Oct 12 2011, 05:59 PM
6,035 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
shame really with so many hype things didnt turn out well
also im feeling for those who bought a bulldozer ready mobo months ago but find out how poor the performance |
Oct 12 2011, 06:05 PM
526 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 12 2011, 05:59 PM) shame really with so many hype things didnt turn out well yup,and im 1 of them also im feeling for those who bought a bulldozer ready mobo months ago but find out how poor the performance |
Oct 12 2011, 06:07 PM
424 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Oct 12 2011, 06:54 PM
5,644 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Heaven to HELL |
i'll leave this here.
this is seriously how i feel about AMD now..... well, @ least the part about "bulldozer + fermi = electric bill would kill me" made my day.... |
Oct 12 2011, 07:09 PM
967 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: setapak |
nice vid with some real facts.. same for me... after w8 for almost 4 months to build new rig then the result speechless...seems my 8 years with AMD will not get longer...SB is my new system to build..
Oct 12 2011, 07:11 PM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Don't expect a serious price drop.
QUOTE It's branded the AMD FX processor and it's only available in a single die configuration. Measuring 315mm2 and weighing in at around 2 billion transistors (that's nearly GPU-sized fellas), Bulldozer isn't that much smaller than existing 45nm 6-core Phenom II designs despite being built on Global Foundries' 32nm SOI process. Both die area and transistor count are up significantly over Sandy Bridge, which on Intel's 32nm HKMG process is only 1.16B transistors with a die size of 216mm2. This is one big chip. Source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4955/the-bul...d-fx8150-tested It costs AMD about 45% more to manufacture one Bulldozer chip than it does for Intel to manufacture one Sandy Bridge chip. And that is also ignoring the fact that Global Foundry's 32nm is less mature, hence less profitable, than Intel's 32nm. In other words, even if Bulldozer is priced the same as their Sandy Bridge equivalents, AMD would make less profit. A price drop on Bulldozer? |
Oct 12 2011, 07:15 PM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
No wonder Intel is confident with their pricing!
WTF AMD!!! |
Oct 12 2011, 07:20 PM
It may be that AMD has been deadlocked and starving for the last few years. It needs cash to do R&D, but people won't be buying because their current R&D isn't enough. If AMD fails to deliver in the next year or two, AMD is finished as a legitimate x86 CPU/APU competitor because it will be too far behind. AMD might not exist by 2016 or be reduced to be like VIA, holding on because of ATI.
This post has been edited by everling: Oct 12 2011, 07:22 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 07:21 PM
422 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
WTH
I wonder if there is a B3 revision This is pathetic But one thing I don't get is why some reviews actually show better results (almost on-par with i7 2600k) than others? |
Oct 12 2011, 07:26 PM
12,411 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(everling @ Oct 12 2011, 07:20 PM) It may be that AMD has been deadlocked and starving for the last few years. It needs cash to do R&D, but people won't be buying because their current R&D isn't enough. If AMD fails to deliver in the next year or two, AMD is finished as a legitimate x86 CPU/APU competitor because it will be too far behind. AMD might not exist by 2016 or be reduced to be like VIA, holding on because of ATI. not good as it might lead to Intel monopolizing the market.they better buckle up now or risk being take over by some company |
Oct 12 2011, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(Moongrave @ Oct 12 2011, 07:21 PM) WTH Revisions are only minor modifications to the existing layout. It won't help AMD to improve its Bulldozer's profitability by much.I wonder if there is a B3 revision This is pathetic But one thing I don't get is why some reviews actually show better results (almost on-par with i7 2600k) than others? QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 12 2011, 07:26 PM) not good as it might lead to Intel monopolizing the market.they better buckle up now or risk being take over by some company But how can they buckle up if the equipment they need costs billions, billions which they don't have because fewer is buying Bulldozer? |
Oct 12 2011, 07:33 PM
350 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 12 2011, 07:26 PM) not good as it might lead to Intel monopolizing the market.they better buckle up now or risk being take over by some company I personally don't want it too, really. I've been always have the hope amd will get a better look at things & act accordingly. They still offer bang per bucks chips compared to intel which is overpriced. I believe they should not try to 'compete' with intel with the limited resources they have but instead work around the 'bang per bucks chip' concept. I really like their llano chip for eg. |
Oct 12 2011, 07:40 PM
935 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Isn't the bulldozer looking good?
?I really dont know what sandy bridge-E hype is.... |
Oct 12 2011, 07:41 PM
226 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Milky Way |
If the FX-8xxx cpu are less than $200 usd...then they might have some sale...since you can get cheapest 8-core and overclock it to high-end.
