Nokia N8 V3, Coming Soon!!!
hengguowei
Sep 5 2010, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 5 2010, 11:40 PM) Dont learn too much la, later you laugh till die... If you want to learn about Virtual Memory or Paging, just Google for it and then read carefully what it really is and why it was called Virtual Memory or Paging. To simplify, Virtual Memory is not RAM. Having more of it does not guarantee the phone gonna be faster or multi task better. In order to have an application ACTUALLY running in background, the program must sit inside the RAM. So when the RAM is full, the OS will clear some RAM by copying data from the RAM which is idling (program is running but not active) and then moving it to the Swap File or so called Virtual Memory. So if the user does not kill any program, the ram will keep running full and each time you switch focus to another program, it will search the other program from the RAM and the Virtual Memory if it cant find it inside the RAM. This is where it start getting slower. If the program still sit inside the RAM, ok, its fast, but if already being moved to the Virtual Memory, you have to wait for it to clear out the idle RAM space and then copy the wanted programs from the Virtual Memory back to the RAM. Copying back and forth from the slower Virtual Memory is what slows down the loading process. Iphone OS also has something similar but different implementation. Instead of having the OS randomly choosing the program to be transferred to the Virtual Memory, it does so by closing it but saving its state as well. I know what is Virtual Memory and all that stuff...I'm just saying I don't know what your talking cause very messy the way you write in your previous post...as if you're joking or something
Leo the Lion
Sep 5 2010, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 6 2010, 12:46 AM) That time your Milestone is on Android 2.0? Upgrade to 2.1 should be better right? My friend did and have some improvements. 2.2 should give more improvements, but need to wait a little longer. SGS seems great, but for people who need physical keyboard will be a problem, hehe. Wait for 2.2 for SGS lor. Too bad the Milestone 2 doesn't support GSM...  it's 2.1 that time. slow...
hengguowei
Sep 5 2010, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(jackyoboy @ Sep 5 2010, 11:32 PM) might wanna get a mac  nice link oops...I can't get discount until I get into Uni I guess...since they said it's higher education which I think doesn't include Colleges  haih... Anyway, here's the link if you wanna check the price of Apple Item after student discount: http://store.apple.com/my-k12?mco=MTM3NDkyMTU Added on September 5, 2010, 11:52 pmQUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 5 2010, 11:52 PM) it's 2.1 that time. slow... urm..what's SGS? This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 5 2010, 11:52 PM
BuFung
Sep 5 2010, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 5 2010, 11:46 PM) That time your Milestone is on Android 2.0? Upgrade to 2.1 should be better right? My friend did and have some improvements. 2.2 should give more improvements, but need to wait a little longer. SGS seems great, but for people who need physical keyboard will be a problem, hehe. Wait for 2.2 for SGS lor. Too bad the Milestone 2 doesn't support GSM...  get ur fact right the milestone 2 do not support GSM... Moto phone have 1 big disadvantage is .. the bootloader are lock....
Leo the Lion
Sep 5 2010, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Sep 6 2010, 12:52 AM) oops...I can't get discount until I get into Uni I guess...since they said it's higher education which I think doesn't include Colleges  haih... Anyway, here's the link if you wanna check the price of Apple Item after student discount: http://store.apple.com/my-k12?mco=MTM3NDkyMTU Added on September 5, 2010, 11:52 pmurm..what's SGS?  No. The Milestone. SGS is OK, but got some lag too. Waiting for 2.2  Added on September 5, 2010, 11:55 pmQUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 6 2010, 12:53 AM) get ur fact right the milestone 2 do not support GSM... Moto phone have 1 big disadvantage is .. the bootloader are lock.... Droid 2 cant support GSM. Milestone 2 can. This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 5 2010, 11:55 PM
jackyoboy
Sep 5 2010, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Sep 6 2010, 12:52 AM) oops...I can't get discount until I get into Uni I guess...since they said it's higher education which I think doesn't include Colleges  haih... Anyway, here's the link if you wanna check the price of Apple Item after student discount: http://store.apple.com/my-k12?mco=MTM3NDkyMTU Added on September 5, 2010, 11:52 pmurm..what's SGS?  higher education should include colleges
andrekua
Sep 5 2010, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Sep 5 2010, 11:50 PM) I know what is Virtual Memory and all that stuff...I'm just saying I don't know what your talking cause very messy the way you write in your previous post...as if you're joking or something  Ohhh... ceh, you wasted my time... just kidding... Nolar, I just wanna kacau N900 godlike phone user who come here kacao kacao with something based on paper which was suppose to be SUPERIOR wor...
hengguowei
Sep 5 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(jackyoboy @ Sep 5 2010, 11:55 PM) higher education should include colleges  For example Help College or Taylors College or Methodist College?
