14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

riku2replica
post Sep 19 2010, 02:31 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

Colorful backlit keyboard is a trend but still it can't beat alienware in multi-color.

And yet the missing keystokes issues still haven't resolved till now.
riku2replica
post Sep 19 2010, 07:23 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Sep 19 2010, 06:07 PM)
My bike is black and I modified it with blue LEDs and it's sweet. I will post it here when I get back from my B'day dinner  tongue.gif Gotta rush now, family is waiting to meet me in restaurant to celebrate  wink.gif
Happy b'day dude. I never celebrated b'day since i attended uni. laugh.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 21 2010, 10:35 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 21 2010, 09:14 AM)
Hey guys, im planning to get a G53 or G73 as i just got my funding. biggrin.gif

Which one do you guys recommend to get? G53 or G73? I dont really carry my laptop around and even if i need to, i have my dying M1530.

Are there any heat issue with G73? How severe is it?

Also, which online store is the best place to get based on your experience? Mucro Asia or gentech PC?
That would depends on ur own preference, G53jw and G73jw shares same gpu.
riku2replica
post Sep 21 2010, 04:35 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 21 2010, 03:08 PM)
I thought 460 is slightly weaker than 5870?

Besides, is i7 720 enough for more processor intensive games?

Anyway, i'll give a thought about this. Probably get it around November after they iron out most of the problems.
I have seen the repasting process. It doesnt seem as easy as it seems, though.

So, i assume Gentech PC is much better then? Great, i could get the custom thermal paste and custom light for the WASD keys.

Well, u can tell it from GTX 260m. It stood in the market for its outstanding performance. Assuming GTX 460m will do the same thing. But still i can't find any G73jw benchmark nor review yet. doh.gif

If u want less weigth smaller FHD screen go for G53.

PS: I'm expecting G53 to weight less than G73.
riku2replica
post Sep 21 2010, 09:36 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 21 2010, 08:52 PM)
Ah, i see.

Well, im in Australia now. Hopefully Ken Lee can manage mine too. And make sure it's perfect before shipping it to me.

Looking forward to Battlefield 3 with G73.
Definitely, G53 will weight much lesser, but im thinking of a large laptop this time round. Wont G73 have better cooling than G53 due to larger size?

Besides, how heavy is G73 if you take account of the adapter and so on?
maybe, the copper oz in g73 will be much more compared to g53. laugh.gif

The adapter should be about the same.
riku2replica
post Sep 22 2010, 07:15 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

this is something i really sweat of.... high end mobile graphic play dota. doh.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 22 2010, 07:37 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 22 2010, 07:19 PM)
Normal lah laugh.gif
i saw the alienware seller playing dota on m15x before. laugh.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 22 2010, 10:36 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

There seems to be a clear winner for G73 debuts between HD5870m and GTX 460m. I just check some eurocom benchmark with HD5870m and GTX 480m performance. GTX480m is performing slightly ahead of HD5870m.

Which could actually discuss GTX 460m will be weaker or slightly weak than HD5870m.

Games which are optimized for Nvidia with PhysX will be an advantage. But without PhysX, it could perform almost the same as HD5870m or +/- frames.

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Sep 22 2010, 10:46 PM
riku2replica
post Sep 23 2010, 08:52 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 23 2010, 05:30 AM)
Anyway, which G-Series notebook that capture your attention now? G53 or G73Jw?  biggrin.gif
Prolly still G73JH. I'll wait and see if there's B2 batch or i'll be waiting for sandy bridge. My parents found out my G73 purchasing plan. laugh.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 23 2010, 09:07 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 23 2010, 09:01 AM)
I have been watching some benchmarks on G73JH and G73JW, It seems like G73JW's GC is slightly weaker than G73JH. Dirt 2 benchmark runs slightly slower, by about 5 fps less. Does anyone know why Asus switch to a weaker GC?

Im not complaining as regardless of any G73, it's a HUGE boost from what i got. From 8 to 16fps on Low and DX9 to 26 to 38fps in High and DX11.
The problem actually lies within the nvidia Fermi. GTX 470m and 480m are consuming more watts compared to GTX 460m. Even there are ppl asking in alienware thread about upgrading it, new monster power adapter will be needed for it. Even Eurocom has the GTX 480m laptop comes with 220 watt powerbrick to keep the hot and power consuming GTX 480m. And Eurocom has to place 2 copper cooler to cool off the GTX 480m instead of 1 cooper slot. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 23, 2010, 10:05 amHere's some interesting DIY.