I'm a sucker for cores. Might upgrade to 8xxx series once my Q6600 dies, if it is less than 180usd. Guess AMD are back to the low and mid-end then(not that they ever moved from that position)...with them taunting that their BD is unlocked compared to Intel line. |
Oct 12 2011, 07:45 PM
315 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
I better wait for Intel IB.... since pcie 3.0 GPU is comming soon
This post has been edited by whitedrake88: Oct 12 2011, 07:46 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 08:00 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 12 2011, 06:54 PM) i'll leave this here. I was expecting this video to come out. this is seriously how i feel about AMD now..... well, @ least the part about "bulldozer + fermi = electric bill would kill me" made my day.... QUOTE(everling @ Oct 12 2011, 07:20 PM) It may be that AMD has been deadlocked and starving for the last few years. It needs cash to do R&D, but people won't be buying because their current R&D isn't enough. If AMD fails to deliver in the next year or two, AMD is finished as a legitimate x86 CPU/APU competitor because it will be too far behind. AMD might not exist by 2016 or be reduced to be like VIA, holding on because of ATI. I think AMD can still turn out to be great someday if they get their priorities right and management in order. Not necessarily R&D is the only problem that is causing AMD's downfall but also the management seems lacking. At first the BOD fired Dirk Meyer publicly about not having a mobile strategy and most probably about BD as well. Then Rick Bergman fired as well by Rory Reed for not being progressive enough which I think is what escalated the problem even further. Had AMD not created comics, taunting gifts and some publicly leaked slides, I don't think it would be that bad of a shock to many.I do really hope that Rory Reed can really turn AMD to gold like he did with Lenovo because it really needs a proper management and better management of R&D funds to somehow make a better product. It is kind of sad to see that AMD is doing a disservice to themselves by releasing a product that is underwhelmed by its previous. I don't think it would be that bad if it did looked better than Phenom II X6 at the very least. Anand has sum it up pretty well and we're already partially affected by monopoly and it is just going to get worse if AMD doesn't get any better. QUOTE(Anand) The good news is AMD has a very aggressive roadmap ahead of itself; here's hoping it will be able to execute against it. We all need AMD to succeed. We've seen what happens without a strong AMD as a competitor. We get processors that are artificially limited and severe restrictions on overclocking, particularly at the value end of the segment. We're denied choice simply because there's no other alternative. I don't believe Bulldozer is a strong enough alternative to force Intel back into an ultra competitive mode, but we absolutely need it to be that. I have faith that AMD can pull it off, but there's still a lot of progress that needs to be made. AMD can't simply rely on its GPU architecture superiority to sell APUs; it needs to ramp on the x86 side as well—more specifically, AMD needs better single threaded performance. Bulldozer didn't deliver that, and I'm worried that Piledriver alone won't be enough. But if AMD can stick to a yearly cadence and execute well with each iteration, there's hope. It's no longer a question of whether AMD will return to the days of the Athlon 64, it simply must. Otherwise you can kiss choice goodbye. |
Oct 12 2011, 08:16 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(banks @ Oct 12 2011, 07:41 PM) I'm a sucker for cores. Might upgrade to 8xxx series once my Q6600 dies, if it is less than 180usd. Well, I decided to grab a Yorkfield quadcore instead of an E8400 despite it being weaker at games during launch. It turned out to be the better buy in the long run, as it still holds up well in most tasks till now.Guess AMD are back to the low and mid-end then(not that they ever moved from that position)...with them taunting that their BD is unlocked compared to Intel line. Well, can't say a thing about the Phenom 9600 then though, the 65nm Phenoms lost to the C2Qs in every single way, worse off than Bulldozer vs SB. QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 12 2011, 08:00 PM) I was expecting this video to come out. Lol @ the Intel snipe by AnandI think AMD can still turn out to be great someday if they get their priorities right and management in order. Not necessarily R&D is the only problem that is causing AMD's downfall but also the management seems lacking. At first the BOD fired Dirk Meyer publicly about not having a mobile strategy and most probably about BD as well. Then Rick Bergman fired as well by Rory Reed for not being progressive enough which I think is what escalated the problem even further. Had AMD not created comics, taunting gifts and some publicly leaked slides, I don't think it would be that bad of a shock to many. I do really hope that Rory Reed can really turn AMD to gold like he did with Lenovo because it really needs a proper management and better management of R&D funds to somehow make a better product. It is kind of sad to see that AMD is doing a disservice to themselves by releasing a product that is underwhelmed by its previous. I don't think it would be that bad if it did looked better than Phenom II X6 at the very least. Anand has sum it up pretty well and we're already partially affected by monopoly and it is just going to get worse if AMD doesn't get any better. QUOTE(Anand) The good news is AMD has a very aggressive roadmap ahead of itself; here's hoping it will be able to execute against it. We all need AMD to succeed. We've seen what happens without a strong AMD as a competitor. We get processors that are artificially limited and severe restrictions on overclocking, particularly at the value end of the segment. We're denied choice simply because there's no other alternative. I don't believe Bulldozer is a strong enough alternative to force Intel back into an ultra competitive mode, but we absolutely need it to be that. I have faith that AMD can pull it off, but there's still a lot of progress that needs to be made. AMD can't simply rely on its GPU architecture superiority to sell APUs; it needs to ramp on the x86 side as well—more specifically, AMD needs better single threaded performance. Bulldozer didn't deliver that, and I'm worried that Piledriver alone won't be enough. But if AMD can stick to a yearly cadence and execute well with each iteration, there's hope. It's no longer a question of whether AMD will return to the days of the Athlon 64, it simply must. Otherwise you can kiss choice goodbye. I'm not sure why Bergman was fired though, considering he did so well turning ATI around after the R600 fiasco. |
Oct 12 2011, 08:28 PM
226 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Milky Way |
AMD should have give out the 4xxx and 6xxx for reviews too. If you can't fight with i5-2500k, at least create an image telling people that your CPUs are better than i3 or i5 2400 and below.
@yimingwuzere : was using good old E6300 before i decided to jump into Q6600, though some of my friends ask me why use a quad core when dual core is enough for games? ....that was 2 years ago. Now games use at least 2 cores. Hence my motto : more cores = good! |
Oct 12 2011, 08:39 PM
1,560 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
OCAU has many listed sites doing review on AMD FX 8150 processor
http://www.overclockers.com.au/ This post has been edited by RiCHBoyZ: Oct 12 2011, 08:41 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0163sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:02 PM |