79 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Smolderthorn - The [SycK] Guild - Horde, Community/Goals-Driven Guild

Paku
post Jun 14 2005, 10:26 AM

607 posts

kekekeke..........wonder which bad troll is that laugh.gif .............nasib cepat cepat learn Arc Transmute.............a few more transmute and u can get back ur moolah smile.gif ............still need someone to bring me to see Hexx, queen biatch of troll universe

da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 12:35 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

for alterac wait for another month or so. More lvl 50+ player will be there to play smile.gif
plaz
post Jun 14 2005, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(da3shou3 @ Jun 14 2005, 10:22 AM)
Warriors Don't use MACES!!!! They use badass swords and Axes.
kadiology
post Jun 14 2005, 02:10 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Aewyn a.k.a Mayat @ Jun 14 2005, 09:19 AM)
The Adventures of the Syck Desperados

It all began with Zoraq, Penderhaka, Manyarrows, Kadiologi and myself deciding to run RFK. We all gathered outside the entrance and was about to start when Kadio had to fetch his sister. So we waited for 15 minutes while Zoraq put a strip tease performance for us .....

Reporting for The Morgue - Mayat
hey man, we are not that bad, except that some of us is very inexperienced (that includes me, the MT). i pull so slow, hesitate, sumtimes too scared to do anything and just stands still in the front line and penderhaka gets fedup and yells, 'pull anything so that i can kill!'. at least we managed to get deep inside RFK before we got raped by 5 elite mobs at a time and then die. maybe da guru in ere can give some advice when a warrior (me), priest (mayat), warlock (manyarrows), hunter (zoraq), mage (penderhaka) group in an instance. anyhow, this is what i notice

when i pull say 2 mob, i will sunder, disarm, (and revenge if i got extra rage) on one of the mob, then 3-4 seconds later the other mob will turn away to other party members who is doing dps quite a distance behind me. i panicked, ignore the mob who is attacking me at that time, run to the other mob, and taunt it. but before i do, the mage (penderhaka) sheep it, then guest what happen la when i taunt it back. all in split seconds. this happen twice yesterday and ALMOST happen 3 times as well. while the other mob that was initially attacking me starts to turn on other party members pulak. see the problem here? no cordination.

solution (critics welcome) - when i pull, dont dps yet, count 8 sec, let me generate enough hate on the 2 mob. then nuke! IF one mob turns away, runs towards me. dont let me run towards u when im bz. but what if 2 mob start to turn away? also, run towards me. lemme do taunt and chalengin shout if necessary. why i ask to run towards me? cause if 2 mob turn on other party member, its hard for me to go one by one to grab the mob attention back. secondly, i really dont know what to do if the priest (mayat) kena rape. give me (and him) advice. third, mage (penderhaka), why la i ask u to sheep u go nuke instead. next, dont aoe too much, otherwise mayat komp freeze. besides, is aoe nuking type really that neccesary? fourth, 5 elite mob attacking all of a sudden, this is where we all die. i notice everybody running in every direction. stay close with MT, let me do chalenging shout. but what to do, yesterday i also panicked. btw, 5 v 5, we all die, the 5 mob who atack us all survive. grrr!

overall, its been great fun. lets do this again this week.
Paku
post Jun 14 2005, 02:42 PM

607 posts

try the normal Main Tank and Main Assist method for multi mob approach

as a Warrior, switch ur 1h + shield and tank one of the mobs...........priest can give occasional healing.............use the Pet (from either Hunter or Warlock) to offtank the 2nd mob............focus fire on it until it's dead (while controlling aggro so pet keeps offtanking)...........Mage sheep a third mob or any adds............then go back and assist MT............works best if u got tanking pet like turtle............just remember not to panic and start nuking away...........that will usually lead to a wipe chain reaction if not controlled immediately............

Panic = Mage overnuke = Mage Aggroed = Priest overheal = Priest Aggroed = Panic = repeated cycle

if party wipe is inevitable, then Feign Death FTW laugh.gif
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 02:44 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

8 secs? that's far too long la. sleep.gif"

Anyway, there is a trick to keep aggro:

1. Ask other party member to attack whatever MT is attacking.

2. Hunters should keep their pet for offtank purposes. Hunters themselves should also offtank when they need to. And don't feign death when the mob is hitting you. Feign death lose *ALL* aggro from the mob which will lead to your healers' death.

