English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, 25/9 22:00 ARS v WBA | AET: TOT 1-4 ARS

funnyTONE
post Aug 22 2010, 01:18 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

wow, how I'm glad I'm not a blackpool fan. 6-0 is a smack in the face for any team, considering they just scored 4-0 against another team last week. Well, its going to be a hard truth for them, but its a sweet deal for the Arsenal team. Hoorrahh!! So sad I couldn't watch the game in time. Watching the highlights now.
funnyTONE
post Aug 22 2010, 07:57 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Almunia must be relief that this week he isn't a target of any criticism. Having a solid defense does help the GK alot.
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 01:22 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

lol at bobby zamora playing evans all day. I gotta say, from the pre-season games to man utd 2 games, it seems man utd is one level below from previous season. Its too early to tell though, Rooney is still off form, man utd having a lot of new and young players coming in and the hideous socks doesn't help much. tongue.gif Although seems that Berbatov does looks menacing lately, probably due to the fact that rooney isn't there to steal his limelight.

Back to arsenal, I think this season is still too early for predictions. I kinda like it that post world cup, every team seems to be upping their game. Even the Wigan - Chelsea game was entertaining. At the current moment, I foresee that Chelsea is the most prominent team in the table. They seem to not have lost any momentum from the previous season. I can only hope Arsenal can get their momentum early as well and not lose its steam by the end of the season.
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 08:49 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Aug 23 2010, 07:12 AM)
are we using  jabulani ??
Its the Nike T90 TRACER ball. Thank God for that!
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 11:58 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Aug 23 2010, 11:30 AM)
no...i prefer given tongue.gif
Between Mark Schwarzer and Manuel Almunia, they might end up like this:
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 12:07 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Aug 23 2010, 12:02 PM)
AW buy Koscielny and Squillaci because they are good or simply because they are French
honestly, I don't see anything wrong with that. Obviously, Mr. Wenger has a strong french connection in his native land, makes it easier to make deals with the negotiating team. Plus, these selected transfers are proven lot. You can see their stats in their previous league for prove.
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 03:29 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Though we pride ourselves having a bunch of quality players representing their country at present/future, it also put a risk at our squad with injuries that are often synonym with international friendlies. Anyone recall Van Persie injury last season? Let's see, Carlos Vela, Cesc Fabregas, Van Persie, Eboue, Arshavin, Song, Diaby, Walcott, Wilshere, Gibbs....any more I missed?

As for Chelsea winning streak, I'm not too concern about that. It is pretty obvious that they were and still are always a genuine league contender every season. I believe that our most difficult challenge lies in our own game. Regardless if we win or lose in both Arsenal -Chelsea matches, we have the other 36 games to make up our points. As always, lets just focus on one game at a time. As long as we can keep winning games where we should and allowing a few draws where we can't, I see Arsenal has a realistic chance of winning the league this season. We were that close to winning the EPL last season if it was not for the niggling injuries and tackles.
funnyTONE
post Aug 23 2010, 11:22 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(ohhisee @ Aug 23 2010, 10:26 PM)
6M for 30 years old Mr.Laici?
arsene look different this season..scared of citeh?
tough times call for tough measures. I won't say Arsene is threatened by Man City, more like keeping to appease the demanding fans and the restless players having to always be content being second best. Probably its a short term solution for the team so as to enforce what already is dubbed as Arsene's maturing team.
funnyTONE
post Aug 24 2010, 01:51 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Is it just me or isn't anyone missing Nicklas Bendtner?
"We have some problems with Bendtner and Djourou," said Wenger.

"Bendtner will be out for four weeks I think with a groin problem, but we have Ramsey who is coming back in November now.

this quote was 11 days ago, which means Nik is estimated to return in full training in another 3 weeks approximately.

his latest news:
Bendtner has had his fair share of injury headaches since then and there is still strong belief that he might make his footballing comeback  from the groin issue when the Dane’s travel to Lisbon on the 8th October in a European Championship Qualifier.

Bendtner goes on to say . . .

Well, i feel good. It goes forward everyday, and i feel less and less pain to my groin. I have less pain and i can do much more things than before. I can feel that it is continually getting stronger and stronger

I’m getting treatment and doing core exercises out here everyday and i have over a half weeks without noticing big problems.

Nicklas brang up the issue about correct time to recover, with not coming back to early and making the injury worse again he goes on to say . . .

Most importantly for me. Now it’s msomething that takes time. The problem is that this has indeed always been. The injury just never got a rest, that it should have got.

that means if he is fit soon, he'll end up representing Denmark in two months. Oh gawd, I'm really worried now.

This post has been edited by funnyTONE: Aug 24 2010, 02:01 PM
funnyTONE
post Aug 24 2010, 02:21 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Aug 24 2010, 02:15 PM)
let's play 4-4-2

rosicky + cesc + song + eboue
---- chamakh + bendtner------

the two towers (blunt version)
what if add in Zigic and Peter Crouch
Heck, if you wanna go all the way, lets get Rory Delap as well. tongue.gif
funnyTONE
post Aug 30 2010, 01:41 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

after three games, the top tier table seems to be just right. Chelsea, Arsenal and Man Utd. Hope to see this continue till end of the season with these three teams competing it out again. Fourth place is anyone's guess, but my guess it would be Man City.