Here is the simple guide to mod the keyboard backlight for G73/G51/G53:
1: buy the colored film, it can be found at your local gift shop, mine cost only $3.99 per roll which is very cheap not even $4.

2: lift the KB up and disconnect the backlight cable and ribbon cable of the KB:

4: lift the aluminum foil up:

5: cut the colored film and place between the KB and aluminum foil:

Credit to Ken at GenTechPC. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Sep 23 2010, 10:10 AM
riku2replica
post Sep 23 2010, 02:56 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 23 2010, 02:45 PM)
Still, why did they change it to Fermi?

5870 was pretty decent. Im seriously not getting it for the 3D thing.
I can't be too sure... but their initial report about G53 is equipped with GTS 360m instead of GTX 460m. laugh.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 25 2010, 08:46 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 24 2010, 05:19 PM)
look at
*** Useful Guides from NBR ***
NO 4 ?? icon_question.gif  hmm.gif
tried eliminate the component, like use earphone to check if there's still firework? If there's no hearing of firework on ur earphone, then it could be ur speaker ribbon problem.
riku2replica
post Sep 27 2010, 11:28 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 27 2010, 09:51 AM)
Just have a question, is that a chance that 460m is performing slightly worse than 5850's reason is because of immature drivers?
Maybe, but the minor 3-5fps difference won't be noticed so easily. However, with PhysX optimized game it should perform better.
riku2replica
post Sep 27 2010, 07:41 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 27 2010, 04:24 PM)
but turning on physx will reduce your fps no?
yes, turning on physx will reduce ur fps, but u'll get better gaming experience than letting the physX bear by ur cpu.
riku2replica
post Sep 27 2010, 09:59 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Collienz @ Sep 27 2010, 09:16 PM)
ya since the pricing everyone been getting is below usd 2000. i have upgraded the following 1066 -> 1333 , no dead pixel policy. (for 1 year) and keyboard colour change LOL since it look cool cool2.gif  thats all... after considering the ram upgrade maybe i will just skip it.. the worst part would be delivery, due to i have chosen UPS global, wish not to take any risk with the laptop arrival,  now iam just wondering whether they change the led for the keyboard color .. or just add a layer of coloring paper.. LOL
Ram speed doesn't affect much actually. Keyboard color is up to u actually. nod.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 29 2010, 12:54 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Sep 28 2010, 07:49 PM)
i've been bugging mucro asia about the info on the g73-xr1 version biggrin.gif
might go for the xr1 for the price it's quite a steal smile.gif
really really hope to join you guys soon
the price ain't that bad, just that u'll have more hassle to find a suitable bag for u lappy. nod.gif
riku2replica
post Sep 30 2010, 05:00 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Sep 30 2010, 04:35 PM)
damn, looks like the G53jw was delayed to 18 Oct and that is just an estimate. Im seriously considering the sager np8690 or waiting for next year when sandybridge and HD6000m series comes out.
hmm looks like stock shortage issue.
riku2replica
post Sep 30 2010, 05:13 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 30 2010, 05:08 PM)
Shiiiiiiitttttttttttt....

I want to buy on December!!!!!1
I wanting to buy it around nov... but I'm see how technology expands for now.
riku2replica
post Oct 1 2010, 02:14 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(psjjl @ Oct 1 2010, 10:20 AM)
Asus G73Jw review by notebookreview.com

LINK: G73Jw
Pros and Cons after the review:

Pros:

Great build quality
Very functional design
Excellent display

Cons:

Limited multitouch features
No onboard RAID
Not as fast as G73JH
Yeah, i'm surprise they state that in Cons. laugh.gif
riku2replica
post Oct 3 2010, 10:27 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(angelchong @ Oct 3 2010, 09:38 PM)
can someone explain the difference of g53 with and without the 3D performance? i dont quite understand it.
3D is just a gaming experience gimmick actually. Asus ROG will be rolling out bundled 3D glasses with laptop(G53jw,g73jw) in future batches.
However, it is a warning that Playing game with nVidia 3D vision activated will reduce ur frames.
As for the gpu, gtx 460m itself is just play fairly average under 3d vision, maybe in future games could be below 30 fps.

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.7742sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:11 AM