3. Warlock: Pls don't fear in the instance if you don't know what you're doing. You're gonna get wipe for a fear that is used to shoo away the mob. Cast non-dmg curse on the other mob that is not being attack by the MT like curse of weakness to help. Always cast DOT the main target so that it can be killed faster.

4. Priest: Save your fade for emergency use only. Stop healing for awhile if you see mob is coming for you if the heal is not critical. PW:S and Renew is your best friend coz it won't draw a sudden aggro like your other big heal.

5. Mage: Use your nova whenever it is possible to freeze mob in place if you see them start running around. On the sheeping issue you'll have to let the warrior know whether you WILL or WILL NOT sheep if warrior lose their aggro. Either way, you shouldn't really use sheep in the middle of the battle on a mob that is already being injured. Use the sheep as soon as the battle starts on the extra mob that the warrior is not hitting. Time your re-sheeping abit and make sure that mob is going to stay in sheep form until it's the last one.

6. Warrior: You need to change your stance to use skills in other battle stances like hamstring and such when you lose aggro. AOE taunt is good if you got it and you'll need to use your single-target taunt frequently. Sunder armor is a good start and AOE shouting is a surplus. And most importantly, don't stand still. Hit something if you accidentally pull or got a bad pull. If you stand still, mob is gonna go for your healers/casters.

This post has been edited by da3shou3: Jun 14 2005, 02:50 PM
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 02:47 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

The key here is ASSIST AND FOCUS FIRE THE MAIN TARGET. If you follow that, the mobs will stay and attack your warrior and your priest don't need to heal like crazy and get aggro. Mage can stay at safe range to nuke without running around and get more aggro. AOE dmg spells are not suitable to use at the starting of the fight as you WILL get aggro.

This post has been edited by da3shou3: Jun 14 2005, 02:47 PM
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 02:54 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Jun 14 2005, 01:44 PM)
Warriors Don't use MACES!!!! They use badass swords and Axes.
Hahaha... XD. tongue.gif
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 02:58 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

http://www.thottbot.com/?i=38135

Go ZF and run 20 times to farm this maybe. tongue.gif

BTW... pray first before you enter. XD
FisshY
post Jun 14 2005, 03:00 PM

167 posts

Lesson 1: Never nuke in instances no matter what, mages/warlocks/ please dont open with big spells fireball, pyroblast, flamestike, even blizzard. No AOE in the beginning so that warrior can pull all aggro. Every mob SHOULD be on the warrior except for 1 which may be offtanked and everyone else should concentrate on that lone mob while the rest are stucked to the warrior. I personally like to charge, thunderclap, demoralizing shout, then swap to defensive stance. It works for me, try a few and see whats best for you

Lesson 2: Warriors, dont just concentrate on 1 mob, keep swapping targets on you and sunder, revenge (with the help of shield block) and repeat. Remember, all except 1 should be on you except for 1 which the other party members are targetting. Always use /assist so that u dont get confuse on who to target.

Towards the middle of the fight and towards the end, feel free to dish out more damaging spells and AOE, if everyone has done his job, the mobs should all still stick to the warrior like a glue.

Lesson 3: Always keep a tab on your healer, when u see a mob on him, try to get it off him. I do it by hitting shield block first, then taunt, then revenge. I found it most useful get aggro off people.

Very rarely u need to use challenging shout unless for emergency, if u feel u NEED to keep using it, something is very wrong with the party tongue.gif Most of the time, i blame DPS classes for it thumbup.gif
Aewyn a.k.a Mayat
post Jun 14 2005, 03:02 PM

We are not worthy oooh great gurus...... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Any macro you guys can share with us to assist MT & MA? biggrin.gif

With more practice and runs together we'll be a great team thumbup.gif
Aewyn a.k.a Mayat
post Jun 14 2005, 03:08 PM

Next time I kena rape, I run to you Kadio, then you can rape them back tongue.gif

BTW, at which point should I heal and which heal should I use?

Right now I'm using flash heal (rank 2/3) since it's the fastest to spam. So what I do is to heal anyone that has a decrease of around 300-500 hp (including pets if I remember to watch them whistling.gif ) But is this really efficient since at a decrease hp of 300, their health is around 80% still.

