115 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat

djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 10:28 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(febreze2xxx @ Nov 4 2013, 11:39 AM)
No benchmark leak? brows.gif
this photo is from vr-zone, they got A8 or A10 engineering sample. hopefully they can come out review and benchmark asap.

AMD's third-gen performance APU - Kaveri, the first desktop parts will be available on January 14 2014.

The Flagship Kaveri APU For FM2+ Platform
AMD A10-7850K with AMD Radeon R7 Series Graphics:
- Process = 28-nanometer chip
- 856 GFLOPS
- 95W TDP

CPU:
- Core Freq = 3.7Ghz
- Turbo Clock = 4.0 GHz +
- Quad Core
- Steamroller
- 4 MB of L2 shared cache

GPU:
- Core Freq = 720MHz
- 512 Radeon Core (this would be equivalent to today's desktop Radeon HD 7750)
- 8 GCN 1.1 CUs
- DirectX 11.2
- OpenGL 4.3

Features:
- hUMA
- HSA
- Mantle
- TrueAudio

SOS

QUOTE(kapultek @ Nov 13 2013, 10:13 AM)
So can dual graphic with what gc?
So how fast if want to compare with i5
still cannot found the official confirm answer, my guess is either is 7750 or Radeon R7 260X.

from the slide below only tell GPU comparison with Intel but CPU side unknown:

yhsiau
post Nov 13 2013, 10:55 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 10:28 AM)
still cannot found the official confirm answer, my guess is either is 7750 or Radeon R7 260X.

from the slide below only tell GPU comparison with Intel but CPU side unknown:

I believe AMD can't improve Float point operations speed... that's why they rely on HSA to let the GPU do most of the floating point jobs based on those charts shown in APU13.
They keep on highlighting the GPU part(they showed no information about streamroller). Mantle or other software optimisation are the vital key to AMD APU's sucess. We can have afforable (maya, photoshop and etc) workstations/poweful game machines in the future only if Mantle/other APU software optimisation tool adoption were successful.

+Newbie+
post Nov 13 2013, 12:41 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 13 2013, 10:55 AM)
I believe AMD can't improve Float point operations speed... that's why they rely on HSA to let the GPU do most of the floating point jobs based on those charts shown in APU13.
They keep on highlighting the GPU part(they showed no information about streamroller). Mantle or other software optimisation are the vital key to AMD APU's sucess. We can have afforable (maya, photoshop and etc) workstations/poweful game machines in the future only if Mantle/other APU software optimisation tool adoption were successful.
This was AMD's design plan from the very beginning when they started APUs. The potential, at least for the mobile space in the short term, are tremendous. If HSA, HUMA and Mantle becomes standard, they can even try to take the desktop space. The problem is that they are taking very long to execute the plan. And even then, how well the execution is, remains to be seen. They need this now and to entrench themselves like Apple did. Intel only needs 1 or 2 generations to catch up. They already showed how fast they have caught up with Qualcomm in the mobile processors space in two generations.

This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Nov 13 2013, 12:57 PM
shin gouki
post Nov 13 2013, 04:45 PM

74 posts

This looks promising. I'm hoping to get this APU next year. I have some confidence on the APU at least the PS4 and Xbox1 is using AMD APU with unified shared memory. I think AMD won't screw up that easily....
yhsiau
post Nov 13 2013, 04:56 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(shin gouki @ Nov 13 2013, 04:45 PM)
This looks promising. I'm hoping to get this APU next year. I have some confidence on the APU at least the PS4 and Xbox1 is using AMD APU with unified shared memory. I think AMD won't screw up that easily....
The reason of $ony & M$ choose AMD's APU solution is because its cheaper to produce... it offers fairly good processing speed. Both camps are avoiding the IBM's expensive solutions(POWER PC)...
If Kaveri can defeat Haswell I5(I wish)... Intel should start to worry about its incoming broadwell.

This post has been edited by yhsiau: Nov 13 2013, 05:23 PM
+Newbie+
post Nov 13 2013, 05:24 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 13 2013, 04:56 PM)
The reason $ony & M$ choose AMD's APU solution is because its cheaper to produce... it offers fairly good processing speed. Both camps are avoiding the IBM's expensive solutions(POWER PC)...
If Kaveri can defeat Haswell I5(I wish)... Intel should start to worry about its incoming broadwell.
I highly doubt that Kaveri will beat Haswell. The fact that the CPU has less FPU compute resources itself already indicates Kaveri will lose. However in "accelerated" programs, they will trounce Intel. We can already see the current gen APUs outperform Intel in these circumstances, let alone Kaveri. Unfortunately, these depend on software support for acceleration. With Xbox1, PS4, Kaveri and HUMA coming into the market, hopefully adoption of this will accelerate. (pardon the pun).

This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Nov 13 2013, 05:24 PM
Acid_RuleZz
post Nov 13 2013, 07:41 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Nov 13 2013, 07:33 PM)
If can beat i5 haswell i think worth for me to upgrade my fm2
I doubt it will beat Haswell, at least not in conventional benchmark software.
Thrust
post Nov 15 2013, 07:12 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

AMD Cans Plans to Introduce Next-Gen FX Microprocessors Next Year.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/2..._Next_Year.html

sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
djlah
post Nov 15 2013, 09:23 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 15 2013, 07:12 PM)
AMD Cans Plans to Introduce Next-Gen FX Microprocessors Next Year.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/2..._Next_Year.html

sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
shakehead.gif 2014 FX CPU still in 32nm...
yhsiau
post Nov 16 2013, 07:46 AM

790 posts

some openCL optimised software maybe can... but, its still too early to tell.
AMD did hype and dissappoint us with bulldozer. sad.gif

AMD knew its upcoming FX chip(whatsoever construction machines) can't compete with intel, they are focusing on APU.
GF still having problems with 28nm... the incoming kaveri is produced by TSMC.

