Ferrite bead Increase adsl SPEED stability!, Hv DC/Speed Stability problem?See this!

TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 03:16 PM, updated 16y ago

328 posts

Idea from anime4000 post : DIY Speed up internet put Magnet?, it is possible can speed!!?
rclxms.gif Special thanks to anime4000 rclxms.gif

So, 1st of all... What's the hell is ferrite bead?
According to wiki, A ferrite bead is a passive electric component used to suppress high frequency noise in electronic circuits. It is a specific type of electronic choke. Ferrite beads may also be called ferrite blocks, ferrite cores, ferrite rings, ferrite EMI filters, a ferrite choke or mistakenly as ferrous beads.

I dun care wat it is called but how it BENEFIT to me???
Ferrite beads are used as a passive low-pass filter. The elctromagnetic properties of coiled wire over the ferrite bead result in a high resistance for high-frequency signals, attenuating high frequency EMI/RFI elctronoic noise. Computers are fairly noisy devices. Computer and its cables act as nice, long antennae for the signals they carry. They broadcast the signals quite efficiently. The signals they broadcast can interfere with radios and TVs. The cables can also receive signals and transmit them into the case, where they cause problems. A ferrite bead has the property of eliminating the broadcast signals. Thus, user thats always encounter disconnect from ISP can use this method so stability their line and increase the speed stability of connection.

My personal experience
My SNR margin greatly increase from 15 to 22 after I added ferrite bead to my telephone line. Line attenuation also decreased few dB. Thus my line is now much more stable and the download speed maintain highly.

This is my download speed

I dont to waste money on, where can I find this thing and DIY myself!?
In a typical computer system found in a home or office, you normally see these "bumps" on the mouse, keyboard and monitor cables. You can also find them on power supply wires when a device (like a printer or scanner) uses an external transformer.
These "bumps" are called ferrite beads .

*Notice some of them are extractable and some are not, you can get it from old/unused cable.
Example of extractable ferrite bead(have some node like the 1 in picture), pls becareful when you are extracting ferrite bead. Sometimes you nid to be SPARTA to extract it.

Im damn interested now, but how to use??
Simple place the ferrite bead you have extracted earlier to the telephone wire before the socket jack. Don't be too greedy to put a lot of ferrite bead for best experience. Over strong magnetic field from ferrite bead will cause it filter "extra" signal including your adsl. So, please beware =)

Sometimes you need to remove the socket jack to place the ferrite bead, please do becareful.
Socket Jack Reference:
In order to make the wire connections to the telephone jack, loosen the connection screws. Now wrap the individual wires around the screws and tighten using a screwdriver. The screw are color coded just like the color of the wires.
You'll notice the wires are colored red, green, yellow, and black. In the old phone system years and years ago, the black and yellow wires were used to connect the power supply to run the rotary telephones. These days, the phones don't need this. For this reason, the red and green wires are all that are needed in most cases.

cry.gif I don't have one, where can I get?!
Erm... shakehead.gif Currently I still can't help you, but I have tried to bought some from oversea since I don't see this ferrite bead sell in malaysia. Maybe you wanna to wait for my good news. The price will be about RM10 or higher for each of it since it import from oversea, the shipping price is damn high. Maybe forumer can provide some details or tips on where to get this thingy.

DEMO ( Thanks to anime4000)
Good feedback from anime4000. SNR download margin increase from 10-->11dB with a ferrite bead from PSU.
Click here to see prove

EXTRA
Loop the wire itself on the ferrite bead increase efficiency. More coil = more resistant, thus better result.

Ferrite bead is widely used on variety of electronic equipment & device like TV, radio, HP handset and printer cables. Ferrite Beads that attach to cell phone headsets offer real protection against potentially dangerous cell phone radiation!! The usage is the same like this tutorial.

