Photography Canon S95, replacement for S90

poolcarpet
post Oct 11 2010, 01:38 PM

548 posts

i just bought the S95! finally decided on this after reviewing between this and used LX3 or new LX5. compactness was the tipping factor for me.

got it at sg wang 2nd floor, boeing photo (http://www.boeingphoto.com.my) for RM1199. i didn't want the case + 4GB card, so that's why i got a lower price.

good deal i think! looking forward to learning more about this camera and getting good shots!! anyone knows if there is a user group out there?
poolcarpet
post Oct 12 2010, 11:25 AM

548 posts

i find it ok to hold the s95 without any custom grip to take photos... prefer it this way in fact, as it's compact.

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Oct 11 2010, 09:18 PM)
Hey, trying to do a shameless plug around here.. hoping that you guys can support abit.. let's all share shipping together!

Richard Franiec's custom grip for the S90/S95 is a definitely must have for your camera to improve handling, especially for those low light one handed shots!

Click here
poolcarpet
post Oct 15 2010, 08:35 AM

548 posts

i'm an S95 owner. Never seen/played with the TX1 but based on specs, it seems to have a smaller aperture than S95.

Aperture : Auto(F3.5-F4.6)

S95 has 2.0 aperture at widest angle. This means that it allows more light in, which is good for night shots. So far, based on my experience with S95, I find it very useful to use Av mode and fix the aperture to 2.0 then allow the camera to select shutter speed. The other day I managed to get a good night shot even without flash this way.

you can try this website:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM

and select S95/TX1 for comparison. Perhaps look at indoor ISO800 (night shots will most probably be shot at ISO 800 upwards), and compare. look at the crayons/pepper shaker and you can see the difference in noise level between the 2 cameras.

good luck! i love my S95, only complain is no autofocus/zoom during video...

QUOTE(skyer @ Oct 14 2010, 11:00 PM)
I just played with my friend's S95 and I am amazed by the way this camera handles night shots.

But, may I know, how this S95 compares with Sony TX1, especially in terms of night shots?
poolcarpet
post Oct 16 2010, 01:00 AM

548 posts

here's a nightshot taken with S95... flash off, Av mode set to 2.0, handheld (camera did come out with the orange camera shake logo, but i think my hands are steady enough to get a clear shot). probably need to find another camera to take a similar shot to compare but i don't have any others smile.gif click on the thumbnail below for bigger photo

This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Oct 16 2010, 01:01 AM
poolcarpet
post Oct 17 2010, 10:56 PM

548 posts

hmmm imho, i think it makes the S95 look ugly. just my opinion. it looks very nice as it is, i really like the standard finishing on the casing (i think same as eos 7d?)

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2010, 09:18 PM)
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 08:50 AM

548 posts

NO! sticking anything extra on the lens will just affect your image quality. The S95 already comes with built in lens cap, why need to stick all these?

QUOTE(DarrenK @ Oct 24 2010, 02:54 AM)
do u guys stick a crystal glass  thing in front of the camera lense for s95?they recommended me and was told that it is good for the lense as it is anti crack and scratch something LOL..is that crystal thing necessary>
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 08:53 AM

548 posts

S95 quite plastic? Have you held the camera?? It's super heavy and solid for it's size man. lol

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 23 2010, 11:31 PM)
Haha, from outlook, i feel S95 quite plastic, but lx3 like toy, lol... U got ur right, some more canon brand is more famous, and price cheap is a good steal...  rclxms.gif
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 09:00 AM

548 posts

i did a lot of research when deciding between an LX5/used LX3 or new S95. in terms of pricing, this is what I know:

S95 - RM1199 lowest in Sg Wang, no SD, no case
LX5 - RM15xx LYN price? free SD & case
LX3 - RM1000? Seems like not many want to sell their LX3 for less than this.

In terms of features:

S95 - miniature effect, fish eye effect, in camera HDR mode -> most of these in camera effect can be achieved using photoshop or other image manipulation software on the PC but it's convenient to have it in camera. it's truly a compact camera, power off and into pants pocket
LX5 - 1cm macro (S95 only 5cm), autofocus & zoom during video (S95 cannot), hotshoe to add on extra accessories (S95 tadak), however not so compact plus need to fiddle with lens cap each time you want to take photos/keep camera. LX5 battery life seems to be better 400shots single charge? S95 is 200+ shots single charge but I am happy with the S95 battery.

both cameras have large aperture F2, larger than normal sensor 1/6.x" and 1/7" (S95) - normal compact camera is usually 1/2.3".
LX5 has wider angle 24mm vs S95 28mm.

Anyway, in the end I chose S95 because of the compactness.
LX5 pricing is a bit on the high side, and if you are paying RM1.5k for a supposedly compact, you can even look at NEX-3 with the pancake lens, which is a micro 4/3" camera (sensor is much larger than S95/LX5 - which mean much better image quality).

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 23 2010, 11:14 PM)
It's a tough decision between S95 and LX5. In the end I chose the S95 mainly because it is a more compact size and easier to carry. In terms of picture quality, they are both very close.

Of course the S95 is also cheaper.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Oct 24 2010, 09:01 AM
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 09:45 AM

548 posts

Used LX3, not new.
What for buy new LX3 when you can get LX5? smile.gif

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 24 2010, 09:17 AM)
What i mean is from outlook, i haven try on S95 yet. New LX3 only Rm1000? What i saw is Rm13xx...

