Nokia N9 - Powered by Meego, On the way to China for production :P
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 07:36 PM
I wonder if Apple is gonna file a lawsuit against Nokia or Meego for copying the way it navigates through the menu as well as the press-hold to activate the delete action for task manager. Or maybe that's why Nokia is waiting for it's lawsuit to end against Apple so that they get to use some iOS features for free during settlement talk.
Swipe to close... That's A FIRST in smartphone. You only need a menu, task manager and a reminder... Hmmm, hmmmm, hmmmmm,...
Did I miss anything important? One would have wonder how Nokia fortune might be if they had this shit a year ago. Definitely not something that wow, but nevertheless comparable to the competition.
I have to applaud Nokia for the phone assembly, it's so Apple'ish. No creaks, no edges, just one smooth piece of classy engineering.
Sometimes Nokia really make you wanna bash them even more. They already think home screen is not important, and yet go all the way to implement a home screen that sucks under S3. It's really clean n yet simple like iOS. Those Symbian freaks should thank Elop for wiping Nokia ass clean from these idiotic Symbian coder.
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 08:24 PM
Actually quite same lor, just elongated. But that's also why I'm impressed.
Added on June 21, 2011, 8:30 pmBufung,
That's not what I meant. If you play zerokbom's YouTube link and fast forward it to 9:04, take a look at the press-hold to activate the delete action for task manager, it's all to similar to iOS multi tasking. Nokia win Apple for how it handle multi tasking, maybe Apple would want revenge now that there are striking similarity.
This post has been edited by andrekua: Jun 21 2011, 08:30 PM
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 09:18 PM
Now that Nokia has this as the UI, I really wonder if any N900 user will ever want to buy one.
Gone are the desktop like tablet, all they have now is just row after row of icons, row after row of task, row after row of reminder... you dont call it a TABLET now do you? Must be a big disappointment for Maemo fans.
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 09:54 PM) Yes; This doesn't look like Maemo at all; The icons looks like Anna? As mentioned before, this looks like a "refined" N8, just lacks the camera; In fact, it should have come earlier a year ago as you mentioned, as the N8. Imagine this with N8 camera, launched last year. By the way, this isn't the actual MeeGo... this is the Maemo6/Harmattan, said to be MeeGo Compatible. After this, will be should be the actual MeeGo device..... I did not follow any Meego/Maemo news at all, because I never expect them to support them well after my fiasco with 7710. The simplicity of this is really on par with iOS, I would say. Its just so simple, that they really have nothing much to show, BUT the camera has touch focus. WTH!!! Even N8 does not have touch focus. Not sure whats more to come from it, but I really wonder if Nokia can really live it up and get some serious developers to deliver the apps needed for it to thrive. Otherwise this is just another SHOWOFF product by Nokia, showing the world what they can do with it and yet failing to deliver it yet again.
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 10:39 PM) True; as long as they provide a decent camera, it's good enough. That I suppose should be software limitation. Touch Focus and other features of the camera... Now probably we can start to or should see more of Qt benefits? Hmm... Lets hope no more Qt related shit... Also pray hard that Nokia dont ABANDON you YET again... Nokia is like a irresponsible mom sometimes... this title used to belong to SE but Im surprised X10 will get Gingerbread despite its slow start... things do change, and lets hope Nokia really CHANGE for GOOD... This post has been edited by andrekua: Jun 21 2011, 11:14 PM
andrekua
Jun 21 2011, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 21 2011, 11:17 PM) Not sure, but recently sees more progress on Qt? Maemo got Qt, and Symbian got Qt; but I still don't really see the app sharing thingy like build once, deploy anywhere; If have, then Maemo should have the same Qt apps for Symbian? Similarly Symbian should have the one for Maemo. I think there is "some" but not sure how many is there. In terms of fluidity, somehow I still feel iOS and WP7 more fluid? This one, when you transit from one page to another or open up applications, it doesn't feel as nice, it's just more plain pop up or change over. This MeeGo Harmattan is also very much Qt based? The last firmware update for N900 included Qt library in it, makes kind of major changes to the compatibility for older version apps. Anyway, no further comment on it until we can actually see it's real benefits. I think like you say, different platform after all. Like there are something that you cant do in Symbian, even with Qt, you are still pretty much limited. Then you got Maemo, which is much better and flexible, having a wider option to choose from. I see this even affect Android platform but not as critical as Nokia. The difference in hardware, software makes it even harder for developer to achieve a balance despite whatever claims Nokia made. Besides, unless Nokia tighten its store to become like AppStore or adopt advertising banner like Android, developers aint gonna waste time and money to be ripped of by crackers.
andrekua
Jun 22 2011, 07:22 AM
Gizmodo went as far as saying its already discontinued... there goes the hatred again.
andrekua
Jun 22 2011, 06:41 PM
The latest and most uptodate benchmarking software to determine your phone performance... ** Lower is better as it's measured in latency(s).. Forgot to tag credit to Engadget... This post has been edited by andrekua: Jun 22 2011, 06:44 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
andrekua
Jun 22 2011, 06:48 PM