6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 01:29 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 21 2010, 01:16 AM)
look at those green colour one.  their name will indicate their usage like Wi-FI Access Points, [SMS/MMS/APN] Dialer Storage 2.2, etc.  Those in white colour should be quite safe to restore too... mainly apps.
oo thanks biggrin.gif yay... successfully done all the rooting n flashing n backup ing ~ thx everyone ~~~~~

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 21 2010, 01:29 AM
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 01:52 AM

1,380 posts

Hi, below is the process where I done my rooting...
plus with my noob question.. [too worried to press wrong stuff]
anyway... just sharing tongue.gif

sorry for my superb english.. hope u all dun get too frustrated reading it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 22 2010, 08:09 PM
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 02:07 AM

1,380 posts

yeah ~
try follow the thing that i done on the spoiler part
i duno got different o not a.. since mine is amoled and urs is slcd
but i think the diff is on the rooting/flashing rom..
dun think got differ on the rom manager..
but to be safe better check check on the google tongue.gif

Added on August 21, 2010, 2:09 amanwa..
congrats !!
welcome to the dark side tongue.gif
yay ~~ we got froyo muwhahahaha
i'm really grateful that SEA didn't release the OTA froyo...
if they release it i dun think i'll root tongue.gif
now even if they release it... i won't go to OTA... tongue.gif muwahhaha ~~

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 21 2010, 02:09 AM
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 02:13 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 21 2010, 02:10 AM)
Agree with you ! Haha. Whew...one week of thinking to do it or not. One whole nite to download and do it.
Even though I have the titanium and nandroid backup, i think i will reinstall my programs one by one. Fun ! Its like a new phone again.
Thanks CKHong for your help at the final stretch.
Thanks all the sifu for your help.
good for you... 1 week...
i think for 1 month !
LOL !!!
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 09:45 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Aug 21 2010, 02:55 AM)
hey, good for you. yeah right, rooting is much better than not to root. coz even if u are on official froyo, you will still end up lacking of memory space. so, Just Root It! (sounds like nike, doesnt it? tongue.gif )
hahha... just Root it ( + 1 )

oh oh.. in nextsense i can change the look to launcher thingy ( i think this one is vanilla look rite? )
at the end i think i can cope with the vanilla look tongue.gif doesn't look bad afterall duno why when looking from the internet from the screen capture.. it looks bad hehe..
maybe i'll go for cyanogen after 1 week +
fua ~ 2nd flash muwahhahha ~~ i hope i dun end up like KTCY... flash rom king ~ tongue.gif
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 05:47 PM

1,380 posts

Hi question...
when i go to
Setting > Application > Manage application
then i press on the apps ,
some of the apps has "Move to SD card"
shud i select this ?? is this mean that the apps support native A2SD ??
which will really put the apps into the SD card ?? ( not putting in ext 3/4 and not in phone memory )
am i rite??
CKHong
post Aug 21 2010, 06:01 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 21 2010, 05:56 PM)
Yes, that's Froyo A2SD and it will move your apps to Fat32 file system
ohh.. ic.. so is that mean its better to move those apps to Fat32 file system?? (froyo A2SD) biggrin.gif
if yes then i'll move it now .. tongue.gif muwahhaha ~~
CKHong
post Aug 22 2010, 02:31 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 22 2010, 02:10 PM)
class 6 also rare like pupus dy, you want Class 10, need import from overseas~
Em.. at garage sell.. there is quite a lot ppl selling kingmax class 10..
16 gb class 10 got.. Kingston.. but dam expensive.. around 280

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 22 2010, 02:32 PM
CKHong
post Aug 22 2010, 03:34 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 22 2010, 02:59 PM)
totally agree.  I am getting 8GB Class 10 at the moment becoz 16GB Class 10 is quite hard to find and expensive at the moment.  I dun really need that big capacity, so 8GB should be quite enough for now. If I want bigger capacity, I will settle for class4/6 16GB then.  Ultimately, most likely I will upgrade to the next 4.3" HTC with HDMI output and pass my Desire to my wife.  So 8GB is definitely more than enough to her.  But may need at least 16GB for my next HTC.  tongue.gif

It really boil down to what you need not what ppl recommend.  smile.gif
Wa.. bro cynox..me too.. I'm waiting for next HTC release with 4.3 inch and processor better than 1ghz.. then will pass my desire to my gf hehe..
CKHong
post Aug 22 2010, 06:16 PM

1,380 posts

Guys.. cm rc2 is diff from cm nightly right?
CKHong
post Aug 22 2010, 11:37 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 22 2010, 11:29 PM)
You aren't the first one saying this... many people complain that NS5.3 is draining battery (comparing to 3.4)

To me, it's been pretty decent, and I'm comparing it with 5.2. Not sure if it makes a difference but I downclocked my CPU to 806Mhz and fix to 245Mhz when screen is off.
hi samurai, whats the apps you're using to downclock ur cpu to 245 when screen is off...
CKHong
post Aug 22 2010, 11:40 PM

1,380 posts

ooo thanks... i'll go look for it biggrin.gif
felt that the battery drops quite fast as well biggrin.gif
CKHong
post Aug 23 2010, 12:05 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 22 2010, 11:57 PM)
I also choose NextSense 5.3 because read somewhere longer battery life. So far using 2 days, don't feel much difference, abt same as on official rom 2.1