As for our GK case, I think we have it good with Almunia for the time being. Lukas and Woscesny can have a go at Carling Cup. If it does get worse, then January transfer window will be the next due date for mr. Almunia if he fail to deliver the goods this time around.

I'm joining the happy wagon this week. What more can an Arsenal fan ask? Tomorrow, I'll be going to work with a big smile. Oh and I'm also glad Liverpool won. Though they still seem shaky, they deserve the win and Torres need the goal to build up his confidence quickly. Nonetheless, the most entertaining match for me tonight was the bolton-birmingham game. It was such a joy watching two physical team playing out and chasing the points.

As for the transfer window, I'm with Arsene on this one. Consider it closed.
funnyTONE
post Aug 31 2010, 10:20 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Aug 31 2010, 10:09 PM)
Yeah... Think of the membership and ticket as your contribution to "Tabung Penjaga Gol 2010/2011"  tongue.gif
lol, if that's true, I wouldn't mind sharing some bits to help out. I'm also keen on watching Arsenal someday, but my target is in year 2012. Olympic 2012 London remember? Anyway, you figure that year will they play BPL like usual or push it forward after Olympics? I'm hoping to get to London and watch the games and catch some Arsenal games at the same time.
funnyTONE
post Sep 1 2010, 02:51 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Like I said guys. Arsene has already announced two days ago that he consider the transfer rumours to be closed. I've done my peace, maybe you should too and start putting some faith in the Arsenal 2010.

Spurs is doing a Valencia. They're putting all their eggs in one basket this season. My guess, they're making their mark in Europe through Champion's League and aiming to maintain qualification for next year through the EPL. It'll either be make or brake for them this season coz they sure hell ain't gonna last long with that type of spending. No denying though, every team in EPL are inflicted with shopping spree no thanks to Man City influence.
funnyTONE
post Sep 1 2010, 08:33 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE('62jaguar @ Sep 1 2010, 08:17 AM)
come guys...be a little more positive...it's not the end of the world if arsenal didn't sign a new keeper...
so what if we can't keep a clean sheet...so what if we don't have the fire power like chelsea..so what if we aren't the richest club like man u...

it's all about FAITH to the club you support no matter what...

come on Gunners........................  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
don't mess with the shaman. They can predict Arsenal's outcome a season away. whistling.gif
funnyTONE
post Sep 2 2010, 09:51 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Sep 2 2010, 05:37 AM)
personally, i think AW did a decent jobs in this transfer window...

first, we got chamack for free..
he is a proven striker in french league..
and he is what we lack off.. a brave striker who "went in" to challenge for ball... evidence: reina's own goal.....

2nd, we got koscielny..
first match against liverpool.. he looks compose at the back... and he did pretty jobs against torres.. a little harsh for the 2nd yellow and result sending off..torres flick the ball and hit him.. and it came in sudden.. 2nd match against blackburn gave him a little lesson and show premier is better league, beaten by the pace of diouf.. so, he might need some time to figure out, what is the aspect that he needed to improve... tecnique wise, no problem... physical wise... yes... especially against the beast like drogba....

3rd, squilaci..
an experience defender who able to won the aerial challenge and will normally stay as last man, which solve the problem when vermy going forward... already prove his worth when he is in lyon.. but, we share see in coming much... for the moments, i m optimistic...

going out on loan?
sending traore to juve is good decision too... since we have too much of left back.. and he might get his chance to improve... in the worst scenario when clichy and gibbs is out, vermy and song still play that position... dont forget about the versatile eboue... about LB problem... clichy still cannot get back to his best after that injured... i dont mind if wenger try gibbs at that possible for some matches... Let's clichy know he need to work hard for the starting XI..

miss out on schwarzer?
i think alumnia start to prove himself can be the number one... he tried so hard.. and even "bang" his head towards the post, which show his commitment... although he did some mistake, but i guess, if our defensive partnership improve.. we will see a lot of "clean-sheet" matches soon... fabianski wise.. i dont know, i will prefer mannone as 2nd choice keeper instead of him....

Miss out on VDV?
i guess, we have enough attacking talents, VDV is not better than Rosicky or nasri either, of course.. our captain is way too far in front of him...

what we need?
personally, i think we really need to get a DM, i worried that when Song is injured.. no one can deputy him... Diaby create more danger to the back 4 due to his nature of "holding ball for too long".... i was excited by the rumuors of melo? but, we din get him... anyway, i guess wenger will transform someone to that position if Song is out... Eboue? may be?

So, 3 impresive signing with less than 20 mills sum up the decent jobs in transfer market....
Agree with you there mate. Good assessment on the transfer targets. I too feel that VDV doesn't really add up to our team strength. He is what I call as an expensive bench warmer. Furthermore, I feel that Arsenal have a very good midfield team currently. Having an addition might disrupt the balance of the team. Honestly, its more of 8 million saved than lost. What's more with that amount of salary and stature, it may cause some unrest from the other team players.

