Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

hengmy
post Dec 1 2008, 09:23 PM

1,991 posts

just burn in this processor, 1st time play with quad biggrin.gif
vtt more than 1.4 really will kill the processor? shocking.gif

hengmy
post Dec 4 2008, 10:43 PM

1,991 posts

finally get 3.5ghz 10 loops pass on IBT after tuning on the gtl ref rclxub.gif
dfi x48 lt is really tricky for quad overclocking rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
anyone using these board pls share me the gtl ref for quad at 450fsb and higher, thx alot notworthy.gif

hengmy
post Dec 5 2008, 05:52 PM

1,991 posts

get oem processor lor, cheaper thumbup.gif
hengmy
post Dec 5 2008, 07:43 PM

1,991 posts

and u need luck to get a good OC able e8400.

hengmy
post Dec 5 2008, 08:58 PM

1,991 posts

maybe u can use the powerful search function in this forum thumbup.gif
hengmy
post Dec 9 2008, 05:37 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Dec 9 2008, 01:35 PM)
Testing my latest DFI LP JR P45 with E8400@5ghz  icon_rolleyes.gif
nice OC, pi can still faster?

hengmy
post Dec 21 2008, 10:00 PM

1,991 posts

set ur fsb:ram to 1:1 then u can OC more fsb.
mayb u need to increase your nb voltage aswell.
hengmy
post Dec 25 2008, 12:13 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Dec 24 2008, 09:14 PM)
ya.. mostly 3.8ghz or below... mine doing 3.6ghz on 1.325v...

if wan real powerr oc go for Q9600 E0 steppings... 4ghz no problem i think, provided got good mobo
got q9600 ady?? 3ghz with 6mb L2?

This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 25 2008, 12:14 AM
hengmy
post Dec 31 2008, 04:09 PM

1,991 posts

anyone got the setting for 500fsb x9 4.5ghz for dualcore stable?
can share out?
thx notworthy.gif
hengmy
post Dec 31 2008, 04:49 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Dec 31 2008, 04:25 PM)
well i can only do 480fsb stable with my IP35P blush.gif
hmm, but not only the fsb but 4.5ghz also thumbup.gif
hengmy
post Jan 1 2009, 03:20 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Jan 1 2009, 03:12 AM)
hello overclocker bros..i would like to ask one thing..
i just got E8200 from seamonster bro..hmm i know E8200 usually can get around 3.8ghz stable, and 4Ghz kinda hard..but u know, the excitement when u got stable 4Ghz..lol i wanna try 4Ghz stable..but i cant get..

according to this fella..

E8200 3.92Ghz stock cooler..

is it 800Mhz RAM will stuck some oc ability..since he used 1066Mhz RAM, it looks like he is damn easy get 3.92Ghz stable using stock cooler..haih jealous jeaolus..since i'm using Big Typhoon TT, i still cant get 4Ghz stable..so do i need to buy 1066Mhz RAM to get 4Ghz++?

RAM - Team Elite 800 Mhz
Mobo - MSI P45 Neo2-FR bios v3.2

this is my latest stable overclocking of E8200 3710Mhz

thx in advance..and happy new year  notworthy.gif
e8200 4ghz is quite easy on a p45 board.. just the vcore matter u need to look in, and a ram that can run stable at 500 mhz smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengmy: Jan 1 2009, 03:20 AM
hengmy
post Jan 17 2009, 01:24 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Denwcp @ Jan 15 2009, 06:32 PM)
Im trying to overclock my QX6800 with my new set of desktop components as shown below :

PROC: INTEL QX6800 @2.93Ghz SLACP
MOBO : Biostar TP43-HP
PSU: Gigabyte SuperB 720W
HDD: Seagate 500GB 32MB
RAM: 2 x corsair XMS2 DDR2 800Mhz

im totally new in overclocking, it will be glad if someone can guide me a bit or tell me where to start as i intended to take my QX6800 to 3.2-3.5 Ghz without any risky adjustment (if possible blush.gif ) cause i heard that rising the CPU voltage will somehow shortened the life span of the Processor itself.

i've went through some of the article from " Fundamentals of Overclocking, NEWBIES PLS READ THIS BEFORE POSTING " but most of the URL aren't valid anymore so i have no idea where should i start from.

i knew a little bit of how FSB and multiplier works from here URL :Q8200 vs Q6600 if going ....
but still sweat.gif , i have no idea what value of FSB and multiplier should i use to get to 3.2-3.5Ghz for this QX6800

Any pro mind to guide me a bit in this matter coz i really want to get myself into OC'ing and hope that i can be one of those OC Pros out there one day thumbup.gif

To make things easier for the pros to review on QX6800, here are some of the features :

