6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

Viperion
post Sep 7 2010, 03:02 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 7 2010, 03:00 PM)
no that's your BIOS version... you shud download the new vbios here

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gamin...gsod-blues.html
I already posted that and it's already linked at the main page tongue.gif

Look ma, my guns are back whistling.gif laugh.gif
Viperion
post Sep 7 2010, 03:24 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 7 2010, 03:20 PM)
haha i also didn't notice... maybe shud make the font larger! bcos it's a critical issue
Viperion & lunatiq pokes at Jeffrey tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Sep 7 2010, 03:24 PM
Viperion
post Sep 7 2010, 05:50 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 7 2010, 04:28 PM)
lol... sweat.gif

Seems like the vbios did fix partially.

*waiting for g53/73jw benchies* :sob:
Not fix partially mate, completely. Also the new clocks now save battery power and you should get above 3 hour minimum on batts now rclxm9.gif If you are one of the lucky few who can underclock to 100/300, there are reports of battery life above 4 hours on the G73JH drool.gif

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 7 2010, 04:51 PM)
Do you guys want me to make the font bigger?  sweat.gif
Uhhhm, yup. Can you make the title multi-colored as well to attract attention, J/K tongue.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Sep 7 2010, 05:53 PM
Viperion
post Sep 7 2010, 06:34 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 7 2010, 06:33 PM)
@Jeffrey thanks for the marking! hope it helps everybody that owns a G73JH with GSOD issues, with this vBios the laptop is perfect already
Yup, I'm off now to really test the new vBios. I will run SC2 and some graphic intensive games and report back here smile.gif
Viperion
post Sep 8 2010, 12:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(voleman @ Sep 7 2010, 08:43 PM)
I decided to see what would happen if I updated my drivers to 10.8 without updating stock BIOS and vBIOS, and i promptly got black screen of death on furmark and sc2. cry.gif
Anyway I chickened out and restored from disk image so things are back to normal now. Haven't worked up the guts to update BIOS and vBIOS yet seeing that everything works OK on my lappy with stock BIOS and drivers..

But keep us updated bro.. p.s. my temps are still OK.. went up to 92.5 max once when playing SC2.

Pls let me know what fps you are getting on SC2.

Jeffrey, I am afraid I don't know what to suggest for your problem except doing what I did not have the b**s to do (update BIOS, vBIOS and drivers). Maybe you could ask the notebookreview people.

EDIT: What browser crashes? Tried with FF, IE and Chrome? Could be a Flash issue or sound drivers.
Where are you located? If you are in KL and you have the balls to pass your laptop to me, I will do it for a cup of tea wink.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(Zapads @ Sep 7 2010, 11:00 PM)
Does this version cause the laggy?