Ibra in Arsenal? Do you guys even know how much was his salary in Barcelona? its....its...its.....mind boggling!
n Barcelona? its....its...its.....mind boggling!

This post has been edited by funnyTONE: Sep 2 2010, 11:44 AM
funnyTONE
post Sep 2 2010, 11:41 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Sep 2 2010, 11:32 AM)
we'll get him in January when he didnt play enough matches and request for a move~ smile.gif
unless of course, almunia is raising his game this season. I see that the remaining 4 months will be the last chance almunia or the other GKs to prove to Arsene Wenger that they deserve to stick with the team.
funnyTONE
post Sep 3 2010, 03:50 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Sep 2 2010, 02:38 PM)
i think for now, we have enough cover for each position except defensive midfielder, other than Song, i can't find a suitable DM for us... Diaby have the physical appereance to be a good DM, but his attacking minded and the bad "holding ball" habits, means we need to look for someone else... in january, Song gonna leave us for ANC... don't tell me that we can buy player in january.. it is not a good solution... the new palyer need time to integrate himself into the team... and it may cost of for few matches, subsequently the season title. So, the darkside of the decent transfer business for Arsenal is we not able to get a defensive midfield... Let's hope Song can stay fit all the times...
ANC? ANC?!! Wait....is this an annual event? So my guess is that Song and Eboue will be missing us during that time. Hmm...I figure its not that bad compared to Chelsea (drogba, essien, obi, anyone else I missed?).

QUOTE(tenno @ Sep 2 2010, 02:46 PM)
U see, if we want to achieve something, we build our squad around that goal .... okay, we managed to keep Fabregas for another season, we managed to bring in a striker, we patched up our leaks in defence, we got backup for our midfield... but... we failed to secure a steady man in between the posts. As it stands today, we hope for the best & pray that guy dun screw up, like he's done so many times in the past. & until he proves he can perform like a world-class keeper on call, & not in spurts, I'ma keep criticizing him. The mistakes our GKs made in the past are purely schoolboy mistakes, & that frustrates me.

I rest my case.
I feel you mang. Those schoolboy errors are too painful that it etches with the team the whole season. Let's just hope for a better 2010/11 season.
funnyTONE
post Sep 3 2010, 10:46 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Sep 3 2010, 08:24 AM)
This year no ANC am i right? I remember ANC to be on odd years only
no, no. Its actually even years. 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014. So meaning no ANC next January....yay! happy.gif
Bad news.....Bendtner is inflicted with another fresh injury. Previously, he was recuperating from his groin injury. This time its the recurring ankle injury he picked up the last time he was involved in an accident. Really sad for him and a great setback for Arsenal team.
Arsenal rocked by fresh injury to Nicklas Bendtner
For all the latest reports and transfer rumours, visit our dedicated section here.

Arsenal striker Nicklas Bendtner has suffered a fresh injury setback, according to a report from The Sun.

The Dane has been recuperating from a groin injury he sustained during his country's World Cup campaign in South Africa. However, his latest setback means that he is not expected to be playing first team football again until November.

The 22-year-old apparently believes that the injury is linked to the car crash he was involved in last year.

The news is sure to disturb Gunners boss Arsene Wenger, who also discovered this week that Robin van Persie could face a month out with an ankle problem.

funnyTONE
post Sep 3 2010, 04:34 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(realman @ Sep 3 2010, 03:02 PM)
ARCHITECT of England's FUTURE

Wenger's burgeoning English stars are showing great promise to make it big for the Three Lions
By Frank Malley Chief Writer, PA Sport

This is where you will see the English media always hailing their young players and put these unnecessary pressure for them. "Hey, you're good kid!", "take a bow, son.", "you're an English Maradona.", "5 years from now, the World Cup will be yours!", bla bla bla. It doesn't really help the players except probably garner some popularity and automatically put you in the Audi 8 club.

The future does like bright for these lads, and Arsenal may have the key to gain some respect from the media that they deserve, but only time will tell if these youngsters can claim any rights to represent their country. Its an existing problem that the England squad is facing where players join the three lions half-heartedly and think that they were born into that position. What it should be is that whenever you're given a chance to represent your country in the international stage, one should always give their best and work as a team, such as where you can see in the likes of the German team and the South Korea team. I don't deny the abundant of talents in England that will keep churning out from club's youth system, but more importantly is their team spirit and the common sense to always keep their heads down and concentrate on doing their best on the pitch rather than showboating and being an airhead so early in their youthful life.
funnyTONE
post Sep 8 2010, 08:48 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(leymar7 @ Sep 8 2010, 05:20 PM)
sigh..wish a speedy recovery for them..

expecting more of vela
and bendtner..dont makan gaji
faster recover
bentdner also still injured laa, but new one apparently. Previously it was groin problem, only last week another new ankle problem appear. Haiz, I can't wait to see Bendtner again. Miss that guy.

0.0872sec    1.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:19 PM