HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

TSmikelee
post Aug 19 2010, 05:48 PM, updated 14y ago

1,419 posts

HTC Desire

Previous Threads:
V1: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1251412
V2: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1438377
V3: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1469656
V4: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1508983

Official Site:
http://www.htc.com/www/product/desire/overview.html

Availablity Status in Malaysia:
Ori Set = Available Now through either Maxis contract or Retail. Retail unit available at all HTC dealers for a retail price of RM2,199.00.
AP Set = Available Now (Check the Handphone Section of LYN Garage Sales)

Available Mobile Plans:
Maxis http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/android/A...id_Packages.asp

Available Updates:
v1.21.405.2 Update = Link Only for European sets!
Feedback by z3r0717 on this update:

Froyo 2.2 Update for SEA sets - released, refer to the page below:
http://www.htc.com/sea/support.aspx

What's new in Froyo 2.2?

Specs:

Videos:

Owners List (PM me if you want to be added into this list):

Useful Links for HTC Desire Users
HTC Desire Discussion @ xda-developers forum
HTC Desire Official User Guide
HTC Desire User Guide by nimbu
Tips & Tricks for the Desire
Flaws & annoyances with the HTC Desire (with workarounds!)

Reviews:
GSMArena
Gizmodo
TracyandMatt.co.uk
Slashgear
Techradar
Geekanoids
Engadget
Mobileburn
cnet.co.uk
pocketnow.com
APCMag
Full List of Reviews @ xda-developers forum
LYN User Review By yolk

Other Sources:
AndroidandMe
Engadget
Gizmodo

This post has been edited by mikelee: Sep 11 2010, 06:45 PM
TSmikelee
post Aug 19 2010, 05:48 PM

1,419 posts

FAQs:
General
Where can I get this awesome phone?
You can now get it at any HTC’s resellers or Maxis Centres.

What are the differences between HTC Desire and Google Nexus One?
http://mobilenews.omio.com/mobile-phone-fe...android-phones/

What colors are available in Malaysia?
For now, it is only available in "Dark Brown" color.

How do I set customized ringtones?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1213449

Can apps be installed into the SD card?
On Android 2.1 you are not able to do it unless:
1) Root it, and install App2SD
OR
2) Wait for Android 2.2 (Froyo) update for HTC Desire (native App2SD)

What does it mean with native App2SD? Are there any other kind of App2SD?
Explanation from benny888:

How do I prolong my battery usage? Any tips?
http://blog.three.co.uk/2010/05/24/htc-des...t-battery-life/

How do I differentiate if my device comes with AMOLED or S-LCD screen?
On the box packaging, it will put behind the box under "Display" as:
"3.7-inch AMOLED touch sensitive screen" for AMOLED sets, and
"3.7-inch touch sensitive screen" for SLCD sets.

Any recommended should I get for this phone?
Refer here: Recommended Android Games Thread

Contacts
How do I import contacts from Apple iPhone?
An in depth steps with screenshots:
http://www.willineedit.com/2009/11/how-to-...-android-phone/

How do I import contacts from Nokia phone?
1. Export your contact to your PC as CSV file.
2. Then login to your Google Gmail account.
3. Import your CSV file to google contacts.
4. Sync from your HTC Desire, your contacts will be all in your phone.

All contacts from Facebook are updated into my call contact list. How do I remove it?
Go to your Contacts > Menu > View > uncheck Facebook.

How not to show the contact from sim in the Contact Lists?
Go to 'people' or contacts, Press Menu button > "View", then uncheck 'Sim'

SMS
Can I use a 3rd party SMS app?
Yes, you can. Find for "Handcent" SMS on Android Market. It's free and very customizable compare to the default sms app.

Handcent SMS Issue: When there is a new SMS comes in, you will receive 2 notifications at the top, yes? How to disable the original SMS application and use Handcent SMS from here onwards?
Go to the default sms app--> click on menu button --> Go to settings --> Uncheck the Received Notification

Keyboard
Can the keyboard be customized to my liking?
Yes it can.

Do you have any guides on how to customized it?
HTC IME Mod Keyboard with Voice Input for Desire

How do I replace the CN/Thai keyboard which is available on our local set?
Install the HTC_IME keyboard mod from the previous link.

Connectivity
Any idea on how to setup proxy to connect to the Internet?
No proxy support for HTC Desire at the moment.

No auto settings for the APN stuff on your set? Here are the list of APN settings for different telcos

Any recommended apps to check my data usage?
Try to find for "3G watchdog" on Android Market.

Maxis Related Stuff
How does the Maxis plan works?
Step 1: Choose any rate plans: Value Plus 50, 80, 150, 250 or 500
Step 2: Choose any data plan (12 months contract period): 500MB (RM58), 1.5GB (RM78) or 3GB (RM88)
Step 3: Pay for the phone at RM1499
Step 4: Pay monthly according to plans that you have chosen, e.g Value Plus 50 + Data Plan 500MB = RM50 + RM58 = RM108
For more info refer here: http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/android/A...id_Packages.asp

How long is the required contact from Maxis?
12 months

What is the warranty provided for this phone from Maxis?
24 months extended warranty

Any freebies provided by Maxis?
Free car charger for the first 200 subscribers.

So where can I get this phone through Maxis?
Find it at your nearest Maxis store for more info.

Android Market
Does the SIS HTC Desire comes with Android Market?
Yes

Can I get both free and paid apps from Android Market?
For now, you can only get free apps.

Android 2.2 (Froyo) SEA OTA Update
Am I able to update to Froyo at the moment?
Froyo update is now available through OTA for local/SEA sets.

When will HTC release it?
Released for all local/SEA sets on 30 Aug 2010.