Finally!!
rclxms.gif Enjoy your decent speed stability with ferrite bead. thumbup.gif
pif.... wasted 1hour for the picture and explaination, I hope lowyat forum user will appreciate it and wont make me dissapointed.

cool.gif Sources :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferrite_bead
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/question352.htm
http://electrical.about.com/od/lowvoltagew...phonejack_4.htm

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Aug 28 2010, 03:40 PM
loki
post Aug 28 2010, 03:20 PM

2,109 posts

Great info you have here. Thanks.
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 03:22 PM

2,400 posts

now i can download torrent more smooth!

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Aug 28 2010, 03:23 PM
dma0991
post Aug 28 2010, 03:26 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

This post has been edited by dma0991: May 2 2015, 09:53 AM
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 03:28 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Aug 28 2010, 03:26 PM)
@Anime4000
Ubuntu got Chrome?
yes... why lol... you should try it... this method
dma0991
post Aug 28 2010, 03:31 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

This post has been edited by dma0991: May 2 2015, 09:54 AM
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 03:36 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Aug 28 2010, 03:31 PM)
I am a bit skeptical but since the method is practically free and not a product that is being sold then I think I will give it a try..
But interference only happen on the telephone cable only?
If put on LAN cable as well any noticeable difference?
Yes, gv it a try ^^. Look around for unused ferrite bead, its cheap and DIY-able. Based on my experience, U wont notice different. I have tried put after the telephone cable. It seem like the signal transfer in RJ11 and RJ45 will not affect by external signal noise. So it wont gv any effect. Pls do tell us your result after u try.

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Aug 28 2010, 03:38 PM
post Aug 28 2010, 06:06 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Well,anything just to squeeze some more juice out of streamyx gets my vote.

I can see the DSL line in my area has alot of interference from the static noise I hear on my house phone.
liquidsny
post Aug 28 2010, 06:44 PM

589 posts

so that's what its for. i got one in package with lcd tv
vapeace
post Aug 28 2010, 06:47 PM

217 posts

aluminum foil also can.. wrap aluminum foil around the entire length of your cable
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 06:53 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 28 2010, 06:47 PM)
aluminum foil also can.. wrap aluminum foil around the entire length of your cable
it works on my loser line... even i run 175 streamyx IP download torrent, no capping lol
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 07:00 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 28 2010, 06:47 PM)
aluminium foil??? really? Have u tried it?? Can show us some pic?
But i think no much effect =P it just reflect the signal, not filter.
Anyway, considerable suggestion. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Aug 28 2010, 07:42 PM
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 07:18 PM

2,400 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluminium_foil
lol.. how to apply at cable?
vapeace
post Aug 28 2010, 07:25 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 28 2010, 07:53 PM)
it works on my loser line... even i run 175 streamyx IP download torrent, no capping lol
now dont tell me ferrite bead help prevent throttle wink.gif

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Aug 28 2010, 08:00 PM)
aluminium foil??? really? Have u tried it?? Can show us some pic?
But i think no much effect =P it just reflect the signal, not filter.
Anyway, good idea.
nope, best way to reduce noise is to limit the number of wire around and increase the distance between your electrical appliances

noise is caused by EM radiation form high voltage cable or nearby electrical appliances

btw wrapping aluminum foil around your wire will make u look ridiculous tongue.gif

Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 07:34 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 28 2010, 07:25 PM)
now dont tell me ferrite bead help prevent throttle  wink.gif
i don't know... but i trying it without use static account, seem me not "no throttle" area.
by this method, it help my modem operate smooth and stability, low Super Error Frame...

as my old idea put magnet instead ferrite, ferrite batter then magnet...

EDIT: i downloading torrent via Linux (Ubuntu 10.04LTS)... lot users use linux to download via torrent, so linux also can by pass tm, i think...