This post has been edited by yhsiau: Nov 16 2013, 07:47 AM
febreze2xxx
post Nov 16 2013, 11:43 AM

421 posts

So there is no news for arm secure zone in next desktop Kaveri. Only the mobile variant get the A5 arm co processor is confirm to have it. Actually i'm looking forward the use of the co processor more than arm secure zone.

Imagine the instruction support if arm A5 co processor are being able to be use in the os. X86- X64 + GPU computing + Arm lower power computing.

Well at least AMD true audio dsp is confirm in Kaveri.

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 16 2013, 07:46 AM)
AMD knew its upcoming FX chip(whatsoever construction machines) can't compete with intel, they are focusing on APU.
GF still having problems with 28nm... the incoming kaveri is produced by TSMC.
So meaning no 28nm kaveri on desktop variant or slower production time? hmm.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Nov 17 2013, 02:31 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

Kaveri A10 running BF4@1080p with low-mid graphic settings,

Single player though.
djlah
post Nov 17 2013, 10:51 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(febreze2xxx @ Nov 16 2013, 11:43 AM)
No, Kaveri desktop is 28nm, only FX still no improvement. Kaveri already slightly delayed, I guess due to TSMC priority on their top customer. Hopefully in January really have enough stock distribute world wide.

febreze2xxx
post Nov 17 2013, 01:44 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 17 2013, 10:51 AM)
No,  Kaveri desktop is 28nm, only FX still no improvement. Kaveri already slightly delayed,  I guess due to TSMC priority on their top customer. Hopefully in January really have enough stock distribute world wide.
Hope Kaveri comes with much more punch than richland variant. The APU13 only shout on their GPU section nothing much on their CPU. And intel already slowing down, they even delay their broadwell variant. Really looking forward for the HSA foundation to succeed to change the landscape of computing by creating much efficient and optimize software. brows.gif
yhsiau
post Nov 17 2013, 04:35 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(febreze2xxx @ Nov 16 2013, 11:43 AM)
Apple A7 chips take up most of the TSMC menufacturing capacity and its barely enough to make slots for producing chips for other chips(i.e. NV, AMD, Qualcomm & etc).
Lets hope that AMD's 500M usd loan can help for researching & developing better APU technologies.

I think its wise to neglect FX lineup as AMD hasn't come up anything good to counter Intel best offer. I hope AMD can tune GCN well to fuse into their APU. Intel is going after ARM which can give AMD some breaks to recover its mistakes. AMD can't afford to make any more mistakes..
djlah
post Dec 5 2013, 10:22 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(febreze2xxx @ Nov 17 2013, 01:44 PM)
Hope Kaveri comes with much more punch than richland variant. The APU13 only shout on their GPU section nothing much on their CPU. And intel already slowing down, they even delay their broadwell variant. Really looking forward for the HSA foundation to succeed to change the landscape of computing by creating much efficient and optimize software. brows.gif
As the article said, spoke person Lisa mentioned is not direct compete with CPU i5 and i7 anymore and continue improving GPU graphic performance, the YouTube show Kaveri vs. i7+GT630, Kaveri gave 30fps while i7+GT630 only about half of it.... CPU side I believe it's sure improving from Richland but have to wait final product ship out and reviewer to show comparison.

Intel changed Desktop CPU roadmap from yearly update to 2 years once. So next year no update but Broadwell notebook continue and stay focus on SoC. But I'm more interested on AMD mobile APU, co processor ARM. But AMD ultra low power SoC just from 15W to 10W, not enough.

FX CPUs will still using socket AM3+ until year 2015

This post has been edited by djlah: Dec 5 2013, 10:23 AM
Physxzc
post Dec 5 2013, 11:37 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Dec 5 2013, 10:22 AM)

Hope the TDP is not crazy like the Current FX9000 series.

Thrust
post Dec 7 2013, 01:25 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

From the chart, it looks like AMD will continue to use Vishera as their flagship FX line till 2015. No enhancement till then.
djlah
post Dec 7 2013, 02:46 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 7 2013, 01:25 PM)
From the chart, it looks like AMD will continue to use Vishera as their flagship FX line till 2015. No enhancement till then.
obviously... no changes.
AMD still focus on APU for mainstream. good thing to know from the chart is safe to buy A88X mobo now as Carrizo still using it after Kaveri.
Acid_RuleZz
post Dec 8 2013, 11:08 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Dec 5 2013, 10:22 AM)

Follow up,

This slide was proven fake by AMD Manager of APU/CPU Product Reviews James Prior.

AMD Manager of APU/CPU Product Reviews James Prior was quick to negate the slide's legitimacy: "I've never seen that slide before, I don't know where that came from," he told me in our call, and quickly followed-up by stating that "it's not real. FX is not end-of-life." Prior pointed-out that it's rare to ever see more than a year into the future with roadmaps, and that the real AMD roadmap looks like this:

Sauce: AMD: "FX is Not EOL" & Why What We Need in a CPU is Changing

Yet the future of FX lineup is still unknown since the real roadmap shown Vishera will stay throughout 2014.

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 7 2013, 01:25 PM)
Earlier this year AMD announced they will not release a new GPU in 2013 yet a couple of month later they released HD7790 which was a new GPU with an improved architecture and in Q4 they released 7000 series successor, the R9-290s. laugh.gif

115 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:53 AM