What happened between Blizzard and KeSPA?, Can someone care to explain abit???

temptation1314
post Aug 24 2010, 02:15 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Actually this is quite a debatable issue. But then again, I somehow sides with Blizzard, despite how much I've hate their SC repackaged ver a.k.a SC2. tongue.gif

KeSPA should've negotiated with Blizzard at first before using somebody's copyrighted stuffs for their own benefits. I think no one wanted to have their own creation to be used for their own benefits, especially reaping the money from others.

I know some might be anti-Blizzard or "Oh what the heck, just a few thousand bucks, etc while Blizzard earn Millions or Trillions from the sales" thing but there's a reason why the word copyright exists.

Seriously, if it's not because of SNSD, I would've asked somebody to dropped a bomb at that country. laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2010, 02:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(o2ding1992 @ Aug 24 2010, 02:15 PM)
Hmm, but how true is that whole post? Like I'd said, the whole post seems to be pro-Blizzard. Alto I personally dont like KeSPA that much because of the way they handle things..
It's just such a waste that most of the pro Korean players cant play sc2 YET...
it is pro-blizz and it is so for a good reason. kespa wanna earn money, fine. but at least go through with it on blizz, negotiate it fair and square. and not pulling the sc = soccer ball bullshit :/
styrwr91
post Aug 24 2010, 09:31 PM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

great info thumbup.gif
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 24 2010, 10:41 PM

107 posts

The problem is when starcraft 1 started to be popular at Korea, Blizzard did not even make an effort to support the scene. When they decided to do it, the broadcasting fee they demanded wasn't exactly a feasible choice for both mbc and ogn
MBC Game said that "There is such a huge difference between what Gretech is asking for and what we're expecting to pay that we haven't been able to compromise".

A personnel of MBC Game has stated that "The monetary amount Gretech is requesting is a lot higher than the amount we were thinking. Also, they are demanding that we must make a contract for every contest that uses Starcraft, so they are arguing that we have to pay the licensing fee for both Bigfile MSL and Gyongnam STX Cup. Because of that, it is more difficult for us to reach a conclusion than Ongamenet". He added that "We will continue to negotiate for the safe operations of our leagues"

Despite what oGs has started in the Korea scene, they were probably compromised by b-teamers and terrible terrible players that did not accomplished anything whatsoever in their career due to the competitive nature of broodwar (except for garimto and rainbow).

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 24 2010, 10:45 PM
xShinji
post Aug 25 2010, 02:01 AM

200 posts

ei weird....licensing tournament from blizzard need money? ...

there been alot of tournament doesnt require money just to be approved by blizz ...
Quazacolt
post Aug 25 2010, 02:05 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(xShinji @ Aug 25 2010, 02:01 AM)
ei weird....licensing tournament from blizzard need money? ...

there been alot of tournament doesnt require money just to be approved by blizz ...
depends on the scale, really. small fry ones, they wont care. however big ones like the ones kespa is doing, which are even broadcasted on their national television, yeah you get the idea
xShinji
post Aug 25 2010, 02:10 AM

200 posts

i wonder IEM oso need pay or not ~.~
Drian
post Aug 26 2010, 11:15 AM

4,999 posts

Is it in their license clause or terms and condition? In theory, broadcasting the game shouldn't be against any licensing as the audience are not playing it, just "viewing" it.

Exiled_Gundam
post Aug 26 2010, 05:57 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 26 2010, 11:15 AM)
Is it in their license clause or terms and condition? In theory, broadcasting the game shouldn't be against any licensing as the audience are not playing it, just "viewing" it.
Problem arose when Kespa try to collect money from those audiences for the broadcasts, without Blizzard consent

0.0163sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:06 PM