PROTON SAGA BLMCLUB V11, version eleven

Enclave Recruit
post Aug 18 2010, 11:43 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(anneysays @ Aug 18 2010, 11:25 PM)
Would just like to get some feedbacks from Saga BLM owners here..how is the performance and reliability of the car so far for as long as you have had it? Still considering btwn saga and viva for a first car. Two totally different cars but i wanna get one that is really worth the money paid. 2 major issues i have with Saga is the resale value and reliability (as you all know,proton's reputation has been pretty bad over the years although i seem to read its been improving.) So..would appreciate some feedback to help me in my decision. Thanks!
Saga BLM's performance sucks. From a standstill, the car accelerates like its hauling a giant elephant behind. A sedan this heavy should never have a 1.3 litre engine.

In regards to other aspects such as safety, space and resale value, Saga BLM obviously beats the Viva. Trust me, you wouldn't want to get in an accident driving a Viva. Its very...fragile.

Enclave Recruit
post Aug 19 2010, 12:04 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(anneysays @ Aug 18 2010, 11:53 PM)
Thanks for your feedback smile.gif Hm yeah saga is definitely better in terms of safety and space. But i thought that resale value for proton cars are not as good as perodua..even a 7-8 yr old kelisa can still fetch a 2nd hand value of nearly 20k.. and i seem to be hearing alot of issues abt the viva being very fragile too lol. but it should be of the same standard as kancil/kelisa in terms of that? Its just that..the Saga BLM is only 3.5k more than viva. So i really cant decide which one to get. but viva will consume less fuel la for sure cos of the smaller engine..
Your life is much more important and valuable so I would suggest forking out the extra 3.5K. True, the Saga's petrol consumption is higher but it provides better protection and more space for its occupants. It is also better looking car. In terms of quality, Proton has somewhat improved over the years although problems do occur occasionally (depending on your luck...Proton's QC is hit or miss affair). Resale value for Proton is not as bad as it was a decade ago. Anyway, you are only spending 40K for a car so you don't lose much compared to other marques.

P/S - Just by looking at the Viva, you can tell that it's a very fragile car.

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Aug 19 2010, 12:07 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Aug 21 2010, 10:26 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(anneysays @ Aug 21 2010, 08:34 PM)
I then got to tried the saga..the wheel,gearbox and pedal felt SUPER heavy and stiff. But the salesman said that the one i tried was one of the earliest batch and they've improved on those in the new batches dy. I didnt get to test the new batch,but he said its very light, even too light for him it seems. So,just wanna check,is this true for those of you who have just gotten the car recently? In terms of interior and comfort,Saga definitely wins hands down lol. i LOVE the meter panel btw haha. But the back manual windows and car lock arent so good..

I read alot of you here commenting abt the door noise?Is it a common issue?I forgot to check earlier during the test drive.

The heavy steering provides a better driving experience as more steering input is required from the driver. In contrast, Viva and Myvi's steering is lighter which requires less effort from the driver but it is also less fun and less involving. The door noise occurs to only some drivers not all. Depends on your luck. Yes, the meter panel is cool with the amber lighting. GO and buy the SE, even cooler brows.gif

In an unrelated subject, I just scraped my right wheel arch against a pillar cry.gif

I shed a few tears...my beautiful wife is scarred.

Is this serious guys? Only requires touch up paint right?

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Aug 21 2010, 10:29 PM
Enclave Recruit
post Aug 21 2010, 10:32 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Aug 21 2010, 10:30 PM)
how about adding skirting? time to pimp your wife.. tongue.gif
Bro, my car already have a bodykit la brows.gif

Enclave Recruit
post Sep 17 2010, 03:17 PM

329 posts

Its a city car. Not meant to be driven at 180 kph.

Doing so is suicide and nobody will show any pity when your wrecked car appears in the news.

Only consolation is that crashing in Saga at 180 will be the best (and last) driving experience you will come across.
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 19 2010, 04:45 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Sep 18 2010, 05:03 PM)
gear change in saga blm should be at least after 3k rpm. sub 2k rpm gear change is hopeless.
and due to no firewall / noise reduction material installed on saga blm, 5.5k rpm in waja / perdana is similar to the sound of 3.5k rpm on saga blm.
Gear shift in between 2.4 - 2.6K rpm is ok for me. Quite smooth.

If I rev above 3K regularly my petrol consumption will skyrocket. Its already crappy at 20 cents/km.

Enclave Recruit
post Sep 22 2010, 02:13 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 22 2010, 12:39 AM)
No matter what sure Manual more fuel saving if compared with Auto transmission bro.
Yeah but if you get stuck in a traffic jam, you will be begging to drive an automatic.

Penang drivers typically buy cars with auto transmission since the roads here are narrow and short with jams left and right. Very few chances to go above 60 kph.