Hmm, your vBios looks like the stock version. Try this, download AMD GPU Clock Tool and set you clocks to 705/1100. Does the lag happen the entire session or the first few minutes after you start the game? If it lags the entire gaming session on stock clocks (700/1000) set to the clocks above and tell me how it went. The lag s due to your GPU almost GSODing but somehow it manage to recover itself. With the new vBios, it happens on the first 5~15 minutes of running Furmark,SC 2, etc. but after the GPU warms up it doesn't happen that often. The moment your GPU chokes and is unable to recover you will get a GSOD/black screen, etc.
Viperion
post Sep 8 2010, 12:23 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 8 2010, 12:18 PM)
10.8 really fixed the performance hit on AA, previously benchmarking SFIV my framerate will drop by 10-20fps if 4x AA, now my woes are history. but somehow the AA doesn't work on SC2 using catalyst settings.
Hmmm, that's weird. ATI released 10.7a just to enable AA in SC2 and the code should be carried forward into 10.8, I don't use AA so I'm not sure. I will check later and report back.
Viperion
post Sep 8 2010, 01:41 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(voleman @ Sep 8 2010, 01:08 PM)
ehehe thanks for the offer  icon_rolleyes.gif
I am sure i can do it myself though.. just not sure if I want to since I am not sure if it will really make a difference to my lappy  tongue.gif
If it ain't broke....
Actually it's not about breaking it or not. Seriously the stock vBios code is atrocious. The measly 2hours battery life is caused by the high clocks. With the new vBIos this issue is resolved. Running on stock Catalyst is never an option because newer games will never be able to run on it tongue.gif
Viperion
post Sep 8 2010, 02:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lunatiq @ Sep 8 2010, 01:46 PM)
I think newer games shud be able to run on it but taking a big performance beating, i notice this big time on SC2, before the GSOD fix, i was taking my chances against GSOD rather than going back to using Catalyst 10.1
If I'm not mistake the new Final Fantasy MMORPG doesn't run on the stock drivers and you need the newer catalyst drivers. If you cannot use the newer drivers due to GSOD it's not an option especially for such a high end gaming notebook tongue.gif
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 01:55 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 8 2010, 06:51 PM)
I had my 1st BSOD today while I was watching my PPS.  sad.gif Is it time for BIOS 211 upgrade? Need you guys' opinions about this as I'm quite noob in this.  blush.gif
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 8 2010, 10:44 PM)
I encountered 3 BSOD todays which force me to uninstall all the recent softwares in case of incompatibility issue. sad.gif
Upgrading the BIOS will not solve the GSOD. You need to upgrade to 211 BIOS and then flash your vBios to the latest beta in the link I posted to solved the GSOD issue. Did you change anything recently? I've never heard your unit GSOD until now. Stock drivers or latest catalyst?
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 02:30 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 9 2010, 02:12 AM)
Yea, it happened on me for this past 2 days. Since my Logitech G700? No idea.

However, one of the prob. is the shockwave problem in my Google Chrome browser. It did cause me to BSOD. Currently, I switch to Mozilla Firefox.  biggrin.gif I will monitor it first before the flashing of BIOS.
Which drivers are you running? Stock or the latest catalyst?
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 02:44 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 9 2010, 02:33 AM)
Stock. Can you imagine that I have 5 BSOD a day.  sweat.gif
You shouldn't be GSODing on stock bro, hmmm......I smell a RMA in the horizon tongue.gif What is your idle and max load temps?
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 03:03 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 9 2010, 02:49 AM)
Is it BSOD = GSOD?
BSOD = Blue Screen Of Death (Windows Error)

GSOD = Gray Screen Of Death (ATI 5870 Error)

For the GSOD your screen will become Gray in color with very thin black stripes visible in the background. Hard to describe, do a search in youtube and you can see for yourself tongue.gif
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 03:45 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 9 2010, 03:07 AM)
Mine is BSOD then. Blue screen appeared.  hmm.gif
Hmmm, then it seems like an OS problem. It could be the new Logitech drivers. Try a system restore and do a virus scan. Something changed and has caused your OS to be unstable. A system restore is the easiest and quickest way to resolve the issue compared to a re-format/recovery wink.gif
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 03:43 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Sep 9 2010, 02:02 PM)
guys im bac, just reached my home, opened my baby for the first time, im burning  recovery disc as we speak...
At last bro, enjoy your new/old toy, LOL! thumbup.gif Great to see you back here biggrin.gif
Viperion
post Sep 9 2010, 07:23 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Sep 9 2010, 05:53 PM)
thanks man, good to be back....

i've been playing splinter cell on stock drivers, gotta say im a litte disappointed, its laggy at times..  i think im gonna have to update the graphic driver...
Hmmm....something might not be right hmm.gif I'm running Crysis on high and it's smooth as silk. I haven't got Splinter Cell so I can't really help you, sorry. Star Craft 2 on Ultra is doing great also thumbup.gif
Viperion
post Sep 10 2010, 08:22 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 10 2010, 03:58 AM)
i have just order a G73jh-A1 custom on E-bay
i7-820QM i7-820 1TB HDD 8GB RAM 1333ghz and 6300 wifi card
with seller of TED
company HIDEVOLUTION
reach my US relative house in 14-15/09/2010
and reach my hand(malaysia) at this month 22 XD
cant wait man .....
hope u all still accept new newbie stealth bomber XD
Congratulations, nice custom rig there. Do you mind telling us what you paid for it for future comparison and reference. Thanks.

