Credit Card v11

charymsylyn
post Aug 19 2010, 08:46 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Intuitive @ Aug 19 2010, 08:39 AM)
as per 10. Verified by Visa and Mastercard Securecode, OCBC didn't participate meaning no online shopping?
http://www.ocbccards.com.my/3DSecure/
charymsylyn
post Aug 26 2010, 07:29 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Aug 26 2010, 04:38 PM)
how to calculate repayment for cash advance?

say the bank charge 18%p.a. for cash advance, if i take 3000 out, how should i calculate the interests? is that excluding the 17.5% finance charges?
Cash advance fee each time is 5% and interest is 18% p.a. compounded daily. Without knowing when you start the advance and when you repay in full, can't calculate the exact interest amount.
charymsylyn
post Aug 26 2010, 11:57 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Aug 26 2010, 11:35 PM)
hi.my exact question is that, there are charges of 18% per annum daily interest for cash advance. so monthly repayment is based on 18% per annum daily interest plus finance charges 17.5% ?

cud u prepare me a simple spreadsheet to show tis. let say i take a 3000 cash advance with a monthly repayment of 200, what are the monthly interests, and how many months to settle it off completely? ofcoz nt using the card for anythin else during the period.

thanks alot.
My Excel skills aren't good enough to create such a spreadsheet. But you can enter the same figures in the online calculators and get the same thing:

http://mycreditcardsolution.com/malaysia-c...est-calculator/

For reference, you can find some figures for HSBC here:

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...rd-fees-charges
charymsylyn
post Aug 30 2010, 12:34 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 30 2010, 12:15 AM)
newbie question

what does it mean by '20 days interest free period from statement date to due date'? i know if we pay in full, will be no interest. but why 20days? what if i swipe on the 23rd day? i will given interest although i pay full???? really dun understand bout this 20days thing
Reread the sentence again, 20 days from statement date. That means as long as there is no carry forward balance, interest will not be charged if statement balance is paid in full 20 days from statement date. Transactions after statement date reflects on the next period.
charymsylyn
post Sep 11 2010, 08:04 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(saqi78 @ Sep 11 2010, 06:54 AM)
Hi All
I have CIMB emaster card, my merchant is sending money into my emaster card

My question is how can I add this money to my CIMB saving account
Please help

Wrong thread. smile.gif But anyway, you cannot withdraw money for this card.
charymsylyn
post Sep 17 2010, 03:10 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 17 2010, 02:47 PM)
Don't be too surprised. Went to UOB Bank to open a Basic Savings Account but was advised to open the E-Account instead. This E-Account comes with minimum balance fee which i do not like. So i insisted on having the Basic Savings Account but they told me they usually only open this account for their existing customers such as those already have a mortgage, personal loan, bancassurance or credit card with them. They told me if i insist on opening the Basic Savings Account, they would need an approval from the branch manager. It was around CNY and they the branch manager was on leave. They told me to come back a week later which i did not.
If a bank does not want to open any Basic account, you have the right to ask for a letter stating the reason why and with the letter, you can then file a complaint with the Financial Mediation Bureau.

http://www.fmb.org.my/pc03.complaint.htm
charymsylyn
post Sep 17 2010, 03:30 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 17 2010, 03:21 PM)
Does it really work ? I think many will complain Citibank. Many of you also know that Citibank won't open an account for you unless you have an existing relationship with them (credit card, loan etc.).
This only applies to basic accounts because banks are required by BNM to open basic accounts for anyone who wants to have one. I think the bank can reject if you want to open more than one of the same type with them.

Refer here:
http://www.bankinginfo.com.my/_system/medi...ng_services.pdf

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Sep 17 2010, 03:33 PM
charymsylyn
post Sep 19 2010, 07:53 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 19 2010, 11:49 AM)
Sent mine in on 2/9/10. Approximately 5 working days later, i received a text message from them asking me to resend a clear copy of my MyKad and existing credit card. I did what they requested. Faxed them everything requested. A few days later, the status was changed back to "under processing" in the morning. However, when i checked again at night, the status was change back to "waiting for pending documents"  shakehead.gif  doh.gif  Have not received any calls or text message from them since though.
At least you got some kind of response. Emailed my application on 19/8, checked through phone a week later and status is processing until today. When I asked the phone CS said can't see anything more from their end. whistling.gif
charymsylyn
post Sep 29 2010, 10:22 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cyie @ Sep 29 2010, 03:41 PM)
For OCBC Titanium Card, I would say I received pretty good services from them after I called to ask the status of my application after a month in 'under processing' status.(This is due to unclear copy of IC)
They called to inform me that the card is approved on last Monday and will send out on Tuesday. And today I received sms saying the card is on its way to me, to call them if I havent receive the card in 7 working days. At least, I can keep in track of what's happening... :clap:
Wonder of this is the same for everyone....
No, at least not for me. 5 weeks after submitting documents, I'm still in processing status. According to their CS, my docs are OK, just the CC dept have not decided whether want to approve me or not. :w

