feynman
post Sep 1 2010, 03:02 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 1 2010, 01:23 AM)
Guys,

How's the cost of living near Imperial College, London? I checked their website and their suggestion is up to GBP 10000 per year for 'reasonable comfort'. What does that mean? Does that include accommodation? Anyone here has any experience on this?

Thanks!
Not cheap. a year for them is defined as 9 months.

That quoted figure is the average expenditure for students i.e. normal lodging, adequate food and reasonable amount for entertainment. If you're looking for an ensuite studio in south kensington, or you only eat out and club a lot, you will definitely need more money.

QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Sep 1 2010, 02:57 AM)
I'm going to UK to study this next week and I'm planning to work part time there. There is one question that I want to ask. Is there any law stating that the minimum wage per hour one can earn while working part time?
Yup. Go check it out.
feynman
post Jan 19 2012, 06:43 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Jan 19 2012, 06:16 PM)
Mechanical Engineering, but there's only General Engineering in Cambridge with specialisations in third year. Yeah I did go through an interview in my college. Tonnes of physics question thrown at me but the whole process was smooth even though I did stumble once or twice. but then it's from my point of view. Perhaps it's not good enough for them.  tongue.gif
forgot to add, there's another assessment called TSA. Don't think I did quite well for that. You have to write an essay in 30 minutes and I.hate.essay. lol
Every rejection has a silver lining. So don't be disappointed. Other doors of opportunity will open.

This post has been edited by feynman: Jan 19 2012, 09:35 PM
feynman
post Jun 28 2012, 05:20 PM

4,781 posts

All the more important to stress our Msianess in the UK particular those of Chinese descent.

What's the standing of our JPA/MARA scholars relative to this? You know how the selections are done, not all in the UK are the best of the lot.
feynman
post Jun 28 2012, 08:08 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 28 2012, 05:31 PM)
i am not aware of any special arrangements jpa/mara have with uk unis....they do/did with some unis in oz and nz.....not sure if these arrangements are still done.......
I don't mean arrangements like that. You know that for developmental reasons, JPA/MARA scholars are not always chosen based on academic performance. So amongst the cohort, you have some that would struggle, be it with the language or with the program. That said, it won't be surprising that some wouldn't score the AAAAs expected of them. You also know that JPA's requirements are dirt low once you have signed the contract. No grades to go to Warwick or Bristol? No problem, boleh pilih uni yang lebih senang......and there are so many senang universities in the UK.

Sounds awfully similar to the case of mainland students right? Bad grades with bottomless coffers

feynman
post Jul 4 2012, 09:07 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 4 2012, 06:48 PM)
Hmm, okay - will look at the master offer instead then, thanks for the info. I actually thought the market in UK gotten better compared to the last few years, no? A few of my friends left to join banks in UK, though they are on contract basis.
Those are experienced hires. Got job then may get a visa. However, for fresh grads, it's almost impossible. Why hire a typical non-EI grad for a entry-level job when any EU grad can do it as well?
feynman
post Jul 5 2012, 07:43 PM

4,781 posts

I imagine for fields like engineering, IT, pharmacy and medicine and professions that require unique skills, opportunities are available though limited. It has been hard on finance lately, banks are either not hiring that much are firing, there might be a shakeup in that industry.

I have a secondary school mate who finished her MBBS last year, Msian passport holder. She was very lucky to have gotten a placement at a hospital outside of Sheffield. She was lucky, they had 2 rounds of application, she got it in the 2nd round.

Staying back in the UK can't be planned in this climate. It's dependent on your skills/degree, luck, opportunity, network etc.

feynman
post Jul 6 2012, 03:19 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 5 2012, 10:58 PM)
almost every international student graduating with a uk mbbs will get matched to a f1 job.....there was a slight hiccup last years, and some went on to 2nd round.....there appears no problem this year, and the figures for 2013 also suggest there will be enough f1 places.....

f1/f2 doctors come under tier 4 visa, so is not an issue, and does not come under eu rules about priority for eu citizens.....
Didn't know that. The impression that I got from her was that it was free competition. No guarantees.

So after F2, must leave if no permanent placement is available?
feynman
post Jul 6 2012, 03:19 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 6 2012, 10:45 AM)
this is the asian century, so the place to be asia, especially the far east and sea.....hk, spore, and lately, shanghai and beijing, have been attracting many expatriates.....both westerners as well as 'returning asians'.....

the uk is NOT a very good place to live, not least of which is the lousy weather.....so actually the majority of msians do NOT intend to stay on in uk after their education....(the situation for 'asians' is different.....they want to stay on....'asians' in uk context means sub-continent people.....

specific to spore and the living environment, it's a pressure cooker, but some people thrive in it.....however spore is NOT a good place for the middle aged and retirees.....unless you already have lots of money..... smile.gif
I think it depends on the individual. Despite the high taxes and the general deteriorating economic environment, I quite like the UK, London Excluded.

