Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

shevagol
post Sep 24 2010, 02:02 PM

267 posts

Thinking about buying 16gb wifi tonite. I look forward to use it for my emailing, browsing, minor gaming, IM-ing,watching .avi tv series and store some picture albums. Here are my few concerns before buying, hope all you genius here will help me to answer:

1) Will iTunes compress the pics before transfering it from MacBook to iPad? (If not, i think 16gb is not enuf)

2) i read about IM+ is the best app for IM-ing. If i chose to use YM, does OS 3.2.2 support notification when i close the app?

3) Can the mail apps store more than 200 mails per acc? I love to have my email backup on iPad for offline viewing. (iphone only store 200 recent mails pop3 mail)

Thanks in advance!!
shevagol
post Sep 24 2010, 02:51 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Sep 24 2010, 02:25 PM)
1) not sure bcos i nvr store pictures in ipad nor having a mac.

2) some said beejive while the rest are gravitating towards im+. Im using im+ lite(free version) and I will receive push notification for any messages i receive when i close the app. However, do note that for lite version the active time is only 2 hours and it also doesnt support skype. Also push notification of someone appearing online is possible as well on the im+ lite but you need to set it manually for every contact if you wish to see push notification for every contact. Not sure if the purchased version or beejive have similar problem. for me it is quite troublesome but you can access to internet while using im+ bcos there is a browser with im+ if you wish to see whoever online without closing the app.

3. I checked the setting, maximum is 200 emails only.
Thanks!!! Hmmm still thinking whether to buy or not.. Checking emails at the airport with macbook is so lame when people around you using ipad to check theirs!! Huhu
shevagol
post Sep 24 2010, 02:58 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 24 2010, 02:49 PM)

@Kae-ae
nice stuff bro !!! you are my sifu....what apps you use to draw?

@Shevagol
1) i think will resize into 1024x768... because last time i tried on my ipod touch, it will compress the picture. so i assume ipad does same.

anyway this is my ipad drawing hehe...

Thanks!! Yup when i sync the pictures to my iPhone, iTunes will compress it first then transfer. I hope it will do the same. If i want to buy 16GB wifi version, then i already use until 14gb, will it slow down the iPad? like normal hard disk drive, when almost full, computer become slow.. any ideas guys?
shevagol
post Sep 24 2010, 11:30 PM

267 posts

Just bought iPad wifi 16gb. Quite surprised to see all the good apps are mostly USD 9.99.. Hmm and i thot iWorks is pre-installed.. And seriously, iPad is NICE!!!!
shevagol
post Sep 25 2010, 05:54 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Sep 25 2010, 01:06 AM)
Eh.. juz now i come back from work is 6 pm around 24% then charge till 8 pm 64%..
is it normal?
Bro u use wallcharger or usb charge? U shud use wallcharger then it will charge like normal. USB port not enuf power to charge iPad fast
shevagol
post Sep 30 2010, 06:48 AM

267 posts

With iPad Safari i have the same problem im facing with Mac Safari that is the browser does not support for GSC EPayment when i want to pay for movies ticket online. On Mac i use firefox to overcome this. I googled and found out there is no firefox for iPad currently, or maybe never. Any idea which browser to use on iPad that support GSC online ePayment?
shevagol
post Oct 2 2010, 08:23 AM

267 posts

Morning guys check this one out.

http://www.maclife.com/article/news/ios_42...3g_europe_least

What im hoping for in the iOS 4.2 is the ability for iPhone to tether with wifi iPad. You can tether ur iPhone with a Mac but why not with an iPad? Ofcourse other solution such as jailbreaking ur iPhone and install MyWi but im not a jailbreak fan anymore. The pain of unable to update ur iOS device each time new update is available just beat me away. The reason i chose wifi only iPad is because i dont think i need more than one data plan, from the one on my iPhone.

Really hoping for iPhone - iPad bluetooth internet tethering possible in iOS 4.2. What say u guys?

0.0204sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:25 AM