Installed Juicedefender and Ultimatejuice. It helps a little. If just some calls (10-20mins), SMS (20-40), using market, installing, play some game, etc by 8pm left 30%
haha.. same with me...
but maliqu suggested cyanogenmod biggrin.gif
i'll try that next week probably...
haih.. kinda troublesome to restore the apps and the apn thing...
i have to set the apn stuff myself after i flash to nextsense 5.3 tongue.gif

ohh.. setcpu quite nice biggrin.gif hopefully it'll improve my battery biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 23 2010, 12:06 AM
CKHong
post Aug 23 2010, 01:29 PM

1,380 posts

there's like nothing much changes from 5.3 to 6.0 ~ little changes nie~
CKHong
post Aug 25 2010, 11:30 PM

1,380 posts

ehh... first time i encouter.. my phone auto shut down... =.=
b4 that still got battery.... 6%... then i charge it... charge till the phone got around 80%, connect my phone to pc > to put some file inside... then disconnect from pc... then my phone went blank.. ish...(using nextsense 5.3 by the way)
CKHong
post Aug 26 2010, 10:20 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 26 2010, 10:15 AM)
Suely wink.gif
I use setCPU to set to lowest Mhz whenever my screen is off.
I've install "No Lock" application.. if i set to No Lock... will the setCPU works on screen is off ?
is the screen is off is dependent on the No Lock / Lock ??
CKHong
post Aug 26 2010, 01:46 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 26 2010, 01:43 PM)
May I know how you set ext3 to 1GB? I used ROM Manager previously and able to set 512mb max only
+1
Do tell me too ~ biggrin.gif
is it amon ra thingY?
is it stabel to partition it 1G instead of 512mb?

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 26 2010, 01:47 PM
CKHong
post Aug 31 2010, 11:47 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 27 2010, 10:20 AM)
ok, as promised, some basic step by step guide to partition your sd card with Amon_RA.

Stage 1: Get Amon_RA into the Desire
1. Download Unrevoked.  [Link]
2. Download Amon_RA  [Link]
3. Install HTC and HBOOT driver.
4. Run reflash.exe as Administrator (DO NOT connect your Desire to computer at the moment).
5. At Unrevoked, File>>Custom Recovery>>Choose recovery-RA-desire-v1.7.0.1-R5 (the Amon_RA file you download in step 2).
6. Connect your Desire (USB debug mode on, etc).
7, The rest is fully automatic.  laugh.gif

Stage 2: Partition you SD Card
1. Enter into Recovery mode.  You will see the options below:
    - Reboot system Now
    - USB-MS toggle
    - Backup/restore
    - Flash
    - Wipe
    - Mount
    - Partition sdcard
    - Other
    - Power off
2. Under Partition sdcard, you will see:
      - Partition SD
      - Repair SD:ext
      - SD: ext2 to ext3
      - SD: ext3 to ext4
3. Use Partition SD to make the ext2, swap, and the remainder will be auto partitioned to be FAT32.
4. press back to return to step 2, select SD:ext2 to ext3 to upgrade the ext2 you created in step 3 into ext3.  Do SD:ext3 to ext4 if you want to upgrade further to ext4.  But I only upgrade to ext3 only coz i read somewhere ext4 is not necessary.
5. Reboot system now, it will boot with all the partitions now.

Note:  If you want to flash rom, you can use the Wipe function to wipe all ext3 partition, cache, etc clean, but the partition remain intact.

Hope this mini guide helps. For more details, should refer to this master guide.
Cynox, is it once we have the Amon Ra thingy, when we want to flash new rom, i just need to use the "Wipe" selection(on your Stage 2) then it will Wipe Factory reset, Wipe Cache, Wipe Dalvik ??
Or normally u'll wipe the 3 thing in the recovery mode ? without using the "Wipe" selection ?
CKHong
post Sep 1 2010, 11:22 PM

1,380 posts

wanna ask, I've make partition using Rom Manager b4 and done my first flash to nextsense 5.0
If i wanna flash to the new auraxtsense 7.1,
is it i just need to
Backup :
Titanium Backup

Wipe :
Wipe data/factory reset, Wipe cache, Wipe Dalvik-cache, Wipe SD:ext partition

Flash Rom

Flash Radio

then settle ?? I don't need to went through the pain on copying all the data in my sd card into pc rite? since i just wipe the ext partition and not the whole sd card

Is there anything i missed ??
CKHong
post Sep 1 2010, 11:50 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:38 PM)
Yes, and be careful for restore in Titanium backup.

I suggest:

1. Batch restore user apps + data
2. Go to backup / restore, filter by "System", the manually restore 1 by 1 the green item only
what do you mean by no (1) ?
shud i
1. Backup all user apps
2. Backup all system data
3. Backup all user apps + system data

then during restoring...
shud I
1. Restore missing apps with data
2. Restore missing apps + all system data
3. Restore newer versions of user apps
4. Restore all apps with data

> Is it all the green item is safe to restore ??
will it restore also the widget i put into my 7 pages ??
kinda troublesome if i need to re organise all those widget ..

oo thanks KTCY smile.gif
will flash tmr biggrin.gif now gathering more information b4 i start to flash.. hehe..
I think i'll wipe all ( since its recommended biggrin.gif ) and then will flash to latest radio as well
Downloaded 32.46.00.32U_5.10.05.17_2 + auraxtSense 7.1 smile.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Sep 1 2010, 11:53 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:24 PM