AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat

TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 11 2011, 03:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

By theory, if an FX-8150 is slower than an Intel Core i5 2500K in gaming, then the lower end processors would probably be worse. While the FX processors are pretty good overclockers, the price is what sets them back. By referring to lingloong's price list, something like the FX-6100 already costs RM639. I would gladly pay an extra RM20 ( following Viewnet's price ) for an Intel Core i5 2500K for the promise of being able to overclock to over 4.5GHz as well as the promise of having a better gaming performance at stock speed.

Add-on : The above applies only if the leaked results are true. Otherwise take my statement with a grain of salt until it is really confirmed. smile.gif

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Oct 11 2011, 03:34 PM)
I'm not trying to deny the possibility that the Bulldozer processors may actually beat the current Sandy Bridge processors available by a big margin, but judging by the way the person wrote his findings I am forced to take his findings with a pinch of salt as I sense that his testing is bias / certain level of fanboyism included in the testing :

It's hilariously overclockable. Jury-rigging the biggest heatsink I could find, a ~7 year old Coolermaster Hyper6+ (which doesn't fit AM2/3) hacked into a pretty cheap Gigabyte GA990XA-UD3, I got 4.85 GHz out of it. At that kind of clock, the 2500K was looking for its parents with tears in its eyes, losing out on single threaded benchmarks by 10% and multithreads...

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Oct 11 2011, 03:45 PM
shinjite
post Oct 11 2011, 03:48 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Hmmm....the price between the FX-8120 and 8150 is a lot as well >_>"
lex
post Oct 11 2011, 04:30 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Oct 10 2011, 09:45 PM)
Dayuum, where do you find all these info. :drools:
Starting from this earlier post, note the sentence "Continued..." in my post. Those benchmarks have also been posted here: Legit Reviews: Legit News - AMD Bulldozer FX-8120 Retail CPU Bought and Benchmarked...
QUOTE(Nathan Kirsch @ Oct 10 2011, 10:19 AM)
AMD Bulldozer FX-8120 Retail CPU Bought and Benchmarked
It appears that someone in the Ukraine has been able to buy a retail boxed AMD FX-8120 'Bulldozer' Processor! This is the chip that is coming out later this week that is based on the Zambezi architecture. The buyer of the processor ran a bunch of benchmarks on the ASUS M5A99X EVO AM3+ motherboard that features the AMD 990FX Chipset. The benchmarks don't look that impressive, but it goes along with other numbers that have leaked out on the internet in recent weeks. This retail boxed FX-8120 looks to be legit too as it features the metal tin along with the proper HSF, sticker and even the warranty booklet. Expect our full review on the AMD FX-8150 later this week.

AMD FX-8120 'Bulldozer' Processor Benchmark Results:

user posted image Cinebench R11.5 (Multithread): 4.89 Points
user posted image Fritz Chess Benchmark: 9417 Kilonodes/s
user posted image WPrime (32M): 12.542 sec
user posted image WPrime (1024M): 375.121 sec
user posted image SuperPI (1M): 25.836 sec
user posted image AID64: 10682 Read/ 9705 Write/ 9945 Copy/ 53.8ns

overclockers.com

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 11 2011, 03:13 PM)
Depending on what you want to use your PC for. If your main purpose is gaming then definitely a SB would be a better choice as games aren't that multithreaded yet. BF3 'might' be BD's strong point if BF3 performance does skew towards AMD processors.
That BattleField 3 BETA results are a little bit odd (Phenom II X4 is faster than Phenom II X6), just like Dirt 3 results which is also published by TechSpot. Furthermore this game supports multi-threading. Otherwise most of them looks to be somewhat GPU limited. Would also be more interesting when using SLI or CrossFireX where CPU limitations will show up. hmm.gif

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Oct 11 2011, 03:34 PM)
The Core i7 2600K is around 25% to 31% faster than Core i5 2500K in x264 benchmarks, references from HardwareCanucks, AnandTech and TechRadar. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 11 2011, 04:34 PM
1024kbps
post Oct 11 2011, 06:39 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

^ image fomr the overclocker net bd bench,

my x264 bench with my 1055t oc-ed to 3.6GHz.

