Credit Card v11

chemistry
post Sep 7 2010, 10:19 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Sep 7 2010, 10:10 AM)
Guys,

I wanna ask. I got cc outstanding balance and the due date is 6th September. This morning only I remember and I quickly go and pay it.

I wanna ask,will I get a bad record for late paying for 1 day ? sad.gif

I was too busy until forgot to pay.
Don't worry.
There was a time I forgot payment (due date 1st of each month) until the next statement arrived (11th of each month) and stated 'LATE PAYMENT + FINANCE CHARGE'. I quickly call the customer service and plead for a reversal. They agreed! And I was so grateful.

My experience was 10days late and still I was saved. So you must not give up biggrin.gif
chemistry
post Sep 8 2010, 02:27 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(hafiz_control @ Sep 8 2010, 02:14 AM)
hi guys, am thinking of putting in a time fixed deposit in order to get myself a credit card... smile.gif

been rejected for a cc application by 3 banks already, HSBC, Citibank, SCB  cry.gif

fell to the credit card trap about 4 years ago, record has been clean ever since ( been 3 years already ), was a very tough period, but finance is very much in order now smile.gif  just got my housing loan, car loan approved recently...but no credit card ... so any particular banks to recommend? have some about 10-20k to put in as deposit...just that its very convenient to have a card around smile.gif
Go back to the bank that offered u HomeLoan and AutoFinance, maybe they can help you.
chemistry
post Sep 9 2010, 01:07 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 9 2010, 01:01 AM)
Ambank has just changed their terms and condition this month to get 20% cash back.
Just pump RM50 (Count in block) during weekends and you will get 20% cash back!
Of course there is always a cap. Max cash rebate is RM30 per month. Then switch to other card lo.

Those are not card feature but temporary promotions.
Now is September, just 3 months away from year-end.
What would you do if the bank don't wish to extend the promo?
chemistry
post Sep 12 2010, 09:31 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Sep 12 2010, 08:32 PM)
Base from all the documents at above i just got the third one which is Employment/Offer letter (fresh graduate) only.  rclxub.gif
Where did u grad from?
If you hold any qualification of the following institution, you may get a Platinum.

ACCA Malaysia Sdn Bhd (ACCA)
Actuarial Society of Malaysia (ASM)
Alumni Universiti Sains Malaysia (AUSM)
Bar Council Malaysia (BAR)
Chartered Tax Institute of Malaysia (CTIM)
Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM)
Institute of Chartered Accountants England and Wales (ICAEW)
Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM)
Malaysian Dental Association (MDA)
Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA)
Malaysian Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (MAICSA)
Malaysian Medical Association (MMA)
Persatuan Alumni Universiti Putra Malaysia (PAUPM)
The Institution of Surveyors, Malaysia (ISM)
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Alumni (UTMA)
Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia Alumni Association (UTHMa)
Institute of Internal Auditors, Malaysia (IIAM)
Malaysian Airlines Pilots Association (MAPA)
Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA)
Malaysian Institute of Human Resource Management (MIHRM)
Nutrition Society of Malaysia (NSM)
Persatuan Alumni Doktor USM (PADU)
Persatuan Alumni Universiti Malaya (PAUM)
Technological Association of Malaysia (TAM)
The Association of International Accountants (AIA)
The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, Malaysia (CILT)
The Incorporated Society of Planters (ISP)
chemistry
post Sep 14 2010, 12:17 AM

3,065 posts

My DA card is about due for GST. I asked for an upgrade from Gold to Platinum, without producing any proof of income. And the bank approved!
chemistry
post Sep 14 2010, 12:24 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Sep 14 2010, 12:18 AM)
Eligible merchants and their associated merchant category codes (“MCC”) under the OCBC Titanium Cash Rebate Programme are as follow:

5% Cash rebate on Petrol, Groceries, Utility Bills and Dining

i) Petrol/Gas Stations (MCC codes 5541 and 5542)
ii) Grocery Stores (MCC codes 5411, 5422 and 5451)
iii) Utility Bills (MCC codes 4814,s 4815, 4816,4821, 4899 and 4900)
iii) Restaurant (MCC codes 5811, 5812, 5813 and 5814
i got this from cari, what is the mcc?
izzit the merchant using the ocbc machine, then entitle for tat respective 5%?
Attached File  mcc_booklet.pdf ( 830.18k ) Number of downloads: 782

Please refer to the attached booklet.
MCC code is a numeric merchant classification code that identifies a merchant based on the type of business they conduct and the transactions they process.
chemistry
post Sep 15 2010, 01:09 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 15 2010, 12:49 PM)
i suppose except, EON bank which I do not intend to activate anywaysss smile.gif

regardless on the cash back term, I am going to fully utilise it and say bye to them and wil jz keep my DA and OCBC (which i w il soon apply)
sorry pal, you have to pay that RM50 GST once a credit card is approved, regardless of activation status.
chemistry
post Sep 15 2010, 11:46 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 15 2010, 02:00 PM)
huh, is that so?
hmm if not mistaken EON absorb also upon swipping for 3 times
if the bank is willing to absorb , then don't bother lor biggrin.gif
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 12:24 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Sep 15 2010, 11:47 PM)
if the ocbc titanium requirement is 3k per month,
but my basic is 2k + other allowance hit 3k to 4k, will my application pass?
does it really require 3 months? becoz i only have 2 months due to i'm new.
I also haven't hit 3k requirement. I used my existing cc (4 years old) to back my application.
If the application is rejected, I can only accept their decision. cry.gif
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 01:07 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Sep 16 2010, 12:48 AM)
How much is your CL of the cc that you are using for the application of the Titanium Card?
18k. Hopefully it helps.
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 01:18 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Sep 16 2010, 01:12 AM)
Should be ok bah..... What I know is to apply Titanium card, your CL must at least 6K....