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Aug 28 2010, 07:36 PM
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 07:39 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 28 2010, 07:25 PM)
now dont tell me ferrite bead help prevent throttle  wink.gif
nope, best way to reduce noise is to limit the number of wire around and increase the distance between your electrical appliances

noise is caused by EM radiation form high voltage cable or nearby electrical appliances

btw wrapping aluminum foil around your wire will make u look ridiculous  tongue.gif
Lol... yes, very ridiculous. But the idea is from you.
Ferrite bead can't prevent throttle, but increased speed stability.
Dont tell me u keep all the electrical appliances away just to avoid EM shocking.gif
Ur pc is the noisiest appliances. Regardless how far u keep it, it will emit Em also.

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Aug 28 2010, 07:41 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Aug 28 2010, 07:47 PM

5,366 posts

1xx kBps download speed is normal for 1Mbps subscribers
torrent speed depends greatly on the seeds

I pity those have to resort to using this kind of material only to boost a pity speed of 1xx kBps
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 08:03 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 28 2010, 07:47 PM)

I pity those have to resort to using this kind of material only to boost a pity speed of 1xx kBps
that i know, but how TM make user unconnected or target can't reach,

i applying ferrite from morning (around 9AM) until 8PM, the my SNR margin still in 11.x dB area

HD: http://sakura-animeclan.webs.com/8PM.png

SNR Margin info: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/222851
which area you are...

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Aug 28 2010, 08:06 PM
jubz
post Aug 28 2010, 08:06 PM

375 posts

I'm using Unifi will this help?
Anime4000
post Aug 28 2010, 08:08 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(jubz @ Aug 28 2010, 08:06 PM)
I'm using Unifi will this help?
LOL... Unifi are fiberoptic, no EMI, even lighting hit fiber cable still your modem in good condition...
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 08:12 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 28 2010, 07:47 PM)

I guess u are the lucky 1, do you??
Yes, 1xx kBps download speed is normal for 1Mbps subscribers. But that was long time ago.... (in galaxy far far away ==")
U might STILL lucky bcos tmnut haven done anything on ur connection hahax
super_evil_alien
post Aug 28 2010, 08:13 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Can you provide any screenshot of your Line Attenuation & SNR Margin with /without the ferrite?

Added on August 28, 2010, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Aug 28 2010, 08:12 PM)
I guess u are the lucky 1, do you??
Yes, 1xx kBps download speed is normal for 1Mbps subscribers. But that was long time ago.... (in galaxy far far away ==")
U might STILL lucky bcos tmnut haven done anything on ur connection hahax
Most of users with decent copper connection still getting the normal speed.Just the throttle part slowing down the dl speed.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Aug 28 2010, 08:15 PM
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 09:41 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 28 2010, 08:13 PM)
Can you provide any screenshot of your Line Attenuation & SNR Margin with /without the ferrite?

Added on August 28, 2010, 8:15 pm
Most of users with decent copper connection still getting the normal speed.Just the throttle part slowing down the dl speed.
Yes, I agree with u. Ferrite bead act as a resistance to eliminate EMI and RFI, therefore increase speed stability and avoid bandwidth loss. Ferrite bead cant boost/break speed of the package you have subscribed since the user speed is restrict by ISP, not copper wire =) Ferrite bead is just to ensure you get the best speed for wat you pay.

Here you are
wired@genes
post Aug 28 2010, 10:58 PM

39 posts

Before everyone goes out and buys ferrite cores, keep in mind that they will not do anything for the majority of people. ADSL signals are differential-mode, i.e. equal and opposite polarities on the pair, whereas ferrite beads only filter out common-mode noise, where the signal is equal on both wires in the pair.

Modems already have ferrite beads inside. Adding extra cores on the cable will only make a difference if you're in a terrible RF area, e.g. there's a large AM radio station transmitting near you, swamping the front-end of your modem. ADSL runs at around 30kHz to 1.1MHz.

Choosing the wrong type of core will affect its performance too, if any. There are three main materials in use - mix 43, 64, and 77. Mix 43 covers 1MHz - 1GHz, which is what you'd want if you really wanted to try an extra ferrite core.

Ferrite cores are usually only used to prevent EMI leaking *from* devices, not to block them from entering devices.