For some reason i tried to run the bench with GCC4.6.1 compiled x264, it was much slower than the techarp version sweat.gif
Techarp version is R1913 while mine own compile is R2085M (bigger numbers means newer revision) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Oct 11 2011, 06:40 PM
saturn85
post Oct 11 2011, 06:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Intel keeps its mouth shut over Bulldozer killer, 2700K rumoured unsure.gif
tech3910
post Oct 11 2011, 08:05 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

if intel just announce pricec drop of 10%, will totally estroy the BD launch.
dma0991
post Oct 11 2011, 08:41 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:05 PM)
Why should there be a price drop by Intel when their current lineup has yet to be affected by BD? Unless there is a major drop in Intel's sales there will not be a price drop and an unnecessary price drop means that Intel is earning 10% less which is not what they want. What is more likely to happen is to release a refresh like the Core i7 2700K.
TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 11 2011, 08:46 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

10% drop in price I'd say, is rather ambitious biggrin.gif.
lingloong
post Oct 11 2011, 09:06 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 11 2011, 01:00 PM)
Why not post picture of all the CPU packaging? Have you tested it yourself already? brows.gif
You can't use an AM3+ processor with an AM3 motherboard but you can use an AM3 processor with an AM3+ motherboard. All AM3+ sockets are identifiable with its distinct black socket instead of the white that AMD has used in the past.
Stock baru sampai lor, later take picta lah smile.gif

I dun wanna test it la, later open who wanna buy? laugh.gif

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:05 PM)
Increase price ada lah, compare retail price TODAY & 2 weeks ago, you get the price increase how much laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lingloong: Oct 11 2011, 09:07 PM
tech3910
post Oct 11 2011, 09:14 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Oct 11 2011, 09:06 PM)
Stock baru sampai lor, later take picta lah  smile.gif

I dun wanna test it la, later open who wanna buy?  laugh.gif

Increase price ada lah, compare retail price TODAY & 2 weeks ago, you get the price increase how much  laugh.gif
that price increase is bcoz of exchange rate.
Kizarh
post Oct 11 2011, 10:23 PM

797 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Oct 11 2011, 08:46 PM)
10% drop in price I'd say, is rather ambitious biggrin.gif.
They(Intel) sure capable if they want to lolz
dma0991
post Oct 12 2011, 12:11 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

Non-official benches FX-8120 @ 4.0GHz

And the results:
Results for x264.exe r1913
========================== ==========================

Pass 1 Pass a
------ ------
encoded 1442 frames, 118.38 fps, 3911.61 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 118.38 fps, 3911.61 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 119.35 fps, 3911.61 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 119.35 fps, 3911.61 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 118.54 fps, 3911.61 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 118.54 fps, 3911.61 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 118.43 fps, 3911.61 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 118.43 fps, 3911.61 kb / s

Pass 2 Pass 2
------ ------
encoded 1442 frames, 34.12 fps, 3958.14 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 34.12 fps, 3958.14 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 34.19 fps, 3959.54 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 34.19 fps, 3959.54 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 34.14 fps, 3959.64 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 34.14 fps, 3959.64 kb / s
encoded 1442 frames, 34.13 fps, 3959.41 kb/s encoded 1442 frames, 34.13 fps, 3959.41 kb / s

Same person and similar stuff to what lex posted a while ago but this is the same test done with the FX-8120 at 4.0GHz.
1024kbps
post Oct 12 2011, 02:24 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

The first pass still slower than 3.6GHz 1055t though
the bd x264 first past 120~ fps looks like quad core cpu performance only sweat.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45934379
but second pass is very close.

Some other benchies on XS
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...Some-benchmarks
saturn85
post Oct 12 2011, 03:18 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

AMD FX-8150 overclocked to 8030.15MHz, On Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7 motherboard brows.gif
tech3910
post Oct 12 2011, 08:52 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Oct 12 2011, 03:18 AM)
2V.......=_=

not something it can live it daily also...
i'm more interested wit max OC wit safe voltage range wit standard easily available air cooler.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Oct 12 2011, 09:22 AM
bai1101
post Oct 12 2011, 09:19 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 12 2011, 08:52 AM)
2V.......=_=

not something it can live it daily also...
i'm more interested wit max OC wit save voltage range wit standard easily available air cooler.
i think i more worry my electric bill than other with that setup.
billytong
post Oct 12 2011, 09:25 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:41 PM)
Why should there be a price drop by Intel when their current lineup has yet to be affected by BD? Unless there is a major drop in Intel's sales there will not be a price drop and an unnecessary price drop means that Intel is earning 10% less which is not what they want. What is more likely to happen is to release a refresh like the Core i7 2700K.

They could spoil AMD launch if they really wanted to cut the price down, dont forget SB can officially run 3.6Ghz @ stock volt. 2700K is just 3.5GHz.

If I were Intel shareholder, I would personally love to take this chances to kill AMD down to VIA size. There is absolutely no reason to have a competitor keep messing with you. Monopoly is most if not all businessman ultimate goal.
DarkNite
post Oct 12 2011, 09:29 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

The big question is how much!
adie82
post Oct 12 2011, 09:37 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Oct 12 2011, 03:18 AM)
http://www.fudzilla.com/images/stories/201..._FX8150oc_1.jpg

er? why 2cores 2 threads? hmm.gif
shinjite
post Oct 12 2011, 09:42 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

It is because with lesser cores, the better the chances of getting higher clocks

It is about the clockspeeds, not the amount of cores smile.gif

115 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:02 AM