Processor name : Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6800
Form factor : LGA775
Manufacturing process :65nm
Physical cores : 4
Inst. per clock* : 4
Pipeline stages : 14
Clock speed : 2.93GHz
FSB : 266MHz (1066MHz QDR)
HyperThreading : No
Memory support : DDR2, 800MHz, DC
L1 cache total : 128KiB data + 128KiB code
L2 cache total : 8MiB
ISA : x86, x86-64, SSE-SSE3
TDP : 130W
Transistors : 582m
Operating voltage : 1.2-1.3625V
since it is extreme, just increase the multiplier thumbup.gif
hengmy
post Jan 17 2009, 01:20 PM

1,991 posts

@loonaltezza
nice temp there, sunbeam CCF?
hengmy
post Jan 17 2009, 05:42 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(loonaltezza @ Jan 17 2009, 03:36 PM)
yup !! very good cooler !!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
yea thumbup.gif , with aircon and closed case?
hengmy
post Feb 2 2009, 09:58 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:55 PM)
anyone know what is the best air cooler right now??
i want something better than CCF
i am using ifx14, q9450@4ghz prime at 75c, with aircone around 65c.
cooler and processor not yet lapped biggrin.gif
hengmy
post Feb 15 2009, 01:23 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Feb 13 2009, 03:16 AM)
i got a question regarding ocing..  i dun understand y i cant even pass streesing test when i oc.. im not doing heacy oc.. OCCT,prime..all fail me.. IBT sometimes can pass.. super PI pass.. does dat mean my machine is not stable?? i just newly bought for 1months++ only.. lol

my specs, hope sifus will help..

C2D E7300 cooled by Deepcool ice balde pro, Gigabyte ep43 mobo, zotac 9600gt, 2x2gb kingston hyper X 1066mhz, cm extreme power 460watts, 80GB pata HDD (very old Hdd)

my settings are 7.5 x 400 = 3.0mhz,ram freq=533. dramcpu ratio 3:4
pcie=100mhz
vcore=1.3000v
vdimm=1.9v

i suspect is either my hdd fail me for being too old or my psu not enuff to stablise my pc.. i hope to get an answer so im not lost

Added on February 13, 2009, 3:17 amand i google around to found out gigabyte p43/45 mobo having an issue regarding ocing.. so does that means my mobo is not really good for oc?

and 3dmark06 i pass wif 10k and above mark..lol
mostly the problem is come from the ram, try set to 1:1 and left the vcore at stock then u will able to stable.
although your ram rated at 1066, but due to diff strap will give u a diff PL value, it made the ram unable to stable.

hengmy
post Feb 15 2009, 03:50 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Feb 15 2009, 03:48 PM)
so to simplify it does u mean this?
7.5x400
ram freq i tune it back to 400mhz instead of 533mhz?
vcore to stock? even i up my muti and fsb?
vdimm put how much?

@albert and uzairi..yea im planning to get 1 later lor.. now tvery tight budget..
ya, processor and dram voltage can set to stock.
most of the e7xxx can do 3ghz or more at stock vcore smile.gif
hengmy
post Feb 15 2009, 09:43 PM

1,991 posts

not all mobo can show those voltage in software. eg p5q deluxe canot sad.gif

This post has been edited by hengmy: Feb 15 2009, 09:50 PM
hengmy
post Feb 16 2009, 12:48 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Feb 16 2009, 12:32 AM)
Still it's rare to get instability if the proc are in stock speed and ram under it's default timing.
if u are using window vista, there might be some incompatible issue with super PI.
mostly the problem due to the ram, eg a rated 1066mhz ram canot stable due to difference strap setting.

Added on February 16, 2009, 12:49 am
QUOTE(evoangel @ Feb 16 2009, 12:34 AM)
uzairi and heng.. woot! i took ur advise to set ratio to 1:1.. pass occt! super PI 1mb 17seconds.. nice!

stock vcore,vdimm 2v =)
grad to hear that biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengmy: Feb 16 2009, 12:49 AM
hengmy
post Feb 23 2009, 05:24 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 22 2009, 11:49 AM)
Question:
My Q6600 currently is running at 400x8 @ 1.375v.
When I run Prime95 for Small FFTs, it brings no error for half an hour.
But when I run the Blend test, the error comes out in 5 minutes like that.
Roughly what can cause error like that?

My setup is:
Q6600 @ 400x8 @ 1.375v
Corsair XMS2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 400x2.0 @ 1.8v
GA-G31M-ES2L
CM Extreme Power 500w

I don't plan to go for further overclocking, so I guess my rig suppose to be enough already.
due to the mobo chipset, u should OC by multiplier 9x356fsb.
if your ram is 4gb kit, mayb u need to increase the vcore to 2v

Added on February 23, 2009, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(evoangel @ Feb 19 2009, 12:11 AM)
yea i agreed too.. modular only looks COOL!!!! haha.. im getting my st560w soon.. my bank already dry up.. =(
modular psu does help in cable management and a good modular psu will not have bad rail compare to a non modular psu.
btw, i have use cm extreme 380w psu before it really suck in +12v rail. but it does run vr stable for half year or more 24/7 usage, even pair with hd3850 and x1950xt biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengmy: Feb 23 2009, 05:31 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0214sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:28 PM