Events TRAVEL / BACKPACKER COMPANIONS, Looking for travel pal? Leave a note.

Serendipity123
post Aug 31 2010, 11:50 PM

175 posts

Can I just say that 1 week is not even enough to do whole Vietnam, if you really want to experience the country.

I just got back from HCMC and my 4 days there was not enough for this one city.

If you wanna do Hanoi - HCMC, may I suggest Hanoi - Hoi An - Dalat - Mui Ne - HCMC instead.

Vietnam is a very beautiful country and a lot of things to see.

Good luck with your planning! wink.gif
Serendipity123
post Oct 24 2012, 02:55 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Oct 24 2012, 02:37 PM)
I am travel in xiamen currently,
having difficulties to find money changer and the 5 bank i aproached not receive MYR...
a bank offer me 100rm for 20rmb..wth...its 10x lesser value than what it suppose to be
wew why ringgit has no value in china?
anybody have idea where to change?
i regret that i bring cash, instead i should keep it in maybank and use its visa debit to withdraw..haha
Maybe you can ask your friends and family to bank in to your Maybank account so that you can withdraw it from where you are now. Or how about cash advance from your Credit Card?

Serendipity123
post Aug 27 2013, 04:17 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(babyyuki @ Aug 27 2013, 03:40 PM)
Anyone planning to travel to Thailand by road (train/bus) these few days? for probably 1-2 weeks

Backpacking style wink.gif

Please be aware that Thailand just had it's fourth train derailment in less than 2 months.
Especially if you're looking to take the train to the mountainous northern part of Thailand (Lampang/Chiang Mai).
Other parts of Thailand should be okay.

S.
Serendipity123
post Nov 6 2013, 12:11 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(yc1987 @ Oct 30 2013, 11:17 PM)
my nov holiday itenary  icon_idea.gif
any folks wanna join.. bangkok and chiang mai  biggrin.gif

havent book flight and hotel yet but this is what i have in mind.

fly from KUL to BKK (use MAS - i dun like AA) on 6 Nov
stay in IMM Fusion Sukhumvit for BKK - around 600 bath a night which i think is quite cheap and best of all is walking distance to the BTS station.. can explore all the stuff around bangkok basically, shopping + all the usual tourist place seems to be accessible
BTS

probably stay here from 6 nov and check out at 10th Nov evening .. and take the sleeper overnight train to chiang mai

Bangkok to Chiangmai Train

in chiang mai stay at Eco resort chiang mai.. lagi cheap 300+ bath a night
what to do in chiang mai i guess all those outdoor stuff la.. we can go to the tourist info centre and see whatever nice then go la.. or follow other travellers

14th take train back to bangkok... can stay back same hotel again i guess.. and any last minute shopping
then 15th (friday) fly back to kl
Why not stay in Chiang Main till the 17th Nov for the Loy Krathong and Yee Peng festival?
BTW, be advised that the Chiang Mai rail line is shut till Dec 1. If you are still taking the train, I think it will stop at Uttaradit and then you will need to take a bus.
Why not fly to Chiang Mai with AirAsia or NokAir instead?

0.0484sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:02 AM