wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com, is this a scam?

TSVivato
post Aug 23 2010, 02:29 PM, updated 16y ago

182 posts

Greetings,

An investigation of your World of Warcraft account has found strong evidence that the account in question is being sold or traded. As you may not be aware of,this conflicts with Blizzard's EULA under section 4 Paragraph B which can be found here:
WoW -> Legal -> End User License Agreement
and Section 8 of the Terms of Use found here:
WoW -> Legal -> Terms of Use
The investigation will be continued by Blizzard administration to determine the action to be taken against your account. If your account is found violating the EULA and Terms of Use, your account can, and will be suspended/closed/or terminated.

In order to keep this from occurring, you should immediately verify that you are the original owner of the account. We ask you to not change password until the investigation is fully completed.

To verify your identity please visit the following webpage: https://www.battle.net/account/support/login-support.xml

Blizzard staff will verify your account information submitted in two days, please do not modify your account information during this time . It will not affect your game uptime. If you are unable to successfully verify your password . using the automated system, please contact Billing & Account Services at 1-800-59-BLIZZARD begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              1-800-59-BLIZZARD      end_of_the_skype_highlighting (1-800-592-5499 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              1-800-592-5499      end_of_the_skype_highlighting) Mon-Fri, 8am-8pm Pacific Time or at billing@blizzard.com. Account security is solely the responsibility of the account holder. Please be advised that in the event of a compromised account, Blizzard representatives typically must lock the account. In these cases the Account Administration team will require faxed receipt of ID materials before releasing the account for play.

Regards,

Account Administration
Blizzard Entertainment
My wow account has been frozen for almost half a year. Hmmm
Should I press the button to verify my account?

This post has been edited by Vivato: Aug 23 2010, 02:47 PM
TSVivato
post Aug 23 2010, 02:41 PM

182 posts

LOL, this is what happens when I pressed it.

Added on August 23, 2010, 2:56 pmapparently the link in my e-mail divert me to different site.

This post has been edited by Vivato: Aug 23 2010, 03:00 PM
alexision
post Aug 23 2010, 03:17 PM

89 posts

no, dont click on any of it...

best option would be move your mouse over to see what link it will bring you too at the bottom of your window.

but nowadays i get an average 5 wow scams mail a day which is a headache. Good news is that I've created another email just for my battle.net account.. free of spam so far since I don't use that email for anything else, you can change the email that you want to link at battle.net.
Jas2davir
post Aug 23 2010, 03:57 PM

461 posts

game gmail for bnet account have 1 for almost 1 year and only have legit bnet mails inside
Imbecile
post Aug 23 2010, 05:50 PM

26 posts

100% keylogger site, enter at your own risk
SUSPerunding
post Aug 23 2010, 06:37 PM

183 posts

aiya...wont still click that thing..
Peterbigeyes
post Aug 23 2010, 06:55 PM

205 posts

Yea, some sites can extract information form your computer even when you just click on the link to their page. Be careful
royal_jelly
post Aug 24 2010, 05:11 PM

Who.Where.When
918 posts

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Receive it today in my spam box, i already mark this kind of mail as spam long time ago. If you're using gmail, click "show detail" on the top right side, and you'll notice "mailed-by" function. FYI blizzard will be using "blizzard.com" not hotmail lol

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Legit mail from Blizzard

This post has been edited by royal_jelly: Aug 24 2010, 05:17 PM
samlee860407
post Aug 25 2010, 09:44 AM

4,631 posts

fake...i receive loads of it these days too..

if you use gmail, you can either use the show details button like what royal_jelly says, or you can click the arrow beside the "reply" button, and click show original.

check the return path (1st few lines), if it was really send by blizzard, the return path will be the same as "wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com". if not, it will be something random, like from hotmail

when i get those, i just click report phishing

besides, phishing is getting more and more serious these days, as not only blizzard mails are phishing, but i received from some other forums tooo

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 25 2010, 01:29 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

yes, it is a scam.

i received lots of these kind of emails and i never played wow.

i logged into my battle.net account and discovered lots of wow trial accounts which i did not apply for.

seems like my battle.net account was compromised.
Jas2davir
post Aug 25 2010, 02:13 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Aug 25 2010, 01:29 PM)
yes, it is a scam.

i received lots of these kind of emails and i never played wow.

i logged into my battle.net account and discovered lots of wow trial accounts which i did not apply for.

seems like my battle.net account was compromised.
blizzard could ban your account if you do not have a wow account but keep applying trial means some one is using your account to spam for gold sales and what not in game and this is againts the EULA of blizzard
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 25 2010, 02:37 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well blizzard did suspended those "trial accounts" and i emailed blizzard, told them i never applied for any of those trial accounts before.

told them that my account could be compromised and asked them to removed all those trial accounts from my battle.net account.

bloody cluttering up my battle.net account games page.
Peterbigeyes
post Aug 25 2010, 04:12 PM

205 posts

I hate those spammers, I'll always reply:

"Please go and get a real job. Don't make your mom sad : )"
samlee860407
post Aug 25 2010, 05:11 PM

4,631 posts

deleted

*din't read properlly....

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 25 2010, 05:32 PM
Jas2davir
post Aug 25 2010, 05:35 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 25 2010, 05:11 PM)
deleted

*din't read properlly....
why did you delete sad.gif
VonDrake
post Aug 27 2010, 03:14 PM

333 posts

i got banned2 days ago.... and my account has been frozen 5 months ++

i went to the WoW website on another computer, and i really did get banned... i emailed them and they gave me 3 emails with gold recovered and items recovered... does that mean some hacker stole my account and gave me some game time? yawn.gif

This post has been edited by VonDrake: Aug 27 2010, 03:15 PM
Jas2davir
post Aug 27 2010, 04:08 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(VonDrake @ Aug 27 2010, 03:14 PM)
i got banned2 days ago.... and my account has been frozen 5 months ++

i went to the WoW website on another computer, and i really did get banned... i emailed them and they gave me 3 emails with gold recovered and items recovered... does that mean some hacker stole my account and gave me some game time? yawn.gif
yes
VonDrake
post Aug 27 2010, 06:05 PM

333 posts

Wooo~ imma play tomorrow when my account isnt banned anymore (dance)
Instant_noodle
post Aug 27 2010, 06:25 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

dang!!! i dun have a toon thar to ask fer geld!!!
Jas2davir
post Aug 27 2010, 06:36 PM

461 posts

make a level 1 cha and go

0.0437sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:59 AM