Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 8 2010, 03:24 PM

236 posts

hey jeffrey, did you use paypal e-check? My paypal account is linked to my Australia bank account but I'm going back to Malaysia soon, will probably be doing the ordering and stuff from Malaysia but does that means I need a new paypal account for Malaysia address? Is it possible for us to get that 3% discount using bank payment? I've read like it's possible with paypal e-check.. hmm

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 8 2010, 03:26 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 8 2010, 10:45 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Nov 8 2010, 06:32 PM)
I used the PayPal method. Usually, we can't do like that as GenTechPC only allows their US customers to buy via PayPal but Ken Lee was kind enough to let me pay via PayPal.  smile.gif

In order to get the 3% off, you better used TT but I do know that got one or two thread members who pay via PayPal e-check and successfully asked for 3% off from Ken Lee. I forgot their names though.  blush.gif
hey thanks man !

I just tried using my paypal, it's linked to my Australia address and bank account. I tried to put check out the conversion rate they use and it doesn't seem right. AUD is supposedly higher than USD as of now but when I key in 1479 USD it returns to about 1502 AUD. Anyone can give me an insight of how the conversion works? Did you guys do the transaction as with paypal's conversion MYR-USD?

argh !
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 9 2010, 09:16 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(qq_bear @ Nov 9 2010, 03:13 AM)

I'm using wire transfer which entitle me for 5% discount. But you have to pay usd20 for the transaction fee. But i think it's the safest & fastest method. I used paypal before but had bad experience during the refund process, it took me about 2 weeks to receive the money even though the vendor had made the refunde on the 1st day I canceled the order.
so which seller did you go for with getting the 5% using wire transfer? and delivery with comgateway? hmm need to start doing my research !
thanks btw (=

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 9 2010, 09:23 AM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 12 2010, 10:10 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 12 2010, 04:18 PM)
alright! my G53 is shipped out of gentech and on its way to comgateway.... estimated to arrive at comgateway on the 16th biggrin.gif
yo ! dont mind me asking, what payment method and how much for delivery charge from comgateway?

enjoy~~ (=
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 23 2010, 11:15 AM

236 posts

does 2nd hdd bracket means the space in the laptop for secondary hdd drive or it's something you have to create above the slot in the laptop? and does wire transfer means telegraphic transfer? for the discount if purchase from US reseller. I'm only familiar with TT and paypal seems to give pretty bad exchange rate.. and how's the mouse from the G53jw owners? it's Razer Abyssus iirc, would be good if someone can compare it with a microsoft standard optical mouse (=
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 23 2010, 12:54 PM

236 posts

How does it usually work if let's say I'm interested to use a SSD? If possible please make it to the most basic for SSD dummy like me. Usually people buy SSD from outside and fix it to the laptop so if I'm buying a laptop from US, do I need to prepare anything like the bracket or stuff like that? Or rather just get the laptop -> buy SSD -> fix it to laptop -> finish ?

also, any brand and size recommendation?

thanks all sifu
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 23 2010, 02:09 PM

236 posts

@ doubleu, I'm from j.b as well. There will be a pc show this weekend in SG, was waiting for the showprice to come out to compare what's the best deal out there. Did you add anything to the default model?

@ dackson, with e-sata, is the cable supposed to be purchased separately? I have a few external hard disk but they are just USB 2.0.
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 25 2010, 12:39 AM

236 posts

so let's say I use comgateway and buy from US, when I pay the laptop seller i have to pay a transfer fee of $20, then how about comgateway? I need to TT the payment for the delivery cost and this will induce another $20?

and doubleU is there any tax on top of the price of laptop+delivery fee+transaction fee? In SG, it seems like there is a 7% on top of the total purchase fee.. If I knew you earlier, maybe I could have pay u and make your order X 2, save me time and hassle for me as a 1st timer TT

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 25 2010, 01:18 AM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 25 2010, 09:12 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 25 2010, 03:46 AM)
if you use TT, i think you have to pay the bank fees. Not sure about comgateway side. I used a credit card. There is no tax on the laptop. There is a 0.65% charge for insurance (around 10USD)
So you used credit card for both laptop and delivery? CC has an extra surcharge right? Singapore is having pc fair now, you might be able to find the stuff you want - online price list: Link
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 25 2010, 03:36 PM

236 posts

anyone knows if any shop in j.b might have g53 to get a hands-on feel?
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 25 2010, 04:13 PM

236 posts

haah,I wana touch touch the laptop before placing order tomorrow.. Argh!