How does the update process works?
It will the usual OTA (over-the-air) update done using either data connection or wifi.

How do I check for the update?
Go setting ---> About phone --> System software update.

What are the software info for the Froyo OTA SEA?
SEA OTA Software Info:
Build number = 2.13.707.1 CL233262 release-keys
Software number = 2.13.707.1
Baseband version = 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30
HBOOT = 0.93

Rooting
Why root?
It gives you full control over your system and able to alter system files. You can also install many custom ROMs available online. Here are 5 among many other reasons to root your device: http://lifehacker.com/5342237/five-great-r...r-android-phone

How do I root my device?
There are many guides out there. Please check your HBOOT before you root (refer below).If i root my Desire, can i unrooted back to stock rom, where can i get exactly the stock rom as i have right now.
QUOTE(maliqu3)
Download the stock rom for HTC Desire from here to unroot your phone so that you can claim the warranty after that.
Is my warranty will void if i root? do i need to unroot if i need to send the HTC Service Center?
QUOTE(maliqu3)
Rooting your Desire won't void your warranty (you must have faith about the warranty though) since it's not NexusOne that will leave a trace (an unclasped lock) even if you have unrooted back.
How do I check my current radio version?
About phone ----> Software

How do I check my bootloader/HBOOT version?
To check the bootloader version, switch off the device. Turn it on whilst holding the ‘back’ key. You should be able to see the text ‘HBOOT’, and a version number besides it. This number is the bootloader version.

Can I root my phone if I have updated thru OTA (official update)?
The official update changes the HBOOT to 0.93 and right now you are unable to root it.

Flashing ROMS
Okay, I have now rooted my phone? How do I flash custom ROMS?
Refer here: Guide: How To Flash Custom ROMS and Radio

Where can I get these custom ROMs?
QUOTE(benny888)
Just go over to forum-xda. HTC Desire section http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=628 - rom discussion here. Roms are free - but you are encourage to donate if you can, to the rom cook. If you don't want to donate , you can still download and there is no limit how many times you can download. If you want special preconfigure roms up to your own choices - try Modaco at http://android.modaco.com/category/430/htc...ire-modaco-com/ . you need to pay a small contribution once only - with this you can use his online kitchen to bake any rom for any phone that he'd developed; again no limitation
This post has been edited by mikelee: Sep 3 2010, 02:10 PM
TSmikelee
post Aug 20 2010, 11:01 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 20 2010, 10:00 AM)
OFFSPRING  > rumours said end of sept
I am so tired of waiting....
TSmikelee
post Aug 20 2010, 06:55 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 20 2010, 11:32 AM)
i have given up waiting... just root my Desire and flash to custom Froyo rom yesterday.  There is no end for waiting.  Just dun understanding how hard it be to just release it OTA in SEA since Europe has the update more than 2 weeks ago.  shakehead.gif
Yeah, maybe I will do it. Reading up for more information right now.
Tempted of r8.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mikelee: Aug 20 2010, 06:57 PM
TSmikelee
post Aug 21 2010, 08:25 AM

1,419 posts

Some of you guys may want to know this:

Taken from HTC Singapore FB Page. Announcement: "HTC will be progressively rolling out the Android 2.2 update for the HTC Desire to all Asia Pacific users starting from September 2010 onwards."

This post has been edited by mikelee: Aug 21 2010, 08:30 AM
TSmikelee
post Aug 21 2010, 11:13 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(chaostan @ Aug 21 2010, 11:06 AM)
YESSS...finally downgrade Hboot from 0.92 to 0.80. Install NextSense 5.3..all went up well. So now, just want to know beside NextSense, any other better ROM out there...Pls receommend..TQ

P/S: KTYC..Thank you for your guide. Appreciatethat.
As I previously read, lots of people recommending Modaco r8. Need to pay though.
TSmikelee
post Aug 23 2010, 01:16 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 22 2010, 04:39 PM)
i see. i tried the stock froyo when it was released but i got laggy problem when switching between homescreens so i changed to nexTSense.

just wanna share my homescreen of r8!

[attachmentid=1741265]
That's a nice wallpaper. Can share?
TSmikelee
post Aug 30 2010, 04:26 PM

1,419 posts

Thanks samurai1337 for updating the 1st page. Just only managed to login into LYN.
TSmikelee
post Aug 30 2010, 05:21 PM

1,419 posts

Ok guys, I decided to update through OTA as I am not going to root my phone anytime soon. Here are some information that being asked:
  • Yes you can download the update first and install at a later date.
  • Battery life? Can't give you an answer right now. Let me test it 1st.
  • Download, update and install process takes about 30 minutes.
  • Software Info:
  • HBOOT is confirmed at 0.93

This post has been edited by mikelee: Aug 30 2010, 05:33 PM
TSmikelee
post Aug 30 2010, 10:27 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 30 2010, 10:00 PM)
for the one who has updated to the SEA fota ... what is your kernel build? what is the radio build & HBOOT build?

i think ill still stick to custom rom that offer A2SD or A2SD++ ... need more space
QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Aug 30 2010, 10:21 PM)
what is the radio coming from SEA OTA? 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30 or 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2?
SEA OTA Software Info:
HBOOT = 0.93
TSmikelee
post Sep 3 2010, 02:13 PM

1,419 posts

There are many questions regarding software info on the official update and also are we able to root if updated through OTA. Therefore I have placed some information on first page. Do kindly guide them to read it if there are further questions on this matter.

This post has been edited by mikelee: Sep 3 2010, 02:13 PM
TSmikelee
post Sep 21 2010, 12:01 AM

1,419 posts

Thread has reached its limit. Please continue your discussion here:
HTC Desire Official Thread V6

Closing thread.

0.0378sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled