8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[Updated] Apple Peel 520, Turns your iPod Touch into an iPhone : )

TSadwinying
post Aug 16 2010, 10:10 PM, updated 15y ago

33 posts

I'm not really sure whether its alright to share this product in the forum, but its worth mentioning biggrin.gif

Although still under development stage, this "skin" will be able to make your iPod touch equipped with voice and also SMS. The skin includes an extra battery, SIM card slot, Vibrator and external buttons (volume and power). Sadly, it doesn't includes GPS nor 3G but GPRS is still underway. It also bundles with 2 apps, 1 for calling and 1 for SMS, which obviously needs ahem *clears throat* tongue.gif

Estimated market value: 388 RMB (approx. RM182)

In my opinion, it's still a good buy because if you compare a real iPhone and a combination of an iPod Touchand this Apple Peel 520, definitely the combo is worth it if you only want call and SMS functions. If the next gen iPod does include camera, it will be a good combination.

If you don't mind the larger size and bulkiness, then come and wait together for its release~ icon_rolleyes.gif

Full Prototype Review by MIC gadgets

UPDATE:
Looks like they've mass production-ing the Apple Peel 520. It's gonna sell for about 388RMB (Approx. RM180). Available in China since yesterday (20/9/2010). For now, it will only support iPod Touch 1st, 2nd and 3rd gen. 4th not yet due to its camera layout, but a US company is going to develop and bring it to the US of A...

Engadget
Final version design

UPDATE 2:
Looks like this product has a high demand and they selling in for quite the amount on ebay. However, if you cant wait any longer and you don't mind paying a bit more, do check out this website. Free worldwide shipping, too. BTW, normal retail price is a bit higher than previous, 77USD.

UPDATE 3:
More updates! M.I.C Gadgets is also selling the Apple Peel 520 for 99USD and it's still cheaper than ebay and the previous link... Still worth paying if needed urgently.... PayPal accepted too...

Last and Final UPDATE:
Looks like GPRS is going to be supported soon and Apple Peel 520 is selling all over the place, even our garage sales section. I recommend looking in the garage sales section as it is much cheaper and more reliable. Do buy it at your own risk though....

This post has been edited by adwinying: Dec 25 2010, 06:00 PM
evone
post Aug 18 2010, 06:56 PM

88 posts

Available in Malaysia ?
TSadwinying
post Aug 18 2010, 08:08 PM

33 posts

Still in development... But available for pre-order for RMB100.
TSadwinying
post Aug 20 2010, 06:20 PM

33 posts

sad.gif why was this topic closed without notice?

@stereo oh yeah lets just wait patiently...
andrewtho
post Aug 21 2010, 12:07 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

China getting advanced huh?
TSadwinying
post Aug 21 2010, 05:20 PM

33 posts

not getting advanced, but always advance... But quality-wise is *ahem* biggrin.gif
HaVoC
post Aug 31 2010, 06:47 PM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

No more news on this? Could really start a revolution if this works with the new iPod revealed tomorrow...

digilife
post Aug 31 2010, 07:19 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

is this available locally?
JayPlayerX
post Aug 31 2010, 07:50 PM

Not yet. It was in the star today
heavyarm
post Aug 31 2010, 10:53 PM

648 posts

walao...really cool stuff and save budget then tongue.gif
BigJoe
post Sep 3 2010, 05:36 AM

32 posts

There's a rival product named tPhone , it's thicker and almost the same
http://micgadget.com/6994/the-rival-of-app...l-520-unveiled/

Hmmmmmmmmmm , now can get an iTouch 4g , attach it with this device and we almost have an "iPhone 4" ? , costs about Rm1000 less too !!

It's also better than the 3Gs ! (Retina display,64gb, faster processor ) and still cheaper ! drool.gif

This post has been edited by BigJoe: Sep 3 2010, 05:41 AM
xekidx
post Sep 3 2010, 05:39 AM

181 posts

cool. cant wait for it to launch
gunns
post Sep 3 2010, 07:53 PM

how can i gt 1???
llsphinxll
post Sep 3 2010, 08:30 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

hey im curious, the iPod Touch doesnt have a earpiece. so you can only use headset or loudspeaker?mm..
keeting89
post Sep 4 2010, 11:16 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

it will be like iphone2g only?
or support 3g too?
digilife
post Sep 5 2010, 07:28 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(BigJoe @ Sep 3 2010, 05:36 AM)
There's a rival product named tPhone , it's thicker and almost the same
http://micgadget.com/6994/the-rival-of-app...l-520-unveiled/
Hmmmmmmmmmm , now can get an iTouch 4g , attach it with this device and we almost have an  "iPhone 4" ? , costs about Rm1000 less too !!

It's also better than the 3Gs ! (Retina display,64gb, faster processor )
and still cheaper !  drool.gif
how you arrive at this figure of rm1000?
jwct87
post Sep 7 2010, 09:39 AM

33 posts

haha, can't wait this great device out..china got all kinds of grade of device.DEPENDS
brianchinh
post Sep 7 2010, 10:12 AM

39 posts

good one but not sure will be launched as it has very high possibility of getting sued by Apple.
zzzxtreme
post Sep 7 2010, 06:17 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

initial review is bad. no chinese company is afraid of being sued by apple
Criollo
post Sep 8 2010, 05:10 PM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

This actually looks kinda fun! Might consider getting one just for the heck of it XD

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:16 PM