Some electric shop like to cheat their customer?

TSPhilips_lcdtv
post Aug 18 2010, 11:27 AM, updated 16y ago

13 posts

Recently i bought a 42" LCT TV from a Electrical (Chain) Store. They quote me the price RM2950.
They said it come with a HDMI cable and a screen cleaning kit which worth about RM400/
I did not ask for discount/lower price. So i bought the LCT TV together with the cable and cleaning kit

Later i found out they have a website with all their product listed with price tag.
and the price for my LCT TV is only RM 2580.00 without HDMI cable and cleaning kit
(The different is RM2950-RM2580=RM370 )

Just wondering will a HDMI cable+screen cleaning kit cost that much (RM370) !
Am i cheated? blink.gif

Now am thinking to buy a blu-ray player but i think am not going back that store.

low98944
post Aug 18 2010, 11:39 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Philips_lcdtv @ Aug 18 2010, 11:27 AM)
Recently i bought a 42" LCT TV  from a Electrical (Chain) Store. They quote me the price RM2950.
They said it come with a HDMI cable and a screen cleaning kit which worth about RM400/
I did not ask for discount/lower price. So i bought the LCT TV together with the cable and cleaning kit

Later i found out they have a website with all their product listed with price tag.
and the price for my LCT TV is only RM 2580.00 without HDMI cable and cleaning kit

Am i cheated?  blink.gif

Now am thinking to buy a blu-ray player but i think am not going back that store.
In my opinion, Yes.
Gamatatsu0207
post Aug 18 2010, 11:40 AM

373 posts

yes you are.
ronnt88
post Aug 18 2010, 11:42 AM

2,353 posts

to be fair, it's the shop's competency to sell at higher price... making the most profit out of every sale is the seller's goal, whereas buying at lowest is consumer's goal...

sometimes sellers win, sometimes consumers..... but it'll be an ongoing battle.

I don't see it as cheating. Sorry.
kobe8byrant
post Aug 18 2010, 11:45 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

A real cheating story was when I bought a HT set from Desa HT and found out there was no warranty card inside my set meaning I was buying a returned set. I had to go through the trouble of returning the set the next day and wasn't even given a deal sweetener for my troubles.

I refuse to buy from them anymore.
genesic
post Aug 18 2010, 11:46 AM

822 posts

well, you could have ask the price without all the free gift..
so even shop around to get the average price..
be a smart consumer..
azbro
post Aug 18 2010, 12:03 PM

4,403 posts

Need to do some homework and window shopping, sometimes even shop side by side different price and different package.
darien_203
post Aug 18 2010, 12:21 PM

141 posts

Correct, we need to do survey before purchasing... Avoid to kena cheat...
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 18 2010, 12:23 PM

1,442 posts

HDMI cable and 'cleaning kit' for RM400?!

However, willing buyer and willing seller, transaction's done so nothing you can do about it. But why so protective of them, just expose the name of the chain so future potential customers will be alerted. I am sure you will feel better as well smile.gif
klimal
post Aug 18 2010, 12:26 PM

1,136 posts

Do your homework first. Then spare yourself the heartaches later
Why check their website after the purchase and not before?
You were happy with the purchase initially, so just sit back and enjoy it. Nasi dah jadi bubur.
sammm33
post Aug 18 2010, 12:26 PM

684 posts

shop is like that ... any shop also same.....

they see you noob they cheat you
gisella
post Aug 18 2010, 12:49 PM

45 posts

based on your scenario, i dont see any cheating issue involved.

cheating refers to a customer wanting to buy product A, and the shop gave the product B.

you should not compare the walk-in price and the website price.

for instance, why there is no customer complains to MPH saying that their books are more expensive than amazon?