Added on October 24, 2010, 9:46 ammy bad! yes NEX3 uses APS sensor, not micro 4/3. thanks for correcting that! smile.gif

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 24 2010, 09:05 AM)
I agree with your points. I also made the same comparison when deciding between S95 and LX5.

Pricewise I got my S95 for RM1,259 (package with 4GB SDHC, Canon pouch, mini tripod, screen protector).

Actually NEX3 uses APS sensor (even bigger than micro 4/3).
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Oct 24 2010, 09:47 AM
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 10:45 AM

548 posts

good for you if you can find one below rm900 with remaining warranty.

canon and panasonic both does not provide international warranty. i've asked canon/panasonic, e.g. if you buy from US, it's only valid in US.

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 24 2010, 09:59 AM)
I see, but got saw some selling at Rm900 too. Besides, canon provide international warranty?
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 10:56 AM

548 posts

just come back to KL, go sg wang and get it for RM1200 lah. S$500 only then.

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 24 2010, 10:52 AM)
2nd hand LX3 Rm900 good to buy? Currently i work at SG, S90 and S95 price is S$699 and S$669, after convert to RM is 1.6k++  sweat.gif
poolcarpet
post Oct 24 2010, 02:04 PM

548 posts

i think $699 is the list price. List price in Malaysia is RM1549.

i'm sure you can find cheaper street price in SGP... look around

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 24 2010, 11:28 AM)
Some electronics stuff is cheap like handphone, lcd tv. But for camera, like quite expensive after convert...
poolcarpet
post Oct 26 2010, 02:18 PM

548 posts

it has 3 bar indicator, and low batt indicator.

so far i've used it without any issues, can easily last more than 1 day and hundreds of shots.

note that since it's F2 bigger aperture, the flash is not needed in most shots so that also helps in extending batt life. i thought of buying an extra batt but don't think i need it anymore.

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 25 2010, 09:44 PM)
Yup S95 has a battery indicator.
poolcarpet
post Oct 27 2010, 10:03 AM

548 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36948801

RM1199 is the lowest so far, but this price is without the SD and case. For me I didn't want the SD as I reused my 8GB Class 6 (you need Class 6 for 720p) and you can get much cheaper case from ebay for less than RM20. The case they gave can leave some glue residue from the bottom of the case (look inside and see).
poolcarpet
post Dec 14 2010, 02:26 PM

548 posts

i don't find the batt life bad, what are your expectations??

QUOTE(kgdangar @ Dec 11 2010, 07:57 PM)
but the battery life is pretty bad isn't it.
and have no optical zoom.

if canon can solve those, i would definitely buy it! tongue.gif

why its so hard to find a perfect camera. vmad.gif  mad.gif  rclxub.gif

maybe its true: "nobody's perfect " LOL
poolcarpet
post Dec 31 2010, 06:44 PM

548 posts

wow, i bought it for RM1199 only 2 months ago but without sp, sd, case - re-use old class 6 sd, bought sp/case from ebay for less than RM10 each smile.gif.

it is a fantastic camera, i think i've only used the flash probably 10-20 times only out of all the hundreds of photos which I've taken so far. the f/2 aperture really helps for indoor/night shots.

only downside is really the lack of autofocus for movie mode but i'm willing to sacrifice this for compactness rather than go for the LX5 which will have autofocus but is much bigger. other than that, i'm extremely happy with this purchase.
poolcarpet
post Jan 1 2011, 11:05 PM

548 posts

yep, no autofocus in movie mode. not an issue if you're only taking short vid clips. the vid clips are of amazing quality for a compact/prosumer of this price.

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Jan 1 2011, 02:00 AM)
No AF in movie, really?
poolcarpet
post Jan 2 2011, 04:03 PM

548 posts

don't take offense but not sure which part of "no autofocus in movie mode" is unclear.... smile.gif

you focus, press the shutter in movie mode, and it starts recording, but there is no CONTINUOUS AF. meaning if you focus something far, then pan to something near, it will be blur. to fix, simple, stop the movie, re-focus the nearer object then shoot again. the LX5 has CONTINUOUS AF in movie mode.

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Jan 2 2011, 02:28 AM)
Is should be able to auto focus during movie... but not when zooming... right?

Added on January 2, 2011, 4:05 pmno way. canon s95, video mode can zoom while recording in movie mode? i don't think so.... mine surely cannot, and a lot of reviews/spec say the same so unless you're using some souped up s95... it's not possible to AF or zoom WHILE recording a movie... you can focus/zoom BEFORE you start recording but not WHILE recording.

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jan 2 2011, 09:54 AM)
I shot few firework videos during New Year's Eve recently. Can zoom.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Jan 2 2011, 04:05 PM
poolcarpet
post Jan 5 2011, 02:28 PM

548 posts

oh, digital zoom.... that's the first thing i turn off/disable in a digital camera. useless function, it can reduce the quality... i normally would rather use post-processing to 'digital zoom' if i need to.

QUOTE(tien8tien @ Jan 3 2011, 02:57 AM)
The Zoom works ... but bear in mind that this is digital zoom ... not optical zoom ...
poolcarpet
post Jan 5 2011, 05:04 PM

548 posts

true - totally agree for video mode digital zoom may be useful, but i personally don't. i wonder if LX5 can do optical zoom in movie mode...

QUOTE(atah @ Jan 5 2011, 04:48 PM)
but i would still use it in video mode, it's not easy to do it post-processing.

0.0363sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:09 PM