★★★ LYN PROTON WAJA Club - V10 ★★★, The Journey Never Stop!! Vroooommmmm~~

Andy0625
post Aug 22 2010, 12:03 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Aug 22 2010, 10:05 AM)
If there's white exhaust smoke, what does that mean? I've started my engine and I don't see any white smoke coming out from the exhaust, so I guess it's most probably leaking somewhere.
It could be valve seal(gasket) or the spark plug seal , change both of them less than 250. If you dont mind spending so much , downgrade your engine oil to Mineral oil.

This post has been edited by Andy0625: Aug 22 2010, 12:04 PM
Andy0625
post Aug 25 2010, 09:20 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

steven , can recommended any workshop around puchong for changing timing belt set + alternator + aircon belt + waterpump with reasonable price ?
Andy0625
post Aug 26 2010, 10:42 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Changed my timing belt , alternator belt , fan belt , water pump and coolant today before heading back to my hometown.

Anyone here change timing sensor and Coil Plug before ?
Andy0625
post Aug 27 2010, 12:17 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Aug 27 2010, 12:10 AM)
timing sensor? coil plug not necessary to change unless its problematic or sparks out everywhere which is a fire hazard
yea , timing sensor. the mechanic told me that mine one is already worn at the join there but i ask him use it back as original one cost 195 at spare part shop. sweat.gif

elton , did you heard the coil plug always give problem on waja ?
Andy0625
post Aug 29 2010, 12:18 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Jerry : http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cha...a-and-waja.html
Andy0625
post Aug 30 2010, 11:46 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Semi synthetic is around the price range of 80 to 120 , nothing to shout about.
Andy0625
post Sep 1 2010, 12:43 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Sep 1 2010, 10:13 AM)
yeah, gonna be mechanic myself
too bad, i just change my oil, can't join you guys  tongue.gif
what oil you using right now yea ?
Andy0625
post Sep 1 2010, 01:02 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

it's okayt to use 5w-30 ? how does it feel compare to 5w40 ? any significant in performance ?
Andy0625
post Sep 14 2010, 10:11 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

all sifu , taikor , abang , adik , my idling seems to be a little jerky at times. When aircon is off , idling at around 800-900 range which is okay but when the compressor kicks in , it suddenly drops to the range of 500++ then slowly climb back to 650 to 700 range.

also , when I engage to D , it drops to the range of 500+ aswell.

Any idea what causes it to be like this ? Sensor , battery , fuel pump or timing sensor/pulse sensor ?

This post has been edited by Andy0625: Sep 14 2010, 10:15 PM
Andy0625
post Sep 14 2010, 10:41 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Stepper motor , that's the word been searching for. doh.gif doh.gif

thanks for helping , steven! will contact elton soon. hope he dont charge me alot. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Andy0625: Sep 14 2010, 10:42 PM
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 12:43 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(tjroy @ Sep 14 2010, 11:54 PM)
Guys, anyone interested to get open pod air filter? if can bulk purchase.  rclxms.gif  in my mind, sam,andy, danny, who else ah?
nayte is using so skip him , who else ? blush.gif

put me in if the price is rite and makes a difference compare to drop in k&n. wub.gif
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 01:35 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(nayte @ Sep 15 2010, 01:23 AM)
car overheated. fml man. i think radiator hose broke. anyhow whats the estimated price range to get this replaced?
around 200++ for Samco hose. laugh.gif
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 02:10 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

My brake started to squeal and it's very annoying. i have change the rotor both front to new and skimmed disc at rear. all pads already change to ceramic pad and it works very well for the past month.

I look into my driver side rotor and saw that there's a orange color lining on the rotor which indicates , either it makan more on that orange line or the outer side. *orange line i mentioning is flat at the rotor(no gelombang- yet)

Squeal only happens when it's at cold , when it reach optimum/hot temperature , the squeal seems to go away.

any idea what causes it to squeal and uneven wear on the rotor? caliper jam ?
also , where can we buy the brake shims for the rear yea ?

This post has been edited by Andy0625: Sep 15 2010, 02:14 PM
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 03:01 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Sep 15 2010, 02:50 PM)
the sound give u a sign to upgrade hehe brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif EVO3 system? or EVO4 lols
That's too costly for me to do. sweat.gif I'll change to pro-rs brake hose and see how the spongy feel goes.

Anyone interested with the Pro-RS brake hose ? Bulk purchase should be less than 225.

Added on September 15, 2010, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(nayte @ Sep 15 2010, 02:54 PM)
hey guys just curious is our radiator fan supposed to spin when you turn the ignition to ON? not with the engine started. just to the position where u can use all electronics in the car.

cause my car overheated and when i shut off the engine, turn the key to on position the fan not moving.
A sign to change car. *steven poison. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Andy0625: Sep 15 2010, 03:07 PM
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 04:47 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

i want try later also.. =D
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 04:52 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(tjroy @ Sep 15 2010, 04:48 PM)
hows ur apm abs doing andy?
as good as new , good handling on highway. but sacrifice comfort compare to stock abs. biggrin.gif but sachs should be better imo.
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 05:55 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

should be Segaria instead.

anyone know where can buy brake shims ?
Andy0625
post Sep 15 2010, 11:48 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Sep 15 2010, 09:38 PM)
evo 4 is fine. but require at least 16" of wheels to clear the twinpot caliper. and some modification require to accommodate the dual layer servo.
it wasn't a plug and play job.
you changed to apm performax spring as well or maintain the stock spring? apm performax paired with performax spring will bounced in stiffer way than the
other non-performance absorber but it gives better handling overall. last time my rear apm performax lasted for more than 2 years of abuse.
i'm on full set performax abs + spring , pretty stiff i could say. if there's some abs which can adjust the stiffness on the fly and without hurting the wallet would be great. laugh.gif

btw , i guess it's time to change my atf fluid. where can do machine full flush yea ? it started to slips and keep on spooling(rev) when it should engage instead. alot of problem rising up. cry.gif
Andy0625
post Sep 16 2010, 12:36 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Sep 16 2010, 10:58 AM)
hey, same thing here, i think im gonna change my atf also, although my mech said the atf is still clean
Same here , my ATF is still red in color but smells burnt though. Got any recommendation around PJ area to do it together ? blush.gif

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Sep 16 2010, 11:03 AM)
No idea, but you can make one. Regarding the squeal, u may wanna apply grease around the mating points of the calipers, and also on the shims, that is if there are any
Dude, get the mechanic to replace the thermostat immediately. You have to understand that erm... how the thermostat works. Thats not important.
Whats more important is that WHY is the thermostat PLACED THERE.

It is so that your engine will warm up faster in the morning and will stay at optimum operating temperature all the time. Colder is not always better bro due to certain reasons. Thermostat opens and allows water to pass through into the radiator for cooling when it reaches probably 90degrees or something and closes when the engine is too cool, perhaps 75degree?

The thermostat's function and the thermostat's task are two different things.

If your mechanic does not know how to check your thermostat, i'd suggest you replace the mechanic, not the thermostat bro.
If it's stuck-up, the bottom hose will be much much cooler than the top hose or was it vice versa which i cant rmb ; as the thermostat isn't allowing cooled water to enter the engine via the bottom hose.

Get the thermostat replaced, and the mechanic if possible =)

Added on September 16, 2010, 11:07 am
you have to make sure it's slipping first. If it's really slipping then flushing is not gonna solve the problem dude. It's a mechanical failure
I'm not really sure it's slipping but it seems slow to engage. Read somewhere on the internet stating that even low on ATF fluid will cause it to behave like this aswell but for my case , they overflow it till even when cold , it's all above the indicator. sad.gif

I wonder why mechanic always overfill , be it engine oil , atf or any other oil. doh.gif
Andy0625
post Sep 16 2010, 02:28 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Sep 16 2010, 02:19 PM)
excessive oil / atf poured inside. which makes the engine feels heavy and slippery gear change  sweat.gif
about time for you to change your mechanic.
so far, the most suitable i'd ever use was the twin pot evo 4 brake. plug and play. new disc(4xx bucks) / pad(1xx bucks) replacement is widely available. halfcut cost in the region of 600 bucks with labour your 17" wheels looks nicer with big disc and twin pot caliper  brows.gif
btw, 4 pot nissan from r3x series and mitubishi gto need some modification. and costly spare parts.
any mechanic or workshop to recommend ? i need to do a full flush.

0.0347sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:06 PM