kapultek
post Aug 18 2010, 01:09 PM

1,376 posts

thats not cheating...every shops have their own prices...
azbro
post Aug 18 2010, 01:17 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Aug 18 2010, 01:09 PM)
thats not cheating...every shops have their own prices...
Go to friends shop even worst...friend friend but potong kepala
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 18 2010, 01:35 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

cant said its cheat..............
You agreed for that price, willing to sell, willing to buy
and FYI, the units showing at their website might display unit, thats why the price lower a lot
kapultek
post Aug 18 2010, 01:56 PM

1,376 posts

Friends shop got big smiles,then tikam belakang ka..hehe
chewkl
post Aug 18 2010, 02:06 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Willing seller, willing buyer. No one pointed a gun at your head to buy from that store. So it is 100% your fault for not doing any research first.
kapultek
post Aug 18 2010, 03:06 PM

1,376 posts

Can u tell which shops
tcheepin
post Aug 18 2010, 03:25 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 18 2010, 11:42 AM)
to be fair, it's the shop's competency to sell at higher price... making the most profit out of every sale is the seller's goal, whereas buying at lowest is consumer's goal...

sometimes sellers win, sometimes consumers..... but it'll be an ongoing battle.

I don't see it as cheating. Sorry.
If the RRP is higher than it is not cheated, but if it is higher than RRP then I think the you've been cheated.

So this case. The answer is Yes
maskedchan
post Aug 18 2010, 03:47 PM

6,022 posts

cheat no..you noob yes..

mine to tell us which shop?
senq?legend?
refnulf
post Aug 18 2010, 03:52 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

A smart shopper wouldn't allow himself to be cheated. Scout around for the best prices and then make a decision. Do not go to the first shop you see and pay their asking price. Plus, when you agree to something it isn't exactly called cheating.

Even if you didn't frequent forums, etc. You could always check the prices at several other stores in the surrounding area for the best prices.
kapultek
post Aug 18 2010, 04:03 PM

1,376 posts

sometimes we got careless
chewkl
post Aug 18 2010, 04:06 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Aug 18 2010, 04:03 PM)
sometimes we got careless
Then U pay for it. tongue.gif
dannyl77
post Aug 19 2010, 11:46 AM

116 posts

I Agree everyone.... Its Not Called CHeating ... Maybe consider CUT THROAT la....

i remember seeing SENQ Selling RM 1k++ for a High End HDMI Monster cable..... I dont see them Cheating la....

Buy or Not to Buy Up to u le ... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Aug 20 2010, 02:32 PM
kevinc66
post Aug 19 2010, 12:08 PM

197 posts

How to actually define cheating. Cheating if you ask for v series and was quoted super cheap and when deliver to your house was given a U series. Shop owner insist that you purchase a U series. Well that is cheating.

If you bought a washer and was deliver and told that tha adaptor and hose not provided and need to purchase separately. That's cheating.

Price varies among all shop owners. Costing almost the same.

Kevin
azbro
post Aug 19 2010, 12:36 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Aug 18 2010, 01:56 PM)
Friends shop got big smiles,then tikam belakang ka..hehe
Cheating case...true story..all happen at friends shop.....actually countless but these are the ones I'm still mad about

1) My mom bought a fridge but when i saw inside very funny shelf one...she told me the delivery man who send it said the shelf need to buy optional!
Since the old fridge and the new one self almost same size..my mom said not to make a fuss over it ohmy.gif

2) My car aircon intermittent, worker said it was the relay, but the boss said the valve clog oledi at the filter side, , change it and service everything...not cheap to service car aircon....then become very cold now, but then it was still intermittent.
Send for second round, the fault was indeed the relay....change it, then I dunno what the worker was doing after talking to the boss...started the car, pump in more gas and said everything Ok now...indeed no more intermittent case, but seems like not as cold as the first time I send to him...I suspect he took out gas instead of adding in. Fed up oledi.

kevinc66
post Aug 19 2010, 01:02 PM

197 posts

I myself never kena before as a buyer, cos i seldom buy things...Most are purchase by my honey. But our long time contractor who does renovation and stuff are always a bit on the high side on the price. But he does provide good after sales and would retified problems that cropped up. Less headache for me.

