CSL MI700 Tablet, Android 2.2 Froyo

anakrantau
post Oct 11 2010, 08:13 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Oct 10 2010, 07:43 PM)
So can it play flash files or not? Dis is so confusing
not fully support flash 10.1 because I cant browser normal youtube site.

anyone where manage to play flv file? what program should I use?

anakrantau
post Oct 11 2010, 03:59 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(azweeda @ Oct 11 2010, 01:11 PM)
just bought it yesterday... quite okay for tablet from CSL. on android froyo 2.2.
im enjoying it for rm1599
we are on the same boat..I also bought it yesterday.
but I though you swap the Spice with your Galaxy S smile.gif

anyway do you know any good in-car 7" tablet holder?

anakrantau
post Oct 11 2010, 05:08 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Oct 11 2010, 04:48 PM)
It seems that power charging driven from the car power outlet insufficient to fully charged the Spice. The GPS uses power way faster than charging.

Not recommended to use it as full-time dedicated GPS as the unit will be very hot.
ok noted that.
but I still need to have them used when driving, gps is one thing, but I am planning to play some video/media or even a video calls whenever its possible biggrin.gif
anakrantau
post Oct 12 2010, 02:47 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:16 PM)
That car charger in the Droidpad package is not the correct car charger. Before this  I am using the same charger in my car for another handphone bought for RM 10/- and it is for charging batteries of not more than 500 mha. The Droidpad battery is more than 4300 mha how to charge with such a low capacity charger.

Either CSL or the dealer has pull a fast one on to customers like us, real cheap sakes. If u want to charge in the car then it is advisable to purchase a proper charger to match the high capacity of the the Droidpad battery.
I think their engineer or R&D unit have their own study before releasing them.
The car charger may not enuf to fully charge but it can make the tablet keep alive with the supply of the current.
I my self not going to make the table permanent in car, just that whenever I go out driving like 1 to 2 hours, I may attach the tablet and use them for media entertainment or following online news/feed or even followup/listen to video/audio guide or something smile.gif

anyway I did notice there are little hole on upper left and right side of the panel. seem like to hanging with something?
anakrantau
post Oct 13 2010, 02:56 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Oct 12 2010, 09:39 PM)
Sorry I did not ask about the yearly subscription of Mapking. All I know is that you can keep using it if you do not want the new updated map.

Added on October 12, 2010, 9:42 pmGot good news for those who want to maximize the use of the Droidpad by rooting it. Here is the link  http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=793071
that is a good news.
here are a good guide from the same ts of that forum thread :
http://erlern.wordpress.com/2010/10/12/roo...d-simple-steps/
anakrantau
post Oct 13 2010, 04:50 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(vckc4ever @ Oct 13 2010, 03:55 PM)
Hehehe...not so active, due to I don't really go online that often and opened this thread last time, due to curious about "our" local brand CSL having their own tablet.

Glad that at least this thread..have regular update and feedback for all of us to share, compare and discuss about MI700..

Thanks to all and keep in up.  thumbup.gif
Cheers !
Vince
rclxms.gif
do not forget to put the root guide at least the link (http://erlern.wordpress.com/2010/10/12/rooting-mi700-droidpad-simple-steps/) at the 1st page.
anakrantau
post Oct 14 2010, 12:43 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(vckc4ever @ Oct 13 2010, 05:19 PM)
Ok bro. will do so..
Thanks !
Vince

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Oct 13 2010, 08:00 PM)
After some struggle and help from Erlern and Abasir, finally got my Droidpad rooted. The rooting was easy but steps 5, 6 & 7 using dos in the command prompt was the tough part as I don't use dos just windows, u know click click click only. Scrolling, pinch & zoom and some application are smoother less jerky now. Hopefully can help prolong my battery life. Now learning how to use Move2sd, maybe some sifu can help to free some phone memory.

Today went to LowYat and bought a proper car charger outputting at 2A @ 5 volts. Very satisfied with the performance as battery indicator shows increase battery % instead of decreasing % using the pre-package charger. It is a china clone made for Black Berry phones costing only RM 30/- only. Now I don't have to worry about battery life while on the move. Life is wonderful again.
Seem like we all need to buy those 3rd party adaptor for in-car usage..Thanks for the tips.
but do you have any suggestion on the tablet holder in a car?
anakrantau
post Oct 14 2010, 08:45 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(mydear @ Oct 14 2010, 07:39 AM)
Yes mapking useless now cant run on my mi700 tablet better used papago but small screen
why mapking useless?
I manage to use them right away after purchasing the MI700 at Sunway. I use mapking on the way back to my home at klang. Use the Way Point with voice guide and it did help the navigation way back to my house.
That is the 1s time I use android tablet and mapking. smile.gif
anakrantau
post Oct 15 2010, 10:16 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Oct 13 2010, 08:00 PM)
After some struggle and help from Erlern and Abasir, finally got my Droidpad rooted. The rooting was easy but steps 5, 6 & 7 using dos in the command prompt was the tough part as I don't use dos just windows, u know click click click only. Scrolling, pinch & zoom and some application are smoother less jerky now. Hopefully can help prolong my battery life. Now learning how to use Move2sd, maybe some sifu can help to free some phone memory.

