Nokia N9 - Powered by Meego, On the way to China for production :P

hengguowei
post Aug 30 2010, 11:28 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 25 2010, 08:57 PM)
That's a different phone, the E7/N8-01 arr boss. The N9 is the Meego superphone supposedly, but yeah, post N8 Nokia's design team is moving towards angular design and now 3 phones at least look similar lol.

But IMHO the new chinese specs, speculation or rumor or whatnot is more credible IMHO. Why would Nokia move to Snapdragon when basic OMAP 3430 is good enough when clocked properly to 1GHz?

But 1280x600 reso? NOW THAT'S ludicrous.
Maybe they will use Snapdragon dual-core...can go up to 1.6 or something like this...or maybe they can also use Intel Atom processor biggrin.gif
1280x600...that'll kill the hardware man...N9 must have a really powerful graphics chip and proc for this biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 4 2010, 10:53 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Aug 31 2010, 02:28 AM)
I wouldn't be surprised if it has a Atom in it. As which , Intel is also in partnership with Maemo itself.
But mostly going to target on Tablet devices smile.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 13 2010, 08:48 AM

4,475 posts

design ok lar...not too bad biggrin.gif anyway, what under the hood is more important than what the hood looks like biggrin.gif don't judge a book by its cover biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Nov 1 2010, 01:49 PM

4,475 posts

specs is good...
hengguowei
post Nov 1 2010, 05:37 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 1 2010, 01:53 PM)
Rumored spec.
yeap...rumoured specs are awesome!! tongue.gif
hengguowei
post Nov 9 2010, 12:57 PM

4,475 posts

TS...please update the frontpage of this thread.
I think there might be this device so don't confirm on FP that it's E7 or china-fake.
Update with these photos smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 9 2010, 01:00 PM
hengguowei
post Nov 9 2010, 01:01 PM

4,475 posts

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 9 2010, 01:01 PM
hengguowei
post May 18 2011, 04:42 PM

4,475 posts

Confirmed Meego since this morning! N9! Awesome!! 12mpx! Awesome!! But when is it releasing? Meego still beta now. Argh!! One reason I would go for this instead of Samsung Galaxy S2 is the 12mpx!! Another for it having a Qwerty Keypad!! It's the perfect combo! ARGH!!!!!! Nokia, can you kick Elop away so Meego gets full development! biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post May 18 2011, 08:19 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ May 18 2011, 07:25 PM)
Well, as one of the N810 user, I beg to differ there. I believe this is very much similar to the N8x0 and N900 situation 2 years ago.

I still remember when N900 was released. Most of the users didn't want to upgrade from the N8x0 series due to some possible "downgrades" such as smaller screen, and the hardware itself is not that much of an upgrade (Although I still lol when someone compared the older ARM11 CPU on N8x0 to be only 200mhz slower than the CPU used in N900 and arguing that its not much of a change laugh.gif). And also Nokia's silliness not to properly support the N8x0 series really anger many people, till they practically written off anything from Nokia in the future.

Yes, there are some effort to enhance N8x0 series such as the Mer project and Meego adaptation for N8x0 series to revitalise the line up but all just being left out and abandoned. (Really hoped the current CSSU and Diablo Turbo project continues on tho!)

But as times goes on, more and more people adapt N900 as their primary device, and lo and behold, the Maemo 5 took off and become one of the geek playground. And also practically EOL'd the N8x0 series. Sigh sweat.gif

Surely this time its going to be much different. The "awesome" N900 support by Nokia that leave a sour taste in every user mouth, the Elopocalypse and Meego being left in the backburner really makes N9 much harder to be appealing to the community. But I believe that over time, the hardware upgrades on the N9 (Capacitive screen, improved CPU+ RAM+ GPU, 12MPX Camera), alongside with the enhancement on the Meego Harmattan will make it more appealing, and perhaps that will drive the adoption rate of it.

Just like 2 years ago, when N900 launches icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s: And also, as a current N810 user, I have to agree on the awful support by Nokia. We didn't have any app to use our webcam for! And don't get me started on the stunted A2DP support on it, it just like rubbing salt onto open wound sweat.gif
Surely got support from community. People just can't get enough from N900. smile.gif It's aging. But if we're getting support from Nokia with major apps devs support, it would be even better cause whatever it is, having a lack of apps fully utilizing the hardware is a pain in the ass. doh.gif
What's the rumored hardware by the way. Some rumored hardware are :
BCM2763 1080i Multimedia Processor

Processor : 1GHz TI OMAP3 / Intel’s Atom 1.2Ghz / ST Ericsson ARM Cortex A9, Dual Core 1.2GHz with MALI400

*Qt was also demonstrated at MeeGo conference on TI OMAP 4.

What hardware are we expecting? biggrin.gif

Added on May 18, 2011, 8:20 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ May 18 2011, 08:06 PM)
Previously maemo4 and 5 and now meego.for how many years they doing experiment?harmattan still experimental device?I don't get it.with the really stunning hardware,why don't just focus on meego for the software development and attract more developer onto this platform?come on nokia.
But Elop is CEO, obviously Windows Phone 7 is the main priority. ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: May 18 2011, 08:20 PM
hengguowei
post May 19 2011, 07:50 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ May 19 2011, 04:12 AM)
No definite proof that it's running Meego/Maemo 6
Time will tell how things goes...
Meego facebook page confirms it. flex.gif

Added on May 19, 2011, 8:56 amAugust 2010
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 20 2010, 01:03 AM)
More details on the N9, most probably from the Nokia Conference a few months back.

Pay close attention to the so called "Dali":
Interesting specs. Not OH WOW but really practical IMHO. Shame no details about the processor/RAM. If it's truly AMOLED, I'd say now we know where all the AMOLED panels went (Nokia bought them all and stocked up on them) that caused the shortage which prompted HTC to switch to SLCD.

From the Engadget leaks, I could see that the N9 mainboard looks somewhat similar to the N900's (from personal experience), so we can very well expect a 1gHz processor and above and AT LEAST 512MB RAM plus virtual memory - and everything else the N900 has. I'm hoping USB-OTG is here as well.

Present Day (Hopefully)

Wishlist wishlist. Nokia Nokia, make N9 a legend. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: May 19 2011, 08:56 AM
hengguowei
post May 19 2011, 05:57 PM

4,475 posts

Added on May 20, 2011, 8:50 pmBam, and now we've got some crazy speculation of it having a 1280x720 resolution 4" screen. Now, who none other than Toshiba has that screen? biggrin.gif

367PPI drool.gif
Oh, ST-Ericsson U8500 going to be used for Nokia's WP7 devices. We might as well hope it coming to N9. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: May 20 2011, 08:50 PM
hengguowei
post May 21 2011, 08:16 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ May 20 2011, 10:51 PM)
Dun think too much and I think hd resolution is not practical somemore graphic card will struggle due to the high resolution.
If ST-U8500 is Mali 400 wor brows.gif

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ May 21 2011, 03:56 AM)
Reading the threads on TMO, my preferred keyboarded variant of N9 will be equipped with only an OMAP3 processor sad.gif
Still, want to have one. The hardware is already smoking hot!
There's lots of speculation. Everyone say different thing. Wait for Meego event. biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 04:01 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 01:06 PM)
Hardware could be slightly dated & there's no physical keyboard like it's predecessors but you have to say N9 really is something.
Interesting phone design (I lolled when Marko said the polycabonate design won't disturb signal like some competition device) & innovative homescreen.
I have Nokia Malaysia will bring to Malaysia.Feel like want to try it out since it's Maemo's last hurrah.

Added on June 21, 2011, 1:27 pmhttp://www.developer.nokia.com/swipe/ux/pa...me_Screens.html
Try it out
NICE!! thumbup.gif
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 04:16 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 21 2011, 04:14 PM)
no HDMI out?OMG!!
How do you know no HDMI-out? unsure.gif

I like the design. biggrin.gif

The next device after iPhone 4 to have microsim?

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 21 2011, 04:17 PM
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 04:17 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jun 21 2011, 04:16 PM)
i know you like i-Device design brows.gif

joking.... hopefully it is better than n8  hmm.gif
Photography cannot be better but overall it seems to be better in terms of UI!! I am soo going to buy this. biggrin.gif

Gsmarena states got HDMI-out leh..
Nokia N9

- TV-out (720p video) via HDMI and composite
- NFC support
- Dolby Digital Plus via HDMI

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 21 2011, 04:19 PM
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 04:36 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 21 2011, 04:25 PM)
aiks.the package there no hdmi out cable.
Are you going to sell? I buy from you lur. laugh.gif

Why still sgx530 O.o

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 21 2011, 04:37 PM
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 04:48 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 21 2011, 04:42 PM)
That looks pretty nice. The hardware isnt that bad either.

Too bad it doesnt comes with keyboard though I dont really mind it.

Btw, what browser is it using ? Is it from MicroB ?
It's based on Webkit 2.0 hmm.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 21 2011, 04:47 PM)
haha.beating in term of cam again.haha
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 21 2011, 04:48 PM
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 06:19 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 05:06 PM)
Not sure video only or both;
If video only, means it will adjust it's focus continuously (e.g, if based on focus point, it will continuously focus the subject in the focus point; If based on face detection, then it will try to focus by detecting the face; Note: It may not work perfectly)
If photo, means, you can lock focus, then as you move your camera, whatever in the focus point will get focus again. Usually use for actions shot where the subject moves and you follow it. But not sure this can be of use for mobile phone camera as it'll need good focusing speed and performance to achieve this.
In DSLR, continuos focus is focus continuosly changing to focus on subject. Used for fast moving subject. nod.gif
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 07:03 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 05:34 PM)
Presenting Nokia N950

Nokia,can you drop me 1 of these?

Also from LYN rep in Nokia Connection : N9 might be sold @ RM2K.According to Nokia EVP.
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 05:44 PM)
Yea, but many already jump ship to SE; They refuse to look back already, and very hard to accept or change again. That's why it's very important not to do mistake or recover too late, people will remember it forever even tough things have change, it's hard to people to change back.

I read gsmarena, I think they wrote N91 has one of the best speaker/sound; Can't remember.
5800 another strong point is the price; Back then, it was one of the cheapest smartphones that you can get, plus it has GPS hardware, so can use Garmin.

Added on June 21, 2011, 5:46 pm

The design looks different from N9; more like N8 or E7 with flat out qwerty.
Those who like N9 sleek design might not have same feel for this?
88 series is crazy, haha; And I think there's no smartphones for 88 series right?
Nice too. Meego UI is already a nice enough treat. The design aint so bad anyway. N900 users sure know how to compromise on design for using such a bulky device. biggrin.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 05:48 PM)
It's a developers device.
Either you register for MeeGo or Nokia developers account & apply for the phone or wait till the phone appear in ebay.
I got developer account since some time back. How to apply for this phone? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 21 2011, 07:04 PM
hengguowei
post Jun 21 2011, 10:17 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 07:24 PM)
LoL, shooting macro can get you narrow DOF, but on DSLR it's even much more narrow  tongue.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 7:26 pm

Are you a developer? or anyone can apply?
Not developer larh but I applied for an account last time and downloaded the Qt SDK to play around. Out of curiousity. laugh.gif

0.0284sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM