Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D3100/D5000 V11, Apprentices of the Dark Lords

dvlzplayground
post Aug 14 2010, 01:58 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Aug 14 2010, 10:50 AM)
I love the 3rd and 5th shot!

I am starting not to like HDR shot as much nowadays. After I heard Photomalaysia dood said an interesting thing that,

"HDR photo you can never tell what time is the photo taken, which takes away some of the story and the feeling you get while looking at the photo."
juz add timestamp lor tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 15 2010, 12:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

we know nothing official about D3100.... also dunno the price ;p
dvlzplayground
post Sep 4 2010, 10:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

1080p 24fps biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 4 2010, 11:11 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wudever @ Sep 4 2010, 10:52 PM)
Jus asking... It is wise to start off with manual mode Ed? =x
nope tongue.gif juz use P 1st.. learn about focusing, metering, exposure compensation, ISO and white balance 1st. after u understand about ISO, set it to a certain value n play in A mode, experiment with different F stop and exposure compensation. and then S mode, play with shutter speed in expo combo. manual is more to doing special effects or emergency....i very2 seldom use manual.

of course this is all technical stuff, it wont make u shoot nice pictures. that one is about composition smile.gif that's the 'art' side
dvlzplayground
post Sep 4 2010, 11:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 4 2010, 11:13 PM)
I use manual a lot after I start using fixed aperture lens xD. Cause much easier to control, zoom in and out no need adjust shutter speed ^^.
may i ask y not juz use A mode? tongue.gif

QUOTE(wudever @ Sep 4 2010, 11:37 PM)
Will.. Lol now need to switch liao... Mayb learn through ur advice ba.. Might get sth out of it.. Haha..
if u straightaway go manual... ull need a lot of time to set up juz for a simple shot. nothing pro abt that tongue.gif it's not like ppl can see u use manual mode or what haha
dvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 12:10 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

owww okay smile.gif me, just in A mode n play with expo compensation heheh
dvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 03:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 5 2010, 12:13 AM)
That's what I used to do la, but when shooting on stage sometimes the models wearing different clothing actually mess my metering up. Some darker some brighter. LOL.
oh i see. thx 4 the insight smile.gif

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Sep 5 2010, 02:02 AM)
thx bro,but i`m not really skilled using slr because this is my 1st slr..

feels like noobss... blush.gif
dun worrry bro... u're not alone... im using 2nd hand D40 too.. haha
dvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 09:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

d40 class 2 cukupppp. low FPS, only 6mp, no video tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 5 2010, 09:38 PM
dvlzplayground
post Sep 6 2010, 05:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh 55-300 is ~1.2k? i thought it would be more expensive than that smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 9 2010, 01:29 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Sep 9 2010, 12:43 AM)
I heard that macro lenses is not necessary since we can use magnifying? I'm still new to this and hope someone here can guide me to macro photography.

Where do you guys normally take macro photography?
a dedicated macro lens have much better quality biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 15 2010, 10:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Sep 15 2010, 08:23 PM)
@Kent3888 - He's one real Asian LOL
Umm, some problem on HDR, my pictures taken 2 stop lower, normal and 2 stop higher, but when merge together don't have that "HDR feel", macam still lack of something.

Anybody can help me ?

What does this mean ?
[attachmentid=1782534]
the photo u take wont lend much for an HDR pic tongue.gif shoot something where there's a very bright area n very dark area at the same time. sunsets perhaps?

QUOTE(ericling @ Sep 15 2010, 09:39 PM)
Is there anything to avoid when shooting with D3000?
I heard that D3k is weak at low light situation.

by the way, how does a noisy picture look like?
noisy pic u can see small red/blue/green dots in dark areas. here's an example

a better way to say is d3k is noisy at high ISO settings. it still can do well in low light if u get a f1.4 lens tongue.gif

dvlzplayground
post Sep 16 2010, 12:20 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

long time no spam biggrin.gif

dvlzplayground
post Sep 16 2010, 06:45 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Sep 16 2010, 06:08 PM)
d3100 to replace d3000 mah, not d5000

nikon stupid lar to name a d90 replacement using d7000, will this put an end to the d40 family generations and d50 generations with just 1 stone
but i'd go for d3100 over d5000 any day biggrin.gif

they already have d10, d20, d30, d40, d50, d60, d70, d80 n d90 tongue.gif. it's also confusing how d50 is in a higher class then D60 etc.

seems like d300s replacement will be d9000?

then d3100 replacement will be d3200.. .then d3300... n so on. seems easier to understand for me. so we have the 3k series, 5k, 7k n 9k series lol
dvlzplayground
post Sep 17 2010, 10:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Sep 17 2010, 12:19 PM)
first, you must understand what is it that HDR actually does. it brings a balance between very bright and very dark areas of a photo, showing all in a properly exposed manner. hence, dynamic range cause you can see both bright and also dark at a proper exposure. from experience, i can tell you that clouds make great HDR, finding places with lots of clouds can give you a nice effect. try to cover 2/3 of the sky. besides that, look around any scenery which has both bright and dark, like say some building which is covered by the shadow of the sun. take my bridge for example:

you can see the clouds and also underneath the bridge more clearly due to the effect of hdr. if i were to expose it normally, only the bridge will have proper exposure, the sky will be too bright - can't see clouds - and underneath the bridge will be all black. so, you take 3 photos, 1 underexpose, so that the sky is properly exposed, 1 normal, and 1 overexpose so that underneath the bridge is exposed. merge them together and that's the result.

if you take a photo where everything has the same exposure, no skies which require underexposure, then HDR is pointless cause you'll roughly end up with the same image.
wow, now this is great HDR. cuz u wont even know it's HDR if he didnt mention it in the 1st place biggrin.gif well done!

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Sep 17 2010, 09:09 PM)
Guys, can 70-300 VR work on the D3000 ?
yes
dvlzplayground
post Sep 21 2010, 12:44 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Sep 21 2010, 11:50 AM)
true when u first time use manual. but once u used to it, no problem with mf else how did the ancient ppl use mf on thier film slr? af on film was first intro in the 80's.

just my 2cents.
go shoot something moving, then u'll know whats the problem tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 26 2010, 01:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Sep 26 2010, 12:33 PM)
UWA stands for Ultra Wide Angle right ?
18mm is not wide angle meh ? hmm.gif
dont confuse UWA with the 'wide end' of a lens tongue.gif

18mm on a DX is 27mm. not considered UWA already. if 18mm on a fullframe okay la kot. no one has a definitive length of what UWA should be, but 27mm is far from it

but juz because 18mm is ur 'wide end' doesnt mean it's UWA.
dvlzplayground
post Oct 1 2010, 08:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Oct 1 2010, 08:20 PM)
guy's, just a quick one. What software do you use to manage your images?
eg; Picasa, Nikon ViewNX, etc.
lightroom for me smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 6 2010, 09:20 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Dark Master @ Oct 6 2010, 06:24 PM)
Hi... i new join photography. Currently i bough a Nikon D3100. Now planning to upgrade the lens. What kind of lens i can use ??
well to answer ur question, you can use any NIKKOR AF-S lens. for other brands like sigma, tamron, tokina...u need to look for one that has a focusing motor. n it's a nikon mount of course. u can use nikkor AF and AF-D, but cannot autofocus

BUT, if u dunno what lens to buy, then dont buy. it will be a waste of money. just shoot2 first, soon u can narrow it down to what lens u want. wide angle, telephoto, prime etc. then you can compare similar lens. different people want different results. dont only think about lens, ur next purchase might be a flash or tripod instead

Added on October 6, 2010, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(ayrton @ Oct 6 2010, 05:31 PM)
One of the shots at Putrajaya with my friends yesterday. Edited with some lomo style, kindly C&C please.

really nice photo biggrin.gif but i dun agree blue jeans + blue shoes lol

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 6 2010, 09:21 PM
dvlzplayground
post Oct 11 2010, 11:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Oct 11 2010, 10:43 AM)
http://nikonrumors.com/2010/10/10/nikon-d3...scontinued.aspx

what do you guys think? a D5100 or an EVIL? I think people will rather buy the D3100 than the D3000, understandable why Nikon made the move. but I don't get why the D5000 is being phased out too. maybe Nikon wants people to buy the D3100 alone, or the D5100 is being prepared for launch  biggrin.gif
d3100 pretty much beats d5000 already hehe. huge gap between d3100 n d7000 though.

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Oct 11 2010, 04:47 PM)
i just afraid i take some uncool photos..

i dun have flash gun,all standard  sweat.gif
did he ask u juz bcuz u have a dslr? tongue.gif i agree, juz decline the offer before u disappoint someone. explain to him why ur equipment is not suitable
dvlzplayground
post Oct 18 2010, 08:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

eh guys, anyone using tamron SP90 with motor here on non-motor body? http://shashinki.com/shop/tamron-telephoto...ort-p-6205.html

any comments? focusing speed okay?

i just realized got this SP90 model with built-in motor hahaha. thinking of getting one next year. have been looking for a long range prime lens. would've gotten nikkor 85/1.8D but dun have motor version. need this to cover events, particularly stage shots

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 18 2010, 08:09 PM

0.1109sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:45 PM