-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V9 -+♦+-, Our pride, our ride!

ZenGTMM
post Nov 20 2010, 10:08 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 20 2010, 10:05 AM)
maintain at 3k rpm is not a problem, its just that when changing gears, even for A/T, the RPM will spark into above 3000rpm momentarily
Erm probably u need to go light on the throttle.. Anticipate the rpm where the gear changes. Then slightly lift ur foot off the throttle, u will feel the gear disengage as momentarily there will be a lack of g-force acting on you.. tongue.gif Press throttle back to regain power.. It may take some time getting used to. .But u will get the hang out of it soon... whistling.gif
ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 05:03 PM

155 posts

Manage to reach a top speed of 190km/h @5k RPM on the level straights of MIEX highway yest night (2.48AM).. Aircon and radio was turned off.. After 5k RPM the engine like refuses to accelerate even further, just stays there only.. sad.gif Petrol used Esso Synergy 5000, engine totally stock, not even with drop-in air filter, Bline auto with 3 adults totally 200-205kg.

Car was very planted, no excess vibration, infact even lesser vibration than Waja.. Wind sound around the same @ 145km/h (maybe due to the engine loud roar thumbup.gif thumbup.gif ), engine did not go up slightly in temp even while driving at 180-190km/h for around 7mins (failed miserably to catch up with a blue GTR).. Anybody with drop-in filter and VS and/or Lightened Crank Pulley with tuned extractor have managed to go above this speed?

Btw say a Myvi burning near TTDI @ 3.35AM. Engine caught fire. Doesnt look like to have a BOT on it. Car look pretty stock. whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(leozai @ Nov 21 2010, 01:32 AM)
here fren... wanna ask ... da previous gen persona n current gen persona got wat different beside front logo , tail lamp n da side mirror signal???
Comaparison of B-Line 2010 Persona Elegance vs H-Line 2009 Persona.

1) Quieter cabin.
2) Smoother and more planted feel.
3) PE seems heavier for city driving. My friend had 4 lightweight 15" alloy (195/55 R15) for his Persona, mine had 4 steel rims with thicker tires (195/60 R15).
4) Much better looking speedo and radio.. tongue.gif
5) Better rear seats which are more inclined
6) Side mirror is way bigger and much more safer.. Smaller blind spot.
7) More supportive fabric seat.

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Nov 21 2010, 05:16 PM
ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 06:40 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(khtee @ Nov 21 2010, 05:49 PM)
Correct me if i m wrong ..but doesnt torque play an important role in pushing the car faster... so at 5k rpm at the torque curve of iafm.. is already dropping ..... so the engine is doesnt exert more torque to pull the car... already reached drag..weight...etc equilibrium with the pushing force by the max torque?
yeah u are right, thats the amount of torque and HP created vs drag has reached equilibrium. So the car cant accelerate. However if there are other mods done on the car, such as drop in air filter, tuned length extractor, higher RON fuel etc, the torque and horsepower curve may be altered, probably can go faster or sometimes slower than 190kmh.
ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 08:25 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Nov 21 2010, 08:22 PM)
i mean seriously,..... in terms of performance and overall, is there really2 noticeable improvements???? So far i have not heard of any although it is claimed by manufacturer of course.

one for sure is, its more tunable and offers greater support for future car platforms.
Yep. I can actually say no other improvements except for the turbo-timer function/auto start fan for cooling down the engine after hard driving..

ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 10:08 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(srulz @ Nov 21 2010, 09:37 PM)
I may be VERY wrong in this, but I've read somewhere that there's a speedcut built in the ECU for the Proton Gen2/Persona cars. For safety reasons. The only way to remove this is by using something called E-Manage.

Again, I would like to emphasize that I may be VERY WRONG in this, so don't quote me on this smile.gif
LOL Rev cut adalah.. hehe.. Speed cut i dont think so.. Cos the car acceleration was constant and it stopped and cant pick up anymore at 190km/h. It did however went up to 200km/h but that was on a downhill slope. on straight level road tops was 190. If got speed cut means the car will shudder as the ECU cuts throttle or or fuel supply.. I didnt feel any of that shudder.. I will post up a video later showing the top speed lah.
ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 11:31 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Nov 21 2010, 11:06 PM)
You dare to video at that time some more ar?
I would be holding tightly to the steering wheel man laugh.gif
QUOTE(khtee @ Nov 21 2010, 11:13 PM)
haha tat hight way is so straight.. is the best place to test out car .... unless ur alignment is out.. shouldnt be a problem to hold the steering by 1 hand..haha
PE really very very stable.. No floaty feeling at all.. No hands pun boleh.. From one end of the highway can see the other end also.. haha..