Added on September 29, 2010, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 29 2010, 05:16 PM)
guys,

in your maybank cc statement right, do you see any interest charge if we are not settling all the balance? mine, i cannot see any ..
You can only see in the printed statement or online statement, M2U normal transactions will not show.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Sep 29 2010, 10:42 PM
charymsylyn
post Oct 3 2010, 06:16 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Oct 3 2010, 06:06 PM)
Hi everyone, I'm newbie to credit card world... Do anyone know CIMB DirectAccess Mastercard is cash rebate card or points collection card? Thanks =)
DA MC is a points card but it has certain promotions which can provide rebates.
charymsylyn
post Oct 3 2010, 06:22 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Sep 29 2010, 10:22 PM)
No, at least not for me. 5 weeks after submitting documents, I'm still in processing status. According to their CS, my docs are OK, just the CC dept have not decided whether want to approve me or not. whistling.gif
OCBC finally approved my Titanium application. Tried to call them to ask credit limit, etc but the wait on their phone reminds me of MBB. sweat.gif
charymsylyn
post Oct 5 2010, 11:55 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 5 2010, 07:29 PM)

Added on October 5, 2010, 7:32 pm
Yes, maths can be fascinating but I would prefer they tell me the formula smile.gif
The basic formula you want is at the back of your paper credit card statement. All MY banks basically use the same formula. The Wikipedia link below will give you a decent explanation.

In MY context, the most important point is that if you do not pay in full by last payment date, interest will be charged on daily compounded basis from transaction date till date of full payment. That means even if you paid e.g. 50% of your statement balance, interest will be charged AS IF YOU DID NOT PAY ANYTHING until the particular transaction has been fully settled.

If you have BT or cash advance, also note that different banks prioritise payments differently and thus interest charged might be different.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Credit_card_i..._interest_rates
charymsylyn
post Oct 6 2010, 03:31 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Oct 3 2010, 06:22 PM)
OCBC finally approved my Titanium application. Tried to call them to ask credit limit, etc but the wait on their phone reminds me of MBB. sweat.gif
Got my Titanium card today via Poslaju. Card design is not bad, impressed me as much as Amex Gold did. Credit limit for me is a bit less than CIMB but more than MBB. Will cancel MBB and Amex to save on coming GST.
charymsylyn
post Oct 9 2010, 11:12 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 9 2010, 11:09 PM)
hye, is mbf charge or credit card?
Credit card.
charymsylyn
post Oct 10 2010, 05:49 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 10 2010, 05:23 PM)
how many days it takes during 'processing your application' for ocbc titanium did u guys wait till get result?
Mine took 5 weeks after submission of documents and 3 business days after approval SMS for the card to reach my hands.
charymsylyn
post Oct 10 2010, 09:33 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(jackolantern @ Oct 10 2010, 09:03 PM)
ocbc titanium not free for life right? if i didnt met requirement for annual salary? they will look other things? like epf?
OCBC Titanium is not free for life, but with the rebate levels, 12 swipes a year isn't hard. EPF is just an indicator for income/salary. You can try to apply with a credit card with >RM7K credit limit at least a year old and see how they respond.

Added on October 10, 2010, 9:36 pm
QUOTE(LangBuanas @ Oct 10 2010, 08:34 PM)
hai...got some problem...i got my statement but had 1 transaction which i strongly believe not made by me (transaction at kota damansara, i'm at JB). hmm.gif

i contacted the bank and they send me a copy of merchant's sale receipt with my signature... rclxub.gif

oh God....i really not remember....what should i do?  shocking.gif
You can actually sign anything you want on the transaction slip, the transaction is still valid. But if they can prove that your card was used for the transaction and you didn't lose it, then you are liable for payment.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Oct 10 2010, 09:36 PM

0.0496sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:32 AM