NF7/NF7-S Rev2.0 Modded Bios, : Discussions and Results :)
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 12:29 PM
i've tried to clock but the default clock to 3200XP from the bios, also not stable. increased vcore and other things, still cannot...will this bios help me?
barton2500 2x256 hyperX pc2700 abit nf7
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 29 2005, 12:30 PM) 1.75-1.825v also cannot? try loosening ram to 2.5-3-3-8 at 2.7v vdimm? until 1.8 also cannot. oops nvr tweaked the ram before,default is 2-2-2-5. i up the ram voltage to 2.9 only. so now din clock.
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 29 2005, 01:03 PM) probably will help, now im on the latest bios from abit (D27 i tink), can do 200 easily with 1.95v, previously need 2v wah need so much vcore? nvrmind i will get the bios first, D27 right, 1T or 2T? do i need to do the L12 mod? This post has been edited by cubchai: Jun 29 2005, 03:44 PM
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(amok @ Jun 29 2005, 07:48 PM) cubchai what rams're u using? single sided rams best with 1T and double sided with 2T. L12 mod? If the bios doesn't have the soft mod L12 mebbe you can do the wire mod. dunno wo, the ram with blue sinks covered(KHX-2700). if i use 1T i need to L12 mod? now i'm using 1T, cos i felt not smooth with 2T...now still haven't clock.
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 09:24 PM
thank you amok...i'm not OC'ing to get highest speed, just want to clock it above 2.0 or maybe a bit more...still wondering wat software to do burn in...tried sisoft. priming not sure how to use, got 3 options. any advice? the fundamentals only recommend softwares to be used but not how to use them.
cubchai
Jun 29 2005, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 29 2005, 10:39 PM) haha..my 1800 is a volt sucker  now only i noticed from ur nick u haf a few rigs. where's ur location? kinda interested in ur 20gigs.
cubchai
Jul 26 2005, 04:11 AM
i was flashing back to original bios from mantarays bios. the next reboot sent me to seek help. bios corrupted. anyone know where to hotflash or willing to hotflash my bios chip?
cubchai
Jul 26 2005, 11:51 AM
bad luck lor...while flashing the bios, i felt that sumthing was wrong cos it's not my first time flashing using flash menu. but then the restart pop up did appear so i thought everything's fine. who knows, after it power off, it nvr power on again.
cubchai
Jul 26 2005, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jul 26 2005, 12:48 PM) emm...try to turn off all the power... make sure no hav any power in ur psu... try to reset jumper... after all switch on power, n try to switch on ur pc... hopefully ur mobo fine  tried and failed. QUOTE(xcrue @ Jul 26 2005, 01:39 PM) cubchai,do u smell any BURN?? anyway..try reset and see.. i don't smell any burn. but then i think i reset cmos too many times. i was doing memtest and it kept failing and a reset in cmos is needed. then i decided to flash back to original bios and forget the clocking. then this problem occurred. i'm waiting for my friend's nf7-s to do hot flash. btw , is it the same bios chip?
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jul 28 2005, 08:25 AM) why do you put back the original bios what! mantarays not good for your rig ka? when i use mantarays, memtest of RAM 180Mhz at lose timings oso cannot. i remembered before mantarays, i can do higher than 180. QUOTE(Radeon @ Jul 28 2005, 09:53 AM) what was wrong? if the bios file is corrupted, then you really need to hotflash already. this weekend going to kl lor, my fren offer me his pc to hotflash. i asked around many shops in my hometown on hot flash. all shops suggested me to download bios, put in floppy and flash lor. then i told them ok ok, i will try if my pc can boot up.
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jul 28 2005, 02:08 PM) wat model mobo did u use it?? NF7, the first batch i think.
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jul 28 2005, 02:17 PM) floppy and flash is hard thing to do ler! better hotflash. pitty you. BTW:d26 mantarays xt 2t can give me ram 2.8v timming 2-2-2-11,,, before this i use stock bios can't do it. + fsb max is 230 ,,,, and all this with rm45 450W psu. My RAM DDR333 only. I'm not aiming for superb high FSB, 200-220, i happy liao. i bringing only the bios chip to hotflash. damn panic, if after the hotflash, bring back hometown still cant boot up. i was considering bringing the mobo along.
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jul 28 2005, 02:26 PM) we all here wanna wish u the best of luck. it's a quite risky job to do.  thanks for the wish. i know it's risky. the most panic part is , i scared i drag down my friend's mobo. can someone list out the risks of hot flashing?
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(tone @ Jul 28 2005, 02:51 PM) for ur reference: AXP DTR Barton 2600 Abit NF7 (Vdimm modded) Tictac D26 Mantaray XT CPC ON (1T) Kingston HyperX BH5 Prime Stable:2773Mhz [attachmentid=67184] Max bootable at window:2.9Ghz [attachmentid=67185] Max Fsb Overclocked: 267Mhz aiya..bh5, is it a PC3200? for the mantarays, did you disable APIC?
cubchai
Jul 28 2005, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(gsan @ Jul 28 2005, 07:01 PM) i've experience that disable APIC will give you lower performance. did you disable after windows install? or did you reinstall after you disable? i've read about this APIC in abit forum. majority says better MHz after disabling.
cubchai
Jul 29 2005, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(gsan @ Jul 28 2005, 11:19 PM) @ Dead__Man you did the vcore fluctuation pencil trick, right? i just wonder that have you faced the problem that cant get over 1.85v after doing the trick? because once I set the vcore over 1.85v, the mobo cant boot and the beep sound will be heard. @ cubchai yes, disable APIC will give more fsb. But for my case, the extra 3mhz fsb cant cover back the lower bandwidth. that's right... QUOTE(tone @ Jul 29 2005, 04:32 AM) most important is the mobo & tictac's bios can go 267Mhz @ 2-2-2-11 CPC ON (1T) APIC not too sure got off or not ..Bandwith ard 4100? is it tictac's bios have some function that the original bios don't have, that made my bios corrupted when i flash back to original bios from mantarays?
cubchai
Jul 30 2005, 02:42 AM
QUOTE(Radeon @ Jul 29 2005, 10:53 PM) when you flash back to abit bios did u select the load saved settings? if u do sure gone i've forgotten. usually after flashing i have to reconfigure the bios again. i jsut checked out the price if i order a bios chip from abit-usa thru a fren. ranging from $27-$110, time from 4-6weeks for $27 and $110 for about a week. some sites charge $20+, delivery time 10-14 days.
cubchai
Aug 4 2005, 08:33 PM
i've hotflashed my bios. but then can't do it with original bios. it only accepts mantarays...aih
cubchai
Aug 4 2005, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Aug 4 2005, 10:43 PM) y sad...mantarays is the best oc bios... even vcore can go til 2.05v still can boot  but then one thing i cant understand is, i cant flash back to original bios. that's y i flash to mantarays.
cubchai
Aug 4 2005, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Aug 4 2005, 11:03 PM) 1t or 2t? y tis the ood bios for L12 mod... u can get high fsb then other bios... (my mobo lah) max i get is 265++ 270 can boot n login winxp but 4-5 min mouse start hang...then keyboard...but the pc still on...winamp still playing mp3...tat the funny thing i oso dunno wat happen... anyone face tis problem?  mind to share? one of the reason i like this bios is the L12 mod. someone suggested me to use 1T. not sure wat's the difference.