ROM in Thean Hou Temple, Please share your experience

TSleongal
post Aug 29 2010, 08:58 AM, updated 16y ago

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

Hi! There!

I am doing a research on "registration of marriage" (ROM) in Thean Hou temple, which is very common (I think)

If you have your experience or experience from your friends/ relatives, can you please share?

So far, from the other forum that I have been - the procedures are:

The government has changed their policy in marriage registration, couples must seek approval/verification from JPN in order to submit their application to Thean Hou Temple.

Couples have to do 3 traveling trips. First trip: Couples will need to make a trip to Thean Hou to get the registration form, then proceed to take oath at an office located inside Thean Hou too. Second trip: Visit JPN to for status verification. Third trip: Send all verified documents back to Thean Hou Temple.
I understand it is abit hassle for us (the couple), but I wonder if would be less hassle for the witnesses of the marriage. We don't want them to wake up early and line up with us from 8 am at the JPN on the day of registration.

Therefore, my question is: for thean hau temple registration, after we have chosen the date, are we given a time slot? (meaning, we don't have to start queuing like from 8am instead come just before the time slot given?) thanks alot icon_question.gif

Your sharing is very much appreciated. (Want to check out here before we actually go there. Thanks) smile.gif

Added on August 29, 2010, 9:29 amJust read this at their website:

Time of registration: As set by our Marriage Registration Department

anyway, if you have your experience, please do share biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by leongal: Aug 31 2010, 04:25 PM
@lice~~
post Aug 30 2010, 02:27 PM

565 posts

Submit application is different from the date of registration..

Meaning submit application have to been at least 30 days in advance from your registration date.. take eg of your registration date is on 10/10/2010.. means on 10/9/2010 u have to go Thean Hau temple and JPN to submit all necessary documents.. the procedure is the same as what you have stated above (Thean Hau -> JPN -> Thean Hau).. and witness no need to be with you on application submission day.. they just need to be present on your Registration day

and yes the time of registration is set by them

do PM me if u need more info smile.gif

This post has been edited by @lice~~: Aug 30 2010, 02:28 PM
kenji1903
post Aug 30 2010, 04:55 PM

3,785 posts

you can choose the time slot if you are early but they cannot book a date more than 2 months in advance... system limitation...

also, if you are allocated that time slot, you just some during that time... don't have to come earlier to line up anymore... although you have a time slot, if the couple/couples before you delays, you will get delayed as well...

what i did was, i chose the first time slot of the day, so no problem with delays at all, start on time, finish then go for brunch thumbup.gif

word of advice... don't do your marriage cert translation at the COA in the temple! it's a whopping RM200! you can do it outside for less than 1/2 the price, i kena conned, so i don't want others to get the same treatment!
TSleongal
post Aug 31 2010, 12:18 AM

3,188 posts

thank you for the information people smile.gif

btw, is it necessary to do the marriage cert translation?
aspire2oo6
post Aug 31 2010, 09:23 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

correction Thean Hou Temple
TSleongal
post Aug 31 2010, 02:06 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 31 2010, 09:23 AM)
correction Thean Hou Temple
thanks.,....corrected
harrychoo
post Aug 31 2010, 02:22 PM

3,589 posts

Now the process doing it at temples even more hassles than doing it at JPN.

So i rather doing it at Putrajaya
@lice~~
post Sep 1 2010, 12:09 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Aug 31 2010, 12:18 AM)
thank you for the information people  smile.gif

btw, is it necessary to do the marriage cert translation?
It depend on u i think.. if u really wan to do it better do as suggested by kenji.. i heard the same story frm my fren too..

TSleongal
post Sep 1 2010, 08:30 AM

3,188 posts

thank you very much....i heard fr my fren the cert is in malay, so, should not be much problem... smile.gif

now still getting the timeline and confirm the witnesses biggrin.gif
@lice~~
post Sep 1 2010, 03:16 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Sep 1 2010, 08:30 AM)
thank you very much....i heard fr my fren the cert is in malay, so, should not be much problem... smile.gif

now still getting the timeline and confirm the witnesses biggrin.gif
When is ur ROM? 10 Oct?

TSleongal
post Sep 1 2010, 09:20 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Sep 1 2010, 03:16 PM)
When is ur ROM? 10 Oct?
no la...mid next year tongue.gif
sam@samsu
post Sep 24 2010, 04:26 PM

I just ROM on June, I think that is not complicate than what we expect.
1st Stage : Take registration form from JPN (FOC) , after fill in & photostat the neccessary documents such as couple Birth Cert, IC, witness IC and 1 piece passport size photo of couple, submit to JPN proccess, fee RM30 (if not mistake).
2nd Stage : Sumpah at any authories place ( I sumpah floor below JPN, Kepong, my colleague sumpah at Thean Hou Temple RM34)
3rd Stage : Send all document to Thean Hou Temple and select date, RM80. ( Advance 14 days booking, my colleague 5 days only, not too many people ROM at the day )
The time of registration,as set by our Marriage Registration Department.
I wait around 30 minutes only, quite fast.
jam_lennon
post Sep 24 2010, 04:46 PM

4,156 posts

wat about at the maju junction there? my fren did it last time very urgently (unplan) without submit any schedule or registration and the penalty is like 20bucks
lingcs83
post Sep 24 2010, 05:50 PM

i also plan for ROM next year. Will it be too early to get the form and submit this year?
@lice~~
post Sep 24 2010, 05:56 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(lingcs83 @ Sep 24 2010, 05:50 PM)
i also plan for ROM next year. Will it be too early to get the form and submit this year?
Yes, it only allow 6 months in advance

TSleongal
post Sep 26 2010, 12:57 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Sep 24 2010, 05:56 PM)
Yes, it only allow 6 months in advance
my fiance just called the temple the recent tuesday, and they confirmed that they receive application 3 months in advance smile.gif
lingcs83
post Sep 26 2010, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(leongal @ Sep 26 2010, 12:57 AM)
my fiance just called the temple the recent tuesday, and they confirmed that they receive application 3 months in advance smile.gif
3mths in advance???
what if the date is full?

TSleongal
post Sep 26 2010, 09:14 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(lingcs83 @ Sep 26 2010, 09:09 PM)
3mths in advance???
what if the date is full?
sorry, i mean the earliest you can submit is 3 months in advance

i am not so sure what if the date is full, you can call them and ask them lor.... smile.gif
lingcs83
post Sep 27 2010, 08:37 AM

QUOTE(leongal @ Sep 26 2010, 09:14 PM)
sorry, i mean the earliest you can submit is 3 months in advance

i am not so sure what if the date is full, you can call them and ask them lor.... smile.gif
Thanks dear
askar_lcy
post Aug 26 2012, 09:23 PM

382 posts

knock knock, is this thread still active?

need some advice here...

heard someone mentioned about the JPN process:
Version 1) both BF and GF must hold an IC from same state???

If both party not from the same state then they will need to go back to their own state to process the document, for eg: BF from Pg needs to submit to Pg JPN and GF from Johor needs to submit to Johor JPN...

How true is this? any one faced this before?

Version 2) If neither of the person is from Selangor/KL state, they cannot process their docs in KL/Sel JPN.
In order to do so either one must change the IC to KL/Selangor state and then process the doc in KL/Selangor JPN...

How true is this????

Version 3) Some one also mentioned that no need to go through the JPN process, just go directly to Then Hout Temple and they can settle everything for us... but i've read numerous places and asked numerous people that this is not true, and that we need to submit our doc beforehand..

Appreciate your help. Thanks!

0.0208sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:24 AM