If this road map is true, 10-15% increases in performance each year, I think AMD can only catch up with Intel's Sandy Bridge by 2013-14.
AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat
Oct 12 2011, 01:59 PM
9,692 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mongrel Isle |
![]() If this road map is true, 10-15% increases in performance each year, I think AMD can only catch up with Intel's Sandy Bridge by 2013-14. |
Oct 12 2011, 01:59 PM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
As expected and known that BD is a loser to SB until they come out with gen2 (pray hard). After "some" delays, then this piece of shyt.
But i enjoyed those reviews. |
Oct 12 2011, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 12 2011, 01:59 PM) As expected and known that BD is a loser to SB until they come out with gen2 (pray hard). After "some" delays, then this piece of shyt. If there is only 15% increase in performance on BDII (as the chart showed), it could still hardly beat SB.But i enjoyed those reviews. |
Oct 12 2011, 02:03 PM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
AnandTech's review is pretty good as Anand actually did some analysis.
Oct 12 2011, 02:03 PM
962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kulai |
Oct 12 2011, 02:04 PM
424 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 12 2011, 01:59 PM) As expected and known that BD is a loser to SB until they come out with gen2 (pray hard). After "some" delays, then this piece of shyt. the main reason u jump ship to sb bcoz i already know the benched result, for fx8150, got friend inside amd, and the only proc that will really make the different is fx8170... hehehehehheBut i enjoyed those reviews. |
Oct 12 2011, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(everling @ Oct 12 2011, 02:03 PM) I prefer Hardwarecanucks'.The comparison +/-% between different processors. It comes in handy. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...-review-20.html Added on October 12, 2011, 2:06 pm QUOTE(Norazam @ Oct 12 2011, 02:04 PM) the main reason u jump ship to sb bcoz i already know the benched result, for fx8150, got friend inside amd, and the only proc that will really make the different is fx8170... hehehehehhe The flop is caused by poor performance-per-core.Does FX8170 have different core? This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 12 2011, 02:07 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 02:08 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Oct 12 2011, 02:11 PM
5,644 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Heaven to HELL |
finally! the sleeping bull has been waken!
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 12 2011, 02:11 PM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 12 2011, 02:05 PM) I prefer Hardwarecanucks'. I found it handy too, but I prefer Anand's work because it is more detailed. Most other reviews just feel like the benchmarkers just went through the steps.The comparison +/-% between different processors. It comes in handy. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...-review-20.html QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 12 2011, 02:08 PM) |
Oct 12 2011, 02:22 PM
18,182 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Dagobah |
More reviews...
- Tech Report - CPUs - AMD's FX-8150 'Bulldozer' processor - Xbit Labs > CPU > Bulldozer Has Arrived: AMD FX-8150 Processor Review Tech Report can't get past 4.4GHz overclock. This post has been edited by lex: Oct 12 2011, 02:25 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 02:24 PM
need to OC to 4.7 just to keep up wit 3.4 2600k
Oct 12 2011, 02:25 PM
10,015 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: the future |
While I expected the Bulldozer processors to have a bad gaming performance compared to Sandy Bridge processors, I never imagined that in some cases it can be so bad, for example the FX-8150 only obtains 32 FPS in Civilization V, 3 FPS less than an Intel Core i5 760, or 92FPS, 7FPS less than an Intel Core i5 760 in "no render" mode. It's quite a sad news, especially for solid AMD fans
This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Oct 12 2011, 02:30 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 02:32 PM
it's just barely better then phenom 2.