Or should I use Heal with a 4 sec cast and cast when the health is 40-50%?

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 03:10 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

Manual targeting for me. Just assign your assist shortcut key to something easy to press, says, 'f' or 'v'.

And yes it's like what fisshy say, control your dmg abit if you're dmg dealer. Priests hardly have any problem healing and won't get aggro if they don't need to heal other party members (maybe just renew is enough) as long as the other party members don't aggro due to overnuking or AOE at the beginning.
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 03:11 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

QUOTE(Aewyn a.k.a Mayat @ Jun 14 2005, 03:08 PM)
Next time I kena rape, I run to you Kadio, then you can rape them back  tongue.gif

BTW, at which point should I heal and which heal should I use?

Right now I'm using flash heal (rank 2/3) since it's the fastest to spam. So what I do is to heal anyone that has a decrease of around 300-500 hp (including pets if I remember to watch them  whistling.gif ) But is this really efficient since at a decrease hp of 300, their health is around 80% still.

Or should I use Heal with a 4 sec cast and cast when the health is 40-50%?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Flash heal is not efficient enough. Use renew always as soon as you see MT's hp drop to 95% when battle starts. Just shield your warrior if he's hp is dropping too fast and use your big heal.

Flash heal is more like emergency healing. smile.gif

This post has been edited by da3shou3: Jun 14 2005, 03:12 PM
FisshY
post Jun 14 2005, 03:23 PM

167 posts

Make assist macro - Just hit esc, macros, new macro, put name and choose icon, then type there /assist Killakat if killakat is the MA. Can be changed easily. There are UI's that keep track of MA but it gets a bit more complicated tongue.gif

Ya it takes practices smile.gif Most important have fun n dont ninja loot!!!!
Paku
post Jun 14 2005, 03:24 PM

607 posts

for multiple mobs, it might be dangerous to have the MT hold all the aggro and everyone focus fire on his target............this can sometimes lead to overhealing by the priest who might draw aggro...........then other members in the group must quickly offtank the incoming mobs or risk panic...........if not, u see a familiar scene wat i called Jumping Caster, Chasing Warrior...........a common reflex action by caster when an elite comes bearing down on u

this is why sometimes i don't ask Killakat to run up front to fight...........Hunter's pet with updated Growl (at lvl 30,40,50 and 60) can hold wicked amount of aggro for mobs of equal lvl............probably not long enough to survive w/o mending or healing but enough to offtank accidental-aggroed mobs
lung
post Jun 14 2005, 03:31 PM

Film & Computer Gaming Freak
1,187 posts

Oi, what's this? Kadio is supposed to be my warrior! Now he joined other groups already... cry.gif

Anyway, here's my take on what you should do...

Main tank (Kadio): Make sure you are ALWAYS the one standing in front. Make sure everyone is attacking you. If some mob is not attacking you, hit him until he attacks you, then switch your target back to the MA's target. Sunder armor is very good to generate aggro, btw.

Main assist (whoever): Make sure you know WHO to hit first. For example - Casters MUST die first, especially healers. If your target somehow attacks you (over aggro) instead of the MT, use whatever stun ability to stop the attacks, while the MT regain aggro.

Healer (Mayat): Make sure you stay AT THE BACK. Save all your mana to heal, not for anything else. Make sure you ALWAYS shield your MT before he makes a pull. If some other people other than the MT grabs aggro, SHIELD them.

Hunter (Zoraq?): You can use your pet to help in DPS, or you can use your pet for backup. Backup as in, stay near the priest to help off-tank (just-in-case scenario), or use it to chase fleeing mobs.

Warlock (Manyarrows): Always apply SOULSTONE on your priest! That is wipe recovery 101. Also always provide a healthy supply of healthstones to your MT (and to everyone if possible). As for pets... The most common tactic is to use your IMP. Blood bath adds to the MT's health. Or you can use Voidwalker to off-tank (like hunter's pet), or you can use Succubus for crowd control (seduce). If you're fighting a boss with lots of buffs, use felhound to debuff!

Mage (Penderhaka?): Polymorph! It works on ALMOST anything. Just polymorph a mob (usually, pick the strongest) and make sure NO ONE hits it! Then just stay back and blast away. If you think you will over-aggro, switch to wands (can over aggro also sweat.gif). When dealing with non-elites, have the priest shield you, then rush in and AOE away (nerf arcane explosions!).

There's my tips and advice. Btw, all of you are new to the game ar? No main on other servers?

Hope I can find some time to play on this server again... Still pending Gnomeregan... Who wants gnomes for breakfast? laugh.gif
plaz
post Jun 14 2005, 03:40 PM

Er what i play in instances may be a bit different

Lets take things for example:

Lets make a few terms straight

sheeping/sapping/Mind control= disabling
MT = Main Tank, which is tanking
MA = Main assist, which every 1 must attack his target

2 elites:
- either disable 1 and settle the other 1, or can tank 1, dps 1

3 elites:
-disable 1, MT 1, MA and the rest kao tim the other 1. Then move to the MTs target, then to the disabled 1.

4 elites:
- diable 1, MT 2, MA finish the last 1 or, if got hunter, pets can help off tank 1:

First thing to remember in instance is,

- MT has good armor, and its easier for healers to heal.
- MT has to take aggro from most, if not all target other then MA's target.
- IF switch target to healers due to healling aggro, MT MUST take aggro off the healers! taunt it off them! And please, healers run towards MT and don't run around let MT chase.
-Usually what i will do is

sheep/sap--> main tank takes aggro from the rest of the targets --> MA picks 1 target to dps --> hunters help off tank (if needed)

- Warriors use sword and shield on protection stance.
- Humanoid targets will run when they are dying, please stun/freeze/slow/hamstring.

- farm more instance and you will know how to do
da3shou3
post Jun 14 2005, 03:42 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

QUOTE(Paku @ Jun 14 2005, 03:24 PM)
for multiple mobs, it might be dangerous to have the MT hold all the aggro and everyone focus fire on his target............this can sometimes lead to overhealing by the priest who might draw aggro
Dunno... Never had that problem. I, lvl 37 was healer (feral spec with only 2k mana pool sweat.gif) for a group into RFD. A warrior, 2 rogues at around lvl 42 and another mage at lvl 39. Warrior tanking and that 2 rogues just kill the main target asap. Mage attacking main target and frost nova + IAE after warrior and rogues killed the main target. Was pulling like 2 elites with 3 non-elites.

What i did is:

Rejuvenate Warrior, [optional rejuvenate rogues if they get hit and hp start dropping], wait... If HP dropping fast cast Healing Touch and rejuvenate again, otherwise cast regrowth when hp drop to 75%. When mage start to IAE, I'll just cast HT on him once hp drop below 70% (in between 4 secs hp will drop to like 30%). Only get 2/3 times aggro due to healing. But was fine even.
FisshY
post Jun 14 2005, 03:48 PM

167 posts

Also i want to say that 5 people who knows what they are doing is better than 30plus people. Not joking, for alliance, there is a quest to kill Nathanos the Blightcaller (Champion Of the Horde) is EPL. Its marked as a raid and usually alliance will pull the 2 hounds seperately and then kill nathanos. Imagine 30 to 40 people hitting one guy and sometimes there will be wipes cause Blighcaller spawns many skeletons. Othertimes only a few will die.

I've seen a video of how a 5 MAN PARTY defeated him. A 40/11 Frost Spec mage pulled and KITED ALL the 20 plus skeletons around. Its amazing how he used Ice BLock twice and than pulled them back again making those skeletons running from here to there like headless chickens. The other 4 slowly killed BC fully buffed with shadow resist potions. Warrior, pally, priest, rogue i think.

Out of topic, its a pity i dont see any frost spec mages 46/5, 40/11 etc in our guild. My fisshianne in Dmaw is a 40/11 (minus 6/7 points cause still not yet reach 60 cause in hibernation) U wont win any PVP against casters, u wont have Instance AExplosion (trust me if u play properly u wont need it) BUT u will ROCK in instances, will never have the fear to pull aggro cause there is ice block (on only a 3 minute cooldown, and still can use cold snap in between) and ur mana conservation is amazing. U will know the true meaning of crowd control with a pure frosty mage around. I think i going to roll a frosty mage called Fisshianne already lol.

79 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:25 PM