Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

jonest
post Aug 12 2010, 05:21 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(-YS- @ Aug 12 2010, 04:14 PM)
If you have friends or relatives in SG, with SG address, you can order from SG Apple Store online, it ships in 2 weeks time, collect from them after that smile.gif
Asked a friend to order mine on 8th Aug and current status ships on 26th Aug, almost 3 weeks waiting time....
jonest
post Aug 15 2010, 10:01 PM

472 posts

Finally, got my iPad from Singapore! Thiis MSG is type from it.

Anyway, who has tried numbers? Need to use spreadsheet. Thanks
jonest
post Aug 16 2010, 03:01 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 15 2010, 10:22 PM)
cool, limited edition ? ...the on-screen keyboard got double 'i' ?  tongue.gif
Hahaha very funny. Haven't got use to the keyboard just yet....

Btw, what's the hooha on the iTunes account? Are we allowed to use pay pal?

jonest
post Aug 16 2010, 12:32 PM

472 posts

Why not get ur friends to bring it into JB then courier it to u guys? That would save all the hassle. Of coz coming into JB is yet another hassle but singaporeans do occasionally comes in.
jonest
post Aug 16 2010, 03:09 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(badbigboys @ Aug 16 2010, 01:37 PM)
Hows digi coverage outside town. Im using celcom prepaid data plan and it working well my hometown at bp. Im also thinking bout digi data plan but most i've heard its not really good outside KL. Rectify?
I'm using DiGi 3G unlimited on my iPhone. So far coverage within big town still ok, I think at BP, I could get edge only.
jonest
post Aug 19 2010, 08:24 PM

472 posts

Just got myself the maxis prepaid card, intend to cut it into micro sim and place it into the iPad and subscribe tod the 3G services on daily basis at rm8/- per day. How do you subscribe it especially when the card is inside the iPad?
jonest
post Aug 20 2010, 04:27 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(jamesheng3 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:44 PM)
Use digi prepaid. Rm 2 per day, average speed = 470kbps tested around klang valley. The speed reasonable and stable.

For maxis I have no idea, but digi is plug n play. For reload, just use phone to type certain procedure with prepaid card no.
Yes, with DiGi it seems to be cheaper at RM2 per day but according to the sales girl, if u have a balance of say RM10, it will deducted everyday of RM2 wether u use or don't use the data services.... while I only need to connect to the 3G on when need basis. My iPhone is on DiGi unlimited plan, so I know the speed and coverage is still limited here in JB area, but still acceptable. The plus side of the DiGi limited 3G prepaid pack is u don't need to activate it on a daily basis given that we gonna use it on an iPad, there's no "phone" function for us to activate. Prepaid pack starts at RM25 with a RM10 credit balance. Btw, if u activate it says at 8pm today, it's considered as one day when the clock strikes at midnite.

With Maxis, there are few choices that u could subs to, daily at RM8 (500mb), 1 week at RM3 (5mb), 2 weeks at RM18 (100mb)...Since I already have DiGi unlimited 3G, I would like to explore Maxis's 3G coverage and speed, hence I bought the Maxis prepaid card. The only downside, u gotta send a code to activate which plan u want, while the simcard has been mod to micro sim, a lil bit difficult to place it back into a normal phone.... The prepaid pack starts at RM8.8 with a RM4 credit balance.

The above information were passed on to me by the respective sales person / dealer of both telco. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

jonest
post Aug 23 2010, 02:31 PM

472 posts

Hey Guys,

Any1 knows how to activate Maxis Hotlink 3G daily pass on the iPad? Went into the sim application under setting and select the wap portal, however came to an error msg.

any1 can help?

jonest
post Aug 23 2010, 09:32 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 23 2010, 06:13 PM)
jonest, u in JB? maybe can do iPad JB gathering.
Yes, I'm in JB..... that would be great.... we can always go Starbucks at Setia Tropika, they have wifi but sometimes crowded over the weekend.... wonder what's the iPad JB population would be?
jonest
post Aug 23 2010, 10:21 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 23 2010, 09:55 PM)
yeah, i luv that place, 1st Starbucks drive-thru in Msia, parking also free !!! I think JB iPad population is quite low sad.gif  .... anyone else wanna go JB iPad get-together session ?

Added on August 23, 2010, 9:57 pm

so we got 3, me + you + jonest ...hehe ...anymore in Johor ? think 4 more from the records ...
Think we need more than 10 ppl to make it more happening!!1
jonest
post Aug 24 2010, 12:10 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 24 2010, 08:52 AM)
Why don't you put up a new thread to attract iPad owners. There are definitely more than 6 in johor. I already knew a few chaps in bat pahat having the ipads even earlier than me. There are many shy lurkers in this forum. Organized a meet up with date/time/place. I can attend anytime as I am a retiree.
Where ru from? It would be great to have u along since ur one of the most knowledgeable ones here in lyn!

Mackido,

I think you start a thread on jb iPad gathering calling all owners and owners to be. We can share knowledge and newbies like me will know how to best optimise our iPad usage!

Cheerios
jonest
post Aug 24 2010, 05:51 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 24 2010, 03:14 PM)
I am from Batu Pahat. I am not most knowledgeable, there are several ones at this forum who are really the sifus and gurus  - still learning about how to get the max $$$ out of it/ I leave to you guys to organize as my time is flexible unlike most of you who need to consider your work/study schedule/ I will come, JB only 1.5 hours away, no sweat going down
My suggestion, do it on Sat nite... think most of us geeks don't go partying on weekends!! laugh.gif
jonest
post Sep 23 2010, 07:47 PM

472 posts

Any1 finds any multi sim package. Am hoping to get the multi sim for my iPad.

0.0199sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:59 PM