so so disappointing.... the only reason to get BD is to test OC. that's all. This post has been edited by tech3910: Oct 12 2011, 02:33 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 02:34 PM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
i'll be heading to intel after a long hiatus in amd-land
Oct 12 2011, 02:39 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:14 PM) If I were Intel, releasing a newer product that is 100MHz higher and about RM100 more than the previous is a way better strategy. They stand to gain nothing by reducing their prices as AMD is never a threat to begin with. Like I said before even if BD is a unbelievably good CPU that excels in ST and MT tasks and totally blows i7 out of the water, AMD cannot keep up with the demand like Intel could. GloFlo is a small fab and can't pump out the volume or yield like Intel's fabs could. You dont really get into much trouble if u beat ur competitor in a fair game. Thats how Nvidia kill 3dfx, consistently beat them with both aggressive performance and price. Besides, Intel can get 2700k to replace 2600k, then another 3.6GHz 2800K to fill the "higher" price part as what u mentioned. They certainly have room to be aggressive and to downsize AMD(but not killing them off). It is a great opportunity for them if u ask me.Although it is very possible to oppose the competition to submission, there are antitrust laws that protects and prevents monopoly. There is really no upside to AMD being brought down. If AMD does go down one day, we could probably see at least some price increase on Intel products just because everybody needs a PC these days and you can't do much even if the price increased. Intel's monopoly is not like the monopoly you could find like a local shop or small to medium business would because even if a shop reduces its price to kill its neighboring competitor and monopoly a certain area, there will definitely be someone to replace the one that has fallen. When AMD goes down, there is no one to take its place as a x86 competitor. Even if the x86 license is transferred to another company there is no guarantee that the new company will be releasing new products for another decade. SB 4 core = 3.4GHz 95w TDP with IGP BD 8 core = 3.6GHz 125w TDP without IGP if intel were to run 1155 without IGP @ 125w, they could have clock SB 4Ghz+ by now. Face it this is a faildozer. BD FX-8150 is just about the same speed as a 1100T, despite having 2 cores advantages + a 300Mhz extra clock. I honestly think AMD could have done better by just tweaking Phenom II taking it to 32nm with a higher clock, or take Phenom to 32nm, remain the same die size, add another 2 cores to 8 cores. This post has been edited by billytong: Oct 12 2011, 02:40 PM |
Oct 12 2011, 02:55 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 12 2011, 02:39 PM) You dont really get into much trouble if u beat ur competitor in a fair game. Thats how Nvidia kill 3dfx, consistently beat them with both aggressive performance and price. Besides, Intel can get 2700k to replace 2600k, then another 3.6GHz 2800K to fill the "higher" price part as what u mentioned. They certainly have room to be aggressive and to downsize AMD(but not killing them off). It is a great opportunity for them if u ask me. AMD is already small as it is right now. If they get any smaller than they are now they will not be able to sustain themselves and a buyout will happen. AMD is currently very fragile and if Intel does get aggressive in their pricing, AMD will cease to exist in a couple of months. Their market cap is dropping and getting way lower than expected, it does not take a lot for a company like AMD to disappear. There is no need to start a price war when your competition is not fighting back. Look at Intel, they do not reduce the price of some of their products unless it does not sell as well as they expected.Nobody knows why AMD decided to do as such during design stages but a deep pipeline, low IPC and high clockspeed is akin to P4. Supposedly BD is a forward thinking design with instruction sets not available on old architectures, has not been fully used yet but it has not worked on their favor obviously. Now we all know for sure why Dirk Meyer and Rick Bergman was fired. Anyways here's something to lighten the mood. |
Oct 12 2011, 02:59 PM
We need AMD to live on.
But AMD at least need to produce something that makes sense. BD has poorer per-core-performance and L3 latency as compared Phenom II x6. http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/processors/P...n-scorpius.aspx This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 12 2011, 03:01 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Oct 12 2011, 03:04 PM
i would @ least feel better if AMD dun use "FX"
Oct 12 2011, 03:16 PM
7,084 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Tom's Hardware) But by the time it emerges for the enthusiast market, AMD will probably have to contend with Ivy Bridge, armed with advancements of its own. This isn’t a good thing. I want to see competition—a battle that keeps both Intel and AMD innovating. Does today’s FX invoke the Athlon 64 FX-51 that compelled Intel to rebadge a Xeon and come up with the Extreme Edition moniker back in 2003 just to compete? Not really, no. In fact, the chip giant didn’t have to do anything at all. Its nearly year-old 95 W parts fend for themselves without even a price adjustment. The sad but brutal truth. Although I’m counting on Valencia and Interlagos to fare better against Xeon in the server space, where threaded workloads are the rule, it’s disappointing to see Zambezi suck down the power of Intel’s highest-end processors under load, perform like its competitor’s year-old mainstream chips, and wear the branding of a family that, eight years ago, actually made Intel squirm. |
| Change to: | 0.0285sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:51 AM |