Credit Card v11

ck3lam
post Oct 7 2010, 12:21 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Oct 7 2010, 12:11 AM)
May I ask for CC recommendation here?
Previously only using Debit Card, cause lazy to handle all the bills.
Friend keep urging me use CC because of those promo dining,shopping,rebate etc.
Any recommendation? No necessary high credit limit.
And prefer easy online banking/transfer.
You need to ask yourself what you will use most for the cc. Different lifestyle has different needs, same as cc.
Based on your description, currently OCBC Titanium offer you a lot of rebate especially on online bill payment, dining, groceries, and petrol. Find more on the OCBC website or posts in this thread.

But because of people say so, you don't just go and apply it. You must evaluate it for yourself. Remember, CC may get you into debt if you abuse it.
ck3lam
post Oct 7 2010, 09:10 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 7 2010, 03:01 PM)
IMHO use DA. Points should be 2x for overseas swipe right ? HSBC got no further advantage and OCBC Titanium ... no points.
Forex conversion all 3 banks should be very close ... difference should be rather small.

Any other folks got different opinions ?
I would think OCBC Ti for dining (5% rebate) as MCC is applicable worldwide. You may need to double confirm.
I think 2x points is only applicable for WMC or VI. R u holding those cards?
OCBC is giving you additional RM1 worth of GST waive for every RM200 spent (Assuming you spend 10k in a year). If you have reached the RM20 limit for OCBC, then you may consider the other 2 cards.

HSBC seems got some promotions if you spend on a particular merchant at taiwan. You may check the website for more details if it concerns you.

ck3lam
post Oct 7 2010, 09:22 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Oct 7 2010, 04:36 PM)
Clear card is for those youngsters' lifestyle who like to drink, chat and surf at coffee bean, hanging out at bar/club, watching movies and so on. In cantonese, we called them "Qiu yan yat zok". Then this card is for you. But the re-launch doesn't seem to have any big difference compare to previous one.

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 7 2010, 06:36 PM)
My OCBC Titanium application still pending... a week liao...
Some even took a month. So, be patient.

Added on October 7, 2010, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 7 2010, 10:49 AM)
Yes. It is very easy. Just make sure you have your TM bill because you'll need this when setting up your account online. I'm on the RM110/month Blockbuster package by the way that gives me unlimited free calls within Malaysia and unlimited free usage of internet (speed = 1mbps). Definitely much cheaper than last time  thumbup.gif  Anyway, i plan to sign up for auto-billing at TM Point later this afternoon because of the RM2/month rebate  sweat.gif
If you are studying (1st or 2nd year Uni student), I think you can get better promotions like free netbook and lower monthly charges.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 7 2010, 09:29 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 9 2010, 12:01 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Oct 8 2010, 09:09 PM)
URGENTLY NEED HELP !!!!!

TODAY MAYBANK CALL ME VERIFY WHETHER I HAVE CHARGE 3K TO MY ACCOUNT, BUT I'M NOT, IS CHARGE BY A CURIOUS IP ( INTERNET TRANSACTION ) IMMEDIATELY I BLOCK THE CARD, ANY FUTURE INSTRUCTION NEED TO DO? DO I NEED TO REPORT POLICE? AT THE SAME TIME MY CITIBANK KENA ALSO AND DO THE SAME WAY BLOCK THE CARD. I'M REALLY CURIOUS MY CARD HAS BEEN STOLEN WHEN I SUMMIT MY CIMB CARD VIA EMAIL PROVIDE BY CARD CENTER. PLS HELP !
EDIT:  I'VE NOT DO THE TRANSACTION AS WELL SINCE I JUST REACH SINGAPORE . AND CARD BELONG TO US
QUOTE(kelwin2504 @ Oct 8 2010, 10:16 PM)
After you block your card, just make police report. Once those trxn oredi confirm in your cc, you can make dispute, bank will help you do dispute due to you claimed that it is not authorized by you. Next time better be careful when submit something online. Make sure you sent it with encryption secure email. The dispute time will be ranged from 45 to 60 calendar days...
I would just like to know how sure you are Maybank is calling? Do they ask you for card and personal details in order to block the card? I remember last time there is a telephone number similar to Ambank call center where they told you that you have swipe your card for a few thousands (which of course you never did), then they said they will transfer you to Bank Negara. From the so-called fake Bank Negara, they said they need to verify your personal information. Since when someone is in panic, they may give out all the information. End up Ambank made an announcement saying that do not give your credit card/personal information to that call number as it is a fraud. The call center number only can receive calls but cannot do outgoing call.

If such case happen and you receive a call claimed to be the bank and saying you have made a fraud transaction, what would you do?
Hang up the call and call the actual call center to be safe?
What are your guys experience?