With a stable and fairly high income, living there for 5-6 years wouldn't be a problem. 50-60k gross in Manchester or somewhere, lower cost of living, live modestly, relocating back to Asia later is not a problem.
feynman
post Jul 7 2012, 07:13 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jul 7 2012, 12:06 AM)
For the UK local companies yes, you may be right, but for global organisation in the UK, they are always interested in foreigners (even fresh graduates) especially who is able to speak multiple language while being a competent candidate, you will just need to check with the company before you apply the job because the employer will have to meet some requirements to apply for a license in order to hire a foreigner in the UK. Some companies will be willing to apply for the license and get you working permit if their company meets the requirements. So chances are still there, it CAN NOT BE said as impossible because myself is one good example  icon_rolleyes.gif I am graduating next week, got a few job offers in the UK earlier this year, accepted and now my company is in the process of applying the license to get me the working permit etc..  icon_rolleyes.gif
You do know that we were talking about the banking industry right? That sector is almost impossible for non-EU graduates. In another thread I did mention that opportunities are still available but limited to some specialist fields. If you don't mind, what is your job scope like? Surely it's not an office assistant.

I don't know if an application means definite approval in the UK. in Switzerland, the company can apply for the permit but that doesn't mean the permit will be granted by the authorities. The canton can still reject the application.
feynman
post Jul 7 2012, 05:06 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jul 7 2012, 08:26 AM)
Im from engineering background and my job is graduate engineer in an engineering company.

As far as I am living in the UK, most people in here will not proceed to application or promise anything unless there are sure what they are doing (most people I know/ worked with). Shall the working permit/ their license application is unsure and could be subjected to rejections, they would normally inform candidate before letting the candidate to decide whether to accept the job offer (at least this is my experience with other companies before). And it is very common for a global organisation to hire from the UK and have the employee to work abroad (usually suits candidate's field of interest or location of interest and still paid under UK package). I was closed to relocate to Shanghai under same company (were up to working permit process) until I changed my mind to stay back in the UK after careful consideration.

There are cases where some seniors of mine were recruited in the UK and ended up could not obtain working permit approved for some reasons, the company still hire them and send them to work abroad, still paid in £. (In fact a lot more when working abroad if to compare with same job scope in the UK)

I do have a not very closed friend who is a Chinese has got a job offer in banking field recently. Not sure how tough he has to get through but what he has achieved shows there are still chances for foreigners.

The reason I am posting my experience is to encourage junior not to give up simply because of most people's saying - 'impossible or almost impossible to get a job in the UK'. If you really wish to stay and work in the UK, always no harm giving it a try. The worst thing that could happen is just a NO from the company which would not cost you anything despite some time writing email for inquiries/ applications.
Working in the UK and working aboard with a UK compensation package are different things. The issue we are discussing here is not about employment per se. It's employment located in the UK. The fact still remains that it's almost impossible to stay back.

As limeau said, tier 2 still exists so it's not absurd to have some fellows who get to stay back. again provided that you can find a job, so even if quotas are not fulfilled, the job has to be won. You yourself know how the job market for some positions are limited and competitive. Which also points to the fact that companies will have to see the net benefit of hiring one to justify the lengthy process of application.

Are we going to represent this as a possible return on investment to the multitudes of Msians studying in the UK? Many simply rationalise by convincing themselves that they could stay back after their studies in order to spend that RM300-400K on university. How is that even a good investment if that's the thought process? The worst thing that could happen in the end is not a NO from a prospective employer. The worst is having occured to one that the window of opportunity is running out, and one has spent a fortune on something in return for the same job that one could have gotten with a local/twinning degree in Msia.

You want good and almost certain returns, try Canada. the PGWP is unlikely to go and if you speak french, doesn't matter if you work at McD's after your graduation in Quebec.

I work in CH and I don't go around encouraging people by dangling a piece of blurry carrot that they might get at the end of their studies.
feynman
post Aug 13 2014, 05:56 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(crazycyp @ Aug 13 2014, 01:13 AM)
Hi all, I have a lot of questions to asked even after reading the previous post I'm still not clear on many things on the bank issue

1. I were going to UK next month and i was kinds of worries about the bank issue cause i was unclear that u guys talking about the bank draft ......
question is: The bank draft is that issued by the local bank draft ? or you guys refer to the traveler cheque ?

2. If there any UK bank offer us to open oversea account ? 

Hope that those who have experience can reply to my questions.. Thanks!
You know, you will have a hard time in the UK if you can't communicate.

Your social life is one aspect, your academic life will be problematic too. Professors and tutors won't have the time to deconstruct your questions or written answers. You'll just get 0 or worse, be told to retake the course after completing remedial English classes.

Do something about it. Revisit basic grammar. If you can nail present and past tenses, you will be on your way.

QUOTE(tianqi @ Aug 13 2014, 11:23 AM)
Erm, hi there. Some suggestions here since you are going to UK next month:
Just bring around 500 pound in cash, go to the local bank and ask for a bank draft (this is under your name, something like a cheque). When you arrive to UK, open a bank account and bank in this bank draft. If you really don't know how, just go to the local bank and ask them, I'm sure they will help you.
QUOTE(wingy @ Aug 13 2014, 04:46 PM)
Most universities will have banks within their campuses to help and facilitate new students opening bank accounts. As your bank draft is drawn on a local UK clearing bank you should be able to use it to open a bank account and get a debit card.
Very good that you two answered his query.

0.0256sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:04 AM