Events TRAVEL / BACKPACKER COMPANIONS, Looking for travel pal? Leave a note.
Sky.Live
Apr 26 2011, 03:57 PM
I'm looking for more people to join my trip to Ladakh + Kashmir, Northern India.
The place name might freak off many people but try to google for it's scenary.. The price i get is around 2k+ (near 3k) and reducing when you get more people. Price is only valid for 10 days grounding charges. U pay less than 2k when you get 10 pax and above.
Air ticket is estimated at RM1.5k ~ 2k.
Sky.Live
Apr 26 2011, 05:33 PM
Here is the Itenary:
10Days 9Nights Kashmir and Ladakh Day -01 Kuala Lumpur / Delhi (No Meals) Arrive at Delhi International Airport. Then transfer to hotel Overnight Stay at the hotel
Day-02. Delhi / Srinagar B/L/D After Breakfast Departure Transfer airport to board flight for Srinagar the capital of Jammu and Kashmir Lunch at the houseboats. Then sight seeing in Srinagar town. Sightseeing of Mughal Gardens of love. The Nishat and Shalimar - With terraced lawns, cascading fountains, paint-box-bright flowerbeds with the panorama of the Dal lake in front of them Dinner and overnight in Meena houseboats.
Day03 Srinagar / Gulmarg / Srinagar B/L/D Breakfast at the houseboats. Then leave for full day excursion to Gulmarg 56 Kms one way 1 ½ hrs drive Gulmarg is a hill station in Baramula district of Kashmir. There are a lot of activites you can do in Gulmarg, etc The gondola ride (the world highest cable car), the horseback riding, jungle tracking, or just simply stroll in the town and enjoy the serene environment. Gulmarg also a popular ski destination during winter. Later return back to Meena House for Dinner and overnight.
Day04 Srinagar B/L/D Breakfast at the houseboat . Early morning Shikara Trip to Dal Lake - The sparkling quiet waters of Dal surrounded by snow-capped mountains on its three sides, undoubtedly mark it as one of the most beautiful lakes of India. Then to Masjid Jamia – the oldest mosque in Kashmir and shopping in Srinagar Bazaar. Dinner and overnight in Hotel in Meena Boat House.
Day-05. Srinagar / Sonamarg / Kargil B/L/D Breakfast at the houseboats. Then Leave for : Leave for full day excursion to Sonamarg 86 Kms one way 3 hrs drive Sonmarg the meadow of gold is a trekkers heaven and has adventurous routes with beautiful green water and frozen lakes around.The vale is believed to be bestowed with mystical water which turns everything into eternal riches.High altitude makes it cold even during summers. Then we will proceed our way to a middle point stop in Himalayan Kargil. A small down in the middle of India and Pakistan.
Day-06. Kargil / Leh B/L/D Breakfast at the hotel, from Kargil, we will continue to climb to higherland of Leh. Where we will enroute to the Mulbek and Lamayuru Monastry situated not far from Kargil. Mulbek - Situated 45 kms east of Kargil on the road to Leh, Mulbek (3,230 m) is a predominantly Buddhist area. The Main sttarction is the is Mulbek Chamba, a 9 m high rock sculpture in deep relief of the Maitreya, the "Future Buddha". it dates back to the period when Buddhist missionaries came travelling east of the Himalayas during the 7th and 8th centuries. Mulbek gompa, the main monastery of the area is perched atop a rocky hill that dominates the valley below. It is easy to see why in the past this site served as an outpost to guard the caravan route between Kashmir and Ladakh. Lamayuru Monastry - At a distance of 120 km west of Leh lies one of the earliest existing monastery of Ladakh, the Lamayuru Monastery. It is situated on a high promontory overlooking the village and valley. As the legend says this monastery use to stand on lake during era of Shakyamuni Buddha. Arrive Leh Check in at the hotel. Dinner and overnight in hotel
Day-07. Leh B/L/D Breakfast at the hotel Thikse Gompa or Thikse Monastery (also transliterated from Ladakhi as Tikse, Tiksey or Thiksey) (thiksok Nambar tak pe ling) is a Tibetan Buddhist monastery of the Yellow Hat (Gelugpa) sect, located on top of a hill in the Indus Valley, approximately 19 kilometres east of Leh,[1] in Ladakh, northern India. It is noted for its resemblance to the Potala Palace in Lhasa, Tibet and is the largest gompa in central Ladakh. Hemis Monastery is a Tibetan Buddhist monastery (gompa) of the Drukpa Lineage, located in Hemis, Ladakh (within the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir). Situated 45 km from Leh, the monastery was re-established in 1672 by the Ladakhi king Sengge Namgyal. The annual Hemis festival honoring Padmasambhava is held here in early June. The Shey Monastery or Gompa and the Shey Palace complex are structures located on a hillock in Shey,15 kilometres (9.3 mi) to the south of Leh in Ladakh, northern India on the Leh-Manali road. Shey was the summer capital of Ladakh in the past.[1][2] The palace, mostly in ruins now, was built first in 1655, near Shey village, by the king of Ladakh, Deldan Namgyal, also known as Lhachen Palgyigon. It was used as a summer retreat by the kings of Ladakh. Dinner and Overnight in Hotel.