Andy214
Sep 5 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 5 2010, 11:53 PM) get ur fact right the milestone 2 do not support GSM... Moto phone have 1 big disadvantage is .. the bootloader are lock.... Sorry, do you mean support or do not support? I suppose you mean support? The last I check seems doesn't support, or I see wrongly, maybe I was looking at the Droid-X. What about Droid, I think one of it isn't lock right? EDIT: Just check gsmarena, the milestone 2 seems like new entry, announced September 2010. I think I was looking at Droid 2 previously. This post has been edited by Andy214: Sep 6 2010, 12:00 AM
BuFung
Sep 5 2010, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 5 2010, 11:54 PM) No. The Milestone. SGS is OK, but got some lag too. Waiting for 2.2  Added on September 5, 2010, 11:55 pmDroid 2 cant support GSM. Milestone 2 can. froyo annouce for sgs dy isnt it? friend's maxis desire run on 2.13.. wow flash support.... that is why i ask him to get the fact right....
hengguowei
Sep 5 2010, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 5 2010, 11:55 PM) Ohhh... ceh, you wasted my time... just kidding... Nolar, I just wanna kacau N900 godlike phone user who come here kacao kacao with something based on paper which was suppose to be SUPERIOR wor... hahah...ok...I'm not a user yet but I wanna be one
aspire2oo6
Sep 5 2010, 11:59 PM
like some ppl ka ka cau like very smart know everything. At least others learn to explain then some people showing off like he/she/it knows everything in the world. Only what he say is right others say is crap. People keep quiet beause they dont want waste their time with arrogant ppl. Thats why that fellows dont dare to go to the other thread or else he get flame there  Another forumer exactly like this is found here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=326144 just different type of topic. So mature This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM
andrekua
Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Sep 5 2010, 11:58 PM) hahah...ok...I'm not a user yet but I wanna be one  If you are able to get one cheap, it should be a good experience... However, as usual, Nokia has kinda abandon the N900 so now its more heavily supported by the community itself... worth trying? I cant see Maemo getting any attention since Nokia already stated that it will dance along with Intel for Meego.
BuFung
Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 5 2010, 11:57 PM) Sorry, do you mean support or do not support? I suppose you mean support? The last I check seems doesn't support, or I see wrongly, maybe I was looking at the Droid-X. What about Droid, I think one of it isn't lock right? it support GSM.. the earlier sibbling is Droid 2 do not support.. but Motorola already annouce the real Milestone 2.. which is just like Droid vs Milestone... Moto lock all it;s phone bootloader I suppose....
Andy214
Sep 6 2010, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 5 2010, 11:54 PM) No. The Milestone. SGS is OK, but got some lag too. Waiting for 2.2  Added on September 5, 2010, 11:55 pmDroid 2 cant support GSM. Milestone 2 can. Thanks~ As long as you're satisfied with it
andrekua
Sep 6 2010, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 5 2010, 11:59 PM) like some ppl ka ka cau like very smart know everything. At least others learn to explain then some people showing off like he/she/it knows everything in the world. Only what he say is right others say is crap. People keep quiet beause they dont want waste their time with arrogant ppl. Thats why that fellows dont dare to go to the other thread or else he get flame there  Another forumer exactly like this is found here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=326144 just different type of topic. So mature  Hahaha... You can prove me wrong also... but dont talk imaginary stuffs la. If you are correct you can counter attack... I dont mind cos Im getting to learn as well... Sometimes I do get my hdd (memory) corrupted and therefore need to be reinstall... but dont install malware lor...
Andy214
Sep 6 2010, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 6 2010, 12:01 AM) it support GSM.. the earlier sibbling is Droid 2 do not support.. but Motorola already annouce the real Milestone 2.. which is just like Droid vs Milestone... Moto lock all it;s phone bootloader I suppose.... Yea, just edited my post, I guess previously I've been following the Droid 2. I remember reading the Droid didn't have lock bootloader, but not sure, just read only: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_DroidUnlike the DROID, the Milestone has a bootloader that only allows signed Firmware to load. This prevents users from booting Custom ROM images not signed by Motorola that have become popular in the Droid modding community. This has caused discontent in the Droid community in markets foreign to the US. Whether the disabling of custom boot loaders is due to retailer, carrier, manufacturer, or legal restrictions is unknown and the primary reason(s) may differ in each individual market.
andrekua
Sep 6 2010, 12:07 AM
BuFung
Sep 6 2010, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 6 2010, 12:05 AM) Hahaha... You can prove me wrong also... but dont talk imaginary stuffs la. If you are correct you can counter attack... I dont mind cos Im getting to learn as well... Sometimes I do get my hdd (memory) corrupted and therefore need to be reinstall... but dont install malware lor... like what I counter u about phone playing HD video ah?? U can accept .. but not everybody can accept .... some time u putting too much money into ppl's pocket when ppl do not accept it...
hengguowei
Sep 6 2010, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 5 2010, 11:59 PM) like some ppl ka ka cau like very smart know everything. At least others learn to explain then some people showing off like he/she/it knows everything in the world. Only what he say is right others say is crap. People keep quiet beause they dont want waste their time with arrogant ppl. Thats why that fellows dont dare to go to the other thread or else he get flame there  Another forumer exactly like this is found here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=326144 just different type of topic. So mature  ahahahah...lol...Cupid's Corner?__? lols