Aluminium foil around the wire won't do anything unfortunately!

TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 11:20 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(wired@genes @ Aug 28 2010, 10:58 PM)
Before everyone goes out and buys ferrite cores, keep in mind that they will not do anything for the majority of people. ADSL signals are differential-mode, i.e. equal and opposite polarities on the pair, whereas ferrite beads only filter out common-mode noise, where the signal is equal on both wires in the pair.

Modems already have ferrite beads inside. Adding extra cores on the cable will only make a difference if you're in a terrible RF area, e.g. there's a large AM radio station transmitting near you, swamping the front-end of your modem. ADSL runs at around 30kHz to 1.1MHz.

Choosing the wrong type of core will affect its performance too, if any. There are three main materials in use - mix 43, 64, and 77. Mix 43 covers 1MHz - 1GHz, which is what you'd want if you really wanted to try an extra ferrite core.

Ferrite cores are usually only used to prevent EMI leaking *from* devices, not to block them from entering devices.

Aluminium foil around the wire won't do anything unfortunately!
You can get free ferrite bead/core from unused cable, it is not necessary to buy to it if you have 1. Thx for your info. Yes, ferrite are used to prevent EMI leaking and the absorbed energy is converted to heat and dissipated by the ferrite As you know copper is the must have element for antenna. Thus it is always attract some "extra" signal from external environment. Ferrite does help regardless more or less. That's why the ferrite core is added on the telephone wire and not RJ45 / RJ11 wire.

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Aug 28 2010, 11:21 PM
mengsuan
post Aug 28 2010, 11:30 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I have telephone cables made with ferrite core, from my laptop packaging. Comparing to ordinary cables without ferrite core, it has no SNR or attenuation difference. laugh.gif
TSRuzumaki
post Aug 28 2010, 11:34 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Aug 28 2010, 11:30 PM)
I have telephone cables made with ferrite core, from my laptop packaging. Comparing to ordinary cables without ferrite core, it has no SNR or attenuation difference. laugh.gif
The place u live is so healthy XD rclxms.gif
Anime4000
post Aug 29 2010, 05:30 AM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(wired@genes @ Aug 28 2010, 10:58 PM)
Before everyone goes out and buys ferrite cores,...
get it from explode Power Supply aka PSU, any broken old motherboard, or any board/cable that provide, this time we make an Green Earth and Recycle the computer component, smile.gif
gsan
post Aug 29 2010, 11:36 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

it is really working, now my DS margin up for 2db and US margin for 1db, whereas attenuation for DS is down for 1db
Anime4000
post Aug 29 2010, 12:13 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Aug 29 2010, 11:36 AM)
it is really working, now my DS margin up for 2db and US margin for 1db, whereas attenuation for DS is down for 1db
yes.. not to day i add 2 ferrite, not total 3 ferrite...

Speed test at: http://speed.animeclan.net/
wired@genes
post Aug 30 2010, 10:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Aug 29 2010, 01:20 AM)
You can get free ferrite bead/core from unused cable, it is not necessary to buy to it if you have 1. Thx for your info. Yes, ferrite are used to prevent EMI leaking and the absorbed energy is converted to heat and dissipated by the ferrite As you know copper is the must have element for antenna. Thus it is always attract some "extra" signal from external environment. Ferrite does help regardless more or less.

Any wire will receive RF, but the interference will be common-mode which will be ignored by good modems, unless you happen to be in an RF-poor environment that swamps your modem's front-end. That's why I'm saying, ferrite cores don't magically make your line more stable - you must be swamped by stray RF at just the right frequencies first, before ferrite cores will do anything.

It's like saying eating panadol will make you feel better. It won't - you must have a headache first before panadol will make you feel better.

That's why the ferrite core is added on the telephone wire and not RJ45 / RJ11 wire.
hmm RJ11 is the plug used on CPE telephone wires... smile.gif

This post has been edited by wired@genes: Aug 30 2010, 10:11 PM

0.0244sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:51 PM