Few questions from a new comer!

TSMarximos
post Aug 17 2010, 06:59 PM, updated 16y ago

Hello there fellow players!

I'll be flying to Malaysia within the next month or so for study and that kinda thing.. boring stuff I'd say.. but anyways!

The thing is, I play the EU version of WoW, so I was wondering about the latency in Malaysia for WoW EU, and if there is any way to reduce the latency or not.

Another thing is, whats the best ISP in terms of low latency and high download/upload rate etc.. that kinda thing, don't wanna get stuck with some funky ISP with poor routing skillz.

Last but by no means least, if the EU pings tend to go through the roof, whats the situation regarding the US version of it, latency-wise.

Appreciate the effort, and thanx
Jas2davir
post Aug 17 2010, 07:29 PM

461 posts

brah only 1 isp here that can play wow which is tm net and its shit ping to us is normally 800-2000ms ping you need tunneling to even connect some days.
Instant_noodle
post Aug 17 2010, 07:40 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Aug 17 2010, 07:29 PM)
brah only 1 iron fist isp here that can play wow which is tm nut and its utterly shit ping to us is normally  800-2000ms ping you need tunneling to even connect some days.

fixed for greater accuracy
TSMarximos
post Aug 17 2010, 07:45 PM

brah only 1 isp here that can play wow which is tm net and its shit ping to us is normally  800-2000ms ping you need tunneling to even connect some days.
/Heartattack
/drop dead...

This is for EU Tunnel-Free correct?

If so, how much performance increase will the tunneling give.. aka.. how much will tunneling shave off..

Also, whats the status for the US version, Oceanic to be exact, you know.. timezone thingys..

Added on August 17, 2010, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 17 2010, 07:40 PM)
fixed for greater accuracy
That bad eh.. I have noticed through my web-surfing that there is a "Sign" of Fibre Optic being provided.. is that still newly-born or what?...

This post has been edited by Marximos: Aug 17 2010, 07:48 PM
Jas2davir
post Aug 17 2010, 08:06 PM

461 posts

well tunneling reduces about 400-500ms ping and this is to us servers
Imbecile
post Aug 17 2010, 08:45 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Marximos @ Aug 17 2010, 07:45 PM)
That bad eh.. I have noticed through my web-surfing that there is a "Sign" of Fibre Optic being provided.. is that still newly-born or what?...
you mean this high speed broadband?
http://www.unifi.my/ <---?
newly-born
i don't use it(actually i can't, not in cover range).
but from my point of view, it just the isp propaganda.
they are much like blizzard, "soon",
one of our minister once said, "our isp is fine, L2surf"

or i have too much coffee today...

and welcome to Malaysia smile.gif have a nice day. and raining season come soon.
TSMarximos
post Aug 17 2010, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Aug 17 2010, 08:06 PM)
well tunneling reduces about 400-500ms ping and this is to us servers
Damn.. that bad eh..

Well, is there a specific tunneling service that is more reliable.. or everything is one and the same?

Added on August 17, 2010, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(Imbecile @ Aug 17 2010, 08:45 PM)
you mean this high speed broadband?
http://www.unifi.my/  <---?
newly-born
i don't use it(actually i can't, not in cover range).
but from my point of view, it just the isp propaganda.
they are much like blizzard, "soon",
one of our minister once said, "our isp is fine, L2surf"

or i have too much coffee today...
and welcome to Malaysia smile.gif have a nice day. and raining season come soon.
Cheers dude!

Just for the record.. I nearly facepalmed on that minister comment..

So the bottom line is.. on US realms.. the ms is about 500ish or so..
EU on the other hand is super duper messed up right?

This post has been edited by Marximos: Aug 17 2010, 08:57 PM
Jas2davir
post Aug 17 2010, 09:07 PM

461 posts

should be
Imbecile
post Aug 17 2010, 10:37 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Marximos @ Aug 17 2010, 08:52 PM)
Cheers dude!

Just for the record.. I nearly facepalmed on that minister comment..

nearly?
you ain't see nothing yet...

WARNING TO ALL UNIFI USERS, Threat warning, read inside (Unifi)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1439287
Jas2davir
post Aug 17 2010, 11:32 PM

461 posts

brah you should leave malaysia as soon as you can if you have
1.self respect
2.human rights
3.love for fast internet connection which does not interrupt because a plankton swam past cables undersea
babyking88
post Aug 18 2010, 01:28 PM

Hi Marximos, i am playing wow without using any tunneling service. My ping was 400-500 ms. PVP , dungeon and do quest no probelm at all , biggrin.gif however i never go 10 man dungeon , duno will lag not sweat.gif (I using stremyx 1MB laugh.gif )
Jas2davir
post Aug 18 2010, 03:03 PM

461 posts

ill tell you what will happen babyking well RARELY you wil not dc but sometimes spike a little but when tmballs want to pray a game with you, you will dc,lag,and freeze more then your willing to admit
nders
post Aug 18 2010, 03:04 PM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

QUOTE(babyking88 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:28 PM)
Hi Marximos, i am playing wow without using any tunneling service. My ping was 400-500 ms. PVP , dungeon and do quest no probelm at all ,    biggrin.gif  however i never go 10 man dungeon , duno will lag not  sweat.gif  (I using stremyx 1MB laugh.gif )
are u any minister's son? blush.gif

tunneling services will reduce EU ping to almost the same as US (300~500) according to most tunnel service providers.
babyking88
post Aug 18 2010, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Aug 18 2010, 03:03 PM)
ill tell you what will happen babyking well RARELY you wil not dc but sometimes spike a little but when tmballs want to pray a game with you, you will dc,lag,and freeze more then your willing to admit
Do you mean when 10 man dungeon will very lag?

Added on August 18, 2010, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(nders @ Aug 18 2010, 03:04 PM)
are u any minister's son?  blush.gif

tunneling services will reduce EU ping to almost the same as US (300~500) according to most tunnel service providers.
Well i 'm not any minister's son sweat.gif . But its true my ping normally was around 400-500, sometime will increase to red ping la. Hmm.. i forgot mention i am playing US server. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by babyking88: Aug 18 2010, 05:48 PM
Instant_noodle
post Aug 18 2010, 07:35 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(babyking88 @ Aug 18 2010, 05:42 PM)
Do you mean when 10 man dungeon will very lag?

Added on August 18, 2010, 5:48 pm
Well i 'm not any minister's son sweat.gif . But its true my ping normally was around 400-500, sometime will increase to red ping la. Hmm.. i forgot mention i am playing US server.  tongue.gif

10 men should be fine, since dumb peeps started to act smart and jump onto the united-failing wagon leaving more rooms to sustain heavier package

i had few rounds of 10 men with few guildies whose oso LYN members, but the only thing i hate was one of them keeps complaining about, 'awh man, 5yo can out dps u!!!', 'u suxx at dps u know that?', 'that number is more than enuf to hang urself' during the raid...
Imbecile
post Aug 18 2010, 07:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Aug 17 2010, 11:32 PM)
brah you should leave malaysia as soon as you can if you have
1.self respect
2.human rights
3.love for fast internet connection which does not interrupt because a plankton swam past cables undersea
move out of malaysia, i'll face new unfamilier problem,
might as well endure here.
adn hope
Jas2davir
post Aug 18 2010, 08:06 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Imbecile @ Aug 18 2010, 07:40 PM)
move out of malaysia, i'll face new unfamilier problem,
might as well endure here.
adn hope
yea moving from malaysia to sg/aust will give you unfamiliar to things like human rights :| shit mang thats hard to adopt to
LengluihunteR
post Aug 23 2010, 05:51 PM

235 posts

brah only 1 isp here that can play wow which is tm net and its shit ping to us is normally  800-2000ms ping you need tunneling to even connect some days.
that's sad. I get 300-500 all the time without a tunneling service when I was still in Msia.
Jas2davir
post Aug 23 2010, 06:28 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Aug 23 2010, 05:51 PM)
that's sad. I get 300-500 all the time without a tunneling service when I was still in Msia.
about 2-3 years ago the ping is still bearable now its just suicide
Peterbigeyes
post Aug 23 2010, 06:59 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Aug 23 2010, 06:28 PM)
about 2-3 years ago the ping is still bearable now its just suicide
Totally agree on this. There are even times when my loading bar is complete but I see the login page with a "You have been disconnected" message.

0.0203sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:40 PM