Your is 18K, shouldn't be a problem bah.....

I just applied this card also yesterday. Hopefully I can get also. Since this is the most popular card nowadays...
It is popular amongst ppl who are aware of this card.
OCBC's marketing strategy really leaves a lot to be improved.
Some of my friends have not even heard of OCBC before! My Goodness.
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 12:23 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Sep 16 2010, 11:18 AM)
50 sen is acceptable la, compared to usual RM2 rate.
I too went to HLB to convert my savings acc to basic type, just wanna avoid that RM8 annual fee.
If I need to perform more than two IBG trxns in a month, I still have my CIMB Basic savings acc as backup. smile.gif
RM2 is just too expensive vmad.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 16 2010, 12:14 PM)
In terms of prestige, OCBC does not lose out to other foreign banks.
Due to low profile in Malaysia many our citizens do not realize how 'big' OCBC is. Perhaps the most they know is the number of branches in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Sep 16 2010, 12:25 PM
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 01:43 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Sep 16 2010, 01:30 PM)
merchants need to pay some amount to the bank whenever u use the card.

that why some merchants will charge u 2% / 5% on top of your purchase if you use creditcard.
FYI. According to BNM, merchants are not allowed to impose surcharge on customers who wish to pay by credit card. Please read my attachment.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1738566
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 01:56 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 16 2010, 01:45 PM)
I thought those 2% will pay to master/visa company......
Then what can earn from master/visa???

Added on September 16, 2010, 1:50 pm

But normally if u go lowyat buy computer part, they will charge u extra 2% base on the price list.
Competitions are stiff in LYplaza. Perhaps they squeeze their profit margin to the maximum in order to offer the best price.
Depends on the situation lor. If the price after adding 2% is still cheaper than other shop, then go for it.

I bet most merchants dare not to put an item "credit card surcharge" in the bill because they know they'll get penalty if customers go to complain.
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 08:16 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 16 2010, 08:11 PM)
Bank surveying the possibility of allow each person to get CC from 2 bank only.
I think most banks are now striving their best to approve as many cards as they can, before Ministry of Finance announces more stringent guidelines pertaining to cc. laugh.gif
chemistry
post Sep 17 2010, 08:09 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(rivendell @ Sep 17 2010, 07:02 PM)
For Direct Access, I noticed that they have cash rebates for weekend shopping and petrol, but both are valid till 30 Sept and 31 Dec respectively. Does this mean both are only one-time promotions? No more cash rebates after that?
I have been using DA cards for over three years. Their cash rebate programs are always in place, but the participating merchants may change from time to time.
chemistry
post Sep 17 2010, 10:05 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 17 2010, 10:01 PM)
Just realise that OCBC Titanium Cash back is based on round up/down to the nereast 5sen.

My grocery transaction was RM109.35...
Actual 5% rebate = RM5.47 (RM5.4675)
Given 5% rebate = RM5.45

Direct Access's rebate doesn't take into account of rounding up/down....
just a few cents, dont care lar biggrin.gif
5% rebate is unbeatable already.
chemistry
post Sep 18 2010, 09:44 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 18 2010, 09:31 AM)
Can we use the ocbc cc to pay those bills online?
It's sad that ocbc online banking don't allow bill payment using credit cards. The only way to earn your rebate is to make it an auto-pay.
chemistry
post Sep 18 2010, 08:21 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 18 2010, 10:05 AM)
Auto-pay need to fill up the form for different companies then send it back.
quite trouble...
Most banks have prepared an appropriate form for Autopay purpose. All utilities in one form, very convenient.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 18 2010, 10:44 AM)
you can always pay thru the merchant's website
TNB makes up the biggest portion of my expenditure, sadly TNB website does not accept credit card payment. The only way is autopay.

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 18 2010, 11:08 AM)
Is it auto pay only eligible which the biller name must same with the card holder name???
Not necessarily.

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 18 2010, 12:06 PM)
Can you briefly tell me the step to do it???
I know need to fill up the TNB autobill form, the form doesn't indicate which name to be filled.
CC holder name or biller name??
I might be wrong. I am the CC holder but I filled with biller name (not me), and things went smoothly.
chemistry
post Sep 18 2010, 09:18 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 18 2010, 08:35 PM)
If the things went smoothly, then nothing wrong loh
i suppose so.
Anyway, even though the autopay application was processed without a problem, that did not mean all things were done correctly. Because it is TNB, nothing is impossible, no mistake cannot be made.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0568sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:50 PM