Btw yuunasue, have you ever give your last 3 digits at the back of your card to anyone before?
Or have you ever make an internet transaction using your card on a public computer or any suspicious websites before?
ck3lam
post Oct 9 2010, 10:21 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Oct 9 2010, 05:56 AM)
The bank didnt ask me any particular, just simple ask whether is have charging the transaction or not. And i've call back to card ctr double confirm is ard blocked. The transaction is not belong to us, still i need to pay? recently i have not doing internet transaction, only one thing is apply CIMB card via EMAIL by using mbb & ctb card, so i curious my detail getting stolen by CIMB staff . . Since im worikng at SG, only can report police on monday, is it too late?
You only scanned the front CC for the application right? Nowadays, using CC to apply another CC only needs the front side of the card, last time they need the back also (but I always use pen to cross the 3 digits until cannot see before passing to agent or even bank).
Is CTB bank also internet transaction?
Next time, you may consider activate 3D Secure password as well.

ck3lam
post Oct 9 2010, 10:52 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Oct 9 2010, 06:14 PM)
i been to 2 KFC restraurants for the past 2 weeks and  saw a notice that KFC is in the process in upgrading their CC system and we are not allow to use CC untul further notice. is it applicable to all KFC in Malaysia?
QUOTE(cenkudu @ Oct 9 2010, 08:31 PM)
oh maybe should keep in mind that kfc will no longer accept CC. at my place only one KFC that are 'capable' in handling CC but they also have no longer offer this service.
Mm, not much fast foods restaurant accept CC, so OCBC Ti also unable to use sad.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 9 2010, 06:22 PM)
There's proposal to do so and replace it with a limited number of CC per person; most likely 2 CC.
I guess a lot of people complain about GST charges, so gov have to come out with another plan, like the possible proposed 2cc implementation. But limit 2cc will definitely affect the bank business, bank will make noise later. As I believe CC somehow becomes a necessities, I think 8 out of 10 people are holding at least one CC for its convenience. So maybe if you hold more than 2 cards, then only GST will be charged for the additional one. Bank still can get their business, average CC holders complaints may be reduced.

Well, can this really reduce card debts? I doubt it. Holding 2cc or GST charges doesn't really solve the root problem. People can have 2cc with high CL and debts, GST can be waived by bank or points redemption.
Good education and awareness should help people prevent from getting debts or learn how to settle their debts.

Mm, just have to wait and see.

Added on October 9, 2010, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 9 2010, 10:47 PM)
Me too!
I offered a customer in queue to pay on her behalf, and she thought I was 'kurang siuman'  shakehead.gif
Kesian...the customer doesn't appreciate it. But I think the customer wants less trouble (not saying you are giving trouble), just when he/she needs to pay you back in cash and doesn't have those small money like cents.

However, if you are lending them a privilege card at the counter to get rebate, I believe they will appreciate it like Jcard for example.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 9 2010, 11:02 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 9 2010, 11:22 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 9 2010, 11:05 PM)
Lots of readers here are not too good about digesting info on GST.

Even now they think without activating card can get away with GST. And people even believe rumors of GST cancellation are to be real.
Maybe can suggest posting useful and accurate information on GST at the first page? The current thumbnail image cannot be enlarged and not much information. So people will not need to ask over and over again?

ck3lam
post Oct 9 2010, 11:54 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 9 2010, 11:24 PM)
May help but more helpful not to talk about GST for now.
NOBODY bothers to read the 1st post thus you always see lots of guys asking repeat boring questions. They will get the answer if they read the 1st post. Often their excuse is "Too lazy to read".
Well, a forum is a place for discussion and share opinion.

Btw about lazy to read, I think some people doesn't know how to use the search function. Maybe the first post can ask them to use the search results as post before posting (if their answer is not there).

Added on October 10, 2010, 12:04 am
QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 9 2010, 11:28 PM)
I can do round down anyway , based on the 10% rebate.
For example, if the bill amount (plus GST) is RM51.25, well, he can just pay me RM50.00, and I will earn my RM5.12 as rebate in the end. The higher the bill amount, the more discount I could give  biggrin.gif
Do you tell them they will get rebate when you swipe for them? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 10 2010, 09:33 AM
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 12:40 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 10 2010, 12:32 AM)
Certainly, I told them everything.
Although I wanted to offer a discount, they acted so defensively, as if I wanna con them.
Haha...if I go KFC next time and someone offer me this, I'll take it. A win-win situation are welcome.
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 09:29 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 10 2010, 02:43 AM)
General perspective of average Malaysian. They think you may want to rob them. laugh.gif
Or maybe their first thought is I do not know you, why you treat me so good. You must have other bad intention behind. hmm.gif
Or maybe the small rebate doesn't interest them if they are buying not much. yawn.gif
Or maybe they want the full rebate 10%. drool.gif

All kinds of people out there.