Today went to LowYat and bought a proper car charger outputting at 2A @ 5 volts. Very satisfied with the performance as battery indicator shows increase battery % instead of decreasing % using the pre-package charger. It is a china clone made for Black Berry phones costing only RM 30/- only. Now I don't have to worry about battery life while on the move. Life is wonderful again.
I also manage to root mine..not that hard actually because much of the details already been mention on the guide. Just that you need to register xda dev forum to download some of the files, that's a bit annoy since I dun like to register here and there just to download files.

anyway, may I know which particular shop that you bought that car charger? I might want to find those charger and in-car tablet holder this weekends at lowyat smile.gif

This post has been edited by anakrantau: Oct 15 2010, 10:18 AM
anakrantau
post Oct 16 2010, 06:16 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(macpro2 @ Oct 16 2010, 05:30 AM)
. However, the ARM11 processor it sports means that it is insufficient for full Adobe Flash support

HTTP://www.androidtablets.net/forum/androi...t-malaysia.html
thanks for the news,
but that link going to 400 Bad Request page..
anakrantau
post Oct 21 2010, 05:07 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Oct 21 2010, 04:50 PM)
Finally Spice MI700 main rival and similiar device Samsung Galaxy Tab launching today at Sg Wang,KL.

Pricing from The Star "Intech section" @RM2699.

At least we still have alternative choice to get the CSL Spice MI700 at a price of 1k lower.
Ya lor, RM1k lower to the high end stuff still reasonable..plus much of the main functionality is there..
those with tight budget will find this is the right stuff to start with.
anakrantau
post Oct 21 2010, 07:33 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(toofriggingslow @ Oct 21 2010, 07:19 PM)
Just a quick question - does this CSL tablet has a LAN line input jack? Meaning can I plug in a wired internet cable line to it and use it to get online?  Also how many USB port ? 

Sorry if these questions have been asked before... some feedback please.
no LAN & std USB port... mini usb = yes...
most of 7" tablet may left those port( lan and std usb) behind becauseof the idea is to get them "wire-less" for mobility..however some of 10" tablet may got Lan & usb port.

anakrantau
post Oct 25 2010, 02:39 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Oct 25 2010, 12:11 AM)
mine are loose to,if i press hard a bit on the back there a sound ,but its only on the upper left,upper right is ok
about the full charge,i have that prob once,its 30 % although after 30 min,then i unplug and plug it again,then it charge properly
if i send to csl ,i think they will say ,its normal .some of the csl staff doesn't really know a lot bout csl.
seem like you got a bad faulty unit..
so much defect here and there..
better go for warranty claim.

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Oct 25 2010, 11:02 AM)
Guys, I've rooted my Spice Mi700, but it seems that the Wifi function is affected. I setup the wifi connection from Spice to my PC in order to use my PC internet. It was fine until I rooted Spice. Now every time I connect to my PC, it will try to obtain IP address, then disconnect and disable the connection. Any one else has this problem?
I've no problem with my Spice after rooting..can use my Wireless ADSL at home to connect my Spice for stable internet..
I can also use my Spice as a hotspot whenever I go out of house with my laptop (Spice used as hotspot use my internet digi prepaid, while my laptop connect to them via WiFi). So both will can online at the sametime using one digi sim smile.gif
Using Spice as hotspot is more convenient as we just click the data & hotspot option and it will go online automatically..no need to reconnect as we use mobilepartner at laptop..

This post has been edited by anakrantau: Oct 25 2010, 02:40 PM
anakrantau
post Oct 26 2010, 06:14 AM

753 posts

I am also have not setting any APN configuration on the CSL Spice.
Last time the sales person on CLS help me insert the sim to my Spice and I told him to teach me on how to manage the connection. He said there is no extra setting to be made, just enable the data option in Mobile Network Setting. (Settings > Wireless & Network settings > Mobile Network settings > check the "Data Enable" option. )

anyone here manage to get the paid apps appear on android market after rooting? I heard someone manage to get them available..

This post has been edited by anakrantau: Oct 26 2010, 06:16 AM
anakrantau
post Oct 26 2010, 01:48 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(tornad0 @ Oct 26 2010, 01:37 PM)
I still cant get connected via DiGi Broadband (Data Plan Sim), now I put voice + data card also cant get connected. (last time can)

I tried change APN from 3gdgnet to diginet or diginet to 3gdgnet.

then I tried my celcom voice+data sim = can get connected. Any other setting?
try reset the tablet and see if it pickup the settings..
anakrantau
post Oct 26 2010, 10:38 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Oct 26 2010, 09:48 PM)
I'm getting full market access on my rooted Mi700. Market Enabler works as advertised. smile.gif
how do we know if we have the full market access?
noob here as this is my first android device..
anakrantau
post Oct 30 2010, 05:36 PM

753 posts

Great tutorial,
but may I know what the use of this Clockwork for Mi700?

QUOTE(hucqim80 @ Oct 30 2010, 12:24 PM)
This Recovery is capable of doing backup and restore using Nandroid, partition your sdcard..and much more..

Download hereClockwork Recovery for CSL Mi700 or Viewpad 7
First of all "Rooting" and use of custom recovery void your warranty ..unless you unroot it and restore the default recovery..
so make full backup of those image..You need rooted Mi700 to flash the custom recovery..to root you mi700 Xda-Dev thanks goes to abasir and erlern for this..make sure you install the superuser.apk as well..
To use adb you need to download the Android SDK and follow the guide from there..Android SDK
Using adb,
run adb shell from command prompt..you will get
$
then type su you will get #
from there type..
# cat /proc/mtd this will show you partition that currently you have..

dev:      size    erasesize  name
mtd0: 00500000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00200000 00020000 "misc"
mtd2: 00080000 00020000 "splash"
mtd3: 00500000 00020000 "recovery"
mtd4: 00500000 00020000 "ftm"
mtd5: 01a00000 00020000 "hidden"
mtd6: 00060000 00020000 "dbgmsk"
mtd7: 0a000000 00020000 "system"
mtd8: 00200000 00020000 "misc2"
mtd9: 05800000 00020000 "cache"
mtd10: 0ab80000 00020000 "userdata"

to backup..type..
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd0 > /sdcard/mtd0.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd1 > /sdcard/mtd1.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd2 > /sdcard/mtd2.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd3 > /sdcard/mtd3.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd4 > /sdcard/mtd4.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd5 > /sdcard/mtd5.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd6 > /sdcard/mtd6.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd7 > /sdcard/mtd7.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd8 > /sdcard/mtd8.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd9 > /sdcard/mtd9.img
# cat /dev/mtd/mtd10 > /sdcard/mtd10.img

to restore..download the flash_image.zip - 12.0 KB
copy it to the same folder of the adb
from the command prompt..type this to push it in your mi700
adb push flash_image /system/bin
adb shell
su
chmod 4755 /system/bin/flash_image

syntax to restore..
adb shell
su
# flash_image recovery /sdcard/mtd3.img
as you can see this is for recovery partition and the image is from recovery backup..

So to flash your recovery with Clockwork recovery..just copy the cwrecovery.img to the root of your sdcard..from command prompt..
adb shell
su
# flash_image recovery /sdcard/cwrecovery.img

reboot your mi700 while holding VOL- and VOL+ to get into recovery bootloader..or use Anreboot from Market..

Those step above could also be run from mi700 using terminal emulator..
From terminal emulator..
su
# flash_image recovery /sdcard/cwrecovery.img

anakrantau
post Nov 1 2010, 03:32 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Oct 30 2010, 05:39 PM)

What I understand from my limited knowledge of flashing roms is that this clockwork recovery is the first and necessary step before u can flash other custom roms. U need recovery to backup first. Then after flashing to other roms (changing your phone clothes they say) u want to recover or go back to the original rom, u need clockwork to do it. Hope I am right about this. Of course there are many capabilities of this rom which I am not aware of.

So far there is no custom rom developed yet for the MI 700 yet not like the HTC Desire where u can choose which rom to flash to have different capabilities.
many thanks for the explanation.
seem like a job for an advance droid user...
since there is no custom rom yet, means we not necessarily need to do the clockwork right?
anakrantau
post Nov 20 2010, 11:12 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(djpianz @ Nov 20 2010, 10:20 AM)
The fact that it's quite difficult to find a large and sturdy enough car holder to hold this thing, finally I just D.I.Y the holder without costing any money. Maybe you guys would like the idea of have better idea yourselves...

Click here : Mi700 D.I.Y Car Holder
nice little mod there biggrin.gif

0.0301sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:29 PM