Enclave Recruit
post Sep 22 2010, 06:23 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(animemy @ Sep 22 2010, 06:09 PM)
OTR RM39998, paying RM440 for 9 years hmm.gif
Ouch. The interest is gonna hurt.

If you get a big fat bonus make sure u taruh all into this loan so that u can lower the duration.
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 22 2010, 08:48 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(animemy @ Sep 22 2010, 08:38 PM)
A crazy 4.45% rclxub.gif
Damn. They are ripping u off. My loan with RHB is only 3.5% (circa October 2009).

If you are taking 9 years, you should receive less not more...
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 22 2010, 11:30 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 22 2010, 08:58 PM)
9 years of course higher rate la, who told u lower one? and ur is Oct last year, didm't u know the interest rate adi raised? doh.gif
Oh yaka. My bad then.

Interest rate rise so much in a year. Hurts like a !@#$%
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 23 2010, 12:22 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Sep 22 2010, 11:22 PM)
Hi guys, i have something to share, somebody said to me,
"wahh your aircond cold lah, i believe becoz the car is so small", is our car that small compared to other sedans ?
Nah I disagree. Its the aircon. Saga's aircon is really cold.

I've sat in the Viva which is smaller but its aircon wasn't as cold as the BLM's.
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 26 2010, 05:33 PM

329 posts

Lately, there has been many accidents involving the new Saga. Very disturbing indeed.

Enclave Recruit
post Sep 26 2010, 05:45 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Sep 26 2010, 05:35 PM)
NOT only New SAGA,
Have also VIOS, New HONDA CITY and many more
U all can visit www.ondscene.my

Those picture will remind u to drive safely
Turkish student lucky to be alive (albeit seriously injured). Car destined to be pulverized at the scrapyard.

That totaled Saga looks like a snake wrapped around a lamp post. Looks like a B-Line with no airbag.
Enclave Recruit
post Sep 27 2010, 05:29 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 27 2010, 03:12 AM)
Bro, notice that you always posting this kinda accidents.. reminds us to drive safe, very kind of you notworthy.gif

Read this post... Honda City front tayar pecah... fatal accident.. sigh sad.gif

http://ondscene.my/kemalangan/pemandu-maut...eta-rempuh-lori
He is only posting pictures of wrecked cars. If you want a good reality check, search for more graphic pictures (mangled corpses with MAXIMUM BLOOD). That will scare the shit outta anyone.
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 2 2010, 01:40 AM

329 posts

You just bought the most beautiful car Proton has ever produced. Good for you.

I'm bias I know tongue.gif
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 9 2010, 05:01 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Oct 9 2010, 04:56 PM)
oic.. so, have any of u guys here had installed light bulb there, quite challenging for first time driver driving the car at night  doh.gif
Not really for those with automatic transmission, there's an indicator at the center of the speedometer.

What I find really troublesome is the lack of a key ring light as it is difficult to insert the key into the ignition at night.
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 9 2010, 10:07 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(dagreatdzul @ Oct 9 2010, 09:43 PM)
manual or auto bro??
i guess u must be driving under 3k rpm when that blinking rite?huhu
sweat.gif  sweat.gif

i never reached 45km worr..
20km i ad worried like mad...lol biggrin.gif
The fuel indicator will usually illuminate very early (roughly around 1/3 of the last fuel bar utilized). In other words, you still have 2/3 of fuel left. Do not worry.

Personally, I still prefer a proper FUEL GAUGE as it gives a better indication of how much fuel is available rather than a lousy paranoid electronic fuel bar. Cost-cutting is a b**** ain't it.
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 14 2010, 01:00 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Oct 14 2010, 12:49 AM)
d.) Our ICE unit is considered the above average sound system compared to Myvi's cap ayam sound system. =)

Yeah this is true. The speakers are impressive. Bass is good whereas treble is...not so good. If you are not an audiophile, u will probably be satisfied with it.

Probably need to upgrade to an mp3 player if u are driving a b or m-line.

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 14 2010, 01:03 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 26 2010, 12:13 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Oct 25 2010, 10:06 PM)
After today accident, believe blm consider is a tough car. notworthy.gif
Around 4pm, one the way going home, 1 kancil bang me from behind when approaching traffic light. My car just scratch abit and kiss mark from the kancil front bumper (just need polish then the scratch and kiss mark will be gone), but the kancil front part, plate number break into half, bonnet bengkok abit. doh.gif
Yes. Saga is a tough car. It is after all an elongated version of the Savvy.

Enclave Recruit
post Nov 12 2010, 11:34 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Nov 11 2010, 10:34 PM)
If you don't mind and if it's convenient, you can start the car and leave it idling for awhile.
And while you are at it, you can also rev a bit brows.gif

0.0221sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:01 PM