Fitness Dumbbell for 15 years old? is it safe?, give an opinion

faceless
post Aug 20 2010, 11:44 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I came here to ask if body building at a young age stunts growth. It seems we have diferring opinions here sad.gif
QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Aug 18 2010, 04:33 AM)
HOWEVER if the person is below 13 years of age... heavy weight lifting can cause the growth plates in ur bones to close early... causing this "stunted growth".
QUOTE(harris92 @ Aug 18 2010, 11:27 PM)
I started bodybuilding 2 years ago (not so intensive), and still managed to grow a lot. It's just a myth, that bodybuilding stunts your growth.
Any experts can comment on Nelson's expereince. I know is just one person experience perhaps it is an exception since there are differince opinion on stunted growth.
QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Aug 17 2010, 10:30 PM)
DONT GET TOO EXTREME WITH DUMB BELL.
UNTILL YOUR BACKBONE IS FULLY HARDEN THEN ONLY START WITH DUMB BELL.
WITH THE PRESSURE DOWNWARDS, UR SPINE WILL BENGKOK LIKE SOTONG if u dont know how to use it.

i started off during my F4. now i realise my back gt abit senget d.
cuz the dumbell pressure force it down your spine.
so lambat laun it senget.
harris92
post Aug 20 2010, 05:04 PM

-
536 posts

Try reading this, might clarify things further.

http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/c...trics;121/4/835
iamyuanwu
post Aug 20 2010, 05:21 PM

2,425 posts

I don't see a problem with starting weight training young.

The purpose of doing weight training is to stimulate growth.
How is it that weight training can stunt growth when it stimulates more growth hormones to promote growth?
If you're still in puberty, it's highly likely that with weight training, you will grow taller.

This is all true provided that you don't injure yourself, and you increase weight in a well planned manner.

This will stunt your growth:
You weigh 60kg and have never lifted anything besides your school bag. Then the 1st time you go to the gym, you tried deadlifting 120kg.
POP! You heard a pop in your back. Oops, you probably injured your back. And you're in and out of the hospital and in constant pain. <--- So, how to grow taller like this?
-Dan
post Aug 20 2010, 06:42 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 20 2010, 05:21 PM)
I don't see a problem with starting weight training young.

The purpose of doing weight training is to stimulate growth.
How is it that weight training can stunt growth when it stimulates more growth hormones to promote growth?
If you're still in puberty, it's highly likely that with weight training, you will grow taller.

This is all true provided that you don't injure yourself, and you increase weight in a well planned manner.

This will stunt your growth:
You weigh 60kg and have never lifted anything besides your school bag. Then the 1st time you go to the gym, you tried deadlifting 120kg.=
POP! You heard a pop in your back. Oops, you probably injured your back. And you're in and out of the hospital and in constant pain.
<--- So, how to grow taller like this?
Oh, so painfully true. unsure.gif

Anyway, like yuanwu said, unless you go fling around weights too heavy for you to handle with shitty form, weightlifting is good for you.
pinkdalmation
post Aug 20 2010, 10:17 PM

229 posts

i think it shouldnt be a problem, as long as you start out slow and build it up from there

when i was training my coach only stopped the under-12 kids from doing weights .. so i guess at 15 you'd be allright
LadyVanity
post Aug 21 2010, 02:08 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 20 2010, 11:44 AM)
I came here to ask if body building at a young age stunts growth. It seems we have diferring opinions here sad.gif
Any experts can comment on Nelson's expereince. I know is just one person experience perhaps it is an exception since there are differince opinion on stunted growth.
i said below 13.
since you are 15 you should be fine. Arnold and Lou Ferrigno began lifting at about age 14 and they both are over 6 feet tall!
im sorry if i didnt give a good explaination/elaboration about the fusion of growth plates. this happens when the young athlete is repetitively training at max weight (1RM) over a long period of time. Also... more significantly than the weight training itself... premature steroid use is more responsible for stunted growth and closure of growth plates (excessive [foreign]testosterone levels in teens will halt the growing process and cause growth plates to fuse early), and i believe that this is the main reason why bodybuilding was given a bad rep fo stunting growth. steroid abuse was the larger reason behind it but people had to blame the sport and training instead.

fyi... running and jumping and sports like football and basketball puts stress and force on your joints as well, and believe it or not these sports can be MORE detrimental to children and teens compared to weightlifting or bodybuilding. (check out my 4th link at the bottom) Compression forces in running and jumping can exceed 5 times your bodyweight. So you tell me how it that "better" than weightlifting? You're not gonna squat 5 times ur bodyweight, are you? smile.gif

and yuan has a very good point too. at a young age is very easy to become over-enthusiastic and want to show off a little... overestimating yourself and resulting in injuries.

here are a few articles that may help clear any further Qs you might have. please do take the time to read them in detail, and i hope you find them beneficial.

http://bodybuilding.about.com/od/bodybuild...stuntgrowth.htm
http://www.scoobysworkshop.com/MythStuntGrowth.htm
http://www.teenbodybuilding.com/derek42.htm
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/hale4.htm

In my third link.... it is mentioned that children as young as six years old can safely participate in strength training programs (Washington, 2001). BUT sound follow a sensible training program, and NOT the "no pain no gain" regime we are so accustomed to performing.... and should also NEVER perform 1RM lifts.

i hope this helps

This post has been edited by LadyVanity: Aug 21 2010, 02:11 PM
SUSmato89
post Aug 22 2010, 04:49 PM

342 posts

nothing wrong... i went to gym when i was 15yrs old, form3 too.... no problem at all... just don't give up easily lol...
ijnek
post Aug 23 2010, 04:19 PM

566 posts

thx for the info.
gain more knowledge...

tat explains the doubt i hv when i c the young weight lifter from China...cos the growth in her body got stunted and affected...
when it comes to sports, china quite extreme and training often begins when the kid is still very young...
LadyVanity
post Aug 24 2010, 12:13 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Aug 17 2010, 10:30 PM)
FIRST.

DONT GET TOO EXTREME WITH DUMB BELL.

UNTILL YOUR BACKBONE IS FULLY HARDEN THEN ONLY START WITH DUMB BELL.

WITH THE PRESSURE DOWNWARDS, UR SPINE WILL BENGKOK LIKE SOTONG if u dont know how to use it.

i started off during my F4. now i realise my back gt abit senget d.
cuz the dumbell pressure force it down your spine.
so lambat laun it senget.
im sorry i didnt see this.

i can relate to your condition... i have a mild case of functional scoliosis (abnormal curvature of the spine) and my posture when i sit relaxed is also somewhat slouched sideways or senget.

BUT i was diagnosed only very recently, less than a year ago. i began lifting at age 15 (form 3) and had no problems back then. before being so quick to blame weight training... maybe you should look back on your everyday life and assess what else could've caused the curved spine? my case - i've used slingbags and carry my backpack, handbags and gym bags (heavy ones) with only one shoulder for many years. i also have a habit of standing somewhat "senget" with one shoulder pushed behind. so this is very likely to be the main cause behind my bent spine. NOT weight training. many people have this but do not realise it until much later. scoliosis can also occur from birth.

other than the imbalance and occasional difficulties in training (one side weaker than the other) there is no extreme pain or discomfort... and no obvious physical abnormality.

as a matter of fact weight training can help with the correction of a bent spine, when done carefully smile.gif

i think what you REALLY should be worried about concerning your back and spine with weight training is a herniated disk or slipped disk. its one of the commonest injuriesamong bodybuilders.... but can easily be avoided by training smart and incorporating strict form and technique

iamyuanwu
post Aug 24 2010, 12:39 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Aug 23 2010, 04:19 PM)
thx for the info.
gain more knowledge...

tat explains the doubt i hv when i c the young weight lifter from China...cos the growth in her body got stunted and affected...
when it comes to sports, china quite extreme and training often begins when the kid is still very young...
LOL! Stunted konon.
Stand next to them, and you'll know there are not short or stunted in anyway. They are just so muscular with a thick torso, it looks stunted on photos only.

It's an optical illusion.
ijnek
post Aug 24 2010, 10:15 AM

566 posts

illusion?
when i watched on tv she stands nex to the other lifters or coaches or other ppl, her body as a whole got weird ratio...sorry...
i admired her for the determination and guts to go for glory...

LadyVanity:
i think i hv a similar problem...i also like to use sling bags and can even carry very heavy stuffs on 1 side, resultin in some un-desirable resultsn poor posture...
my wife always comment that when i stand straight, my top body is always in a in a somewhat forward position...
imagine the a person stand straight, the torso from legs to head is flat at 180 degrees, i'm somewhat like 170 degrees leaning forward...
i hv not seen a doc yet or anything like tat...not tat it bothers me, jus tat i dun know where to seek help from...
LadyVanity
post Aug 24 2010, 11:06 AM

249 posts

you could see a doctor or chiropractor, if you're really concerned about scoliosis. you can even have a brace made for you to correct the condition, but in my opinion if theres no discomfort or pain you're fine. if it doesnt bother you, you dont have any severe weakness, walking/sleeping abnormalities or difficulties, fine.

im not seeking any medical or proffesional treatment for mine apart from the deep tissue i go for every 2 weeks. my scoliosis is in the upper back - neck area so apart from some soreness and stiffness from time to time it doesnt bother me. i train the same way too, except for the occasional extra set for my weaker side... and i consciously try to make myself sit straight all the time... i get up to stretch when ive been at the pc for long... straighten my body every now and then whn i drive (tend to sit senget).... etc

try to switch your bag around to the other side... or get a backpack and use BOTH straps

ijnek
post Aug 24 2010, 11:24 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Aug 24 2010, 11:06 AM)
you could see a doctor or chiropractor, if you're really concerned about scoliosis. you can even have a brace made for you to correct the condition, but in my opinion if theres no discomfort or pain you're fine. if it doesnt bother you, you dont have any severe weakness, walking/sleeping abnormalities or difficulties, fine. 

im not seeking any medical or proffesional treatment for mine apart from the deep tissue i go for every 2 weeks. my scoliosis is in the upper back - neck area so apart from some soreness and stiffness from time to time it doesnt bother me. i train the same way too, except for the occasional extra set for my weaker side... and i consciously try to make myself sit straight all the time... i get up to stretch when ive been at the pc for long... straighten my body every now and then whn i drive (tend to sit senget).... etc

try to switch your bag around to the other side... or get a backpack and use BOTH straps
thanx...
i also try to stretch and made myself stand 'straight'...but the thing is my straight is leaning forward...it would be odd to stand against the wall in the office, but i think i can try doing tat in the toilet...

it doesn't bother me, but jus a nugging concern...i also work 1 set more on the weaker part...
but it's odd, like a weak right trap and a weak left lats, as in how u sling the bag across ur body...

switched to using a backpack now n carry with both straps.

thx for ur info.appreciate it
Damien?(:
post Aug 25 2010, 07:01 PM

201 posts

wy not? im 15 this year and already benching and lifting
madhex
post Sep 4 2010, 01:46 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Aug 24 2010, 11:24 AM)
thanx...
i also try to stretch and made myself stand 'straight'...but the thing is my straight is leaning forward...it would be odd to stand against the wall in the office, but i think  i can try doing tat in the toilet...

it doesn't bother me, but jus a nugging concern...i also work 1 set more on the weaker part...
but it's odd, like a weak right trap and a weak left lats, as in how u sling the bag across ur body...

switched to using a backpack now n carry with both straps.

thx for ur info.appreciate it
hey. regarding this matter. would like to ask for some advice. i lift weights as well however i have slight pains on ma lower bac from time to time. im afraid it might be an injury, is there any treatment that i can seek for a smaller fee? im self dependent. lol
LadyVanity
post Sep 4 2010, 03:05 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(madhex @ Sep 4 2010, 01:46 PM)
hey. regarding this matter. would like to ask for some advice. i lift weights as well however i have slight pains on ma lower bac from time to time. im afraid it might be an injury, is there any treatment that i can seek for a smaller fee? im self dependent. lol
how often do u hv these pains? r they more of muscular aches that happen after training? sometimes laying off for a little while and having some plain old R&R helps

hey i understand ur predicament. im on a low budget too but sometimes u just need to spend that lil extra for the sake of ur body and taking care of it. i learned the hard way. now whn it comes to rehab n therapy i dont stinge on it. if u suspect u hv an injury, get it checked out and take good care of it.
david890701
post Sep 4 2010, 03:23 PM

-
3,152 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Aug 24 2010, 10:15 AM)
illusion?
when i watched on tv she stands nex to the other lifters or coaches or other ppl, her body as a whole got weird ratio...sorry...
i admired her for the determination and guts to go for glory...

LadyVanity:
i think i hv a similar problem...i also like to use sling bags and can even carry very heavy stuffs on 1 side, resultin in some un-desirable resultsn poor posture...
my wife always comment that when i stand straight, my top body is always in a in a somewhat forward position...
imagine the a person stand straight, the torso from legs to head is flat at 180 degrees, i'm somewhat like 170 degrees leaning forward...
i hv not seen a doc yet or anything like tat...not tat it bothers me, jus tat i dun know where to seek help from...
weightlifting is about lifting the weight from point A to point B. Common sense tells me that people whom are shorter have better advantages in this sport.
jakal sombong
post Sep 4 2010, 03:30 PM

A fool's brain digests philosophy into folly
880 posts

i went to gym since form 4

for me no problem what so eva , as long as you do it the correct way
meaning with good motion / rhythm / posture

btw if you want to burn fat ---cardio activities is the best

if you want a 6 pack ---- make sure ur body fat is below 25%
everyone has a 6pack----- but on flubby tummy it doesnt show with all that FAT.

sit up is just for toning it.... giving it more strength N bulk
btw if youre young make sure u sit up the correct way.
if u do it wrong ur abs will look ugly/weird/not symmetrical

the most important thing is to enjoy your workouts

nothing feels better than a great body!
madhex
post Sep 4 2010, 04:00 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Sep 4 2010, 03:05 PM)
how often do u hv these pains? r they more of muscular aches that happen after training? sometimes laying off for a little while and having some plain old R&R helps

hey i understand ur predicament. im on a low budget too but sometimes u just need to spend that lil extra for the sake of ur body and taking care of it. i learned the hard way. now whn it comes to rehab n therapy i dont stinge on it. if u suspect u hv an injury, get it checked out and take good care of it.
hey thanks for the quick advice. yea i gues i dont mind spending but i need to know where. i live in klang valley. well it recovers when i stop working out but wheneve i try to lift, well not all the time, but sometimes i feel the pain. any specialist anywher?
david890701
post Sep 4 2010, 06:11 PM

-
3,152 posts

QUOTE(jakal sombong @ Sep 4 2010, 03:30 PM)
i went to gym since form 4

for me no problem what so eva , as long as you do it the correct way
meaning with good motion / rhythm / posture

btw if you want to burn fat ---cardio activities is the best

if you want a 6 pack ---- make sure ur body fat is below 25%
everyone has a 6pack----- but on flubby tummy it doesnt show with all that FAT.

sit up is just for toning it.... giving it more strength N bulk
btw if youre young make sure u sit up the correct way.
if u do it wrong ur abs will look ugly/weird/not symmetrical

the most important thing is to enjoy your workouts

nothing feels better than a great body!
no, u cant see any packs with 25 %bf

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1729sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:59 AM