Asus A | U | N series combined thread V2, New model coming in.....

wama1go
post Sep 15 2010, 01:58 AM

229 posts

hi all sifus, u35jc user reporting here. some sily q if you don't mind
1-I ran the win 7 assessment and managed on score of 4.0 (desktop performance with aero), is it abit too low or expected score? How to make it higher, possible by enabling GPU?
2-how can i manually switch to Nvidia GPU? Not possible?

I am still not familiar with this optimus thingy sad.gif
Thanks alot...
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 01:16 AM

229 posts

hi all sifu, i have a u35jc, i can find all drivers on this lovely lappy but seems there's no supported driver for the graphic card (310m), can someone guide me on this?

I downloaded the driver from nvidia website but it's not working, with error message "no device found" sad.gif

Btw, another silly questions - is optimus only supported with win7, or win xp as well?

Thanks alot!

PS: I need xp because it'es required by my work.
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 01:26 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 8 2010, 01:19 AM)
Optimus only support Win 7....
ic, thx alot dude. does this mean that I can only use nvidia GC in xp without optimus, or the GC will not work at all in XP?
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 01:41 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 8 2010, 01:31 AM)
Will not work at all since the one connected to the display is Intel GPU, not nVidia GPU...
Thanks alot again dude, very informative sharing biggrin.gif
Seems I have to live on without the GC if i need win xp...sad.gif
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 01:50 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 8 2010, 01:42 AM)
You can try use XP Mode from Windows 7 Pro/Ultimate if you need Win XP..
or setup Win XP using Virtual PC or VMWare or VirtualBox...
well, more stories, the main reason i want to use xp is that i am not able to use cisco vpn with xp under virtual box, that's the main problem actually. Even by using bridge connection in VB, the VPN always stuck in connecting stage...
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 02:19 AM

229 posts

but thx anyway, at least u give me a hint and i ve more clues now biggrin.gif
wama1go
post Nov 8 2010, 11:50 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 8 2010, 08:12 AM)
how abt, dual boot?
that's also possible smile.gif)

I just restored my previous state of xp in virtual box and the cisco vpn works now! seems i screwed up the previous installation, thx to all, now i can continue to play+work at the same time with my u35jc happy.gif

Added on November 8, 2010, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Nov 8 2010, 09:29 PM)
what is the battery life for u35jc? I heard it can last longer compare to other notebook is that true....

Any weakness/disadvantage of this notebook.

it's good for surfing, you can get up to 8 hours practically with 8 cells battery although the ad said it's > 10 hours.

I choose this compared to acer 4820tg because it comes with 2 years international warranty, and has 2 more cells vs 6 cells on 4820tg, yet lighter, but graphic card is below par compared to ATI 5650.

This post has been edited by wama1go: Nov 8 2010, 11:53 PM

0.0326sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:20 PM