125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Asus A | U | N series combined thread V2, New model coming in.....

SUSgogo2
post Sep 13 2010, 11:23 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Sep 13 2010, 06:15 PM)
i5-450M got HTT.
I get my prices directly from LYP.
wow, it happened like last time for DD2 where it will drop to RM90 and below? That time I'll get some...
and then sell it after it become expensive again..haha

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Sep 13 2010, 10:33 PM)
Just to share with you all.
just got my A42JV at 4gb at RM2599 with free backpack and CC payment.
so any advice other than product registration and update driver. for a newbie in lappie like me.
any decent middle range cooler to recommend ?
Congratz... Coolermaster U2 works for me..
CzarXVII
post Sep 14 2010, 12:30 AM

394 posts

just now I read about N-series notebooks and ASUS SonicMaster technology...just want to know what are the differences between N82 series and N43 series??AFAIK both are 14"..
pandazhun
post Sep 14 2010, 12:21 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

cant really get the 3 fingers tap for right click fuction on my A42JV, even i tried so many times, should I go to ask for change or enquire at the store i bought it from?
lee28
post Sep 14 2010, 01:00 PM

45 posts

hi, got my A42Jv last week, and loving every inch of it..... but i hv few questions here.

1) i previously bought MS Office 2007 (original - for my previous laptop) last year and found out that the A42Jv is MS office 2010 (starter)..
do i need to uninstall MS office 2010 b4 installing MS office 2007? or i can just ignore and install MS office 2007 immediately?

2) I read previous posts that A42Jv HDD is a bit unreliable (failing suddenly, sounds coming frm the HDD), is this a minority case or is very common
among A42Jv owners? due to it would b a headache if my HDD failed suddenly and my data all lost rclxub.gif

3) what is SMART? and is it built-in for the A42Jv? or i need to install 3rd party software frm the internet? blink.gif

thank you.

regards
lee28
(happy A42Jv owner) rclxm9.gif
astria
post Sep 14 2010, 01:02 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

1) preferablly u uninstall first...

3)
S.M.A.R.T. (Self-Monitoring, Analysis, and Reporting Technology; sometimes written as SMART) is a monitoring system for computer hard disks to detect and report on various indicators of reliability, in the hope of anticipating failures.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S.M.A.R.T.

anyway...

my Momentus XT is here... brows.gif
liamx
post Sep 14 2010, 01:44 PM

67 posts

question from my friend : is a42jv a decent gaming laptop ?
astria
post Sep 14 2010, 01:49 PM

22,158 posts

honestly speaking, not anymore...

there's Acer 4741G with GT 420M at around the same price...

This post has been edited by astria: Sep 14 2010, 01:50 PM
liamx
post Sep 14 2010, 02:37 PM

67 posts

hmm.. he dun wan acer brand ..
budingyun
post Sep 14 2010, 02:42 PM

Penjejak Awan
642 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 14 2010, 01:02 PM)
1) preferablly u uninstall first...

3)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S.M.A.R.T.

anyway...

my Momentus XT is here... brows.gif
R.E.V.I.E.W plz biggrin.gif

Added on September 14, 2010, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(liamx @ Sep 14 2010, 02:37 PM)
just wait new asus lineup lah.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by budingyun: Sep 14 2010, 02:47 PM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 14 2010, 03:02 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(liamx @ Sep 14 2010, 02:37 PM)
then Yes.. A42jv is the awesome gaming machine... nothing beats that
astria
post Sep 14 2010, 03:06 PM

22,158 posts

well, it's either this or that... no other choices at the same price range, unless u go to the area of rm3.5k-rm4k... there's Asus A42Ja and N43Jf...

as for my new HDD... well, initially u dun really notice any differences... it's only after continual usages then u will see it...
pityboi
post Sep 14 2010, 05:01 PM

171 posts

just now i go NCS and MMC melaka, they say dun hav A42JV anymore..
KL also have this problem?

they prefer me take Acer 5741G, i5 520M + Nvidia GT320M@2999..
GT320M izit better than GT335M?
they said GT320M GOOD becoz can boost to 2700MB bla bla bla.. then the new Acer 4741G with GT 420M is lousy than GT320M coz GT420M just boost up to 1027MB bla bla bla..
i'm noob on this stuff..
anyone can explain to me?
thx

This post has been edited by pityboi: Sep 14 2010, 05:38 PM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 14 2010, 05:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Sep 14 2010, 12:21 PM)
cant really get the 3 fingers tap for right click fuction on my A42JV, even i tried so many times, should I go to ask for change or enquire at the store i bought it from?
Did you enable it? Mine works fine,

QUOTE(lee28 @ Sep 14 2010, 01:00 PM)
hi, got my A42Jv last week, and loving every inch of it..... but i hv few questions here.

