sort of said "take a religion" or "look at religion". That's not right to say.

Be religious, or worship an entity, by all means, or not at all, but don't answer somebody's genuine question by saying "take a religion". That's inappropriate.

I don't think one life reincarnates to another individual - if reincarnation exists it has nothing to do with population. Perhaps 1 tree could die, and its death could fuel a thousand insects. Now wouldn't that be brilliant - but do trees even have souls?

Human beings have a funny way of disregarding anything that is inanimate or non-motile.

Karma stems from conscience and altruism. Altruism, some say, is Human Nature, innate.

Who knows what happens after life? Will humans ever find out? Sometimes this entertains us - the idea, that is - in books, movies, art. Sometimes this saddens us.

Just do, whatever it is that you do.
broken_leg
post Oct 10 2010, 10:04 AM

115 posts

find the real religion and u will know y god cr8 us...
Avangelice
post Oct 10 2010, 10:21 PM

5,271 posts

Religion aside, I believe when you die you will feel nothing. You do not exist. No soul to wonder in heaven or in hell. Empty dark existence like the time when we came out from our mothers womb.
SUSkyuukokunoten
post Oct 11 2010, 05:21 PM

70 posts

well,what happens later is based on your belief...
SUSrandyhow
post Oct 13 2010, 05:40 PM

Dragon Sage
561 posts

i post reincarnation argument b4 in buddhist retreat:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=35582010

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 04:07 PM)
i'm quite skeptical on reincarnation concept.. there's a paradox...

in 1800 the population of the world estimate about 1 billion, after 2000 the ultimate increase of population to 6 billion + and growing...

if we die then reincarnate to somebody else, the rate of population should be stable or flat liner on chart...
QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 13 2010, 04:11 PM)
if you say reincarnate to soemthing else is possible, then you should logically also include that somethign else can also reincarnate back to the human world, no?
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 13 2010, 04:15 PM)
probably explain the dwindling of animal population

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 13 2010, 04:17 PM)
well the buddha said we are not the only place in this world system that has humans... there are other 3 places, with much longer lifespan than the humans on Earth. (within this world system).

Plus, there are 30 more worlds a being can land to, from the heavily populated Avici hell to the least populated highest realm of neither perception nor non-perception.
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 04:18 PM)
Haha...i was having the same question previously, when my understanding of Buddhism was very vague (i am hardly an expert now, but just know a little bit more).

1)  In Buddhism, the concept is RE-BIRTH, not RE-INCARNATION. Re-incarnation is in Hinduism. A re-birth is not the same because in Buddhism, there is no soul. It's like you drop a drop of water into the stream, the stream flows to the end. Another drop of water emerge from the stream, this drop of water that emerge again is not exactly the same as the drop of water that enters the stream.

2) Re-birth doesn't always gets you back into the human world. There are many planes of existence in Buddhism. You can go to higher plane or go to lower plane. It can be the same physical plane as us...rebirth into an animal world, or worst....other planes of existence which we do not see. (There are also higher plane of existence we do not see...).

Also, Buddhism acknowledge other worlds of existence...you might not be even rebirth to this planet.

So you see, the chart of only human beings on this planet in this plane of existence is not a correct way to gauge rebirth.
QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 04:21 PM)
if add in animal factor, there's farming industri that breeds food (cow, chicken, rabbit, crocs... etc,etc) with is million more produce per square inch compare to animals that perishing in nature ... so it should be more too.... not less....
QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 13 2010, 04:31 PM)
lulz...
this 1 Parallel universe liao... Quantum Theory tear my mind.. Buddha so keng, know Quantum Theory long time ago..
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2010, 04:38 PM)
Not parallel universe lar. Only multiple realms of existence. Other religions also have wat...but only less...etc Heaven, Hell and Earth.
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 14 2010, 06:59 AM)
but we destroy environment. Environment consist of not only food... it also have micro-organism. Imagine hectar of green.
How many animal and micro-organism in it...

QUOTE(randyhow @ Aug 14 2010, 12:46 PM)
micro-organism in the forest is much less than those factories (yogurt, beer, wine, sewage treatment ... etc etc)  in terms of production rate per cubic inch (nature rate is fix, man produced is still growing)...
Potatojii
post Oct 14 2010, 01:52 AM

140 posts

U either go to heaven or hell if u follow my religion.
nice.rider
post Oct 17 2010, 11:29 AM

109 posts

Why ask the living people what happen after death, since non of them had this experience before? Let's wait for one who goes there and return and tell us the story, shall we. Note that out of body experience or near death experience is not technically death, and the testimonials often contradicting and inconclusive.

On this topic, what we have is speculation and belief. However, cognitive science tends to provide us with a better understanding or at least show us a better direction where we should be looking for when touches this "grey area".

Let's look at hardware and software. A few line of programming syntax (line of codes) is considered a program. Taking a computer virus program as an example, when we look into "each" lines, there are merely if, then, else and some actions. However when "combine" these individual lines together, it exhibits a new behavior called "consciousness". Holism creates consciousness. This is what analogy to "live".

Let's talk about the opposite of "live", death.

If you burn your PC because it is infected by computer virus, after the burning, is the computer virus death to you???

Yes, maybe you could say that, that is the end of the computer virus.

Food for thought:

If the computer virus (I mean the same syntax and line of codes) is now rerun on a new PC, it is the "same computer virus" that you burned just now or is it a entirely new "computer virus"???

Since it exhibits the same syntax, we would say that it is the same computer virus.

As such, if we want that "computer virus" program to be run in a new PC, we "need not" salvage the original burned computer part or even need not to replicate the original machine. Any active mediums (PC, laptop, handphone, music player, even write it down using pencil and paper) which gave the same syntax could in principle embody the "same virus".

The analogy used here:
PC - A body
Computer Virus - Consciousness
Active mediums - Another body, animal

This conclusion leaves open to the question of whether the "computer program" is rerun in another body at a later date, is it the idea of reincarnation.
Or
In a realm that is not part of the physical universe.

Note: cognitive science tells us that the "meaning, purpose" of the computer virus can only attach to the flow of time, which is during the "running" of the program, as far as the perception of time is concerned. Meaning, purpose is ties to "running" of the program within the flow of time.

However, the existence of the program is essentially timeless as it could exist indefinitely (In the PC, laptop, in a paper (writing it down using a pen, so that 1000 years later someone picks this lines of code up, and put it in a says PC again)).

We can argue that cognitive science tends to emphasize the similarities between "mind/consciousness" in human and machine. While leaves little room for the traditional idea of the soul, it leaves open the possibility of survival of the personality indefinitely.

This post has been edited by nice.rider: Oct 17 2010, 11:32 AM
SkywalkerxX
post Oct 17 2010, 01:19 PM

Protection & Control
590 posts

it's based on religion and belief. but there were books of people experience deaths.

huhu this is really scary question dude.
heavenly91
post Oct 21 2010, 03:22 AM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

Before we exist do you feel anything?
No right.
Same goes to after death.
This is what I believe smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0221sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled