^^House of Poodle ^^V9^^, Poodle Addicts Join us here~

sherly
post Sep 5 2010, 02:59 AM

230 posts

my 7 month old toy poodle is now 3.6kg, is she fat? haha, but looked very fit and smallfor me leh. When I read everyone poodle's weight, want to pengsan already, so light must be very tiny tongue.gif
sherly
post Sep 7 2010, 04:36 AM

230 posts

Photos of my dog, showing the progress of her growing fur.

Just shaved and botak look.

1 month later

2 months later - most recent look, her cuteness is coming back. wub.gif

This post has been edited by sherly: Sep 7 2010, 04:37 AM
sherly
post Sep 7 2010, 01:08 PM

230 posts

Hi Yeowa, you can bring your dog out just by holding it in your arm. Actually you can socialize ur dog by bring it to your friend's home to let it social with vaccinated and healthy dogs plus people. Bringing to outdoor is not encouraged because u don't know what your dog will pick up from ground and also for dogs who come in contact with it, you don't know the background.

For people who is trying to teach your dog obedience and tricks. The first very important thing you need to teach your dog is pay attention, focus on you. This is very important because you want your dog to focus on you, not the food in your hand. This will help the dog understand that all good things come from you, if the dog do what you ask for, he will get the reward from you.

You can start training "Pay attention" with a food in your hand, your dog will look at your food instinctually. Wait for him to turn his head and look at you. Once he did that, immediately praise and give him the food. Repeat this a few times if your dog managed to do it 100%, start adding in a verbal command this time, you can use your dog's name or kissy sound.

So next time before you ask your dog to do something like "sit or down and etc", make sure you grab his attention first. Make sure whenever you give a command, give your dog 15 sec before you repeat the command. Don't do like "sit sit...... SIT!", you are training your dog to ignore you or your dog will only sit when you say Sit x3. Why 15 sec? This will give enough time for the dog to figure out what you want when he is still learning, and also some dogs are just having slow reaction.

This post has been edited by sherly: Sep 7 2010, 01:27 PM
sherly
post Sep 7 2010, 04:38 PM

230 posts

Your videos, just copy the code behind the v for example "5UMeWXzsbPc" and enclosed it with youtube tags by lowyat.

sherly
post Sep 8 2010, 01:21 AM

230 posts

are you feeling sorry for your dog since she is botak or do you have a stress day?

If she screams without any reason and u go to comfort her, you are reinforcing the behavior. She will keep on screaming to get your attention.

She might feel cold, you can give her a blanket to sleep with.

Always check your emotion and how you feel will affect your dog. My dog act normal when she botak coz we humans didn't think differently. Dogs pick up our energy, if you are anxious, they will feel anxious too.
sherly
post Oct 29 2010, 10:40 PM

230 posts

What vitamins do you feed your dog? I give my dog mybeau and some spirulinas occasionally.

QUOTE(suzannetan @ Oct 29 2010, 10:07 PM)
Everyone have their ways, so I'm not saying you're wrong but just sharing my personal opinion  blush.gif

I think supplement is essential for long term benefits and it really does make a different I would say, for instance after eating my beau (costing RM70+) a pack her fur coat got shinny and colour also darken. Also vitamins are essential to up keep healthy teeth and bones esp when they're puppy so that they'll grow in good shape. You may not see a difference now, but when they grow old by year things may change. So it's always best to feed them supplements when it's not too late.

Thou injection is yearly but one time cost is at least more than 50 as well, heartgard even more expensive.. Toy for me is essential to keep her busy and something to play with when I'm not around, for puppy toy may take away chewing behavior. Treats is when you want to make her learn some tricks, without treats you can hardly do it. Also as a way of praising when enforcing a good behavior for long term. I don't make my own toy because I have no time to do so, it's good that you do  nod.gif  There's some toys that I wouldn't give her, esp furry ones because I'm afraid the fur may drop and she will eat

Cage is all depends on the owner, essential for me when she didn't know how to poop and pee properly and when I use to train her during puppy. Don't want her to go chew everything in my house. But now adult no longer need to be caged.

Probably it's because I spoiled my girl very much  laugh.gif I spend much in buying bed, clothes, accesorries. Treats as well I always buy the ones from japan which easily cost 10-20 a packet. And she eats salmon tongue.gif
sherly
post Nov 4 2010, 05:13 PM

230 posts

She is very healthy with soft and shiny coat, she has been taking MyBeau every day for the past 3 months. The Spirulinas also do wonders.

I'm taking fish oil (2x1000mg) per day and I'm wondering whether I can feed my dog a 1000mg fish oil? If so, how many times per week?

[quote=suzannetan,Oct 30 2010, 11:53 PM]
I feed this multi vitamins, I forgot what's the brand name, comes in tablet form around RM30+ for 100 in a bottle
Then My beau (2-3 days once) and lauric oil (bought from breeder)
How's the effect of my beau for you dog?

sherly
post Nov 8 2010, 04:23 PM

230 posts

yeah, it's tablet form from Elken. I feed 1 tablet (200mg) per day.

This post has been edited by sherly: Nov 13 2010, 10:00 PM
sherly
post Nov 13 2010, 10:07 PM

230 posts

I think you shouldn't worry so much. If your puppy is toilet trained, she wouldn't just pee inside your car, that will be a totally strange environment for her since dog needs to get comfortable to do their business. Your dog can hold bladder for a few hours, most probably she will only pee when you reached the destination. You can let her empty bladder before boarding the car. You can also stop at roadside on your way to Cameron, got plenty of rest area along the highway. If you are still worried, put a pee pad in a crate. Your dog should be crated anyway since it is not safe to let your dog move about inside a moving car.

QUOTE(aileyteo @ Nov 12 2010, 11:07 AM)
thank for ur reply..ya my puppies only 5mths ++, normally she pee at the wee wee pad n poo at the outside garden. bcoz i never bring her outstation so scared she pee pee inside car lol....u brought them to Cameron b4? i'm still worry that some place r not welcoming pet....dun know booking which resort or aprtment? got any idea for reference...... u got how many furkids? nice to meet u ah........
sherly
post Dec 2 2010, 10:54 PM

230 posts

anyone of you has the problem of dog scratching your wall? My dog has digged a few holes outta my walls!
sherly
post Feb 14 2011, 03:40 PM

230 posts

Just to share that my toy poodle has been eating Go! Natural dry dog food and MyBeau (2 pumps daily) for the past 7 months. She just turned 1 year old yesterday, she has grown to a 12 inch tall dog which has exceeded the standard toy poodle size. I don't know if we overfed her or she has been getting very good nutrients.

She is very fit, healthy with super soft fur but she is big when comparing with other toy poodles. I have been feeding her 0.8 cup of Go! Natural, which is 65% of the recommended portion 1.25 cup for puppy. I don't know if she should have been fed less or it was all about her gene.
sherly
post Feb 16 2011, 11:30 PM

230 posts

She was last measured 3.6kg and I just measured her height again (tallest point of shoulder), she is 11.5 inches tall.

How much do you feed your toy poodle per day? After seeing other owner's toy poodles then only I realized my toy poodle is bigger and theirs look so tiny and skinny. Is it true that people purposely underfed small breeds so that they don't grow big?

QUOTE(huey80 @ Feb 16 2011, 12:30 PM)
Hmmm..dun think MyBeau has anything to do with this size issue. How heavy is ur girl? U sure u measured her height correctly? I never followed the feeding guidelines. I use other ways as my indicator. I also feed my boy Go!Duck and i can know when he has put on some weight by just holding his chest (no weighing scale at home). This is how i usually monitor my poodles' weight - i cant feel their ribs means they shud not be underfed.

Good quality kibbles like Go! need not be fed in large amounts. If u know by feeding 65% of the recommended portion is sufficient for ur gal, then it;s fine. COz diff poodles have diff structures/genes/metabolism rate. Some mini poodles r big but skinny (does not mean u hv overfed) or teacups that r fat.

12inches tall is not a toy size anymore...although some petshops can tell u toy sizes can go up to 13inches.  doh.gif

0.0469sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:32 PM