I touched G73 few months ago, can't remember how it felt. Should be the fine I hope.
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 25 2010, 05:34 PM

236 posts

any problem with xoticpc? xoticpc base price at 1449 while gentechpc base price at 1479.

is blu-ray that essential? xoticpc having black friday promo for cheaper blu ray drive or some mini freebies.

and in comgateway, the billing address is also the same as the shipping address in US?

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 25 2010, 05:47 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 28 2010, 02:09 PM

236 posts

GTA does look tempting and l4d2 bought in malaysia can't be played in Australia is true I supposed?

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 28 2010, 02:11 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 29 2010, 03:46 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(jaycn67 @ Nov 29 2010, 03:14 PM)
i think after cash rebate and all sort of discount 1340USD++ like dat
i purchase from Xoticpc and this price so cheap because i take 6GB of RAM to get 30 USD discount and downgrade the 750GB Harddisk to 500GB, and take also optical DVD drive only. Other of that, all still the same
I thought the ram was free upgrade to 8GB?

And I noticed the price in xotic kept changing. It was like 1443 the other day. Then now it's back to 1475. rclxub.gif

@astria, did you get GTA yesterday?
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 29 2010, 04:49 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(jaycn67 @ Nov 29 2010, 06:28 PM)
ya, is free upgrade, but if want 30USD discount then cannot get free upgrade to 8GB
i think take 6GB better becuase they give is 4x 2GB DDR3 and next time u want upgrade more RAM, then need take out 1 slot 2GB to putĀ  4GB. Then it will wasted the 2GB RAM put aside

the model Asus G53JW-A1 now $1429.8 in Xoticpc, cheapest i found is $1397, then i told Xoticpc about that and they agree to giv me $30 discount but cannot get free upgrade to 8GB only.
oh you mean after the 3% cash discount and on top of that they gave you $30 rebate? so, 1475 - 3% - $30?
does that include free shipping for you from xotic? the deal I've got was either 3% (no free ground shipping) or 2%( free shipping) from a sales person named Hutsady from xotic. Same as me?

Not to forget there's black friday gift from both gentech and xotic. gentech giving free usb 3.0 portable hd while xotic giving a few different choices of items which I think the mini camera is the best.

Personally, I would go for gentech with free ground + 3%(wire transfer) with the portable HD as black friday gift.

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 29 2010, 04:57 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 29 2010, 07:04 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(jaycn67 @ Nov 29 2010, 08:22 PM)
ya, mine is 1475-$30(dont want the free upgrade to 8GB RAM)-$79(downgrade 750HDD to 500HDD)-2%(FREE SHIPPING)
total is $1338.68 , i choose 8GB pendrive rather choose the mini camera, because hp oso got camera already.
i choose xoticpc because it can downgrade and those upgrade i want upgrade after 2 years like that because all the things price will drop a lot ady

MeRogerThat, urs USB 3.0 hdd given by Gentechpc how many GB? your laptop cost total how mush after rebate? and you use comGateway to deliver?
nvm, 6GB enough for me, and until the time coming around 1 year or 2 years, i will add one slot 4GB RAM by techniqian
rclxm9.gif im glad to join Malaysia Asus Gaming Laptop team too..
I think the black friday gift is 320GB USB 3.0 5400rpm portable hard disk within that price range, you can check it at gentech website. Their G53 stock price is 1479. I'm getting 'free upgrade' to 8GB and adding 500 GB secondary hard disk. Total should be 1514-3%=1468.58 with free shipping if I'm not wrong but still waiting for their reply for total price and wire transfer detail. But I do notice at xotic it has ready stock while gentech is pre-order status. It might or might not have some difference in time for speed to deliver. I'm using comgateway as well.

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Nov 29 2010, 07:12 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 29 2010, 09:05 PM

236 posts

@doubleu how long was the wait from the 1st day you placed your order at gentech?
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 30 2010, 09:51 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 30 2010, 10:21 AM)
dun have the correct bios hex besides dun have time to do much thing though... rushing work. doh.gif

Added on November 30, 2010, 9:10 amuser posted image
HP leaked sandy bridge processor for their upcoming release in Jan 2011 some time soon.
source

So good news for G73 refresh?
o mai the waiting game
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 30 2010, 10:50 AM

236 posts

anyone can tell me what's the estimated time I will get my laptop if the ETA for stock is mid Dec
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 30 2010, 11:23 AM

236 posts

well, like experience from total shipping time after leaving the shop

0.0404sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:31 PM