QUOTE(cheez @ Oct 10 2010, 02:56 AM)
Cash Rebate --- RM50CR
EON bank has renewal bonus 1% if you spent RM5k in a year.

Added on October 9, 2010, 11:27 pm
CVV number is behind the card. If you gave copies of both sides of both your cards and did not blank it out, anyone can use the info to purchase online.

Just to summarize my understanding

1) You apply for CIMB Card
2) You photocopy both sides of your MBB and Citibank card. You did not blank out the CVV nunber
3) Your MBB and Citibank card info has now been abused for online purchase.
Sometimes I just wonder why the CVV2 needs to be published at the back of the card and not mail to the cardholder. Is it because they afraid the card holder will forget about it?

I don't really feel that secure when passing credit card for making purchase at merchant as some shops will jot down your credit card number and if they just flip it, they can see the CVV2.

In my opinion, Verified by Visa and Mastercard Securecode should be a mandatory password to perform any internet transaction so fraud cases can also be reduced. So even if they saw the CVV, risk can be minimized.

Another thing will be activating sms alert if some amount of figure is being charged. Although it's not really a prevention but at least you'll get notified.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 10 2010, 10:17 AM
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 11:30 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Oct 10 2010, 10:16 AM)
Its no longer 2% but 1% as with most banks.
EON admin charges
Unless this website is outdated and the bank increase the admin fees.

Added on October 10, 2010, 11:46 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 10 2010, 11:25 AM)
The CVV number I usually put a white sticker to ensure the Cashiers don't memorise it later as some Merchant transaction have full credit card number and expiry date.

Why can't all Merchant Transaction slip printed blank out the numbers of the CC used ?
You did actually? I was thinking almost the same but instead of blank, put a fake CVV on it tongue.gif . But I didn't do it, just have this on mind.
Normally I prefer to pay at the cashier counter instead of asking the waiter (if restaurant) to come. Or follow them when they say need to go to other places to swipe (like stalls in shopping mall).
And always check whether I receive the same card (my name on it) when they return it to me. There are cases where some unethical cashier switched the card when they return it to you.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 10 2010, 12:29 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 01:37 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(EdwinTan @ Oct 10 2010, 12:54 PM)
Does anyone know which petrol station entitle for 5% cash back for OCBC titanium card? I just called the ocbc customer service and they said they don't have the list and ask me to try and see... this is what they explained to me  mad.gif
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 10 2010, 01:11 PM)
It is applicable at all petrol stations be it SHELL, PETRONAS, BHP, CALTEX/ESSO etc.
MilesAndMore is correct. But do bear in mind that buying stuff at petrol station shops like mesra are not applicable, only entitled you for 1% rebate. CS said it has different code, you can try and see if you don't believe them.
Wait for the statement comes out this month, I believe a lot of people will share their 5% rebate transaction merchants.
Some of the supermarket/restaurant are currently "suspected" for not entitled the 5% rebate.
- Jusco supermarket
- Starbucks/coffee bean or similar
- restaurant in ikea

ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 01:45 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 10 2010, 01:34 PM)
Which Credit Card issued in Malaysia offers the fastest accumulation of Singapore Airlines' krisflyer points?
The Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card I believe.
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 01:48 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(EdwinTan @ Oct 10 2010, 01:26 PM)
For the new application I have to pay the Rm50 government tax right? I heard next year there is no more this government tax, is that true? I feel abit regret to apply now...:S
You can use the search function in this forum (remember to check 'show results as post'). You'll get a lot of information.

Ok and Citibank Premiermiles right?

Not really. if you only want SA, AMEX is the best (SA purchase online: RM2=2 points, others: RM2=1point). Premiermiles needs RM3 = 1 point but give you variety of flight choices.
But do bear in mind CTB has extra promotions during signup. Compare yourself which one suit you better.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 10 2010, 01:53 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 10 2010, 11:49 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Oct 10 2010, 08:32 PM)
I used to put sticker but now I'm using liquid paper to cover the number.
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(LangBuanas @ Oct 10 2010, 08:34 PM)
hai...got some problem...i got my statement but had 1 transaction which i strongly believe not made by me (transaction at kota damansara, i'm at JB). hmm.gif

i contacted the bank and they send me a copy of merchant's sale receipt with my signature... rclxub.gif

oh God....i really not remember....what should i do?  shocking.gif
Do you know at least what that transaction is all about? By looking at the amount charges, can you recall something?
I'm just wondering how it can happen as the card is with you all the time.

Btw, some advices from me.
I think it is a good habit to always check the unbilled transaction online, so you can recall instantly since it is just a few days ago.
Activate sms alert whenever it is possible for certain amount of charges.
Activate 3D secure password for online transaction.

