What would you want in a smartphone?, what's the selling point of smartphones?

TSkillerfly
post Aug 22 2010, 05:38 PM, updated 16y ago

257 posts

Just curious what would a non smartphone user look for converting to a smartphone... aka the selling points of a smartphone =)

appreciate all y'all Lowyat sifu's expert feedback =)
geforce88
post Aug 22 2010, 05:51 PM

2,841 posts

1. multitasking
2. copy-n-paste function
SUSkhalpowers
post Aug 22 2010, 06:02 PM

1,966 posts

Multitasking...
can play 3d graphic game
can watching movie thru the tv .
a bigger hdd space..
can watching youtube in hd..
can do ssh...telnet n etc
can do wireless tether
Lastly cn do watever u want like a pc ..huhu
KTCY
post Aug 22 2010, 06:30 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Can hold the phone anyway I like. And not been told "You're holding the wrong way"

Oh pardon the pun. For me, speed and multitasking are the most important stuff. Else, I'd rather stay with my candy bar phone wink.gif
pziv2
post Aug 22 2010, 06:31 PM

551 posts

Customization.
hihihehe
post Aug 22 2010, 07:40 PM

13,791 posts

once u went into smartphone world,u will nvr go to basic phone
chiahau
post Aug 22 2010, 07:40 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 22 2010, 08:40 PM)
once u went into smartphone world,u will nvr go to basic phone
Amen brother biggrin.gif
latias93
post Aug 22 2010, 09:05 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

1) Mobility
2) Operating System
3) Multi-tasking capability

No. 2 obviously refers to best mobile OS the world has seen to date.. Google Android. biggrin.gif
feiraron
post Aug 22 2010, 09:09 PM

236 posts

smartphone?

simple, its unlimited connectivity
I like the fact that it tells me the weather forecast, social network updates, push email, messengers and of course its browsing capabilities

and yeah its multi use, a lot of entertainment when bored, can do quick edits on my assignments, GPS navigation in the car, and find stuff like the screening times in the cinemas near me and lotsa other things

oh yeah, unlimited data plan to go with the phone helps a lot too huhu
mikelanding

2,865 posts

1) Customization in term of UI, Rom and mods (Nexus da best thus far)
2) Apps
3) Open source with pools of active Rom maker, Modder, App developers
samurai1337

@_@
11,594 posts

I'm pretty surprised nobody mentioned "touch screen" yet

The technology has really evolved since recent years, compare to the days you had to use stylus

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 22 2010, 09:10 PM
tjay_tj
post Aug 22 2010, 09:28 PM

retire
1,140 posts

compare to my 3 years old old school aka laptop replacement n95 ><" (it was advertised as a computer @@).
the touch screen is really a wonderful addition with my now milestone.

basically these phone can do lots of things except replace a laptop.

edit typo~

This post has been edited by tjay_tj: Aug 22 2010, 09:35 PM
TSkillerfly
post Aug 22 2010, 11:50 PM

257 posts

hallelujah to touch screen & qwerty keyboard..
was abit worried when u started using qwerty but now i love it... multi touch screen too.. awesome for browsing n emails

digital compass, accelerometer --> all making GPS (papago) more amazing.. saves up to atleast rm500..

to me the difference between most smart phones (iOS/android) are mainly hardware.. not a strong believer in crazy customization... reckon u'll ok actively do that in the first 6months with the phone.. then after u'll be using it mainly for the apps and normal browsing/mails...

Added on August 22, 2010, 11:51 pmbut the HTCs now are really cheap... RM699 for HTC wildfire! y would ppl even think of getting a normal 3G phone!!

This post has been edited by killerfly: Aug 22 2010, 11:51 PM
JustForFun
post Aug 22 2010, 11:54 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(killerfly @ Aug 22 2010, 11:50 PM)
hallelujah to touch screen & qwerty keyboard..
was abit worried when u started using qwerty but now i love it... multi touch screen too.. awesome for browsing n emails

digital compass, accelerometer --> all making GPS (papago) more amazing.. saves up to atleast rm500..

to me the difference between most smart phones (iOS/android) are mainly hardware.. not a strong believer in crazy customization... reckon u'll ok actively do that in the first 6months with the phone.. then after u'll be using it mainly for the apps and normal browsing/mails...

Added on August 22, 2010, 11:51 pmbut the HTCs now are really cheap... RM699 for HTC wildfire! y would ppl even think of getting a normal 3G phone!!
699 for Wildfire ? Isn't it selling for RM1K
samurai1337
post Aug 23 2010, 01:11 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 22 2010, 11:54 PM)
699 for Wildfire ? Isn't it selling for RM1K
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/android/A...id_Packages.asp
Can go as low as 549 if you get a 2 year contract

I think it's really good for people looking for entry-level smartphone (rather than the HTC Smart nonsense)

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Aug 23 2010, 01:13 AM
ligter
post Aug 23 2010, 05:37 AM

78 posts

I want my smartphone like superman^^
iceman31
post Aug 23 2010, 05:49 AM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 22 2010, 09:09 PM)
I'm pretty surprised nobody mentioned "touch screen" yet

The technology has really evolved since recent years, compare to the days you had to use stylus
oh yeah . this reminds me how hard to press on 5800 xm when u are used to desire laugh.gif

ABeatC
post Aug 23 2010, 02:35 PM

180 posts

I can google anytime I want without the fear of bursting my phone bill.
sanosizo
post Aug 23 2010, 02:42 PM

4,553 posts

I want 1 week 'heavy usage rating' battery life, and a month of standby time biggrin.gif
haroldz123
post Aug 23 2010, 02:50 PM

1,062 posts

useful apps

"mobile pc"

0.0222sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:59 AM