Very ameteur-ish video.. Didnt take the part where i was accelerating from 110kmh onwards as the phone was lagging that time..

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Nov 21 2010, 11:56 PM
ZenGTMM
post Nov 21 2010, 11:55 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(jhbey @ Nov 21 2010, 11:49 PM)
Bro, won't siong your engine meh?
Siong?? U mean engine sound is it?

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Nov 21 2010, 11:52 PM)
Bro, drive with no hands pun boleh? Sure or not? Higher than 110kmh also no problem? brows.gif
3 lanes, totally straight road for at least 4km.. Totally no problem.. haha.. But better keep hands on steering lah.. In case tire blow.. If not next day become headline news ady..

Btw had some burning/toasted smell in the car while speeding at that speed..

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Nov 21 2010, 11:59 PM
ZenGTMM
post Nov 22 2010, 12:03 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(ahshuy @ Nov 21 2010, 11:55 PM)
It would be suicide without hands holding the steering ler

Added on November 21, 2010, 11:57 pm
he meant "wont it hurt ur engine?"
Book a grave spot first.. Nowadays can buy a plot of land earlier and pay with installments also.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Better to keep a hand on the steering in case tire blow. Thats y i told my friend to take the video after kena pwned by the GTR.

Oic. I understand mandarin but not canton.. hehe.. Erm maybe loh.. While driving at that speed got some burning smell crept up..
I have another friend having 2009 Persona IAFM H-Line (A), till now ady have mileage of 60k km++.. Everytime he go highway (he does travel long distance very often) also whack the car kaw kaw fast and furious style.. Till now car or engine or gearbox also no prob.. All stock except for 15" light alloy rims.

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Nov 22 2010, 12:06 AM
ZenGTMM
post Nov 22 2010, 12:18 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Nov 22 2010, 12:12 AM)
bro, urs it auto tranny? u sure can get easily 190km/h if drive alone like me  biggrin.gif, hope this the last u drive 190km/h,
drive safety!! remember accident happen any where and anytime.
Yeah.. Not bad also the pickup.. okok.. This is the last time 190.. Next will be 200.. Muahahaha.. The road was very clear thats y i dare to test top speed.. If not maybe max also i will do 150-160.. Need better brakes, Msians are famous for changing lanes without signalling.. =.=!!
ZenGTMM
post Nov 22 2010, 02:21 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(jhbey @ Nov 22 2010, 12:23 AM)
yeah. today on the way to LCCT on elite highway, got a stupid camry just change into left lane, then when I am gonna over take, that idiot suddenly change into right lane again WITHOUT SIGNAL!!!!  sweat.gif
QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Nov 22 2010, 12:25 AM)
That's what happened to me last year when I was on the way to Kampar. There's this stretch were there's only 2 lanes instead of the usual 3.

Was driving about 150kmh on the right when this fella decided to switch lanes. I manage to brake in time. And the speed he was driving...

80kmh

mad.gif

Best part... he continued driving at 80kmh. ON THE RIGHT LANE!!!  doh.gif
QUOTE(ahshuy @ Nov 22 2010, 12:28 AM)
if i were u i will horn till death and show my desperate face to 'em, i have seen a camry 2.4v driving at 20km/h, i glare at him d moment i overtake him...
There is a remedy to this problem which i always use. Sure u guys will get a free gift when purchasing the car which is so called steering lock. Anytime these ppl change lanes without signalling. Just horn them nicely (Persona horn are super loud thumbup.gif ), and wind down the window and hold the steering lock out or wave it like a caveman with a bat if u wish.. Guaranteed to slow them back to the slower lane. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Nov 22 2010, 12:47 AM)
Could hear all the things in my boot sliding when I was braking. My smart-tag also terbang.

The scariest part was, my seatbelt mechanism didn't lock. Means I was actually close to hugging/humping my steering  sweat.gif
At least ur brake dont lock up good dy..

QUOTE(leozai @ Nov 22 2010, 01:13 AM)
da previous gen persona speedo meter can convert to da new 1???
No idea about it mate. Most probably not, because the ECU used is a different type and the signal sent might be a different type of signal. You could probably call up or drop by a Proton Service Centre to inquire.
ZenGTMM
post Nov 22 2010, 09:27 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(khtee @ Nov 22 2010, 09:24 AM)
ZenGTMM

Time to start a new thread ?
Should be at least 2.5k post then only can start a new thread right?
ZenGTMM
post Nov 22 2010, 10:08 AM

155 posts

Persona Club V10 is up.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1647954
ZenGTMM
post Jan 14 2011, 11:53 AM

155 posts

Please bring discussion to the new thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1716353/