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Sep 9 2010, 10:08 PM)
Yea..GenTechPC
i bought G73JH-B1! they keep telling ship tomorrow till now still no news yet  sad.gif
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Sep 10 2010, 07:30 AM)
No, they havent ship yet..they telling me the word " should be ship tomorrow or next day" since last thursday  sad.gif
PM me your email, your order number and email me a copy of your bank transfer (The more information I have the better I can assist you). Who is your sales agent at GentechPC? Check your PM for my email address. If you pass me all the information I requested by today, I will get you an answer by tonight wink.gif I haven't called Ken in sometime, would be nice to give him a tinker brows.gif
Viperion
post Sep 10 2010, 08:35 AM

112 posts

My friend and me just completed a re-paste job for Zapads in the wee hours of the morning. Everything went fine (I hope tongue.gif) and his temperatures were phenomenal, even better than mine sweat.gif cry.gif I'm bugging my friend now to open my unit again and to redo my GPU laugh.gif

Final call for my last tube of IC Diamond 7 reserved for owners. I'm free now for Raya and will create the thread in garage sales along with some other items I want to sell. My friend is now offering the re-paste service on a limited basis only. We are doing this at a very low cost, for fun and making new friends. Those who are interested can contact me and I will arrange it. Re-paste jobs closed until after 19th September as my friend is going for an overseas trip and will not be around. First come first serve basis only & for a limited few wink.gif
Viperion
post Sep 10 2010, 02:29 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Zapads @ Sep 10 2010, 02:00 PM)
Viperion!.. thanks for the great job.! Is really a intensive work and you/your friend is really "PRO" in doing it. I am really happy of the work!.. thanks for doing us a favor!.. is really worth it. ALTHOUGHT THIS HAS TO BE DONE IN 4AM!! HAHA

Sorry for the timing bro, next time you are back down here I will belanja you makan & teh tarik laugh.gif

I'm fortunate to have my friend as I would never have opened my own unit in a million years tongue.gif

I saw your max temp at 91.5c, is that what it's showing in Furmark? hmm.gif it seems like my re-paste was okay after all if you are peaking at 91.5c, mine peaks at 92c so you beat me by 0.5c laugh.gif

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 10 2010, 02:02 PM)
sure XD rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif

Added on September 10, 2010, 2:04 pm

i pay for 2155USD
is it ok with the price with the spec ?? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Looking at the changes you made and what you reported it is rather expensive. Could you post the full specs as the only changes I can see compared to the A1 is the CPU & Wifi card. If these are the only two differences then you were robbed blind tongue.gif
Viperion
post Sep 11 2010, 12:45 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 10 2010, 11:56 PM)
Erm ya........ but 2155usd include 820QM and wifi card 6300 and ultimate X64 i think the price is cheaper comepre with gentech and bto and so on right ??
Yup, hence I asked for the full specifications to check the differences wink.gif If you go for the GentechPC & Comegateway option you should only pay around USD 1700~1750 including shipping with DHL for the A1. That's around USD 400~455 difference for what you paid. Also you shipped within US right? Our units was delivered from USA to Malaysia right to our door step wink.gif
Viperion
post Sep 11 2010, 02:02 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 11 2010, 01:17 AM)
but with 400-500 different can have ultimate x64 + 6300wifi card and 820 QM processor not worth ??
Gentech PC:

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 - USD $185

Intel 6300 Wifi - USD 35

Intel Core i7-840QM - USD 575

Yup, it's slightly cheaper than GentechPC. I did a calculation for the A2 with the options above and the total came up to:

USD 2297.53

However it's based on the i7-840QM, they don't have the option for the i7-820QM tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0372sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:42 PM