126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Credit Card v11

kelvinlee1983
post Sep 16 2010, 04:45 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 16 2010, 01:56 PM)
Competitions are stiff in LYplaza. Perhaps they squeeze their profit margin to the maximum in order to offer the best price.
Depends on the situation lor. If the price after adding 2% is still cheaper than other shop, then go for it.

I bet most merchants dare not to put an item "credit card surcharge" in the bill because they know they'll get penalty if customers go to complain.
Last time, when i went to Hervey Norman to buy LCD TV which cost around RM4k.
Then staffs wish to charge me 3 % of RM4k,
At the end, i dont want to buy the LCD TV.

I am not sure, whether 3% of credit charge, should charge to customer?
Is it legal?
If we face this situation again, we should phone to bank to complaint or the shop management?
wongpeter
post Sep 16 2010, 04:57 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Sep 16 2010, 04:45 PM)

Is it legal?
If we face this situation again, we should phone to bank to complaint or the shop management?
"I am not sure, whether 3% of credit charge, should charge to customer?"
- They shouldn't charge the extra 3% to the customer. In fact they should give the customer 3% discount so as to encourage more customers to use their cc's and therefore gain more business. doh.gif

"Is it legal?"
- You need to ask a lawyer that since most of us are just laymen when it comes to legal matters. doh.gif

"If we face this situation again, we should phone to bank to complaint or the shop management?"
- But of course, not only should you phone up the bank to complain, you can also make a report to the consumer's association and if you really hate that retail outlet you can try to cause more problems for them by even making a police report! doh.gif

But wouldn't it be so much easier if you just pay cash unless you are the very contentious kind of person just all out to cause problems! doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 16 2010, 04:58 PM
kelvinlee1983
post Sep 16 2010, 06:02 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 16 2010, 04:57 PM)
"I am not sure, whether 3% of credit charge, should charge to customer?"
- They shouldn't charge the extra 3% to the customer. In fact they should give the customer 3% discount so as to encourage more customers to use their cc's and therefore gain more business. doh.gif

"Is it legal?"
- You need to ask a lawyer that since most of us are just laymen when it comes to legal matters. doh.gif

"If we face this situation again, we should phone to bank to complaint or the shop management?"
- But of course, not only should you phone up the bank to complain, you can also make a report to the consumer's association and if you really hate that retail outlet you can try to cause more problems for them by even making a police report! doh.gif

But wouldn't it be so much easier if you just pay cash unless you are the very contentious kind of person just all out to cause problems! doh.gif
To purchase some items that worth RM5k , and enjoy 0% interest for 24 months,
I think it is better pay by credit card instead of cash.

I try to ask customer service in bank and see how they reply me.
Gen-X
post Sep 16 2010, 06:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Sep 16 2010, 04:45 PM)

Is it legal?
This is news to me, I have bought many stuffs from Harvey Norman and never once had to pay any surchage for using CC or AMEX. Actually, last year I bought a RM3K+ notebook for my son using AMEX and got RM100 discount because I did not opt for the 0% interest installement scheme.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 16 2010, 06:58 PM
nujikabane
post Sep 16 2010, 07:01 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

LOL somebody mentioned to me that can apply for HSBC cc just by faxing the documents, can other forumers verify?
kons
post Sep 16 2010, 07:17 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 16 2010, 07:01 PM)
LOL somebody mentioned to me that can apply for HSBC cc just by faxing the documents, can other forumers verify?
Yeah, why not.
Especially when applying through those agents on roadshow.

Anyway, I have also applied for OCBC Titanium.. but no news from them yet.
Lis000
post Sep 16 2010, 07:38 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Sep 16 2010, 07:17 PM)
Yeah, why not.
Especially when applying through those agents on roadshow.

Anyway, I have also applied for OCBC Titanium.. but no news from them yet.
Hmm I called the the OCBC hotline last week to check on my application status for the Mastercard Titanium and it says "Card is under processing". I just tried today, and it still says the same thing.

Anyone knows what does "Card is under processing" mean actually?

wongpeter
post Sep 16 2010, 07:47 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 16 2010, 06:57 PM)
This is news to me, I have bought many stuffs from Harvey Norman and never once had to pay any surchage for using CC or AMEX. Actually, last year I bought a RM3K+ notebook for my son using AMEX  and got RM100 discount because I did not opt for the 0% interest installement scheme.
I don't know about Harvey Norman cos never patronised their outlets before. In your particular case could there have been an Amex promotion?

Except for large retail concerns like hypermarkets, supermarts etc and established businesses most smaller retailers impose a 2-3% surcharge for purchases with cc. Whilst this may not be entirely legal it has by and large been accepted by most of Malaysian society. Another case in point, how many of you can truly say they have never watched or even bought a pirated vcd or dvd? Has any of you ever tried to get a cab from Subang Parade? Do you know that cabs there don't use the meter? So is it legal? Of course not! In real life a lot of things are done for the sake of expediency not because it is 100% legal.

I am really surprised that a Malaysian can ask this question about the cc surcharge. Can he have led such a sheltered life?
Gen-X
post Sep 16 2010, 07:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Sep 16 2010, 07:38 PM)
Hmm I called the the OCBC hotline last week to check on my application status for the Mastercard Titanium and it says "Card is under processing". I just tried today, and it still says the same thing.

Means the department concerned have received your application and they are looking into it. Give them 5 to 7 working days to process your application.

I suppose things will be a bit slow last week and this week due to the Raya holidays and today is a public holiday so many people taking or clearing off their annual leave last week and this week to enjoy longer weekend.

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 16 2010, 07:01 PM)
Not sure about HSBC, you can check their website and if it is stated that you can fax your application then you can.

I know that Alliance Bank do not accept application via fax.

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 16 2010, 07:47 PM)
I don't know about Harvey Norman cos never patronised their outlets before. In your particular case could there have been an Amex promotion?

In respect of your above paragraph, not an AMEX promotion but I asked for discount and they offered me RM100 off but on condition I do not pay it under installament scheme.

I have mentioned this before several times, but I will repeat again, you can ask for discount at Harvey Norman. Not all oulets give discount but no harm asking. Besides the notebook, I have also got discount for Washing Machine and Dryer.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 16 2010, 08:01 PM
SUSMNet
post Sep 16 2010, 08:11 PM

11,954 posts

Bank surveying the possibility of allow each person to get CC from 2 bank only.
chemistry
post Sep 16 2010, 08:16 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 16 2010, 08:11 PM)
I think most banks are now striving their best to approve as many cards as they can, before Ministry of Finance announces more stringent guidelines pertaining to cc. laugh.gif
de.crystal
post Sep 16 2010, 10:50 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 16 2010, 12:14 PM)
In terms of prestige, OCBC does not lose out to other foreign banks.
haha but it doesnt seem to be the case when i asked ard tongue.gif
nujikabane
post Sep 16 2010, 11:17 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

LOL HSBC is super fast!
I did their online card application,
and after tirelessly writing all details, ad after many steps,
I was instantly let known of the result.

Here it is :

doh.gif
de.crystal
post Sep 16 2010, 11:17 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 16 2010, 12:14 PM)
In terms of prestige, OCBC does not lose out to other foreign banks.
i only know that their good in cash rebate.
apart from that, their are nothing compared to other banksss.
travelyew
post Sep 16 2010, 11:40 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 16 2010, 11:17 PM)
i only know that their good in cash rebate.
apart from that, their are nothing compared to other banksss.
Hopefully can get this card
jack2
post Sep 16 2010, 11:46 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 16 2010, 11:17 PM)
LOL HSBC is super fast!

Here it is :

doh.gif
How could it be so fast know the result? I think if it is approved, just pre-condition approved nia...
lara_
post Sep 16 2010, 11:51 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Sep 16 2010, 07:38 PM)

The message mean your card is pending approval. It could be other "unknown" reason which the CS unable to explain.
FYI, my application has been in this status since 8/20 (applied on 8/18).

I guess my application form goes to a person that took a long National Day and Raya vacation rclxms.gif .
Em... now I wonder will my application form drop under the table and nobody notice it doh.gif

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 16 2010, 08:11 PM)
I heard from radio, if this rule apply, it will only impose to those annual income less than 30K.
kons
post Sep 17 2010, 12:16 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 16 2010, 11:17 PM)
LOL HSBC is super fast!

Here it is :

doh.gif
Nah, you just quote the reference id you got there and fax in your payslip and photostat ic to them.
or you can walk in to any hsbc branch to dump the stuff there.

I encountered the same issue before, their system is too unfriendly to specify they need additional documents.
bingozero
post Sep 17 2010, 01:47 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Sep 16 2010, 01:13 PM)
Today I check my UOB cc.
They suddenly increase my credit limit from 3k to 6k
Maybe they know that i going to cancel this card while the GST due!

But, i cannot cancel this principle card, as my suppliment card,
they are currently run EPP plan, which still got 10 months to finish the installment.
How long did you holding your cc?
Mine maybank already use 1 year plus also didn't increase any limit doh.gif
Dannyl
post Sep 17 2010, 08:41 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Those cashback on first swipes (like SCB Platinum RM188), they are only applicable for new customers, correct? Means if an existing customer applies and gets the card, he will be charged RM50 GST with no cashback on first swipe?

126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:20 AM