1)  i previously bought MS Office 2007 (original - for my previous laptop) last year and found out that the A42Jv is MS office 2010 (starter)..
     do i need to uninstall MS office 2010 b4 installing MS office 2007? or i can just ignore and install MS office 2007 immediately?

2) I read previous posts that A42Jv HDD is a bit unreliable (failing suddenly, sounds coming frm the HDD), is this a minority case or is very common
    among A42Jv owners? due to it would b a headache if my HDD failed suddenly and my data all lost rclxub.gif

3) what is SMART? and is it built-in for the A42Jv? or i need to install 3rd party software frm the internet?  blink.gif

thank you.

regards
lee28
(happy A42Jv owner)  rclxm9.gif
1) better uninstall it. i thought its not installed by default?
2) don't worry. U'll hear some weird sound and occasional slow down. Else, back up ur data always.
3) SMART i think its hardisk technology.

Added on September 14, 2010, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(pityboi @ Sep 14 2010, 05:01 PM)
just now i go NCS and MMC melaka, they say dun hav A42JV anymore..
they prefer me take Acer 5741G, i5 520M + Nvidia GT320M@2999..
GT320M izit better than GT335M?
they said GT320M can boost to 2700MB bla bla bla.. then the new Acer 4741G with GT 420M is lousy than GT320M coz GT420M just boost up to 1027MB bla bla bla..
i'm noob on this stuff..
anyone can explain to me?
thx
i think they just want to cheat u gua... from what i read from Astria..haha...

GT420M > GT335M > GT320M

This post has been edited by gogo2: Sep 14 2010, 05:19 PM
pandazhun
post Sep 14 2010, 06:03 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 14 2010, 05:18 PM)
erm , as for the 3 fingers right click, how to enable it?
I din do anything thus i cant get anything with 3 fingers tap, but 2 fingers scroll is ok.
lee28
post Sep 14 2010, 07:02 PM

45 posts

2) don't worry. U'll hear some weird sound and occasional slow down. Else, back up ur data always.

thanks gogo2,

yes, it is not installed by default. i installed it when i am playing around with the notebook, furthermore wouldn't want to install my license software within the 7 days 1 to 1 exchange period tongue.gif

still using my old notebook for work related stuff until i am certain my A42Jv is defect free at least within the exchange period.

and up until now, i am very satisfied with A42Jv, and don have much to complain... but will still keep a close watch on this forum just in case something major comes up.. biggrin.gif

3) downloaded CrystalDiskInfo for the SMART stuff, is that sw reliable?? (thanks to astria for the wikipedia link)

encl below

[attachmentid=1780430]
istillmyself
post Sep 14 2010, 07:04 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Sep 14 2010, 06:03 PM)
erm , as for the 3 fingers right click, how to enable it?
I din do anything thus i cant get anything with 3 fingers tap, but 2 fingers scroll is ok.
u must configure it at ELAN SMART PAD - property of smart pad - elan - options..
select what u like to b biggrin.gif hav fun
bananalow
post Sep 14 2010, 07:20 PM

1,547 posts

Added on September 14, 2010, 5:19 pm
i think they just want to cheat u gua... from what i read from Astria..haha...

GT420M > GT335M > GT320M
should be GT425=GT335>GT320~~ tongue.gif GT425 rebrand from GT335 + DX11 ~~ ^^
pityboi
post Sep 14 2010, 07:22 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ Sep 14 2010, 07:20 PM)
should be GT425=GT335>GT320~~ tongue.gif  GT425 rebrand from GT335 + DX11 ~~ ^^
GT425 or GT420??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
bananalow
post Sep 14 2010, 07:56 PM

1,547 posts

GT425 = GT335 ~~ not GT420 ~~ ^^
astria
post Sep 14 2010, 08:18 PM

22,158 posts

GT 425M > GT 420M > GT 335M...