Added on October 11, 2010, 12:12 am
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 10 2010, 06:44 PM)
some receipt blanked out but the merchant will write down the full number on another receipt, but none of them copy the CVV
Any idea why they need to write it down? Last time I used to ask the cashier why they need to write down, they said it is for reference purpose. Huh?

I think Malaysia is not used to key in PIN number as some other countries do when making transaction at merchant. Maybe credit card needs to be redesigned, probably improved visa wave or paypass with fingerprint verification. hmm.gif So the card will never need to pass to anyone.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 11 2010, 12:12 AM
ck3lam
post Oct 11 2010, 08:36 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(CyberianHusky @ Oct 11 2010, 03:54 PM)
what i can do now is hold on till i get a clearer picture.
sometime its not for fun... when u need a card you may not know which one may get approval so applied for a few cards simultaneously. Each card MBB, CIMB that i applied took about 3 weeks to hear about the status. HSBC was silent for 2 weeks b4 they say i need to refax a clearer IC (which i rejected). If u wait for one after another, then it will be a futile waste of time to play more waiting game for each application.
searching for reliable info...
I know you think it's more efficient to apply all at the same time, but cc application is not like housing loan application where you can choose which loan you wanna take and reject the others. Once you apply, you have to pay for the GST. If it is waived, it's bank pay for you.

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Oct 11 2010, 04:21 PM)
today i report to CTB rgd my card unauthorizes transaction, their only ask me to fill up distupe form, their office will investigate, but my action faster then them, ard check the transaction with their HQ where transaction make with Apple store shipping to KL and rcv by one person name Rakmal. And just few day ago. Their can take immediate action, why waste time to check this check that. I'm the victim stand in front of them. ShXT !!  But so curious, why the scamer can use my name to registry apple ID? But he use differ email. BTW, shall i rpt to police?
Apple ID use email as the user ID to differentiate if I remember correctly, it doesn't matter what is your name and there is no IC verification. There might be hundred of people having the same name in this world.

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 11 2010, 07:20 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR, 11 OCTOBER, 2010: The imposition of the annual RM50 service tax on credit cards has brought the desired effect, with a 16 percent drop in card ownership - from 10.8 million at the end of 2009 to 9.1 million in mid-2010, the Dewan Rakyat was told today.

Drop in card ownership doesn't mean drop in debts. Debts is what concern the most, not how many cards you are holding. A bit misleading.
ck3lam
post Oct 11 2010, 08:46 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Oct 11 2010, 08:40 PM)
thinking of applying the card, then once get the Smart Tag, cancel d card lol..
There are always T&C applies, normally you need to hold the card for at least 6 to 12 months before you cancel. Otherwise you might get some penalty I guess.
ck3lam
post Oct 11 2010, 10:40 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:45 PM)
Govt not stupid,
Imagine:
9.1 million card holders in mid-2010 x Rm50 each = RM450++ million in their pocket
Only they think we are stupid. Drop in card ownership is just an excuse for them to continue with the CC GST.
But if they can use those collected money to improve on education and awareness, it will be great.
Hope they can come out with something good and really benefits the majority of Malaysian in budget 2011.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 11 2010, 11:09 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 11 2010, 11:23 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 11 2010, 09:43 PM)
Its benefit  (5% Petronas fuel rebate on the 1st day and 2% on other days) does not however appeal to OCBC Titanium cardmembers, I think.

Furthermore, "no reload fee" is not too attractive, compared to other banks' GST reimbursement.
Why the bank cannot be a bit creative like the OCBC? Since this card main focus is on touch n go, if every reload will entitled for certain percentage of rebate (not greedy, 5% haha....), I believe this card is going to be like hot cake after OCBC Ti.

However, you need to take out this card from wallet everytime you pass a toll and put it back each time. Otherwise, if you place under sunvisor or smart tag, you may forget to take it out when leaving the car once in a while. You cannot leave it in the car like normal TNG (for some people).

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 11 2010, 11:33 PM
ck3lam
post Oct 12 2010, 01:10 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 12 2010, 09:29 AM)
I have viewed the second month statement of my OCBC Titanium. All the restaurant bills (including Coffee Bean), DiGi (auto debit), hypermarket (Tesco and Giant) and petrol expenses are all given 5% rebate. Hotel bill is however given 1% cash rebate. For your information, I spent quite a lot in restaurants and lounges in a hotel in Kota Kinabalu but everything was lumped into the hotel lodging bill. Next time I should pay the bills separately.
Oh coffee bean is entitled for 5% as well. The CS is wrong again. But I remember you said starbucks before?

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 12 2010, 12:30 PM)
5% rebate for the following:
- TM bills paid at TM Point
- Some minimarket/Chinese Medicine Shop
- Indah Water Konsortium
Chinese medicine shop also can? What shop is it that it accepts CC?

Luckily OCBC allows IWK online cc payment before my due date.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0397sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:54 PM