Day-08 Leh / Pangong Tso / Leh B/L/D Breakfast at the hotel. Pangong Tso (or Pangong Lake; Tso: Ladakhi for lake is an endorheic lake in the Himalayas situated at a height of about 4,350 m (14,270 ft). It is 134 km (83 m) long and extends from India to Tibet. Pangong Tso can be reached in a five-hour drive from Leh, most of it on a rough and dramatic mountain road. The road crosses the villages of Shey and Gya and traverses the Changla pass (the 3rd highest road on in the world) Later return back to Leh. Dinner and overnight in hotel. Day-09 Leh B/L/D Breakfast at the hotel. Sankar gompa The Sankar gompa is located a couple of kilometers north of the town center. The gompa belongs to the Gelukpa order and has an impressive impression of the Buddhist deity Avalokiteshwara Padmahari or Chenresig, with 1,000 arms and an equal number of heads. Shanti Stupa The Shanti Stupa was built by a Japanese order and was opened by the Dalai Lama in 1985. From the top, one can view the exotic locales nearby. The stupa is located at a distance of 3 km from the Fort Road.In the evening back to Leh town for a shoping spree. Dinner and overnight in hotel
Day-10 Leh / Delhi / Kuala Lumpur B/L Breakfast at the hotel. Transfer to Leh airport to board flight for Delhi. Arrive Sightseeing of Delhi Visit India gate and drive through parliament and president house. After Lunch Free time for shopping at Janpat market. In time transfer to airport to board flight for Kuala Lumpur
Currently planning around mid to end of July, surprised that there's actually people who knew about this, because when I ask this to my friend, all they shown is the shocking and sour expression: what? India?
Sky.Live
Apr 27 2011, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(ayenz @ Apr 27 2011, 06:55 AM) Kashmir is heaven on earth....10 days i guest enuf for cover Kashmir only. i'm looking for a trip from Kashmir up until Nepal Kashmir best time to go mid April..they got the Tulip garden blooming that time...soooo wonderful. still got snow by that time. i guest your iti. covered almost all things to do in Kashmir  Yeah I think it's quite good too, Many would recommend July too since you do not need over bulky clothes. During April it's still equivalent to other's country's winter temperature. Kashmir - Nepal? Via Mount Everest "
Sky.Live
Jul 18 2011, 02:57 AM
QUOTE(ayenz @ Apr 27 2011, 06:55 AM) Kashmir is heaven on earth....10 days i guest enuf for cover Kashmir only. i'm looking for a trip from Kashmir up until Nepal Kashmir best time to go mid April..they got the Tulip garden blooming that time...soooo wonderful. still got snow by that time. i guest your iti. covered almost all things to do in Kashmir  QUOTE(ayenz @ Apr 27 2011, 09:43 AM) i check ticket for end of July this year...still got promo one...return can get around RM700++ yalo...since odi go to Ladakh...why not go to Nepal. but 10 days not enuf la...if i have chance...i will spend 1 months there. but for sure not this year la  my annual leave finished odi Added on April 28, 2011, 9:28 amno one wants to join me ka? huhuuuee Added on April 30, 2011, 6:21 ampump it up...pump it up~ i am still looking for travel partner to join my trip...come on girls...challenge urself coz dis trip a bit adventurous  haha time passed so fast, ended up no one wanna follow the trip and I just proceed on to go with my family members. Just arrive back to Malaysia less than 24 hours ago. Anyone interested to go? I can share some of my experience there
Sky.Live
Aug 18 2011, 10:14 AM
20.5 Annual leaves left, no idea where to go..
Sky.Live
Oct 1 2014, 04:08 PM
Anyone like the idea of unbooked itinerary and transportation? you simply improvise or do what you feel like on the spot. but difficult if you are in a group.