As for electrical items,...er...just take back what i need.
azbro
post Aug 19 2010, 01:14 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Aug 19 2010, 01:02 PM)
I myself never kena before as a buyer, cos i seldom buy things...Most are purchase by my honey. But our long time contractor who does renovation and stuff are always a bit on the high side on the price. But he does provide good after sales and would retified problems that cropped up. Less headache for me.

Contractors are the worst...but as you said, its not easy to find one that comes when you call.
laughing man
post Aug 20 2010, 01:21 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Philips_lcdtv @ Aug 18 2010, 12:27 PM)
Recently i bought a 42" LCT TV  from a Electrical (Chain) Store. They quote me the price RM2950.

Am i cheated?  blink.gif

hey..brother do u know wat is cheating or not?

Lone*Wolf
post Aug 20 2010, 05:31 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Aug 19 2010, 01:02 PM)

I heard you always get the best deals when buying TVs wor ... tongue.gif
THEALB10N
post Aug 20 2010, 08:45 PM

246 posts

I've been cheated many times.

I bought a PS3 from an official sony shop that turned out to be used (it already had game data on it from before my puchase date).

I bought an incredibly expensive LCD (55"). When it was delivered it turned out to be their display model (which was selling for a few thousand less than a new one!).

Been screwed over by computer repair shops multiple times including today! They charge and charge for new parts which don't fix the original problem, yet they insist everything is fine on the PC.

Car repair shops are the worst though. They never seem to fix the original problem despite always having to change expensive parts. I've spent more on repairs for my car than it probably originally cost. Never missed a service from the official dealership too.
TSPhilips_lcdtv
post Aug 20 2010, 10:50 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Aug 18 2010, 03:06 PM)
Can u tell which shops
I don't want to reveal the shop name because am not sure whether i have been cheated by them or not.
now after i visited some other shop and compare the prices, i would said that i have not been cheated by that shop.
hmmm...i might go back to that shop again to buy blu-ray player.

dannyl77
post Aug 24 2010, 10:23 AM

116 posts

Now Not Cheated already ar.... hahahhaa....

Sometimes Price are VARY everywhere... You have to do a bit Survey to get the Best Price i would say.... No one Force u mar..

Unless like some other Forumers here said , Say something & Give u Something Else , Like say New But give u Used or Display item , or Cheat on the SPecs , etc....

Good luck bro in getting the Best deal for your BLU-RAY player..... if their Price is Good , Maybe can share with us the Shop name biggrin.gif
raymondlim
post Aug 24 2010, 04:56 PM

384 posts

try this..

http://ttpm.kpdnkk.gov.my/portal/index.php...w&id=13&lang=en
herojack41
post Aug 24 2010, 06:51 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 18 2010, 11:45 AM)
A real cheating story was when I bought a HT set from Desa HT and found out there was no warranty card inside my set meaning I was buying a returned set. I had to go through the trouble of returning the set the next day and wasn't even given a deal sweetener for my troubles.

I refuse to buy from them anymore.
blink.gif woah...this is a big big problem....u paid for a new set but given da 2nd hand set oh mai....its desa HT really so bad in after sales service? sweat.gif just bought da LCD from them not more then half year
Revamperz
post Aug 24 2010, 10:45 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

easy, just say no to impulse buying

reasearch EVERYTHING before making a purchase.

just now i entered a electric shop as i was searching for a lcd tv, when i ask for price ( unfortunately ) she notice my notes n she said " wah i kasi best price hor, i tau u sudah ade satu harge dalam tangan kan? "

my reply, " i sudah ade banyak harge dalam tangan brows.gif "

she end up giving the bestest price thus far ph34r.gif

but of course this only good for price wise.. those used/2nd stocks , very unlucky lor sad.gif

0.0245sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:32 AM